This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Cristin from Oregon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Jul 2022 trip to Zambia

Zambia and 2 other countries between 10 Jul 2022 and 25 Jul 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was orgianally booked in November of 2019 for August of 2020- then the pandemic hit. We briefly considered rebooking for 2021 but ultimately decided on July 2022. Maruska was patient and attentive through all of the contortions of those two years.
Early in our trip one member was ill and had to stay an additional day at our first lodge to recover. Maruska was on leave, but Expert Africa answered an email about the problem within 15 minutes. They were able to figure out rebooking the flights to our next camp as well as making sure that all parties involved knew of the problem and new schedule details.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service: Wonderful service, no suggestions for improvement."

Arranged By Maruska AdyeRowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2022
"We did not stay at Tambo- In Victoria Falls we stayed at the Ilala Lodge"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2022
"Lovely grounds within walking distance of Victoria Falls. Overall very comfortable. The staff told us there were no King size beds available in the lodge. My husband is 195 cm/ 6'4" and his feet hang off the end of Queen size beds. The lodge grounds were visited by hippos, warthogs, and a male water buck.
We took the morning River Cruise on the Zambezi organized by the lodge. It was a great experience and we saw lots of birds. Our boat guide was very knowledgeble. We did the Botswana day trip to the Chobe park. The facilities were lovely. Our guide on that trip was only mediochre in terms of friendliness and knowledge."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2022
"This was our second trip to the African continent and Tafika is now our favorite camp. This is a family run camp and the owners try to share their love of the country, its people and animals. The rooms are open air with reed walls, meticulously maintained, with hot and cold running water, very spacious. The owners have set up reed fences in camp to encourage the wildlife along appropriate paths. The camp is regularly visited by elephants and hippos. There is a 'blind' to watch elephants and other wildlife at a small watering hole just on the other side of the camp fence. Breakfast is taken by the campfire set up on the river's edge. The food was wonderful. There were plenty of choices at every meal and the staff were eager to make sure the meat lovers and vegetarians were satisfied. The birdlife is amazing.
The schedule is full- no wasted opportunities to see wildlife. We were awakened early every day to take advantage of the morning animal activities with a comfortable "siesta time" midday. We did a 1/2 day walking safari from the Tafika camp. This included a short canoe trip across the Luanga river. We hope to be able to return to Zambia and do more walking from camps run by Remote Africa. Our guides were all very knowledgeable. The camp staff knew some of us were interested in birds and made sure to stop and point out the birds as well as the megafauna.
Tafika camp sponsors the school in the local village with salaries for 4 teachers and supplies. I admire their commitment to their community. The camp owners Carol and John, along with their daughter Jenny and her husband Nick, make sure to have meals with the guests and share their 30+ years experience living in Zambia.
When you travel to remote areas-, you have to stay flexible. The Tafika camp was very accommodating when members of our group were delayed due to illness. At the end of our stay, the Bush plane that was to ferry us to our next stay had fuel line issues. Tafika then offered to fly 4 of our party (the most that would fit) in their own small Bush plane."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2022
"Luxurious lodge with wonderful staff. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay lovely. When the staff learned that our daughter and her friend had missed out on purchasing "biltong" in the Lusaka airport, they had some delivered to the camp as a gift!

There is a wide variety of activities available- game drives, game walks, canoe trip to a channel of the Lower Zambezi, and a river cruise. Our guide, Charles, was very accommodating to our wishes and flexible. He shared his lifetime of experience as a native of the region and as a trained guide."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team