This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara Lodge


3°21’39.3"S 35°49’58.6"E

Reviews of Kirurumu Manyara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kirurumu Manyara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Jonathan
bronte

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"A great lodge run by Maasai. The staff in the restaurant were so friendly and welcoming to our children.

It was a really special place to stay with incredible views." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Wonderful place"

1 night Arrived 4 Feb 2019
"I could not walk back to the dining area as too physically demanding - they brought a three course candlelight dinner to the deck of our chalet - was magical!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 16n in Tanzania; 10n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs A
Haslemere

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Dec 2016
"Fabulous views of the lake from the room/tent and not overlooked by any other accommodation.

Staff all very polite and helpful. Tents were really clean and great bathrooms. Very spacious." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
Woking

"Great location with lovely views"

1 night Arrived 13 Dec 2016
"The Kiruruma Manyara Lodge is in a great location and we had a great view over Lake Manyara. The tents are basic but well equipped with flushing toilet and shower.

The food wasn't great here, probably the worst food we had during our trip. The breakfast was particularly poor, very little choice with birds pecking at all the fruit which was left uncovered.

Evening meal wasn't too good either, again with very little choice as a vegetarian." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Top Cat
bristol

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2016
"Wonderful views from the escarpment over the lake and easy access to the park for great safaris" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Surrey

"Kirurumu Mayara Lodge - a great location"

1 night Arrived 29 Nov 2015
"The location with stunning views over Lake Manyara is great and the lodge is close to the park gate. the lodge was extremely quiet when we visited. The tent was adequate, and the torch was missing.

There were holes in the mosquito nets and some puddles appeared on the concrete floor of the tent when it rained heavily. A thunder storm caused the path lights to fail, so we struggled along to dinner in the rain and darkness. They did rectify the path lights once we reported the problem.

The evening meal was not very appetising and did not seem to be well cooked. Breakfast and the packed lunch provided were better. They failed to collect our bags when we asked and our guide had to request them to hurry up.

A great opportunity, but needs some TLC." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs JR
Australia

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"Situated on the ridge-line, this tented camp offers stunning views over the Rift Valley and, in the middle distance, Lake Manyara.
Some tents have more unimpeded views than others, and our tent had quite good views from the verandah.
The tent was moderately basic but quite serviceable, and was reached after a short walk through the bush from the main centre. We appreciated the fact that the tents are set in a bush environment, and we observed a variety of birds around the lodge.
The food was quite good, although of limited choice.
We went on a most enjoyable guided walk with the Maasai guard/guide that was on offer. It went through a short section of grazing land to a small adjoining village and then on to the edge of the escarpment. We obtained a really good view down the Rift Valley from this point. Our guide was most approachable and answered a host of questions about the Maasai way of life, the local village (not a Maasai village) and local birds. Altogether, a worthwhile activity." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2015
"This camp was a one night stop over and difficult to give a true opinion." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms M
Lethbridge

"Great view from our tent"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2015
"We loved the feeling of privacy as our tent was surrounded by trees. The accommodation was clean and secured with a padlock.
It was a pleasure waking up to the sounds of birds early in the morning.

The staff worked hard to meet all of our needs. Nice location and nice facilities.

It is a longer drive down to the valley to visit Manyara National Park than we expected and the secondary road into the lodge could use road work." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K & Mr B
USA

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"We loved the Kilmanjaro unit we were given here. Beautiful views.

We felt that the masai guide was too hard sell on his book he had co written. He even posed on a rock for pictures while holding his book we he presigned and practically forced us to buy for $25." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 18
87%
18 reviews of Kirurumu Manyara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
5
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lake Manyara National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Comfortable, stylish and remote, Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is one of only two places to stay inside the park, and offers excellent guiding and service.


99% (16 reviews)
Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

Lake Manyara Serena

Lake Manyara Serena is a large, reasonably priced hotel perched on the lip of the Great Rift Valley with spectacular views of Lake Manyara.


90% (10 reviews)
Escarpment Luxury Lodge

Escarpment Lux Lodge

Escarpment Luxury Lodge offers stylish, modern accommodation and stunning views of Lake Manyara National Park.


80% (1 review)
Lake Manyara Green Camp

Manyara Green Camp

With comfortable tents and an adventurous atmosphere, Lake Manyara Green Camp is one of two camps located inside the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa