This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

247 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 37 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

57% success

Zebra

19% success

Buffalo

16% success

Showing 1-10 of 247
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Great 2 days at Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2022
"Convenient location close to the entrance of the Victoria Falls National Park and Zambia boarder. The room was well appointed with air conditioning and ensuite bathroom. We could see the mist from the Falls from our bedroom patio, as well as the breakfast / dining room veranda. The staff were friendly and helpful, booking a taxi to take us to a nearby restaurant on our first night. Breakfasts offered a good variety of options. We ate in the hotel restaurant after our sunset river cruise, which was also good.

We enjoyed all the activities that the area had to offer (booked independently through wild horizons). We particularly liked the little bamba sunrise tram ride onto the victoria falls bridge. We also enjoyed the lookout cafe for drinks & lunches. On the sunset cruise we saw crocodiles, hippos and a variety of birdlife. On the drive from the Botswana / Zimbabwe border to the lodge we also saw an elephant.
N.B. The white water rafting departs at 7am, so it needs to be booked at least the day before." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Z
Saratoga

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2022
"Had an excellent, brief stay here.

Very helpful and accommodating staff." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs J.
Chester

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2022
"Very comfortable. The food was really good. The service from all staff was excellent.

It was an easy walk to the falls." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2022
"Ilala Lodge is in a great location to visit Victoria Falls and both the food and services were to a high standard." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Sevenoaks

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2022
"An ideal lodge in which to relax after tiring international travel - the staff, rooms, dining and facilities are all first class and for a short stay to view the Falls and its surrounds it ticks all the boxes." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Mr & Ms K
Alberta

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2022
"We really liked being able to walk to Victoria Falls.

The disadvantage was the helicopters constantly flew over the hotel on their flights over Victoria Falls." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mr&Mrs T
Biggleswade

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"This was a great place to be based to visit the Zimbabwe side of the Vic falls. It was our first stop on our overall holiday and had good rooms, with a restful view out over the garden.

The restaurant terrace was delightful and we enjoyed our dinners and breakfasts here. There is clearly an excellent chef here, and a live piano player during dinner. There were Bush Bucks in the garden.

The Lodge is a short, safe walk to the Falls. Definitely an excellent choice for this part of the holiday.

The turn down service was excellent - they virtually re-did the room!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
colndot
Hants

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"A great location for the falls and for relaxing after a fantastic safari." See all these reviews: 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2022
"Excellent location, good food and wonderful staff (one lady receptionist was especially helpful with our lost/delayed baggage) and large private grounds to explore/relax in.

One comment: our room on the lower floor was affected by noise from both neighbouring rooms and/or upstairs rooms and also the balcony/walkway outside serving the next level of rooms (it moves and makes a noise when walked on) but this was not severe" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 247
93%
247 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
174
63
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


94% (153 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


95% (25 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (22 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


91% (7 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


100% (2 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


100% (1 review)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa