This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge


3°22’21.4"S 35°49’38.2"E

Reviews of Lake Manyara Serena

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manyara Serena and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manyara Serena.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Rusty Hudak
Stow

"Lake Manyara Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"Probably the nicest place we stayed, but without the character of a tent in the Serengeti. As always the staff was friendly and food was great." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"fab view at L Manyara Serena Safari Lodge"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"Set in beautiful grounds with a wonderful view of the lake the rooms are well furnished inside Disney style rustic houses.

Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

Buffet style dinner and breakfast were perfectly good but not remarkable." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

AB
Santa Fe

"Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2018
"The Lodge was very luxurious and we enjoyed our stay there very much.

One small problem is that I left the charger for my iPhone in the room (room 31). I sent them an email, asking if they could put it in an envelope for me, but never got a reply.
If you could follow up, I would be grateful." See all these reviews: 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Ms TG
London

"Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"The setting and view are very good. The facilities are fine, though one gets the feeling this Lodge has seen better days. The room, though comfortable, was very hot, and the fan provided made so much noise it was impossible to keep it on at night.

An alarm call requested for 5.15 came at 5.45.

I request for no apples at all due to an allergy resulted in packed breakfast and lunch with apple juice. A request for drinking water at dinner provided a mega bottle which I, as a single diner, was expected to pay for.

On the positive side, the staff were smiley, pleasant and welcoming. The food in the dining room was excellent. The wine was mediocre, as indeed were the stodgy and uninspiring packed breakfast and lunch" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Hockley

"A good lodge with nice rooms and great views"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2015
"We arrived at the lodge in the late afternoon after our game drive into the Lake Manyara National Reserve. Lake Manyara Serena Lodge has a great position on the side of the Rift Valley. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and had a view Lake Manyara. The staff were courteous and friendly and made us a special breakfast out on the grass with a stunning view of the Lake on our last morning.

Our game drive with Frank was superb, with fantastic animal sightings of giraffe, wildebeest, zebra, birds etc. The most exciting sighting was of the tree lions being forced out of a large tree by a small herd of elephants, who were trumpeting and trying to dislodge the lions by charging at the tree. The lions eventually jumped down and ran off except for one lioness who for a short time continued to snarl at the elephants. She then jumped down and ran off. A fantastic sighting to end our safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs R
Canada

"Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jan 2014
"Amazing view and pool. Lovely to have hang time. the food was good. The night drive interesting but not essential.

Lake Manyara park was great." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr & Mrs E
Poole

"Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"Two nights here with good food and service. Excellent infinity swimming pool with a fantastic view of Lake Manyara.

Ideally placed for visits to Lake Manyara Park." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The L family
London

"Hotel in a stunning location on edge of rift"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2011
"This was a welcome overnight stay after the flights from UK.

The hotel is in a stunning location overlooking the rift valley, with a wonderfully placed infinity pool and bar. The room was comfortable and the main hotel buildings impressive.

The African themed buffet dinner the night we were there was memorable." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Sussex

"Fantastic location overlooking Rift Valley"

3 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2011
"A comfortable room with a good sized shower room.

We found the service very friendly and personal (i.e.using our names in spite of a high throughput of guests).
Food was good with plenty of choice.

We much enjoyed the wonderful swimming pool with the small colourful birds visiting it as we swam." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Surrey

"Lake Manyara Serena review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2011
"We've stayed in a Serena lodge before and whilst it wouldn't always be my first choice (we prefer smaller places) this was a really good lodge. The setting is spectacular and when you take a swim it feels that you are going to swim to the edge of the world. The view from the room was amazing.

The rooms themselves are a bit dated ( I treated it like a step back in time to my 70s childhood!) but they are clean, spacious and comfortable and have everything that you need. Food was average - choice was good but it had that mass produced feeling about it.

The team however were excellent and the service great - so on balance I would have no qualms about staying here again." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 10
90%
10 reviews of Lake Manyara Serena by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lake Manyara National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara

With spectacular views over Lake Manyara, Kirurumu is one of the simplest camps we offer in northern Tanzania.


87% (18 reviews)
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Comfortable, stylish and remote, Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is one of only two places to stay inside the park, and offers excellent guiding and service.


99% (16 reviews)
Escarpment Luxury Lodge

Escarpment Lux Lodge

Escarpment Luxury Lodge offers stylish, modern accommodation and stunning views of Lake Manyara National Park.


80% (1 review)
Lake Manyara Green Camp

Manyara Green Camp

With comfortable tents and an adventurous atmosphere, Lake Manyara Green Camp is one of two camps located inside the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa