This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by T&M from Queensland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

2

Jun/Jul 2022 trip Namibia/Zambia/Rwanda

Namibia and 3 other countries between 8 Jun 2022 and 7 Jul 2022

Trip rating: Good
"Our holiday was outstanding.

We weren't sure what to expect travelling to Africa so soon after international borders started to open again, but we were delighted with how quickly tourism has found its feet again in Namibia, Zambia and Rwanda. Our self drive in Namibia felt perfectly safe, and our first time to Zambia now won't be our last.

Claire did a great job with our covid delayed trip. Fantastic support on the trip with CV 19 testing issues for Rwanda as a result of delayed airlines. Accommodation particularly in Zambia was outstanding."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2022
"Excellent accommodation but rating "Good" because wildlife was a little disappointing.

The accommodation, food and service really was terrific by Nambian standards and to have two living spaces, one of which operated much like our own private photography hide would bring us back to Okinjima. June 2022 was early post-covid days so the only downside were some staff being more focused on tipping. We found this to be the case in most places we stayed throughout the 3 countries we visited, and is entirely understandable given people had very little or no economic support for 2 years.

Okinjima has conceded it can't sustain Cheetah conservation as the area is not natural cheetah habitat and reintroduction is not effective.....disppointing but understandable. That said, we applaud every effort to preserve wildlife in Nambia, and Okinjima is doing an excellent job with other species. Our guide there went above and beyond to ensure we saw brown hyena which was our only sighting in the six weeks we spent in Nambia.

We stayed at Okinjima for 2 nights/1 full day so while our only chance for a game drive was not as fruitful as we hoped, another couple staying there had terrific leopard, aardvark and pangolin sightings."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2022
"The executive room at the Olive Grove is huge, has a beautiful view and is extremely comfortable. The staff are friendly and the restaurant food very good. I've also stayed in their standard room on a separate occasion and for short stays those rooms are also very comfortable, albeit a little smaller and less of a view.

Wifi is very reliable and the secure internal parking a must for Windhoek."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2022
"Great staff at Hoodia and the full day Sossusvlei excursion is a must if you are staying here. Our guide Ennis was very knowledgeable about desert wildlife and with great skill found us spiders, shovel snouted lizards and an owl.

The guide will take you to a beautiful spot for lunch near a large weaver bird nest that will keep you thoroughly entertained during a fantastic lunch. This tour also includes an easy hike through the canyon at the end of the day that is worth doing.

The chalets at Hoodia are very private and have an outdoor shower option. We enjoyed its location on the banks of the Tsauchab and spent some time walking the river bed. Sunsets from the chalet were spectacular."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

12 Jun 2022 • All-day excursion

The full day Sossusvlei excursion is a must if you are staying at Hoodia Desert Lodge. Our guide Ennis was very knowledgeable about desert wildlife and with great skill found us spiders, shovel snouted lizards and an owl.

The guide will take you to a beautiful spot for lunch near a large weaver bird nest that will keep you thoroughly entertained during a fantastic lunch.

This tour also includes an easy hike through the canyon at the end of the day that is well worth doing.
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2022
"Cornerstone is a fine short stay option. Convenient to the beach and downtown Swakopmund. Breakfast was good. Off street parking provided which is a must for this area.

We were located furthest from the main house so wifi was a little unreliable. It may be more reliable closer to reception.

The room was lovely, however the bathroom could've used a power point for a hair dryer."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2022
"I can't rate the staff of Safarihoek highly enough. Titus, Teek and our 2 chefs couldn't have done more to make this our most memorable experience in Namibia. The food at Safarihoek was outstanding and easily the best we had while in Namibia. The manager, Queen, deserves a lot of credit as the whole team was by far the happiest, service oriented group we encountered.

The chalets all have views over one of the waterholes, they have private decks, a kitchenette and an outdoor shower. Everything was well laid out and very comfortable. The lodge itself is a beautiful, relaxed space to have a drink or a swim and view the waterhole.

We loved Safarihoek in June but suspect it will really shine in the drier months when more animals from Etosha are looking for water away from the Etosha crowds. The manmade waterholes here are very picturesque particularly compared to neighboring Etosha NP and it has an outstanding photography hide near one of them. It was interesting that given 7 years ago this was a hunting lodge, we saw so many of the elusive species here such as Eland and Rhino. We also expected the animals to be more skittish but they seem to be relaxing. As photographers we fully intend to return here."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2022
"Everything you'd expect from an airport hotel. Early and late checkout and breakfast from 4am.

Quite a hike from international arrivals and not easy to find."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

"Lion Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2022
"Wildlife, food and service was excellent. Vicki and Wayne are really delightful hosts and the staff absolutely terrific.

The honeymoon suite was outstanding. Our only regret was that there was so much else to do here that we didn't have time to sleep in the alternative outdoor bedroom, under the stars in this suite. This chalet is located far from the lodge area with unobstructed views over the lagoon from 2 angles.

The three game drives per day (morning, afternoon/night) with Donald exceeded our expectations. We chose on 2 occasions to substitute the morning drive for walking safaris. The walks provide an alternative perspective focusing on smaller species and tracking knowledge, while your senses are heightened to the potential for encountering the larger animals. We came across a leopard and cubs on our first walk with our walking guide Meyam and elephants with our second walking guide, Innocent. Large animals are viewed from a safe distance. Both walking guides were excellent.

Lion Camp also has a very nice photography hide at lagoon level. Good in June but we can't comment on photography ops from the hide when the lagoon is dry."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2022
"The location and photography facilities are outstanding and we will definitely stay here again.

Being located right on the river and the surrounding wildlife density, gave us a feeling of being in nature 24/7, rather than simply observing it at drive times. To this point, Kaingo accommodation is extremely comfortable and is also right in the nature experience, so don't expect boardwalks or TV and tea facilities in the room etc, as being so close to nature is exactly what makes this a magical place.

The 2 photography hides are very well located and having an additional private viewing deck of the Luangwa River attached to each suite provided maximum photography opportunities.

Our guide team Elias, Benson and Peter were exceptional. Mary, Ben, Catherine and Simon took great care of all our creature comforts.

Located quite close to Lion Camp, so safari drives will cover similar areas."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel

"Heaven Boutique Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2022
"Fine hotel for a short stay. Room is very small but food is good."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2022
"If the focus is seeing the gorillas it's a good solution. I have stayed here twice, the last time was 6 years ago.

Nothing much has changed since then. The chalets are very large and the staff work hard to keep them looking good. It is very reasonable as a launch point to get to the park each day.

The fireplace in the chalet is really cosy, and the water always hot. Food is basic and buffet style. You can hire gators and gloves for the trek. Check credit card facilities with Expert Africa as Reception told us we could we pay with a credit card but on check out they said it wasn't possible."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

3 Jul 2022 • Morning excursion

Visited Sabinyo (second time) and Muhoza. Sabinyo trekking led by Roger and Muhoza with Odette/Francis. All excellent guides.

First time to gorillas was 2016 and got to say that this time was remarkably different. I can't help but think this coincides with either the increase in interest - thanks to Ellen Degeneres - or the increase in price now attracting a less nature/gorilla loving clientele.

People were generally rude and showed little consideration for the guides directions, or others trying to view the same gorillas on difficult terrain. Both of our guides were very young compared to the guides I had in 2016, so perhaps they are on a learning curve right now, but if it is more a function of a different clientele than I think Rwandan parks needs to step in on behalf of the guides to make that short hour more orderly and fair for all trekkers. For example, someone other than the Guides should lay rules out to trekkers when we are still at park center.

Unfortunately peoples behavior was so bad, that our next gorilla trek will be in Uganda.
Good
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

4 Jul 2022 • Morning excursion

Visited Sabinyo (second time) and Muhoza. Sabinyo trekking led by Roger and Muhoza with Odette/Francis. All excellent guides.

First time to gorillas was 2016 and got to say that this time was remarkably different. I can't help but think this coincides with either the increase in interest - thanks to Ellen Degeneres - or the increase in price now attracting a less nature/gorilla loving clientele. People were generally rude and showed little consideration for the guides directions, or others trying to view the same gorillas on difficult terrain. Both of our guides were very young compared to the guides I had in 2016, so perhaps they are on a learning curve right now, but if it is more a function of a different clientele than I think Rwandan parks needs to step in on behalf of the guides to make that short hour more orderly and fair for all trekkers. For example, someone other than the Guides should lay rules out to trekkers when we are still at park center.

Unfortunately peoples behavior was so bad, that our next gorilla trek will be from Uganda.
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team