This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 1-10 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Phil
Leyland

"Ilala Lodge Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2020
"Excellent place to stay, a short walk, if you want to Victoria Falls, or as I did had all my transfers and trips already booked, and Wild Horizons did a grand job for all of them. I wouldn't have dared attempt the border crossing from Zimbabwe to Zambia on my own !

The evening river cruise was a highlight as was the walk around the Falls, thanks to Soul and Robbie for their guidance and helpful information. Last but not least the helicopter flight over the falls was well worth the cost, views were awesome and wish I could have taken better pictures of the falls from above, but it was an experience not to be missed.

The food in the lodge was good, but didn't change, but I was only staying two nights so maybe the menu altered later in the week. The service was excellent and efficient throughout the lodge, and I would gladly stay there again.

I stayed in the older part of the lodge, and it was interesting to see some the wildlife from my room, the warthogs were especially funny to see running away when the thunderstorm started !

Thanks to Tracy for organizing this element of my trip and I hope to visit again in the near future." See all these reviews: 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss K.
Solihull

"Excellent with wonderful staff"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2019
"This lodge was excellent.

The staff were so helpful. We had a deluxe room looking out on to the well kept grounds where we could watch the warthogs and various antelopes. Although the hotel is on the edge of the town it was very peaceful. The location was perfect - we could walk to the falls and also to the shops, bars and restaurants in town.

We went on the Ra Ikane river cruises and would recommend them too. " See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"This was a lovely place to stay at Victoria Falls, very relaxing with a beautiful restaurant with great food, lovely staff, great swimming pool and ideal for a short walk (via the elephants!) to the Victoria Falls national park (less than 10 minutes) or into town (3 minutes).

We stayed in a standard room which was great and I would actually prefer over the deluxe rooms as these were a bit further from the main lodge (the standard rooms are under the main lodge on a lower floor). We had deer and warthogs grazing outside our balcony.

Would definitely go back." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Wiljo
Norfolk

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"As claimed, Ilala was indeed the nearest accommodation to the Victoria Falls Rainforest Park, making it an ideal location for viewing the Falls themselves and accessing the Bridge.

Both of these activities we undertook unguided but supervised activities could easily have been arranged by the Lodge, if wanted. Ilala was also very convenient for the facilities in town, although we found the street vendors to be too attentive to permit us to venture far! Despite this, within the confines of the Lodge, the ambience was peaceful, the staff welcoming and helpful and the facilities (including swimming pool) and catering excellent.

We did book a helicopter viewing of the Falls and a Zambezi sunset cruise through the Lodge, both of which are highly recommended and provided additional perspectives of the natural phenomena. " See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Mr L
Leicestershire

"Very nice"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"Great stay here everything was top notch." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs F
Hants

"Wonderful stay near the falls. "

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"This hotel is in a perfect position, within easy walking distance of the falls and the main shopping area.

This hotel offers comfort and style.

A worthwhile additional experience if time allows, is the sunset evening cruise which is highly recommended. " See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs J,
Edinburgh

"Comfortable stay"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Wonderful location and a very comfortable visit. The hotel is very well placed for visiting the falls and exploring the town. The service staff were also very friendly.

Unfortunately, our experience and memories of our visit were spoilt a little at checkout when several bar bills were included in our bill, but were clearly not ours (different handwriting and names given on the bills). It didn't come to very much (about $15) but the responsible waiter was called and accused us of having the drinks, which really cheapened our experience.

Seems like all the hotel really cares about is money (we had actually been quite generous in our spending anyway, so the $15 was really peanuts to them). They need to tighten up their payment systems and think a little more about the lasting impression they make on their guests. For this reason we probably would not stay with them again, which is a shame." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Mrs B - family
UK

"Good stay at Ilala Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"The lodge was about a 10 to 15 minutes walk from the entrance to the Victoria Falls.

We walked around ourselves - an organised trip was not necessary. Probably the afternoon light is better for photographing the falls. We arrived about 9 AM by which time the sun was often in our eyes.

We were very happy with this lodge as a base for visiting the Falls - it was a good place to relax after our busy trip.." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Ilala Lodge closest hotel to Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"Lovely hotel with excellent rooms, very convenient for visiting Victoria Falls but rather disorganised.

There was some confusion as their records of the rooms occupants had not been updated but this was sorted out. However, there were no reservations for dinner in spite of receiving an email from one of the Managers confirming that a table had been reserved for both evenings which caused a problem for the restaurant staff.

They were very apologetic and helpful and managed to find a suitable table for us. Apart from this confusion we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would stay there again. The food was excellent and the staff were very pleasant and helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs F.
Dallas

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2019
"Great location near Victoria Falls, friendly staff and efficient service. We were surprised with a breakfast cruise on the Zambezei River, which was a magnificent start of the day enjoying the sunrise, watching birds, hippos and crocodiles.
The highlight of our evening safari drive was spotting an aardvark and black rhinos, and having a close encounter with an elephant!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa