This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Reviews: Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Below are independent comments from 35 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 35
Date
Mr K
New York

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 4 Sep 2021
"The excursion to Sossusvlei was good - wasn't expecting a pond in the desert with flamingos and avocets.

In retrospect, I would probably have chosen to drive myself rather than going on the group drive." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
AK
USA

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 4 Sep 2021
"Excellent guide, lunch stop and location was superb too." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr M.
Haifa

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 17 Jul 2021
Overall
Excellent
Mr A & Ms M
USA

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 21 Nov 2020
"Driver got stuck in the sand, but it made the excursion better because we had time to walk on our own!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Beyond Compare"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 27 Jan 2020
"Knowledgeable guide that went above and beyond. Enjoyed getting out in the dunes, tracking scorpions, white spiders, etc. as well as climbing them.

We had our lunch spot all to ourselves. A lovely picnic lunch complete with tables, chairs, linens, and dishes as well as an oryx nearby. Fun to watch the weaver birds flit about in the tree.

At the end of lunch our guide poured out the water onto the log. The birds, a gecko and lots of beetles all came to drink. Fun to watch." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms S.
Surrey

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 15 Nov 2019
"Great guide.

Brilliant day out.

Fancy lunch for the middle of the desert," Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review "

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 14 Oct 2019
"The Sossusvlei excursion was absolutely brilliant.

Our guide Lucas was incredibly knowledgeable and we loved the fact that he deliberately took us away from the crowds to find quieter spots. The lunch and 'bar' was super, I think we were all slightly drunk by the time we got to the canyon in the afternoon (a lovely German man took charge of keeping everyone's glasses topped up during lunch) but we were all hugely enjoying ourselves." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
FunOnly
Calgary

"A bucket list adventure"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 1 Oct 2019
"Our guide to Sossusvlei, Lucas, was extremely knowledgeable about the desert environment and also planned our day to minimize the crowds at the most popular attractions. He took us to a quiet location under Acacia trees where he rolled out a gourmet lunch with a variety of wine, even a basin for hand washing! Sitting with a glass of cold sparkling wine and watching the Oryx and Ostrich wander by will be a lasting memory.

Climbing the sand dunes are physically challenging and should be done early to minimize the heat. We were impressed that Lucas kept a close watch on how were faring and always has a plan B when the going got tough. We very pleased to have been in an air conditioned SUV rather than the open sided safari jeeps and trailer that is used by some lodges and the public transport system as the dust and heat was extraordinary.

Do not miss the opportunity to do the private sundowner cocktails on the mountain overlooking the lodge. Lucas also coordinated it. The private sundowner cocktails on the mountains were an decadent exceptional experience and will be our lasting pleasant memory of Namibia for many years to come." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Wonderful Sossusvlei Excursion"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 15 Sep 2019
"We had an amazing small group tour to Sossusvlei in the company of our very knowledgeable guide Lucas. On the way we had a stop at the edge of the sand dunes where Lucas found a few small sand dwelling creatures (spider, scorpion etc.) for us to observe, which was very interesting and educational. He also explained about the formation of the dunes and the effect of ocean currents and winds.
Lucas proved a good leader in our walk over the dunes to Deadvlei and he suggested the right level of activity for our group to get the most out of our visit
Towards the end of the trip we stopped for lunch in the desert at a shaded rest stop. Although it was enjoyable, it took a long time and personally would have preferred to have lunch back at the lodge and then have time in the afternoon to relax and enjoy the lodge's facilities, such as the pool. Transportation on the excursion was very comfortable." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs C.
Blauzac

"Avery interesting day in the dunes"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 30 Aug 2019
"Our guide was very interesting and made the dunes come alive, showing us buried insects, the traces of snakes, and hares in the sand.

We had a great lunch laid in the shade and the trip went at the speed and capacities of the group." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 35
98%
35 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
32
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team