This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

143 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 143
Duration
Arrival date
N & J Lancs
UK

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P
Netherlands

"Convenient hotel to stay overnight"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2022
"The hotel - especially the corridors - looks a bit worn out and could do with a strike of fresh paint and some refurbishment.

The part I did not like was that although it at the airport premises it is quite a walk which does not feel totally OK when you - as a woman all by herself - have to cover this distance late at night and there is absolutely not another sole in sight. But supposedly it is safe." See all these reviews: 20n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
C & K
RI

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2022
"Having spent a day traveling back from a mobile camp and the Maun airport, we were pleased to have a comfortable room in which to sleep before embarking on the long trip back to London and then the US." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
C & K
RI

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2022
"After traveling from Boston to London, and then London to Johannesburg, it was a relief to spend a night here.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, it is a short walk from the airport, and there is a restaurant in the hotel.

We were able to leave a bag here while we spent time in Botswana." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms B
Australia

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 16 Apr 2022
"Perfect for what we needed, i.e. a place to sleep the night between flights.

Big bonus being able to walk there with all our luggage without having to leave the airport.

We didn’t eat that night - straight to bed, but breakfast the next day was great, and very friendly and accommodating staff." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 24 Mar 2022
"For time wealthy travellers like us the best way to start an African holiday is refreshed! We can not recommend too strongly a day's rest at City, a short walk in the terminal, and then fly onto the holiday after the long flight from the UK.

Oh and a very good tip is to walk over to the next door hotel and get a good meal and wine in their restaurant..............a very nice "local" tip !" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2022
"The hotel was very pleasant and the food was good but it was not how we thought we would start our holiday, plus searching for lost luggage" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
safari lovers
UK

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jan 2022
"Great over night stop. Comfy clean, great location and more than adequate restaurant- breakfast buffet good. Added bonus of pool." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa; 5n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2021
"Convenient, clean, comfortable.

No aircraft noise (as airport not functioning at capacity?)" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
New Jersey

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2021
"While it was a bit of walk across the airport to get there, once there, all was fine.

Check-in was straightforward and the room was fine.

The restaurant on site was good." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 143
83%
143 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
68
24
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (24 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa