This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

165 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 165
Duration
Arrival date
Dr and El Jeffe
MT

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2024
"The City Lodge was fine. The fact that I could walk there from the airport made it perfect for our stay" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

cyk
London

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2024
"Couldn't checkin when we arrived, and was told to come back at 2, but another guest said to go back every 20 minutes and we quickly got allocated a room.

Had to change rooms as first one stank of smoke.

Overall room was comfortable and quiet. Food and beverages excellent and very reasonably priced.

Breakfast very good." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa; 2n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
M and D
France

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 2 May 2024
"We rate City Lodge as average in comparison to all other accomodation we stayed in during our trip in Southern Africa.

Objective of staying there was indeed merely convenience: stop overnight during transfers from Botswana to Namibia.

The hotel is a standard, very good quality, airport hotel - therefore lacking personality and "soul".

It is very conveniently located, within Jo'burg airport. It offers decent, clean and quiet bedrooms; as well as good standard food with many options (we tested dinner and breakfast), served at very convenient times, from 04.00am until late at night - so you are sure to get food if you arrive late or leave early. Staff is courteous. Only negative point is that we had asked for a wake-up call at 4.00am, to leave at 4.30am, and the hotel prsonnel did not show up - they came to our room when we were ready to depart at 04.20am. So recommendation to put your alarm clock on as a back-up!" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Jane U
London

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2023
"This was a really comfortable and convenient place to stay during my one-night stopover in Johannesburg and far superior to other airport hotels I have stayed in (in Johannesburg and elsewhere)." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
G & C
Ann Arbor

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2023
"This hotel was located very conveniently, just a short walk from the airport.

Breakfast was buffet was helpful to get us off to a quick trip back to the airport for our onward flight. There were several good vegan options including fruit, potatoes, roasted tomatoes, and cereal.

The meet and greet representative from NAS Colossal Aviation was very helpful and definitely worth adding on to your trip.

He met us at the bus at the Johannesburg airport. He was friendly and helpful with picking up our luggage and then leading us to the front of the line for immigration and customs. He then kindly showed us to the hotel and explained how we could get back to the airport the next morning." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Tom & Lise
NC USA

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2023
"The City Lodge OR Tambo is very conveniently located adjacent to the OR Tambo terminals and can be reached without having to go outside, carts are available to move luggage to the City Lodge.

The room was clean and comfortable, but did show evidence of wear

The Meals were excellent and a highlight of our stay.

The waitstaff were attentive and friendly.

The front desk staff were variable in helping us deal with some international issues." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Explorer
Dan Brownlee

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2023
"Again, very convenient. Took a day city tour thru Viator. Was really pleasantly surprised at the historic and contemporary Johannesburg. Will return to look at it in depth." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Tom & Lise
NC USA

"City Lodge OR Tambo convenient & great food"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2023
"The City Lodge OR Tambo is very conveniently located adjacent to the OR Tambo terminals and can be reached without having to go outside, carts are available to move luggage to the City Lodge.

The room was clean and comfortable, but did show evidence of wear

The Meals were excellent and a highlight of our stay.

The waitstaff were attentive and friendly.

The front desk staff were variable in helping us deal with some international issues." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
FR
Australia

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2023
"This hotel was so convenient and I was well looked after by the staff with regard to my leg injury eg. moving me to a room closer to the lifts and reception/cafe, giving me directions to the airport medical clinic." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Explorer
Dan Brownlee

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2023
"Very convenient, nice room, good food and beverage." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 165
84%
165 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
71
29
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (27 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


78% (8 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa