This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 31-40 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
UK

"Wonderful experience"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2018
"Lovely accommodation and wonderful atmosphere" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

T & T
woodside

"True highlight of trip"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"What an amazing place. We had our own house to stay in. From the patio one could watch animals all day long. The birds come visiting and want one to put out birdseed, which is provided. Once one obliges one gets a true bird picnic. The Monteiro's hornbill is the clear ringleader. Meals are quite tasty. Again, very nice staff.

The activities were awesome. We encountered a leopard who had dragged his warthog dinner into a tree and was munching on it. He then came down and we surprised each other driving right past him, got some good closeups of a surprised looking leopard. We visited with cheetahs, who were in a mellow mood and purred like huge house cats. We saw a family of giraffes. And one of baboons. Lots of different antelopes - kudu, oryx, Springbok, duiker, impala, eland, the usual jackals.

A visit to the Africat Foundation was quiet interesting. Our guide was knowledgeable and interesting to talk with. After dinner we went on a night hike and from a blind watched hyenas having their dinner.

Truly a great experience!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs F & Mrs G
Kent

"Wonderful time at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2018
"What a fantastic experience we had. This is an interesting place, with good opportunities to see cheetahs and leopards, but also learning about their conservation work as well. Fascinating and well worth the visit. And its not just about the big cats - on the first evening we saw a Honey Badger (very rare) and a Gabard Hawk catching a Dove mid flight.

On the second day we saw all 3 kinds of small antelope in about half an hour, on also saw baboons, which are relatively rare in that area. . We caught up with leopards and cheetah - and while they are wearing tracking collars, the animals are still completely wild, roaming in a reserve the size of Surrey, and hunting for their own food. Wonderful trip trekking with the cheetah - a terrific experience.

Daniel our guide was excellent - very patient with our endless questions. There is a Hide there as well - and just as we were leaving it 2 porcupine turned up, once again an animal in the wild we had not seen before. Thoroughly recommend a trip there and supporting the amazing work done by the Africat Foundation.

Accommodation at Bush Camp is excellent - in a thatched lodge with a separate"day" room - where you can throw out grain and seeds to the animals and birds and they come to you !! " See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr J
Bedford

"Maximize your stay at Okonjima"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2018
"This camp was superb and we only wished we had booked our stay here for longer than one night - this is top of our list for a return visit and warrants a stay of at least 2 nights to participate in all the activities. We stayed in Chalet 9 which can only be described as pure indulgence and exceeded all our expectations.
The leopard tracking with Head Guide, Rohan, was fantastic and we were lucky enough to observe a male leopard with its kill being stalked by two scavenging brown hyenas only feet from where we were seated, in addition to the other wildlife we encountered en-route.
Staff were exemplary - friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist. The evening meal was excellent and our only disappointment would be that we had an early start for our drive to the airport and the breakfast choice was very unappealing and limited (yoghurt, bread and coffee) and no fresh fruit, juices, cheese or meat platter, or cooked food available or offered to us before we left." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Queensland

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs L
Uk

"Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2018
"The highlight of our trip! They call it a bush camp, but the rondavels are amazing, each with a separate "sitting room" open to the bush in front with seed to feed the guinea fowl, warthogs and hornbill birds.

Our guide was the chief guide for the whole of Okonjima/Africat. A gentle giant of a man from Zimbabwe called Previous. We had several drives with him including tracking cheetah on foot and seeing leopard. We were privileged to witness their two lion being fed.

They are kept there mainly to show/educate local children the importance of respecting their native wildlife. This is true for the Africat organisation." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The G's
London

"Lovely Camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2017
"Lovely accommodation. Apart from your chalet you have a TV room style viewing point next door with fridge and refreshments.
Although you are at ground level there is a beautiful view with animals and birds in sight.

Amazing place to see leopards and cheetah. The guides have tracking devices and seem to find them most times.

There is a trip to a hide at night where you can view the animals very closely.
Lovely pool area for some downtime which you need with the early mornings." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"A comfortable start. Just right."

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2017
"Okonjima is easy to get to, tarmac roads and fully signposted as you arrive. The bungalows are large, very private and well furnished with a kitchenette, bathroom, sitting area, and room outside. There's a lovely outlook over grazing game, and a personal mini-waterhole to attract the birds and the likes of warthog. Also a personal bag of bird seed. The reception area/restaurant is equally pleasant. We regretted only being able to get one night's stay.

The leopard tracking activity let us see plenty of game - as well as the leopards. It might be a bit 'unreal', but it wasn't a bad way to start. The night drive to a hide produced a Brown Hyena, but was otherwise rather more effort than it was worth. The early morning cheetah tracking was much like the leopard. It was nice to do some of this on foot. And, again, there were plenty of other things to see. I thought our guide was very professional in his work, something that you could apply to all the staff. " See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Perfect and memorable"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2017
"Superb.

Not a national park but still great viewing of leopards, cheetah, brown hyenas and pircupines.

Luxurious accommodation, great guide and wonderful staff." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2017
"Amazing rooms - although coming here from Etosha (where we stayed in the NP itself not at a private lodge) it was a bit overwhelming.

Great game drives - the driver certainly pushed the vehicle to its limits.

And an opportunity to get right up close to cheetah. Sadly we saw no leopards." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa