This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

252 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 66 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

94% success

Wild dog

2% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

95% success

Brown Hyena

75% success

Wildebeest

75% success

White Rhino

57% success

Sable antelope

55% success

Eland

54% success

Pangolin

26% success

Aardvark

8% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Showing 1-10 of 252
Duration
Arrival date
Dr B
Canada

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2024
"The Bush Camp is well laid out with the chalets grouped either side of the main lodge. There is a large waterhole and a swimming pool, the latter is good for cooling down in the afternoon. I was there in February and it was very hot. The rooms are not air-conditioned, however, the separate lounge area is not screened in and it's much cooler than the main chalet.

My guide/driver was Gabriel, an excellent birder and guide. There are a number of options in addition to the 2 daily game drives. I chose the Pangolin walk and the Night hide. The night of the pangolin walk there was a major thunderstorm on-going around the camp, although, it wasn't actually raining. We went out as the pangolin researchers/monitors had located one of the radio-tagged animals out foraging. It was truly amazing to see in its natural habitat. We spent about 20 minutes following the pangolin as it trotted around looking for insects. Then we left as that is the maximum time allowed with the animals, and coincidentally the rain started.

The second Night Hide experience was good. The hide is a huge bunker-like structure and Gabriel scattered some left over vegetables to entice the local wildlife as there is no waterhole. Almost immediately a large African porcupine arrived and made an excellent meal, 2 hyenas thought about coming in as well, then saw the porcupine and left.

I have some excellent photos of both the porcupine and the pangolin and would recommend both optional tours.

The lodge is associated with the AfriCat conservation organization, working mainly with leopards. There are a group of radio-collared leopards that can be located on the game drives. Gabriel was successful at finding leopards on every drive, and we even watched a leopard stalk and kill an African wild cat." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Private conservation reserve"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2023
"This was a wonderful introduction to Namibian wildlife.

The conservancy had been converted from a cattle farm, and had welcomed at threat leopards and cheetahs from the surrounding area. They are to be seen in an enclosed protected area of 220 square kilometres. Effectively, they live and hunt as wild animals. The reserve is also home to many other animals and birds. As well as the animals below we saw; warthogs; waterbuck; kudu; impala; duiker; springbok; dik-dik antelopes; steenbok antelopes; jackals; bat-eared fox; lesser spotted genet. And birds; kori bustard; red-crested korhan, also known as the suicide bird. The male attracts females by flying high in the air and dropping quickly, fatal if misjudging hitting the ground! Our guide, John M, on our late afternoon drive was very knowledgeable, and effective in spotting the many animals.

The setting of the main buildings of the lodge was wonderful, curving around a small waterhole, with savannah beyond. Individual lodges extended from there. Our lodge was spacious, well furnished with a large comfortable bed. A veranda gave good views to the savannah.

Just sitting on the veranda we saw giraffes, kudu, oryx and jackals. A small duiker antelope came so close to the edge of the veranda that we could have touched it.

The staff were friendly and professional Meals were nicely cooked and varied." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Ms W
Manchester

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2023
"We were upgraded from the Plains Camp to the Bush Camp, which was amazing. Room, food and staff were all great.

We did 2 activities; the leopard drive and the rhino tracking both of which were successful and got us surprisingly close to the animals. The rhino tracking in particular was one of the highlights of our trip.

Wish we had stayed 2 nights rather than 1 as we had to pack in the activities and didn’t have time to enjoy the actual camp as much as we could have." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms J.
Mijas

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2023
"Room was amazing and the location great but it all felt a bit chaotic (laundry etc).

Could do with better management but we’re not complaining! Still lovely!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Kent

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2023
"Okonjima is a supremely comfortable and luxurious place to stay - it is the only place we have ever stayed where we had a day room as well as a bedroom/bathroom. It was a nice touch for each room to have its own mini waterhole - we enjoyed feeding the birds with the seed left for us, including a very patient hornbill.

We saw many animals there, including leopards and a pangolin. It was thrilling to get so close to them, although they were easy to track due to their radio collars. Our guide, Gabriel, was quite a character and full of information about the wildlife. We enjoyed our jeep trips out with him, despite the cold mornings.

The staff were very welcoming and the food was exceptionally good." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs W
Bath

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2023
"We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip. The access road is about 10km and it was a fun drive as there was plenty of wildlife to spot.

The rooms and common areas were beautiful. Its great having the small waterhole outside your room where some of the wildlife and birds come to drink. The lodge also provides seed for you to feed the birds which is a nice touch.

Surprisingly this was one of the very few lodges where we weren’t greeted as we arrived but had to go and find reception.

On the first afternoon we did a game drive where we tracked and had great views of one collared leopard with its juvenile cub. After dinner we went to the night hide where they put out leftovers from the kitchen. We had very good views of two porcupines and also spring & scrub hares on the short drive to the hide. We had to ask twice to do this activity as they seemed a bit reluctant.

On the second day we did a (very cold!) morning drive. Good game but unfortunately we couldn’t pick up any leopard signals in the area we had been assigned.

We requested to do the Pangolin tracking in the afternoon. The trackers go out at about 4pm and if you are lucky (which we were) they find a pangolin out and about in the daylight. It was about a 20 minute drive and then a short walk to see the Pangolin where we spent about 15 minutes following it around. It was fantastic! If the trackers don’t find a pangolin in the afternoon then you go out after dinner. If you want to do this activity then make sure you let them know asap as it is limited to 6 people. The only downside to this paid for activity (~£100 per person) is that you miss out on an included activity in the afternoon.

Food was good. We were on a fully inclusive package and what this includes at the different lodges varies. At Okonjima most wine and spirits on the drinks menu were not included and you had to be careful when ordering e.g. when asked what gin we wanted out of the 8-10 on offer we had to say “the fully inclusive gin”. Also it was disappointing that the ‘mini-bar’ in the room did not contain anything apart from water & milk. We could have asked for beer etc to be put in the fridge but we expected it to be already fully stocked as part of the fully inclusive package!" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

george
up north

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2023
"we were upgraded to the bush camp. had a lovely room with it's own waterhole to which a family of warthogs came to drink.

food was good and they accommodated our sons needs.

john m. was a goods guide with a knack for finding things and we saw everything we wanted to except for pangolin and aardvark (not seen elsewhere either)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr A.
Fontainebleau

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2023
"Bush camp is beautiful, confortable, cleverly designed and with beautiful fittings
Private mini waterhole and associated lounge is a must
Public areas (bar & restaurant) are wonderful
Food was the best of all lodges we staid" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Cambridge

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2023
"Okonjima was one of our last destinations during our amazing two weeks in Namibia, I confess I thought I had seen it all at this point. Okonjima delivered some of the most incredible experiences of our holiday. The setting is delightful, anywhere with a 28km drive is going to be good! We were at altitude at about 1500m so the air was thinner and the wind much more crisp and biting in the winter which made for a couple of cold drives in the bush.

The main lodge is so beautifully designed around a watering hole and each lodge had its own mini watering hole. We had a leopard guide for the first evening and she seemed to lead us on a wild goose chase through the bush until finally revealing herself to us right next to the vehicle. In the evening light the whole scene was breathtaking. The following day was planned to be a relax day for us, we setup in our lodge for reading and taking pictures of the birds next to our mini watering hole only to be treated by: Springbok, family of Warthogs and a real treat a family of Sable all within 2metres on the other side of the window completely oblivious to us." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Mr D & Ms G
London

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2023
"Again the welcome talk was about what wasn’t included. There were also staff problems and we gave feedback at the time.

I personally didn’t like the accommodation though it was spacious.

The food wasn’t brilliant and there was the same lunch menu each day.

Our guide seemed unused to visitors who were pleased to see and understand every bird and insect. In other words it was all about leopard sightings and he mixed up a female with a male. Luckily we had a vet on our jeep !

We felt the guiding experience was rather manufactured overall." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 252
97%
252 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
213
35
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve, where big cats can often be seen at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (399 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering luxury, privacy, flexibility and fantastic wildlife-watching opportunities.


100% (15 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite is an exclusive, luxurious two-bedroom retreat with a private guide and chef, offering some great photo opportunities when tracking predators.


100% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa