This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

242 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 56 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

93% success

Wild dog

3% success

Zebra

96% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

94% success

Brown Hyena

77% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Sable antelope

64% success

Eland

57% success

White Rhino

52% success

Pangolin

24% success

Aardvark

7% success

Spotted Hyena

3% success

Showing 1-10 of 242
Duration
Arrival date
K&G
London

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2023
"What a place this was! The c20km drive to the Bush Camp from the road itself was really interesting, so by the time we got to the Camp itself we were very excited to see what was on offer.

The rooms were superb and the huge, separate lapa (we called it the party room!) was a fantastic addition. The setting for meals was also beautiful and the quality of the food and service was excellent.

The trips themselves - we did 4 in total, 3 game drives and a visit to the Africat foundation/cheetahs/lions - were brilliant. We had a great guide (Immanuel) who really knew his subject expertly as well as the leopards we were tracking. We were lucky enough to see a leopard hunt, stalk and then kill a steenbok; then saw it again with its cubs; had a leopard walk up so close next to the vehicle that it's tale almost brushed up against us; and 3 rhinos up close at a water hole......amongst other more "normal" sightings!

It really was an extraordinary place and made for a perfect end to our holiday; I would also say that 2 night minimum are needed here.

It was also a very easy drive from here to the airport for our flight home, along very good quality tarred roads (part of the B1 is now called the A1 as it's a dual carriageway!)." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

7 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs QS
Wiltshire

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2023
"great leopard watching" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
C & D
NL

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2023
"When we arrived at Okonjima Plains Camp (for our stay of three nights) we were informed that we had been upgraded to accommodation at the Bush Camp, which was indeed of the very highest standard (these comments .

It would be hard to imagine a more luxurious setting. Our room had wide windows looking over the bush, with a conveniently-placed watering hole not more than a couple of metres away, that during our stay was visited by warthogs, meerkats and all kinds of birds, including some spectacular hornbills.

Our meals, at the main lodge building, were outstanding (and the setting, on the edge of the bush, was breathtaking). The staff were attentive, friendly, warm and helpful.

The lodge is geared to offering visitors the experience of sighting animals in the wild, with numerous activities on offer to help ensure that they do. We visited the night hide - none of the animals decided to come out that night, and Juuson, our guide, seemed more disappointed than we were. He was determined to make up for it on a drive early the next morning, on which we saw rhino, wildebeest, hyena and leopard (amongst many, many other things).

Like the other Namibian guides we've met, Juuson was full of insight and enthusiasm for his work. We got an extra insight into his skill when we met another visitor who was out for a long walk alone. A few minutes after that encounter Juuson stopped the vehicle and pointed at the ground nearby and said "Hmm, he *said* he wasn't lost, but he spent quite some time here walking around in different directions trying to decide where to go" - clearly, a good guide can also track human animals very effectively.

There are numerous walking trails at Okonjima, accompanied by some slightly eccentric maps. The trails are not always sign-posted as well as they could be and it was a little too easy to lose the trail. But walking peacefully in the wilderness, we saw all kinds of things at close hand - it was a beautiful thing to be able to do.

Our stay at Okonjima was a first-class experience." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms U
Idaho

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jan 2023
"Okonjima should be on a different scale than any other lodges. In my opinion, and my son's, it wasn't just excellent -- it was perfect.

We stayed at Bush Suites which was stunning. The Suites could be in Architectural Digest as is. More importantly, the staff was far and away the best I have ever seen. Melissa and Gideon seemed to really want everything to be perfect for us -- and they listened to what we wanted.

We chose to go on a leopard drive with Gideon but told him about our interests in the smaller stuff. We saw bullfrogs, terrapins, tortoises, dikdiks, etc. as well as leopard and brown hyena He also was very knowledgeable about plants and birds. We arrived back late from the drive due to a severe rainstorm. Three different people were posted to check on our safety and Melissa had a fire going for our arrival "home." Unfortunately we could not do a night drive or pangolin walk due to the rain.

We had said we wanted to see the center in the morning but Gideon did not blink when we changed our minds to a game drive at 5:30 am. My son stayed up all night videoing the night time animals including a genet cat that Melissa told frequently appears in search of grapes. My son didn't want to miss a minute with unnecessary sleep.

I actually hugged Melissa goodbye something I have never done in 60 years of traveling. I cannot say enough.

Our only regret is not staying a second night." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2022
"Upon arrival, the cheerful gate attendant happily told us we had been upgraded to Bush camp, so this review and ratings apply to there rather than the Plains Camp (which we are sure is nice too!) We had previously stayed at Bush Camp 4 years ago.

We arrived from Windhoek in time for lunch, and we had already been pre booked onto the afternoon activity, starting at 4pm. We were staying for two nights, so signed up for further morning, afternoon and night activities to keep us occupied for our time here. The room is very well equipped, and we also enjoyed the 'open air sala' lounge area next door to relax and drink tea whilst observing the wildlife between activities.

We enjoyed all of our meals here and think the food is excellent. Gideon, our guide was great and very knowledgeable. We shared a safari vehicle with 4 other guests for all activities bar one (which they didn't do). It was also nice to catch up with Opari, our guide from 4 years ago.

As like last visit, we are very impressed with the levels of research and conservation that takes place at Okonjima. We hope to return again!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

RMN and AT
London

"More Zoo than Game Park?"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2022
"The title is perhaps a little harsh. But in comparison to the Wilderness Safari lodges we had stayed in, this privately run conservancy was our least favourite lodge. Not however that there was any lack of good animal sightings, far from it. But it was poorly managed, notably in the check in and the restaurant service.

On arrival I was asked to write my email address into no less than three separate forms and there seemed to be masses of paperwork to fill in. The restaurant service was regularly poor, and at times there were no staff attending to the needs of clients eating for maybe 10 minutes at a time. That is frustrating when there are drive deadlines to be met. Having said that, there are pluses too.

The Bush Lodge villas are comfortable and spacious if a little tired by reason of their age, and one had the feeling that Covid had hit this place hard and they were struggling to get back to normal. The place is a private fenced reserve of about 400sq. kms into which the notable introductions are leopard and white rhino.

The key drive is a leopard tracking drive, using some rather old fashioned looking UHF aerials to find the leopards, most of whom are collared. We spent almost three hours tracking without success in an overly full vehicle (seven guests, with those at the rear having a poor view) and had more or less given up hope before we found a male drinking at a waterhole and had an excellent few minutes with him at very close range. The animals are clearly very habituated to the vehicles so there is an element of artificiality about seeing them from such close quarters. Then on the way back to base we found a second male, by chance, with another good view. On other drives we were searching for rhino, with the number in the reserve a closely guarded secret. Our driver followed tracks and we seemed not to be having any luck when we came across first a large male, who obliged us with very good views as he searched the ground for the scent of his colleagues, four other males whom we eventually also found. Again they were undisturbed by the vehicle and walked by at very close quarters.

The other highlight was two sightings of bat-eared foxes out during the day which is unusual, and there were plenty of sightings of giraffe, zebra (including Hartmanns Mountain Z) kudu, eland, sable antelope small buck, oryx and wildebeest. Birds were good too and I was glad to have a guide who knew his birds. Other trips were less crowded and I did two drives on my own which is always good fun. Food was rather dull and uninspiring, and we heard others saying the same thing. The atmosphere of the place was nothing like as friendly or efficient as the Wilderness lodges, which may be an unfair comparison. There is a small swimming pool. One irritating feature of the set up is that there are some activities which are not included in even the full board price, including a night drive, and for which a £50 per head charge seems excessive. A pangolin hunt at night is even more expensive at £100, but there is a lot of tracking work involved in spotting these persecuted animals.

For anyone who like us had got accustomed to the high standards of the Wilderness Safari lodges in the more remote areas of the country, where the scenery is the main attraction, I would think this place would disappoint." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

M&A
San Diego

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2022
"The mission at Okonjima has changed from rescuing/relocating big cats to educational efforts, but it still offers opportunities to see big cats up close and personal.

Large separate areas are set up for the lions and cheetahs on the reserve, while leopards roam the entire property. In addition, we saw a larger variety of animals here than on any other reserve on our Namibia trip.

But the highlight of our visit was in the AfriCat research center, where a tranquilized cheetah was brought in for a check-up. The new director invited other Okonjima staff and lucky visitors there at the time to crowd into the examination room and observe the process, then help staff groom the cheetah's matted fur coat. That experience will be remembered for a long time." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2022
"The thatched chalets were beautiful with the main chalet having 2 double beds and the bathroom with plenty of windows in the front half overlooking the plains and a small water bath for birds.

On the other side of the path to the front door is a second chalet which is your open air living room with 2 comfortable looking stretch chairs looking towards the front, drink making facilities and fridge. There is also a container which has a jar of bird food which you can throw out to get a flurry of Guinea fowl visiting.

Having said all that, we were only there for one night and were barely in our room (beyond sleeping) which made it seem a bit of a waste.

We went for the leopard tracking both in the afternoon and the following morning and were successful each time." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms TC
Florida

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2022
"Can’t wait to return! What a fantastic way to end our trip, our guide was excellent, he was very professional and funny too.

Our meals were the best on this trip, the staff was absolutely amazing and the dining area was ever so lovely. I loved our spacious room, and there were guinea fowls and wart hogs right outside at times.

We went for some lovely walks, and our morning drives were wonderful.

The rhino tracking activity was one of the highlights of this trip, and so was the sighting of a leopard who walked past our vehicle. We even saw one male rhino as we were leaving the camp on our last day, what a privilege!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"Same as previous comments" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 242
97%
242 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
206
33
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve, where big cats can often be seen at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (379 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering luxury, privacy, flexibility and fantastic wildlife-watching opportunities.


100% (14 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite is an exclusive, luxurious two-bedroom retreat with a private guide and chef, offering some great photo opportunities when tracking predators.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa