This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 41-50 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
D & P
Lavenham

"Luxury! A little oasis!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2017
"A surprise to see green grass - everywhere else was so careful with water! The most luxurious accommodation of the tour.

More wildlife to see with game drives, cheetahs and leopards living as freely as possible.

Food excellent as it has been on whole trip.

Wonderful day rooms where all sorts of birds and even a warthog came to feed. A jar of food provided and replenished!

Great night hide! " See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
BarryT
Knutsford

"Excellent cheetah and leopard tracking"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2017
"The home of Africat is one of the best places to see the big cats and we were not disappointed.

Brilliant guide Martin made sure we got to see the cats up close and we even walked to within fifteen metres of two cheetahs. Truly memorable experience.

Once again we were upgraded this time to the Bush camp as the Plains Camp was full. Excellent large chalet with massive windows overlooking the plain and a separate Rondavel where you could sit during the day with a glass or too and watch he wildlife.

We went on several safaris and saw cheetah and leopard plus impala, warthogs, and kudu.After leaving Ongava we drove through Otjiwarongo which is a great place to stock up. Lots of petrol stations and supermarkets. We thought Okonjima would be less luxurious after Ongava but we were not disappointed. Great staff, lovely food, and brilliant guide make this a place you should not miss.Don't miss the afternoon tea just before you go out tracking." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr F
London

"Wish we would have stayed two nights!"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"We thought this was just a stop over on our way to the airport but it was actually really great.

Rooms were excellent. Very big and isolated from each other. Every room had a mini water hole outside and massive windows to watch the animals. Also had a separate hut with cosy sofas exposed to the outdoors to relax in.

Plenty of excursions offered but we only got to partake in two as stayed just one night. Would have like to have done some of the walks and extra excursions. Service excellent and food great (massive breakfast omelette was great and Kudu wrap for lunch great). Slightly smaller camp so more intimate and great central setting." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & K
London

"Okonjima Bush Camp - another fantastic place"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"This was the last leg of our trip. We had enjoyed every single place we had stayed and we certainly weren't disappointed with Okonjima. Another beautifully designed lodge with great staff and good food.

We were impressed with our massive room with a private view from the bed. We also had a separate 'viewing' room, equipped with 2 chaises longues, a fridge, tea, coffee and biscuits, and overlooking a tiny waterhole, with plenty of birdlife to keep us entertained.

We were lucky enough to see leopard and it was really interesting to learn about all the conservation work that goes on here. I would have liked to have seen the wild dogs, but understand they had been moved earlier on in the year, which can't be helped. An excuse for another trip!

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Drs F & S
Oregon

"A great way to end the trip"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"Enjoyed the conservation effort and seeing all the cats." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Paul & Nicky
Keswick

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"A luxury camp to enjoy at the beginning or end of your trip if you feel like spoiling yourself and taking a couple of easy days.

The camp is easy to get to, spacious, with luxurious rooms. The food is excellent and the staff are warm hearted and professional. The fenced nature of the Reserve makes it very different indeed to Ongava, but it does allow you to see cheetahs and leopards at close quarters. We thoroughly enjoyed the cheetah tracking on foot with our guide Jonas, who was very reassuring at times when my wife was somewhat nervous!

The leopard tracking in a vehicle was also incredible, where we witnessed a leopard consuming a warthog, with a hyena trying to get involved rather nervously. These are sights of nature in the raw and amazing to witness, but one couldn’t describe them as a pleasure to witness!

More of a luxury holiday location in the Bush rather than a wilderness feel but still an absolute pleasure." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P M
Derbyshire

"Close contact with wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"A very different experience from the desert camps owned by Wilderness. The setting and the large numbers of birds and other wildlife make this a worthwhile camp to stay in. I particularly liked having a small waterhole outside my room, along with the attached "hide" and a supply of birdseed which enhanced the viewing experience.

Getting close to cheetahs and leopards was an excellent experience, albeit not easily brought about by the guide. This was the only camp, however, where my single traveller status felt like a slight handicap - eating alone, for example, without being asked if I would prefer to have company, as in Serra Cafema, and spending much of the last game drive (following a female leopard) unable to hear the guide or see what was happening. This was partly a result of the greater numbers of visitors, but also the different style of this camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Okonjima & The AfriCat Foundation."

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at Okonjima and our reservation included full board and all activities. We found Okonjima Bush Camp to have a very informal, relaxed feel and we enjoyed this atmosphere a lot, and attributed it to having being developed and remaining in the same family who are clearly very passionate, and we felt this was evident in the comfortable surroundings and warm welcome and ease of the staff.

The focus of this Reserve is obviously the care and rehabilitation of cheetahs and leopards some of whom are radio collared. We feel that it is vital to the enjoyment and understanding of the ethos behind this reserve to take the time to fully understand the programme and visit the AfiCat foundation. Additionally we felt that our visit was directly going back into helping the environment, local area and people.

We were fascinated in the way that the radio is programmed in order to track the animals and to witness on one of our drives that despite the signal being very strong, when an animal does not wish to be found then it will simply not be found. This was obviously the other side of tracking and we had been fortunate the previous afternoon and evening to spend time watching a leopard and her cubs happily relaxing and playing, and then again relaxing in a dry sand riverbed as we were driving out of the reserve.

Our guide whose name escapes me as I am writing had apparently worked at the reserve for some seven years+ but had recently left but had returned temporarily to cover the busy period. This meant that he was obviously very knowledgable and over various rides, some with other guests and some just the two of us, we learnt a lot about the area, the background and the history of the reserve and saw a lot of wildlife. He was clearly very passionate and this came across during our time together.
Had a fantastic time looking for and eventually finding Pooh the hyena. We also enjoyed the views of the plains and overall terrain of the reserve, and it was interesting for us to also see efforts to grow their own produce.

The night time hide was quiet for wildlife but a few animals did appear but since you have to drive to and from there the guide that took us seemed reluctant to spend too much time there, which differed from Ongava where since you walked and were independent you could spend as long as you wished. We did not use the swimming pool however it was nicely located around a grassy area with covered seating and am sure is a nice place to relax should you have additional time.

Our room with zipped tent flaps was great, very comfortable, spacious with the addition of a side open rondavel with great loungers, fridge, tea coffee and refreshments and a jar of bird food and a small waterhole. We loved this space and could have happily extended our stay just to sit longer, relax and watch the birds and wildlife wandering by.

The dining and communal areas were very welcoming and relaxed and set around a grassy waterhole. Afternoon refreshment and snack were lovely, and both dinner and breakfast with eggs cooked to order were great and served by happy knowledgable staff. Wine and bar options were also very satisfactory. There is a large gift shop in the lobby with a good selection of AfriCat related items and more traditional African gifts.

We felt that there were many positives here and the right balance of space, staff and guides and have very fond memories of our stay. Excellent job by all involved in this Reserve.


" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Ms K
Brisbane

"Okonjima Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2017
"Great location but a little contrived. It was nice to see leopard and cheetah but felt a little bit like it was cheating as they were so easy to find with the collars. We walked right up to 2 cheetahs - almost felt like they were tame. If you want to see these beautiful creatures then it is a great option but if you want the feeling of seeing them in the wild then maybe give it a miss." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H & L
Berks

"BRILLIANT!!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2017
"Great place!

Arrived round 3.30pm - and did not realise lunch was included in our package - as well as an afternoon leopard tracking session. However, staff were great and quickly packed us up on our own for a private guided tour with Michael - before we even checked in! great trip - saw 4 leopards incl 2 cubs.

accommodation fantastic - the separate viewing chalet for each room - with bird seed to chuck out the window, blankets, comfy chairs, t/ coffee and homemade biscuits - was great. We had warthogs and deer things come right up and could even tickle the warthogs back!

Evening night ride was also excellent - saw nothing in the hide, but guide went off looking and we found 4 porcupine including 2 baby ones, plus a whole host of other beasties. Checked in late - in the dark...

next day - early walk for cheetahs - and found 4, easy time through lunch and went hyena hunting in the pm - saw none - so switched to leopards again - and saw a couple more. Sundowners with the baboons. Great room, great guide, great staff - a highlight!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa