This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs R from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2014 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 19 Jan 2014 and 31 Jan 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"I think the ecstatic would be a better description. You didn't ask about the safari. Our tour guide, Ayoub, was fantastic. I had my 86yr old mother with me and he treated her like gold. She was "Beebee" the whole trip and he stopped and got her a stool when he saw that getting out of the jeep was hard for her. I'm pretty sure he had bought new picnic seats and table for us as he was taking the wrapping off of the . He was so knowledgeable and had eagle eyes. He made the trip, I can't say enough good about him. Going with a 15 yr old and and 86 yr old I was a bit concerned but he put us all at ease and was so very ,very nice.

Also Maruska did a great job, we heard of guides who were in the central area worried about finding animals as they were all near us!! thank you for putting us down into the south we saw all the big 5 plus a cheetah, lepoard, lion hunt,elephants fighting, new born wildebeests and huge troops of baboons. Thank you for considering our jet lag and suggesting Arusha Nat pk it was a perfect introduction.

It was to be the trip of a lifetime for my mom and it lived up to its billing and then some. She will never forget it. Thank you.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, You did a fantastic job. I have recommended you to my cousin who is planning a trip."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

"Hatari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jan 2014
"This is a lovely lodge, a great place to get over jet lag. The bathrooms are amazing! The people lovely.

We have monkeys and warthogs pay us a visit.

Arusha Nat pk was amazing. We saw flamingos up close . We saw them as pink lines everywhere else. We also saw a troup of baboons with 3 albinos. Even our guide commented that he would encourage more people to come here as he normally skipped this but it was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

"Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jan 2014
"Amazing view and pool. Lovely to have hang time. the food was good. The night drive interesting but not essential.

Lake Manyara park was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2014
"I was not feeling well here and the people went out of their way to look after me, when I didn't show up for a meal they asked my daughter if they could bring me food. They went way above and beyond. This was a lovely place to stay. It would be nice to be closer to the crater because of the length of drive to get down to the bottom. I didn't realize that once you arrived at the crater it was another hour to get down but the people more than made up for the distance.
They were so very kind.

Also the rooms were fantastic!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Masek Under Canvas

"Masek Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2014
"You couldn't ask for more. The guys here were so very good to us. I had my mom with me and they just made her feel like gold. I had mentioned about a local dish that I make at home and the next dinner there it was!

The fire at night was so nice. It was quiet, not many guests but it was amazing and the location to the animals was second to none. We saw everything so easily.

The food was great. The showers warm and an adventure! How they do so much in the middle of no where is truly amazing ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

"Mbweni Ruins Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2014
"We were so lucky that this hotel had air conditioning. I had not processed how hot it would be with the humidity and the room air made us so comfortable. The people again were lovely, we played beach volleyball with 2 of the staff. Food was good. We needed to have a room for the day when we returned from Chumbe before we caught our plane and they willingly accommodated and charged us only $50.

They were able to help us arrange a taxi into town."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Chumbe Island Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2014
"WOW!!! that's the only word for this place. It is truly amazing, beautiful and an experience you never forget. The coral and the snorkeling.... just incredible.

We had a candlelit dinner on the sand!! the food was awesome. The people so very nice and the accommodations.... just breathtaking.

My mom found it hot, so if heat is an issue that might be a problem and if you're not a snorkeler maybe you would find it quiet but it was incredible."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team