This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs CH from Wimbledon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

36

Excursions taken

2

Great 2 week safari during the migration

Tanzania and 1 other country between 6 Feb 2019 and 19 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful trip. It was our first safari in east Africa and something we will do again. In the past we have self driven and we were wary of being with a guide but Esto was excellent and knowledgeable. In particular he did not join large groups of vehicles around the big ticket wildlife causing them stress but drove on and found us something else that we could watch quietly."

Arranged By Jessica Plumb


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Characterless hotel useful for airport"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2019
"This hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs but suffers from absence of outdoor areas to relax or spend time in. Suitable for one night only when needing to be close to the airport.

Dreadful piped music in every conceivable area - lift, bars, corridors and at the pool

Staff helpful but front desk staff and concierge completely without any initiative"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

"fab view at L Manyara Serena Safari Lodge"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"Set in beautiful grounds with a wonderful view of the lake the rooms are well furnished inside Disney style rustic houses.

Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

Buffet style dinner and breakfast were perfectly good but not remarkable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Safari in Lake Manyara National Park review"

8 Feb 2019 • All-day excursion

A lush and beautiful park with great birds.

Lake Manyara is a gentle warm up to the delights of the Serengeti, Ngorongoro and others. It has a good range of wildlife but given its dense nature some of it can be a little hard to see.
Average
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2019
"Great camp, lovely and helpful staff, excellent food. Positioned back from the crater rim it has lovely views, great accommodation. The only drawback is a bumpy and long trip back from the crater at the end of the day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

10 Feb 2019 • All-day excursion

Over two days we were almost constantly watching wildlife from the major animals such as lions , elephants and rhino to the smaller things such as flamingos, various types of monkeys and hyenas. The landscape is very beautiful indeed with the sides of the crater forming a backdrop to the wildlife. Fortunately we had a driver who avoided other vehicles which sometimes gathered too thickly around major sitings.
Excellent
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

"Ubuntu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2019
"A lovely nomad camp with excellent staff attractively positioned looking out over the landscape with great wildlife for the migration (we were very lucky) and good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Dunia Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2019
"Spacious tents set in long grass in woodland with a great view from the communal tent/restaurant/bar area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average

Terrific trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 19 Apr 2018 and 14 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

the only part where we were disappointed was with the transfer arrangements between Muchenje Lodge and Victoria Falls but this feedback form does not provide the opportunity to comment."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great place overnight on arrival/departure "

1 night Arrived 20 Apr 2018
"Pleasant room, warm welcome and delicious evening meal."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2018
"Government run camp so more spartan than private lodges (but also cheaper). Rooms have been refurbished since our stay in 2017 and had improved though the staff on the registration desk need customer relations training - not rude just a bit hopeless.

Good place for trails which makes a change from being in the car on safari. Excellent birding and other small wildlife both day and at night.

Safari a bit disappointing as during April too much vegetation to see much."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"small lodge in beautiful landscape"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2018
"Stayed here in 2017 and pleased to return.

Lovely warm welcome from staff and excellent food and drink. Safaris yielded plenty of game and elephant. Sadly no lions this time (18 in 2017)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Astonishingly view across Etosha"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Unusual camp perched on rocky formation with amazing views - 5 rhino visible from our tented cabin amongst a sea of game.

Great infinity pool with view and lovely tented cabins.

Slightly disappointing restaurant with patchy service. Noone seemed to know whether safari drives were available, fortunately we were happy to do our own thing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Barracks like accommodation in Etosha"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2018
"This is a government run camp and the main selling point is the location rather than the camp itself. We stayed in 2017. Nothing had changed. Indifferent buffet meal served by willing but rather muddled staff and overseen by a rude and patronising cashier. Swimming pool out of service. Accommodation though basic is clean. Fine for an overnight stay given the quality of wildlife around the camp."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Wonderful lodge with outstanding service"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2018
"We stayed her in 2017 and made the right decision to go back. It is a lovely lodge with great food, service and style."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Safari Lodge

"lodge with great river view"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2018
"The welcome and accommodation at Taranga was excellent. They also very kindly gave us free bubbly as it was my birthday.
Sadly however the food was poor."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Fabulous lodge surrounded by waterlillies"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2018
"We stayed here in 2017 and were pleased to return. The cabins have been refurbished and although we loved the place previously we were very pleased with the new designs.

Nxamaseri allocates a guide to each visitor and this is great as it enables you to do whatever you want at a time that suits you and the guide can respond to your interests and knowledge level."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"beautiful tented cabins above the forest"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2018
"We were transported from the main road up a sandy track which took almost an hour to reach the lodge. There were elephants everywhere around the lodge and we were able to walk above them on the wooden walkways between the tents and restaurant. The service, safaris and wildlife knowledge was terrific. Lovely meals overlooking the waterhole nearby."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Small lodge with warm welcome"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"We stayed here in March 2017 and the same good service and warm welcome applied. Due to recent rains Lianshulu has been able to resume boat trips and this was excellent travelling along the river between Botswana and Namibia with lots of birds, hippo and elephant. The very high elephant grass on this visit (April) made it hard to spot smaller wildlife although we did see lion.

Animals walk though the camp and you are escorted at night. Lianshulu takes guests safety very seriously."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Stunning lodge with breathtaking view"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"Warm welcome from the host and lovely cabin with two bathrooms, two terraces beautifully furnished. The star of the show was the view towards Namibia over the floodplain with water higher than the Chobe river front has experienced for some years.

Great morning, afternoon, night and all day safaris provided with truly first class wildlife sightings. However we visited out of season and found the Chobe river front nonetheless very busy compared to the weeks we have spent in Namibia and were not at all keen about vehicles surrounding wildlife.

Elephants walk through the camp and guards walk you to and from your cabin at night so visiting is not for the faint-hearted."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Well sited hotel 10 mins walk from Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2018
"This large hotel came as a bit of a shock after a month of more intimate lodges and camps. However the staff were helpful and friendly.

the rooms are typical standard hotel fair. Unfortunately a new block is being built(May 2018) and there was drilling and banging during the day. There is also a disco behind the hotel with music playing until after midnight.

Breakfast was excellent but service at dinner on the 2 nights we stayed there was painfully slow though they are recruiting new staff."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Our month in Namibia/Botswana

Namibia and 1 other country between 18 Mar 2017 and 15 Apr 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful month and intend to return to Namibia with a longer trip into Botswana."

Galton House

Galton House

"overnight stay on arrival in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 18 Mar 2017
"Galton House is a clean and compact hotel ideal for an overnight stay on arrival or before flying out of Windhoek.

The welcome was warm, and the food was pleasant. The bread at breakfast was fabulous."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Lovely lodge just outside Etosha National Pk"

3 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2017
"We stayed for 3 nights in a thatched cottage. Staff were warm and welcoming, food was first class, the furnishings were lovely.

We had a great early morning game drive with an excellent guide.

Mosquitos outside at dinner were voracious."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Pleasant lodge with river view"

1 night Arrived 22 Mar 2017
"Great location and lovely grounds on the river overlooking Angola. Pleasant for walks amongst the cattle.

The rooms were clean and pleasant but the food was not as good as we experienced in other lodges."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"magical lodge on Okavanga delta"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2017
"This was a highlight.

The instructions from Expert Africa for meeting our welcome vehicle referred to a time change between Botswana and Namibia. These instructions were not relevant as the timechange was the following week and this caused confusion and bit of panic as crossing the border was slow.

The transfer from meeting the welcome vehicle to the lodge was exciting with a safari vehicle and river trip to the lodge with masses of yellow butterflies and wildlife.

Our room was lovely with only three sides and a view through the trees. Food was excellent and our trips with Adam punting a canoe through the reeds were glorious. We learnt a lot about the birdlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"spectacular thatched lodge "

2 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2017
"This was a highlight.

Staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Food was excellent and the game drives were run at our convenience. We saw a great deal.

We were escorted from our cottage to the main building at night due to elephant, hippo and leopard in the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu River Lodge

"Lodge by Poppit Falls"

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2017
"Our stay at Shametu was slightly disappointing. There was extensive remodelling of the grounds which was underway when we were there and our first afternoon we were unable to sit outside on the very pleasant terrace to our cottage due to a powersaw and concrete mixer which made a loud racket.

The cabin itself was lovely with good facilities and a pleasant design. The paths were being laid and we had to tip toe around the grounds amongst concrete debris. We were the only guests and we felt as if we were slightly in the way as so much rebuilding was going on.

The design of the main lodge was nowhere near as sympathetic to the surroundings as other lodges we stayed in.

Restaurant staff were absolutely lovely to us."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"querky camp handy for overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2017
"Warm welcome after long drive on featureless road.

Fairly basic and querky cabins which have single beds, and odd furnishings.

We liked this restcamp for an overnight stay and enjoyed some of the walks around the grounds.

Everything was clean and well provided, Service was fine, but without polish."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"slightly unloved camp in spectacular setting"

1 night Arrived 30 Mar 2017
"Waterberg camp feels unloved.

The cabins are clean but basic and some of the facilities also require a facelift. For example the trails which were signposted were completely unpassable and this is a disappontment.

Staff tried to be helpful staff but none seemed to be in charge overall.

So in the morning there was no water in our cabin (or any other cabin at the top of the sight) and staff in the restaurant and reception were unaware of this so that cleaning staff could not do their jobs."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"wonderful tented cabins amongst the rocks"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2017
"The tented chalets were a highlight and we loved sitting on various terraces looking at the views. The staff were uniformly helpful and welcoming.

Our guided nature walk was a treat and we leant a great deal.Great for birds.

Food was excellent, the pool was lovely."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

"pleasant lodge near Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 2 Apr 2017
"Small cabins were adequate for an overnight stay. Good aircon, clean and fresh with slightly old fashioned bathrooms.

Odd gardens with pets and flowers mixed together where interesting. Lovely pool.slightly spoilt by the sound of the main road.

Food was terrific. The set menu an absolute treat as was the locally made cheese at breakfast."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"First class lodge with wonderful wildlife"

1 night Arrived 3 Apr 2017
"The lodge and cabins are beautifully furnished and equipped but as we spent so much time on game drives we sadly had inadequate time to use and enjoy these wonderful facilities properly.

All staff provided a warm welcome and the trips were tailored around our party of 5. We got within 12 feet of leopard, 30 feet of white rhinos and walked to watch 3 cheetah.

There were also sighting of some game and lots of birds.

Dinner and breakfast was professionally served and delicious."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Apr 2017
"Pleasant, clean but inimaginative chalets. Excellent barbecue for all guests.

Lovely views over waterhole with lots of zebra activity;."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Fabulous views and great wildlife"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2017
"Lovely tented cabins in a stunning location with great views of the plains below and lots of wildlife.

Staff in restaurant pleasant but overstretched. Food very average."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"lovely camp with fabulous staff"

1 night Arrived 6 Apr 2017
"Magical drive into camp along 30k of sand road.

Pleasant and clean cabins in a camp which has been recently fenced due to lion activity.

Good restaurant. All staff were friendly, helpful and efficient."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Breathtaking views from Grootberg"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2017
"Efficiently collected from communal parking and driven up steep hill to camp.

Pleasant welcome and slighly bare but clean and comfortable cabins with astonishing views.

Great guided nature walk, infinity pool with spectacular view.

Good and friendly service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Useful desert stopover "

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2017
"The lodge is a useful stop over between Darmaraland and Swakopmund and (in the season) sightings of desert elephant are regular and close. Unfortunately the elephant to do not travel through here until June and we were wrongly advised.

The cabin rooms were clean when we arrived but not cleaned the following day. They are very basic and there is no air conditioning and the fans operate for 10 minutes early evening and then the power runs out. Windows had panels of mosquito netting missing although there were mosquito nets on the single beds.

The lodge requires maintenance. the pool and seating around it needs care although the walled garden, populated by several active tortoises, is immaculate and clearly a work of love. Sunsets from the rocks above the hotel looking over the desert are spectacular.

The front desk staff were not helpful, restaurant staff were very pleasant.

There is singing from the local community/staff after dinner."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Pleasant hotel in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2017
"Well appointed rooms in Swiss style in handy hotel within walking distance of town centre.

Warm welcome from the host who likes to talk and helpfully gave us local advice.

Good food and excellent wine list. Breakfast a particular treat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

"Good base for Sossuvei"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2017
"Le Mirage is an odd looking structure but the strong winds during our stay in April made us understand that the design acts as a windbreak and offers shade for visitors.

Large cavenous rooms are basic but clean and functional. Lovely pool and good restaurant with efficient friendly staff.

Wifi hopeless."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Handy stopover at Bullsport"

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2017
"Beautifully designed comfortable cabins on farm with excellent meals served by friendly staff and hosted by family.

We enjoyed some walks which were well signposted and in beautiful grassy countryside."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team