This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

264 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 52 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

54% success

Buffalo

16% success

Zebra

16% success

Hippo

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 264
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M.
Ramsgate

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2024
"This was our third visit to Victoria Falls and our second time at Ilala Lodge as we had enjoyed our first stay (2018) so much. The service was even better than last time and the team seemed better trained and more professional than on our previous visit.

Our room was on the second floor and had a lovely view of the spray from the falls and the gardens which attracted a lot of birds and once a female bush-buck. The room was large and comfortable with complimentary drinking water, kettle, tea, coffee and milk. There were plenty of charging points, both international and USB, and a big bathroom. The gardens are beautifully laid out and maintained and the public rooms are large and nicely decorated. The food, both breakfast and dinner, were very good with a wide range of options including game.

The Lodge is very conveniently located for the falls, a 10-15 minute walk. However, on our way there and back we got pestered by persistent young men selling things much more than previously and on our way back 2 elephants were feeding in the undergrowth close to the path. We were told by 2 local people it was ok to walk past but not to slow down or stop but it was still a little alarming.

We had booked the Ra Ikane sunset cruise as we had such a good experience previously and seen a lot of wildlife. Unfortunately, the experience was not so good this time. There appeared to be many more boats on the river and the captain on this occasion did not seem so interested in maximising the experience for the customers so it was rather an anti-climax.

In fact we found the town of Victoria Falls much busier and with a lot of new buildings, including more hotels and lodges than we had seen previously. We don't think we will return but would recommend Ilala Lodge as a comfortable, convenient, well run place to spend a couple of nights." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2024
"We were here before in October 2016, at the height of the dry season, when the Falls were just a trickle. It was nice to see them with much more water. In fact, in contrast to 2016, the noise made by the gushing waters could be heard from our lodge. We enjoyed a free shower while visiting them again.

Sure, Zimbabwe needs income from tourism, but I still found it a bit hard to swallow that they charged $50 per person for the entrance fee.

Since 2016, the lodge added a new wing with substantially more rooms. The food here is as flawless as it was in 2016, and one of the nicest features is that in contrast to other accommodations in town the Falls are in walking distance.

On one evening we saw two hippos wandering across the lawn in front of the lodge. I just mention this, because hippos aren’t listed in your wildlife survey." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe; 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
M and D
France

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2024
"Very pleasant hotel and personnel.

We were allocated a room with a pleasant view, allowing us sightings of the mist from Victoria Falls and beautiful sunrises from our balcony (room 33).

Very comfortable and spotless room; quiet hotel with beautiful decoration; very good service, including support to book activities and pass information; large choice of food and beverages for breakfast. We did not eat lunch nor dinner there. Easy access on foot to the falls themselves and the town center." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Laura
from SF

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2024
"Very nice. Location fabulous. Pool great.

I wish they'd reminded me that breakfast was included when I checked in." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr B
Canada

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2024
"Ilala Lodge is 10 minutes walk from the Victoria Falls and set on extensive private grounds. The rooms are comfortable with balconies overlooking the grounds, and you can see the spray from the falls in the distance.

The grounds are not fenced so you can watch the local wildlife. While I was there a pair of Cape Bushbucks visited daily as well as a large family of mongoose.

The restaurant is excellent and the staff friendly and efficient." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Flying Dutchmen
NL

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2024
"Ilala Lodge is a very LARGE lodge with many rooms. If you seek an intimate boutique atmosphere: this is NOT your accommodation. Ilala welcomes touring cars full of guests.

A nice garden, 2 small pools, very nice food, good Wifi. Postoffice next door.

One thing to take into consideration: during the day you constantly hear the helicopters fly over. Luckily they don't fly at night." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
A&L Polo
USA

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Dec 2023
"From one hand we spent a terrible night there since we couldn't sleep because of the night music from a nearby club.

From another hand we learned next morning how they are trying to fight this situation which is not depend on them and they also settled an issue with us by moving us to the sister hotel Palm River with with very quiet surroundings.

Regarding the location relative to the waterfall - it's perfect walking distance.

So, we would recommend to check about loud music if you sensitive for the matter and go there at weekend or holiday (as we did)." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 3n in Rwanda; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Tanzania; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Peter & Olga
France

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2023
"Ilala Lodge is a good place to stay when passing through Victoria Falls." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs V.
Leiden

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2023
"We had just a one night stay al Ilala Lodge.

It's a conviently located and beautiful hotel and a good place to spend a day without having to go out. The rooms are spacious and clean, the restaurant is excellent with the piano player as a charming bonus.

Two points of critcism:
- rooms are expensive
- the all-day-long helicopter rides are a bit of a nuisance" See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Caro G
United Kingdom

"Lovely Ilala Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2023
"Ilala Lodge is the closest hotel to Victoria Falls but is still a 10-15 minute walk away. The cost to get into the Falls was a bit of a surprise at $55 each but the experience is amazing.

The sales guys trying to sell you stuff on the way is a bit of a hassle but they are harmless enough, just trying to make a living.

The hotel is delightful and the restaurant for breakfast and dinner very good. We booked the sunset cruise on the Ra-Ikane and it was brilliant. A small wooden boat, there were 8 of us plus the captain and a chap serving drinks and snacks. The captain was very knowledgeable about the wild life and the Falls, and really enhanced the experience.

We went for a walk but felt quite hassled with everyone wanting to sell us something, we were told later that if you say you are from Zimbabwe they leave you alone.

Thehotel has 2 pools which are great for catching some sun.

Staff were friendly and helpful. We had to keep our windows shut when not in the room as the baboons can be a pest. We saw 2 hippos on the lawn after the cruise just happily eating the grass." See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 264
93%
264 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
185
69
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


94% (163 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


96% (29 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (22 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


92% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel offers a high-quality stay in a picturesque location on the banks of the Zambezi, with excellent food and a shuttle to the Victoria Falls.


100% (4 reviews)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located a five-minute drive from the buzz of Victoria Falls town, the mid-size Pioneers offers a relaxing stay in one of Zimbabwe's most iconic destinations.


95% (4 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
528 Victoria Falls

528 Victoria Falls

528 Victoria Falls is a charming, owner-run, boutique B&B in a leafy suburb of Victoria Falls town, offering an oasis of calm in an often-busy location.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa