This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M. O
Horsham

"An excellent, convenient stop off hotel"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"I was at City Lodge for only two nights as a stop-over to Victoria Falls. For that it was excellent and convenient, clean, good service and nice room.

My only slightly negative feedback would be that I had to pay extra to check in after my early flight arrived as the rooms are not normally free until 10.00. I had hoped they could find one room that was empty and that I could go to with our paying extra, but this is a minor point.

I had only one light meal there so can't comment much on the food. Breakfast was excellent. " See all these reviews: 1n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs LP
SW London

"Efficient airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of arrivals and departure.

Reception was efficient, the room was satisfactory but we were disappointed by the quality of the evening meal. The breakfast buffet was fine." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"City Lodge is right in the airport, but the airport is very large and security lineups for international flights can be long!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Donna & Steve
USA

"Beautiful hotel"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"This hotel was much nicer than we expected.

The staff was very helpful in keeping track of our bags. The restaurant offered tasty, inexpensive food.

My only tip for travelers is to be sure you take a luggage cart because it's further from the international arrivals area than we thought." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Paula
Atlanta

"great location"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"After a long flight I was so glad the hotel was easy to get to and comfortable. Completely adequate. Line at Front Desk was long but that was simply due to time of day." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
TheOldGeezer
Stafford

"City Lodge"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"Right on the Doorstep & an overnight stop enroute to Mozambique.

Great Value / Clean & Friendly Staff.

Only downside was the Ping Ping of the Microwave Meals." See all these reviews: 4n in Mozambique; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms F.
London

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2019
"Good hotel, conveniently located, got the job done." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms D
Ireland

"One night at City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2019
"Convenient location within walking distance of Airport Terminal.

Friendly staff, Comfortable bed.

Food rather ordinary. " See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
N & J Lancs
UK

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 132
83%
132 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
63
22
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa