This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

82% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

62% success

White Rhino

42% success

Pangolin

24% success

Aardvark

13% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 1-10 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2020
"I was worried this was going to be really naff with tame cheetahs and collared leopards, but actually it was brilliant. The rooms are well designed – stylish and very private with lovely views. Each one had its own little bird bath/mini water hole for the animals to drink from, and you were also provided with a tub of bird seed to sprinkle outside. We had steenbok and springbok come and visit, as well as an assortment of birds. The day starts with a light breakfast of muffins and/or fruit and yoghurt, before heading out on a morning activity. Then brunch when you get back (bread, cheese, cold meats and fruit, plus a cooked breakfast if you want it), lunch (if you want it), afternoon tea followed by an afternoon activity with sundowners, then dinner, followed by an optional night activity. In general the food was good and the service at the lodge was also efficient and friendly.

Our guide, Martin, was great. He had amazing eyes and was great at explaining things. He also understood about light for photography. He showed us some amazing things.

We did leopard tracking on our first afternoon, but actually the highlight was some fabulous brown hyena sightings. This was followed by pangolin tracking (fabulous). Then the next morning was the Africat tour, where he took us inside the cheetah enclosures in the jeep, and also arranged for us to watch the lions be fed. That afternoon it was back for more leopards followed by a night hide/drive (more amazing brown hyena sightings). Then rhino tracking the next morning (2 white rhinos) with a fabulous sighting of a group of 10 sable antelopes on the way back to the lodge.

In general, I thought this was a really well run lodge, with excellent guiding, that really surpassed my expectations. We also had a really good sighting of a sable antelope here, but it wasn't in the list below." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

9 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Ms S.
Surrey

"Incredible Guide"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2019
"Brilliant room - loads of space. Good food.

Guide was incredible (and also found my phone that had been lost off the back of the truck in the dark - absolute legend).

Well designed and decorated dining room / social space with lovely garden views.

Really good work being done for animal conservation.." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

7 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Sawbo

"Okonjima, our final camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"Excellent accomodation with the glass wall in the sleeping area and the "outside lounge" where we were entertained by the visiting guinea fowl and red hornbills.

Again everything was brilliant - our guide Opari, the staff and the food. Had a great morning at the Africat centre to see the rescued cheetahs, etc. In the afternoon we tracked, on foot, two white rhinos. Got pretty close but we were always confident that our tracker knew what he was doing. Plenty of wildlife in this area as it was not as dry as the areas of the other camps.

Our day finished with a close up encounter between a leopard and a brown hyena. A lot of growling but nobody got hurt." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Louise & David
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp gets top marks!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"A long 30 mins drive from the main road, however it’s an ideal halfway stopover between Etosha and Windhoek. But more than that, Okonjima is a fantastic place, wonderful people who are truly dedicated to conservation and have a love and understanding of the leopards and cheetahs and all the creatures we saw during our 2 night stay.

The accommodation is fabulous, the communal areas and surroundings superb, food varied and delicious - we can’t rate it highly enough! And as if that isn’t enough to recommend it, all the staff were so engaging and fun to be with and our Guide was very knowledgeable, interesting and a delight to spend time with and learn from. Yes the leopard sightings are somewhat contrived as they are collared and radio-tracked but this in no way detracted from the experience as we were able to spend half an hour or more watching them and learning a little of their habits and behaviour. The rescued cheetahs are in a large compound, not so interesting for us.

We came away with huge respect for the Africat Foundation and it’s work and dedication to helping to improve the lives of the local people and their relationship with the animals, big cats in particular. The wildlife centre was fascinating, not only educational but fun.

A wonderful couple of days, a delightful experience!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"This is an excellent camp which is fully integrated with AfriCat Foundation and its work. It was a great place to finish our trip to Namibia." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Incredible vast and beautiful rooms + very friendly and enthusiastic staff.

The highlight was the seeing 3 brown hyenas at the nighthide and leopard in the afternoon" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Superb - great viewing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2019
"Fantastic guide, Rohan, and great sightings of leopards, brown hyenas, aardvark, aardwolf, genet, and many other species.

Good food and service." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs C.
Blauzac

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"Great lodge, amazing rooms - wished we had had longer. Again a great guide who made a great effort to find us a leopard.

Loved the bird feed for feeding the guinea fowl from our sitting room - what a wonderful room.

This was the one lodge where we experienced what can I say 'distracted service'. At breakfast we had to go hunting for staff to order our cooked breakfast. Our welcome wasn't warm. I felt as if there was a manager missing.

But honestly Nothing to spoil our stay. The standard had been so high in all the other lodges that comparisons were obviously made." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Eve& Reuben
Bozeman

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Our favorite place, the place we would return to and take others. Good choice on your part for our last lodge.

Our guide Gerts (sp?) was the best. He listened when we said one of goals was to see a pangolin and took to 2. He gave a good tour of the care center (of particular interest Reuben for having worked for years in one the US), found a honey badger too, and was always good company.

He explained so well the problem of habituated carnivores, and demonstrated the concern when we fed two lions." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 220
97%
220 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa