This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

240 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 32 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

56% success

Zebra

21% success

Buffalo

17% success

Showing 1-10 of 240
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs T
Biggleswade

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"This was a great place to be based to visit the Zimbabwe side of the Vic falls. It was our first stop on our overall holiday and had good rooms, with a restful view out over the garden.

The restaurant terrace was delightful and we enjoyed our dinners and breakfasts here. There is clearly an excellent chef here, and a live piano player during dinner. There were Bush Bucks in the garden.

The Lodge is a short, safe walk to the Falls. Definitely an excellent choice for this part of the holiday.

The turn down service was excellent - they virtually re-did the room!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
colndot
Hants

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"A great location for the falls and for relaxing after a fantastic safari." See all these reviews: 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2022
"Excellent location, good food and wonderful staff (one lady receptionist was especially helpful with our lost/delayed baggage) and large private grounds to explore/relax in.

One comment: our room on the lower floor was affected by noise from both neighbouring rooms and/or upstairs rooms and also the balcony/walkway outside serving the next level of rooms (it moves and makes a noise when walked on) but this was not severe" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mike&Helen
Scotland

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2022
"We really enjoyed our stay at Ilala Lodge.

All the staff were very helpful and welcoming, ensuring we had a lovely stay. The Lodge is very peaceful but ideally located to visit the falls.

We enjoyed watching the wildlife from our balcony.

Would particularly recommend the early morning boat trip on the Zambezi and dinner at the restaurant." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs M
Vermont

"Ilala Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2022
"I can’t say enough about Ilala Lodge. Our room was spacious, the balcony overlooked the back lawn and woodlands, and we could both see the mist from the falls and hear them as well from there.
A hippo was a regular night time visitor below the balcony, and many birds were seen flitting around the trees before and above us. The staff was personable and professional. The woman who plans the trips was extraordinary, she goes the extra mile to be sure the trips are a good fit for the guests. We were a party of 6 and the meals were so good we had dinner every night at a table outside. Breakfasts were both buffet and by order, and these were well-prepared and offered many choices. My husband had a short gastrointestinal illness requiring an extra nights stay, and even though rooms were all booked for that night, Peter managed to find a way to allow us to stay in our room and not have an awkward move. Staff checked in with us to see how he was doing or whether we needed anything. We felt cared for and looked after in a way I didn’t expect. There was an easy walk to the Lookout Cafe with a good view into the gorge, and just beyond the entrance to the park. The hotel was adjacent to the market and Elephant Walk shopping area as well as to several restaurants and hotels. There were comfortable sitting areas on the terrace, near the outdoor bar, and inside as well. It was a bit cool to use the small pool, but it would be very inviting during the hot weather." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Cristin
Oregon

"Ilala Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2022
"Lovely grounds within walking distance of Victoria Falls. Overall very comfortable. The staff told us there were no King size beds available in the lodge. My husband is 195 cm/ 6'4" and his feet hang off the end of Queen size beds. The lodge grounds were visited by hippos, warthogs, and a male water buck.
We took the morning River Cruise on the Zambezi organized by the lodge. It was a great experience and we saw lots of birds. Our boat guide was very knowledgeble. We did the Botswana day trip to the Chobe park. The facilities were lovely. Our guide on that trip was only mediochre in terms of friendliness and knowledge." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Ayrshire

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2022
"Excellent rooms,pleasant helpful staff,food good" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Stevens
Utah

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2022
"Lovely and very comfortable rooms. Very gracious staff.

Breakfast was wonderful. Dinner was less inspiring--not as much flavor.

Fabulous location with walking distance to the falls. We also had great concierge help and scheduled some fantastic tours." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H.
The Netherlands

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2022
"Good colonial hotel near the Falls. Friendly service.

A pity we couldn't stay in our room a little longer than 11 o'clock as we were not picked up for the airport until 2.30 hours and there was no public place to shower and change before the long flight home." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr B
London

"A 'roar-fully' good place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2022
"The perfect choice for seeing Victoria Falls. Rooms were spacious and comfortable overlooking the grounds which were full of wildlife from elephants to baboons to deer to warthogs. Just a 5-10 minute walk to the Falls themselves the roar of the Falls is the dominant sound at the hotel, as you look at the huge cloud of water the Falls throw up. And yes, you will need a poncho as it is very wet indeed when at the Falls.

The staff were nice but service in the restaurant was a bit haphazard, a flurry of service; then absolutely nothing. Definitely needs more staff or more training or both. The food itself was very good, whether for dinner, breakfast or bar-food by the pool.

One down side for me was there didn't seem to be any room service (or at least there was no indication in my room) although the 'free' mini bar was very handy and a nice touch.

Overall it's a great choice to see the Falls and I would highly recommend it." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 240
93%
240 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
62
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


94% (146 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


96% (24 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (19 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


100% (1 review)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa