This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 21-30 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Very nice hotel to explore the falls"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2019
"If you want t visit vic falls, you need a lot of money!
Visa 30$
entrance to the falls 30$
helicopter ride 10$ for flying over the national park, plus the helicopter ride (worth every penny!)
So we paid, just for the visit of the falls, 70$ each .
The hotel wasn't anything spectacular, but good.
Very nice sundownertrip with the IKA Rane boats.
" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ts
Gloucestershire

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2019
"We had a lovely stay at Ilala lodge - the perfect end to our honeymoon!

We were upgraded to a suite which was very special and we were treated very well. Staff were very courteous and helpful.

We went on a breakfast cruise which was brilliant and our guides were excellent.

The lodge was well-positioned to visit the falls, but was also a lovely place to spend some time relaxing. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs F.
London

"Ilala Lodge stopover "

1 night Arrived 14 Jan 2019
"It is beautifully designed and the room was very attractive with old railway sleepers used as shelves. The dining area looked out over the garden with lovely trees shading the terrace.

I really liked it and would have liked to have stayed longer. Well positioned for the town and Falls.

It had very good internet connections so I spent the short time I was there trying to catch up writing my blog." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
C & C
London

"Ilala Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2018
"We enjoyed our stay enormously; the lodge was very comfortable, the restaurant was excellent and it was near to the Falls and the markets. " See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C.
cyprus

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2018
"Excellent location for the Falls and the town, superb food, helpful staff.

The adjacent market can be very loud especially at night which was a problem for 1 of our 2 nights but is beyond the control of the hotel." See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Pat
Robin Hoods Bay

"Fabulous place"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2018
"Very good location right in the centre of Vic Falls. Food was excellent (had B,L,D) and the air-conditioned rooms were spacious and comfortable with a very good shower.
Pleasant garden and nice swimming pool." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Simon&Carmelo
Italy

"Traditional Lodge in a good location"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"Overall here we enjoyed our stay here. It is a comfortable and conveniently situated lodge close to the falls. This was great as we were able to walk to visit the falls before breakfast (6am)on the morning of our departure as our planned stay originally 3 nights was curtailed to 2 nights due to an incoming flight cancellation. Our ground agents managed to rearrange all our planned activities whilst we were there but the hotel reception did not have the message which was left for me regarding this nor did they have a record of a message I personally left with reservations/reception at the hotel when i heard that our flight was cancelled and I rang to call to say we hoped to arrive the following day. In fact I would advise if you have trips planned/booked but not with the hotel to make yourself known at reception or with the concierge that you are waiting to be picked up otherwise you can be missed sometimes in the confusion of reception.

At the Palm restuarant we enjoyed two good evening meals. The Raikane sunset cruise was great and staff on this very nice.
Activities we had arranged prior to our arrival were a helicopter trip over the falls.(the shorter of the two) which was a great way to get to see the whole falls and a trip into Zambia to Devils pool.Here you swim to a pool on the edge of the falls and then have a good lunch. The whole experience was great. Great pictures taken by the guide on our camera(he has a head for heights) and we enjoyed a really good lunch after on Livingstone island.I would recommend this to really experience the falls up close. Also visiting the falls by foot early meant we had them to ourselves great for photos." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"We've stayed once before and loved it just as much this time.

In our view, this is the best hotel in Victoria Falls. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the food is very good. Thanks to all.

Ask them to contact Chris Worden to come and give his David Livingstone talk - it was fantastic." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M.
Ramsgate

"First stay of our trip at Ilala Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed our stay at Ilala. The location was really convenient and we were able to walk to the Falls easily. The gardens are lovely and very well tended. Our room was spacious and well maintained with a lovelybathroom and a balcony overlooking the lawns and the family group of small antelope (Sitatunga).

Eating outside was great with a visit by elephants at dinner, although eating after dark on the terrace was difficult due to not enough light, but the next night there was no problem with moving us indoors even thought they were very busy. The menu was good too and we struggled to choose. Breakfast was lovely too and eating that outside was a lovely treat.

Most of the staff were really helpful and even if service at the bar was a little slow sometimes it was made up for by the good humour of the team.

While we were there we took a canoeing trip on the Zambezi run by Wild Horizons. This was excellent and a real high-light of the whole holiday. The guides were very professional and helpful, letting us go in separate canoes with a guide each as neither of us were used to canoeing. They were very safety conscious, especially of the presence of hippos and made sure we kept a safe distance. During the rough bits (exhilarating for us but not proper rapids) the guides put our cameras away in special padded, waterproof boxes and brought them back out as soon as the rough water was past. We saw lots of wildlife, especially birds and the breakfast and lunch were good too." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa