This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Reviews: Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Below are independent comments from 52 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 52
Date
Mr & Mrs B
Fortrose

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 23 Oct 2022
"Ineos was our guide to Sossusvlei, he was informative about the desert and its place in the surrounding area. We climbed "Big Daddy" which was amazing.

Lunch was set up outside the park, under a shady tree with Oryx looking on!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 11 Oct 2022
"The full day excursion to the massive sand dunes surrounding Sossusvlei from Hoodia Desert Lodge turned out to be the ideal way to visit Sossusvlei and sourroundings, for many THE most famous Namibian tourist attraction. The huge pans (or vleis) receive water from Tauchab River at rare occasions (not every year), from where it evaporates, creating a surreal landscape in the desert only surpassed by Salvador Dali! We left Hoodia Desert Lodge at 05.30 am to be ready at the Sesriem Gate at 06.00. Our guide D. was very talkative along the whole tour but also very skilled and a remarkable source of information.

1. stop: A small bushman walk in the dunes on the way to Sussosvlei. The main attraction was to see a White Lady spider. In the distance, the balloons hovered along the red sand dunes – impressive sight
2. stop: Dune 40 + 45 at distance. We did not climb, but it seems you can avoid the crowds by choosing dune 40 which opened recently. Go early before it gets too hot!
3. stop: Daniel explained the history and geology of South Western Africa drawing on a sand dune. Very interesting and informative.
4. stop: We climbed red sand dunes and reached Dead Vlei via a less known vlei to the right of Dead Vlei. This turned out to be the perfect way to avoid the crowds using the main track for Dead Vlei
5. stop Lunch at Elin Dune. An “Out of Africa” experience. Tablecloths and cool white wine in the middle of the desert under an acacia tree!

Conclusion, this full day excursion from Hoodia Desert Lodge was the perfect way to explore the area." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr G & Ms B
Hove

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 8 Oct 2022
"Great fun and taking photos of the dead valley is not to be missed." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Kartik
Patel

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 6 Oct 2022
"Our Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion with Paulos was just right for us. We were taken up a smaller dune near Big Daddy, which turned out much better for our levels of fitness, and it gave us more time to enjoy our surroundings.

After seeing Sossuvlei and Deadvlei, we were taken to a spot further away from all of the other tourists, to effectively a private setting. We all pitched in to set up a fully kitted out lunch table, to enjoy a lovely lunch in the desert with just the oryx, ostrich, birds and each other for company.

Our small party of 7 plus Paulos was a lovely group which made the experience that much more memorable." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 27 Sep 2022
"Lucas was a most excellent and knowledgeable guide on our trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs N.
Rickmansworth

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review Post Covid Sept 2022"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 10 Sep 2022
"The full day excursion was brilliant and our guide Daniel couldn't do enough for us. The three younger members of our group went up Big Daddy whilst the two oldies climbed a smaller dune under his guidance! He also pointed out and explained a number of features of the local area which we would otherwise have missed. The picnic lunch was very enjoyable!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 11 Sep 2022
"The guided trip to Sossusvlei was memorable. We are fortunate to have visited Sossussvlei twice before, but we have not had such an informative trip.

The guide, Lucas, was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a lengthy explanation of the formation of the dunes using the sand as his blackboard. He identified many tracks, dug up a spider and showed us mice eating flowers on a bush. These were all aspects of life in the desert that we would have missed without his expertise. He was chatty and answered all our questions, which ended up covering a vast variety of aspects of life in Namibia.

The other couple we were with chose to climb Big Daddy, but we didn’t and this caused no problem at all. Lucas made sure both couples understood their route; he advised on the best route for us to Dead Vlei, being unable to walk so well.

Lunch was truely in an 'Out of Africa' style, with plenty of excellent food, and was much enjoyed (we were surprised that beer and wine were included)." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms L.
Monmouth

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 28 Aug 2022
"Good knowledgeable guide, communicated well.

A wonderful day out." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 19 Aug 2022
"The day trip to Sossusvlei (which was included in our price) was excellent. We left the lodge at 7am with our guide Lucas and another family of 3 for the short drive to the dunes.

Lucas was very knowledgeable and explained the history of the dunes. He took us a different route to all the other tours so we enjoyed the dunes by ourselves without the crowds. We then walked down a dune to Deadvlei which was incredible to see and wasn't very busy.

We had a lovely lunch amongst the dunes in a private spot and then visited Sesriem Canyon before arriving back to the lodge at 4.30pm." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Southamptn

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 25 Jul 2022
"Daniel the guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining showing us the dunes and what was hidden beneath.

A very enjoyable trip with good food and wine for lunch." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 52
98%
52 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
49
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team