This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Portsmouth

"City Lodge 24 hour stop over"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"Very convenient for the airport - you can easily walk to it.

Food choices in the restaurant in the evening are a bit limited, but the food itself was good quality. We requested early check-in after an overnight flight and there was a room available. " See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Malawi; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dune lover
London

"City Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2019
"A convenient stopover on our way to the Victoria Falls. Easy to walk to from the terminal - you don't even need to go outside.

It was functional but no more. It served our purpose. Staff were helpful." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms K.
DC, USA

"CLORT"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2019
"The restaurant and bar were very good and affordable. Room was small but the public areas of the property are outstanding.

It was very convenient for beginning our actual "trip" from OR Tambo the following morning." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs and Mr V.
London

"City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2019
"This was our rest stop before the long haul home.

However, it was not particularly enjoyable. The hotel is gloomy and slightly depressing. There was no hot water, no post box for posting letters/postcards home (found in the airport), and the cafe/restaurant did not open until 6am which means if you have an early flight you have no breakfast.

The restaurant's menu was very restricted and poor, and had almost nothing that a vegetarian could eat." See all these reviews: 2n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Pat
Robin Hoods Bay

"Ideal place for overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Pat
Robin Hoods Bay

"perfect place for an overnight stay at the airport"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M.
Ramsgate

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr M.
Ramsgate

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr M.
Ramsgate

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Very convenient hotel which we used as a base in between different sections of our holiday. They were helpful and accommodating.

Queues at reception desk were often long and service in the restaurant was on the slow side. Breakfast was excellent. Very useful to be able to leave a suitcase there in between visits.

The most difficult thing was obtaining a luggage trolley when exiting the hotel lift which emerged next to the area of the terminal giving access to the car park so was just a straight walk to the main terminal. Even then, there was sometimes an attendant there who would go and find a trolley and even when we did it ourselves once, it didn't take more than a few minutes." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"Very convenient stopover hotel"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2018
"A very convenient stopover in Johannesburg.

We tried to follow the directions in the notes at the bottom of the directions page but got totally confused as it turned out because the lifts to the airport car park were not working. We were rescued by an airport porter and luckily we had some small notes to tip him. So I would suggest that if you are just passing through this airport and having a stopover, have some money to tip and use a porter as he was able to put the airport trolleys on the escalators.

Another tip would be that there are no ATMs in Johannesburg airport available to those who are transferring from one flight to another. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 132
83%
132 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
63
22
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa