This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 21-30 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Norwich

"perfect safari experience at Villa"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"perfect safari experience at the Villa" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr& Mrs T
Poole

"Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"Excellent lodge, very comfortable, friendly staff and very good food. The game drives were well organised and we had an excellent guide. We saw plenty of wildlife. You did have to drive a long time to find the tracked leopards. The night drive to the hide felt a bit stage managed as left over food was put out to attract the animals.

The visit to the Africat centre was interesting though sad to see some of the big cats would never be realised back into the wild.

Overall a great start to the holiday." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"A fantastic finale."

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"We were so lucky to arrive and find we had been upgraded to The Villa, together with 2 charming couples, one Dutch and one German. We shared both facilities and game drives and got on extremely well, which greatly added to the experience.

Our hostess Zanelle was charming, knowledgeable and efficient, and her husband Richard was a brilliant guide, nicknamed "bushkiller" for his off-road performances. Emily is a superb chef.

The Villa itself is quite remarkable for the standards of workmanship, the attention to detail and the extreme good taste with which it has been furnished and adorned. Beyond excellent!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Enjoyed the stay, well worth a visit" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Cheetah

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Dr D & Prof H
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"This is a review of Okonjima Bush Camp as we were given an upgrade from Plains Camp.

This was a wonderful way to end our stay in Namibia. The accommodation was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. The lounge area was a really nice place to linger. The fire pit outside the lounge was a real treat, as were the log fires indoors.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful, the guides were knowledgeable and friendly, and the food was superb. The activities were very well organised indeed and we saw a male leopard with a kill.

We didn't want to leave." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"When can we return?"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Having stayed previously at the Plains Camp, this was a totally different experience. Our rondavel was at the edge of the lodge with its own small waterhole. Beside it was a second, smaller rondavel, open to the savannah as a day-room, with beds and refreshments - and birdseed! As if they needed encouragement. Two king-sized beds, thick duvets and floor to ceiling glass made our room perfect.

The food was of a similarly high standard, as was the service.

We did several game-drives with Gert, to see leopard and cheetah, and to learn more of the Africat foundation, which now has a new well-equipped education centre.

The new night hide (only accessible from this Bushcamp) was a must as was walking with cheetahs. We even saw an Aardvark and a Pangolin." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M & Ms E
France

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"Although we only had one quick night here, our stay was wonderful.

Upon arrival in the afternoon, we immediately went for the leopard drive and were surprised to see many animals.

The staff here were so lovely and the room was very cosy, eclectically decorated, and immaculately clean." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Prof. R
Goring

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"We were too busy with the activities to enjoy all the facilities at the hotel but it was, overall, an excellent place to start our safari holiday.

The use of radio transmitters to find the cheetahs and leopards seemed a little odd at first but, as we learned later from the many safari drives elsewhere, both animals are difficult to spot and we did not see any after the Okonjima drives, and were grateful for the experience.

Highlight: observing the stand-off between a group of giraffes and two cheetahs ... the giraffes won." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
D & K
Texas

"Tracking Leopards and Cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"Okonjima Bush Camp is in a fenced private reserve that is a sanctuary for cheetah, leopards and other big cats. The camp is inside the reserve, but a fence separates the camp area from the cats. It has kilometers of well-marked, maintained trails on which guests can hike. The camp has 9 widely spaced chalets connected by groomed lighted paths. The common area is large, airy and, like the entire camp, is attractively decorated. Unlike the other camps we stayed at in Namibia, it has a green lawn and landscaping.

The guides track leopards and cheetahs with radio collars. Even using a radio direction finder, it was exciting to track find a large cat. We were excited when we tracked a female leopard and found it in a tree eating a warthog. We were thrilled when its "teenage" cub showed up to take away kill. We watched a major drama unfold in front of us as they sparred with one another.

Tracking and finding a cheetah on foot was a thrill. The guide allowed us to approach and observe at very close range.

Visiting the AfricaCat center and learning about the history, mission and activities of its program was interesting. However, seeing the cheetahs living in restricted fenced areas was a let down after tracking them in the "wild"." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2018
"The camp and the facilities were excellent. The small waterhole outside our room was a little pointless.

The game drive was disappointing. Africat is all about cheetahs and leopards, but seeing the cheetahs was a real disappointment.

The cheetahs were collared so they could be found. When we found them, we saw two rather scruffy looking animals, fast asleep in the back yard of a small house. The collars reinforced the impression that they were rather domesticated. Not a patch on the beautiful beasts in Ekosha. We cried off from the next drive which was supposed to be about finding a leopard.

On the same drive we experience the worst "sun downer" of the whole trip. The car stopped in a windy, not-very-special spot, and we were handed a can of drink. A cold and unmemorable experience, best forgotten asap." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 21-30 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa