This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Reviews: Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Below are independent comments from 76 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 11-20 of 76
Date
Mr & Mrs Paul
Surrey

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 25 Oct 2023
"The trip to Sossusvlei was great and the guide very knowledgable.

Really loved the walk up the dunes away from the crowds and the search for animal tracks and spiders in the sand. Lunch out was unique and well catered.

Felt the walk to Sesriem canyon was a bit touristy and was just a walk in and out but interesting nonetheless." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Hoodia Sossusvlei great dunes excursion"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 22 Oct 2023
"Hoodia is about a 40 minute drive from the park gates. Only those people staying in the park are able to see the sunrise from the dunes. Once people staying outside are let in the sun is up. Nevertheless, the landscape of the red dunes is majestic.

Daniel, our guide, stopped and took us a short distance off road to see some of the tiny creatures living in the sand, including the dancing spider. Further on we climbed up a smallish sand dune. We were told that the many oryx that live in the park can sometimes be found on top of the dunes cooling themselves down. It was extremely hot.

For lunch our guide took us away from the crowds. Stopping under a shady tree, tables and chairs were set up, and a proper lunch laid out. This was again very professional and very enjoyable." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Bintang
Cambridge

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 2 Oct 2023
"The Sossusvlei Excursion was more than just a trip to the dunes.

The guide was excellent and explained the geology and wildlife, including the dancing white lady spider.

The picnic lunch was also quite extravagant." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr P.
Chelmsford

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 22 Sep 2023
"felt a bit more routine than everythign else, although we enjoyed the stop to look at tracks of insects, etc and also the lunch venue and lunch" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr D.Geer
Chelmsford

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 22 Sep 2023
"Very interesting...walking on the dunes was very tiring for 65 year olds!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mrs W
Bath

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 28 Sep 2023
"Overall we were very disappointed with this activity – except the lunch which was fantastic. One of the main reasons we stayed at the lodge was to do this activity as we know the area gets a lot of visitors and this activity is described as ‘off the beaten track’. Some of the extracts from the description:

‘Our aim is to deliver a unique “off beaten tracks” experience in nature and we focus on places which are rarely mentioned in guide books – especially today facing an overwhelming increase of tourist in SSV area’.

‘Hiking to Dead Vlei and later Sossusvlei using “secret routes” to minimize seeing too many other visitors’.

This is not the experience we had. We visited the main sites (and only the main sites) at peak time using the same routes as all the other hundreds of tourists. There was nothing ‘off the beaten track’ about it. Even though we got into park close to sunrise we spent so much time getting lectures at No 1 dune that by the time we got to Dead Vlei it was peak time and we’d missed the best light. We were then told we had 3 hours at Dead Vlei to allow people to walk up Big Daddy. No where in the description does it mention this. We’d walked to the vlei and taken our photos etc withing 45 minutes so we had to stand for nearly 2 hours under the one tree with any shade in the car park waiting for everyone else to finish." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Mrs C.
London

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 3 Sep 2023
"Daniel was a tremendous guide. There were just 5 of us and he made sure we were comfortable before we set off.

He showed us small desert animals as well as Oryx, Wildebeest, Springbok, lizards, spiders, vultures, stag beetles and Ruppells Korhaans and other birds, and so much more.

Daniel was very knowledgeable about Namibian history and geology too. It was fascinating to see the iron deposits in the red sand dunes, and climb to the top of one. He accompanied us pointing out flora too including the petrified trees.

The lunch picnic was delicious; beautifully set out on a carpet with tables, chairs, tablecloths and cutlery.

Sitting under an acacia tree in the desert with Oryx grazing nearby was an unforgettable experience" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr N.
Teignmouth

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 4 Sep 2023
"Great experience with a good guide.

The scenery was mind-blowing." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms J.
Mijas

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 31 Aug 2023
"Absolutely incredible day, the climb up half of Big Daddy, the guide was one of the best, and the lunch spot totally amazing!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs L.
London

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 22 Aug 2023
"Due to flight delays, we arrived late but they accommodated us by taking us on the full tour in the afternoon/evening (it's usually early morning).

The whole experience was excellent and we enjoyed sundowners before returning to the lodge.

Fantastic guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 76
97%
76 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
67
6
2
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team