This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
Alstonville

"Very convenient transit hotel"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2018
"A convenient transit hotel, but can be hard to find as you must go through the multi-level carpark. An airport porter latched onto us and took us there (for a tip)! Dining was good." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr BG
Newport Coast

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2018
"Very convenient place in the airport
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms L
Queensland

"Nice hotel & fabulous breakfast"

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2018
"This hotel turned out to be alot nicer than what I've read. The room are pleasant and the breakfast had the largest variety I've come across. It would have been better to have mini fridge though. The only problem I had was finding it. The instructions from Expert Africa was not very clear. As I went to Woolworths first, I thought it was better to ask for directions than to try to backtrack in order to follow EA's directions. And that's when all the trouble started.

Airport staff, one after another, all seem to give incorrect directions to this hotel. There is a lack of signage to the hotel which is not good. But first I ended up at the opposite end of the airport from where the hotel is. Asking at the valet parking counter then ended up with me being led around airport carparks and driveways not meant for pedestrians for another 20 mins, and being told to get my heavy lugguage trolley over kerbs not meant for pedestrians. While all the time we can seen the hotel and have walked past a distant sign for the entrance, which I was told not to go in.

These airport staff really puzzled me. I got worried that it might be a scam, and finally went my own way.

My recommendation is really not to stay overnight at this airport. If you do, not to ask for directions. " See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J
Livingston

"Overnight at City Lodge"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2017
"Attached to Airport so was very convenient.

Very nice rooms and breakfast buffet." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr H
BloomfieldHills

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr J
Florida, USA

"Same as before"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"Took a tour of the city with a driver/tour company recommened by the hotel.

Driver was not very talkative or informative. Expensive" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Mr S
CA

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"Basic hotel just about in the airport. Signage to get there just a bit confusing. No one to help with our bags either in or out. No luggage trolley nearby to get our bags back to the airport.

A parking lot employee (you have to navigate through the parking lot to get to the hotel) saw we were struggling and found a cart for us.

Arrived hungry. Food available was ok. Breakfast was included and was OK." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr J
Florida, USA

"Convienent"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2017
"Great lodging while waiting for connecting flights." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Dubai123
UAE

"Disappointing"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2017
" Easy to reach to within Johannesburg airport. Even though we stayed there just one night (before our connecting flight to Livingstone), it was a looong night! We were not expecting luxury, but the rooms and bathrooms were just pathetic. It was cold at Johannesburg airport and we did not feel like stepping out for dinner. The dinner from the a la carte options was heated out of a box and the breakfast next morning was not any better. We left early and preferred to wait a few hours at the airport for our connections. We left wondering if the Intercontinental would be a better choice .." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Mr M
Guildford

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2017
"Fine for a quick stopover, with decent rooms & a very good breakfast. " See all these reviews: 9n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 132
83%
132 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
63
22
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa