This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

238 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 53 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

3% success

Zebra

96% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

94% success

Brown Hyena

75% success

Sable antelope

73% success

Wildebeest

71% success

Eland

57% success

White Rhino

51% success

Pangolin

26% success

Aardvark

8% success

Spotted Hyena

3% success

Showing 1-10 of 238
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2022
"Upon arrival, the cheerful gate attendant happily told us we had been upgraded to Bush camp, so this review and ratings apply to there rather than the Plains Camp (which we are sure is nice too!) We had previously stayed at Bush Camp 4 years ago.

We arrived from Windhoek in time for lunch, and we had already been pre booked onto the afternoon activity, starting at 4pm. We were staying for two nights, so signed up for further morning, afternoon and night activities to keep us occupied for our time here. The room is very well equipped, and we also enjoyed the 'open air sala' lounge area next door to relax and drink tea whilst observing the wildlife between activities.

We enjoyed all of our meals here and think the food is excellent. Gideon, our guide was great and very knowledgeable. We shared a safari vehicle with 4 other guests for all activities bar one (which they didn't do). It was also nice to catch up with Opari, our guide from 4 years ago.

As like last visit, we are very impressed with the levels of research and conservation that takes place at Okonjima. We hope to return again!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

RMN and AT
London

"More Zoo than Game Park?"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2022
"The title is perhaps a little harsh. But in comparison to the Wilderness Safari lodges we had stayed in, this privately run conservancy was our least favourite lodge. Not however that there was any lack of good animal sightings, far from it. But it was poorly managed, notably in the check in and the restaurant service.

On arrival I was asked to write my email address into no less than three separate forms and there seemed to be masses of paperwork to fill in. The restaurant service was regularly poor, and at times there were no staff attending to the needs of clients eating for maybe 10 minutes at a time. That is frustrating when there are drive deadlines to be met. Having said that, there are pluses too.

The Bush Lodge villas are comfortable and spacious if a little tired by reason of their age, and one had the feeling that Covid had hit this place hard and they were struggling to get back to normal. The place is a private fenced reserve of about 400sq. kms into which the notable introductions are leopard and white rhino.

The key drive is a leopard tracking drive, using some rather old fashioned looking UHF aerials to find the leopards, most of whom are collared. We spent almost three hours tracking without success in an overly full vehicle (seven guests, with those at the rear having a poor view) and had more or less given up hope before we found a male drinking at a waterhole and had an excellent few minutes with him at very close range. The animals are clearly very habituated to the vehicles so there is an element of artificiality about seeing them from such close quarters. Then on the way back to base we found a second male, by chance, with another good view. On other drives we were searching for rhino, with the number in the reserve a closely guarded secret. Our driver followed tracks and we seemed not to be having any luck when we came across first a large male, who obliged us with very good views as he searched the ground for the scent of his colleagues, four other males whom we eventually also found. Again they were undisturbed by the vehicle and walked by at very close quarters.

The other highlight was two sightings of bat-eared foxes out during the day which is unusual, and there were plenty of sightings of giraffe, zebra (including Hartmanns Mountain Z) kudu, eland, sable antelope small buck, oryx and wildebeest. Birds were good too and I was glad to have a guide who knew his birds. Other trips were less crowded and I did two drives on my own which is always good fun. Food was rather dull and uninspiring, and we heard others saying the same thing. The atmosphere of the place was nothing like as friendly or efficient as the Wilderness lodges, which may be an unfair comparison. There is a small swimming pool. One irritating feature of the set up is that there are some activities which are not included in even the full board price, including a night drive, and for which a £50 per head charge seems excessive. A pangolin hunt at night is even more expensive at £100, but there is a lot of tracking work involved in spotting these persecuted animals.

For anyone who like us had got accustomed to the high standards of the Wilderness Safari lodges in the more remote areas of the country, where the scenery is the main attraction, I would think this place would disappoint." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

M&A
San Diego

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2022
"The mission at Okonjima has changed from rescuing/relocating big cats to educational efforts, but it still offers opportunities to see big cats up close and personal.

Large separate areas are set up for the lions and cheetahs on the reserve, while leopards roam the entire property. In addition, we saw a larger variety of animals here than on any other reserve on our Namibia trip.

But the highlight of our visit was in the AfriCat research center, where a tranquilized cheetah was brought in for a check-up. The new director invited other Okonjima staff and lucky visitors there at the time to crowd into the examination room and observe the process, then help staff groom the cheetah's matted fur coat. That experience will be remembered for a long time." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2022
"The thatched chalets were beautiful with the main chalet having 2 double beds and the bathroom with plenty of windows in the front half overlooking the plains and a small water bath for birds.

On the other side of the path to the front door is a second chalet which is your open air living room with 2 comfortable looking stretch chairs looking towards the front, drink making facilities and fridge. There is also a container which has a jar of bird food which you can throw out to get a flurry of Guinea fowl visiting.

Having said all that, we were only there for one night and were barely in our room (beyond sleeping) which made it seem a bit of a waste.

We went for the leopard tracking both in the afternoon and the following morning and were successful each time." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms TC
Florida

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2022
"Can’t wait to return! What a fantastic way to end our trip, our guide was excellent, he was very professional and funny too.

Our meals were the best on this trip, the staff was absolutely amazing and the dining area was ever so lovely. I loved our spacious room, and there were guinea fowls and wart hogs right outside at times.

We went for some lovely walks, and our morning drives were wonderful.

The rhino tracking activity was one of the highlights of this trip, and so was the sighting of a leopard who walked past our vehicle. We even saw one male rhino as we were leaving the camp on our last day, what a privilege!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"Same as previous comments" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Family A
Scarborough

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2022
"We stayed in the Villa last time. The facilities in the Bush Camp were excellent.

Although there are lots of collared leopards, actually seeing one is not a done deal. We tracked at least 7 over two days and actually clapped eyes on two. They are not big animals and if they do not want to be seen, they will not be.

Very knowledgeable guide who, to quote "did his level best to find the leopards". He certainly did, with some outstanding off roading.

It is a little sad seeing the cheetahs living out their lives in compounds but we understand that when they tried in the past to release them into the reserve the local leopards killed them.

Although not guaranteed, you do have a very good chance of seeing leopard here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2022
"The rooms were very much to our liking." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"Wonderful rooms, great staff and excellent food.

Did both the evening & morning game drives which were very good with knowledgeable guides.

Just wished we'd stayed here for more than one night." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
London

"Okonjima Bush Camp "

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"Our room was fabulous with floor to ceiling windows overlooking your own small private waterhole with another room adjoining outside set up as a day room with 2 day beds, tea & coffee, mini bar etc. Plenty of bird feed included too!

We had a group of warthogs drinking and bathing in the waterhole also visited by springbok and sable. We had Zebra roaming outside and on one morning we woke up to several giraffes in the very near distance with a couple of young ones laying in the grass.

We went on 4 Leopard trekking drives during our stay and Gabriel our guide was determined and did his upmost to find leopards for us. We managed to see 6 different ones including one with his Aardvark kill up a tree being stalked by another leopard plus a brown Hyena which all was very exciting.

We also visited the Africat Centre which was very interesting and found the 2 Cheetahs that live in the reserve ( in around 60 acres). Very nice to get up close to these and take some photos. Gabriel also arranged for us to watch from the hide the 2 lions having a feed that have been raised here since cubs when they lost their mother.

All the staff here were very friendly." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 238
97%
238 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
203
32
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve, where big cats can often be seen at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (378 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering luxury, privacy, flexibility and fantastic wildlife-watching opportunities.


100% (14 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite is an exclusive, luxurious two-bedroom retreat with a private guide and chef, offering some great photo opportunities when tracking predators.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa