This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 31-40 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"llala lodge was very comfortable, the staff were amazing and the food was excellent.

Our only criticism was the noise from the helicopters flying over the falls all day. " See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss J.
Bury St. Edmu

"Ilala Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"The transfer from airport to Ilala was very good. Once at Ilala the welcoming was great with a drink and a comfy seat while filling out the registration form. We where then taken to our room which was downstairs, the room backed onto the lawn which was lovely for just relaxing and watching the wildlife. The breakfast was fantastic with a wide choice of cooked breakfast, cereal, cold meats and pastries. Staff where very helpful at booking taxis and booking tables at restaurants for us. It is the perfected location for Victoria Falls a safe 10 minute walk . We stayed 3 nights." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Maryland

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2018
"Ilala Lodge is a wonderful small hotel just a short walk away from the falls.

Rooms are very comfortable, service and food were excellent. The Ra-Ikane sunset cruise was delightful.

We had to leave very early our last morning and the lodge packed us a very ample breakfast." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Richmond

"Quiet informal luxury in Vic Falls "

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"Really outstanding large suite with balconies looking towards falls .Very good location in walking distance falls / shops / restaurants

The included river trip on Raikane was excellent - small boat with drinks / canapés at sunset with knowledgable captain

Also bought their afternoon game trip to Livingston & Stanley reserve where we saw black rhino plus numerous giraffe

Breakfast excellent as was dinner with good service

Checkout surprisingly was somewhat bureaucratic / lengthy

" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Circusgirl
Blackpool

"A Little Gem"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms M & Ms SP
Canada

"Ilala Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2018
"Ilala was lovely, well located and a highlight of the tour.

They even gave us a coupon for dinner on the first night which was a nice surprise.

Lovely memories of Vic Falls. " See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Liphook

"Visiting Victoria Falls Ilala Lodeg"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2018
"We arrived at Vic Falls airport from J'burg and were escorted to Ilala where we were greeted with a cold drink and given an overview of the lodges facilities by a very pleasant young man called Kevin. Our immediate impression was of a beautiful, clean and efficient hotel with welcoming staff to whom nothing was too much trouble and they would do everything they could to make the guests happy without being to formal, they had the balance between service and friendliness just right and we felt "at home" right from the start.

We enjoyed some excellent dinners in the evening and were treated to viewings of elephant visiting the garden just below the restaurant terrace.

The Sunset cruise arranged by the hotel was a magical experience and they also booked a helicopter trip over the Falls for us.
We only booked a 15 minute flight in the helicopter and we thought this was long enough and was money well spent to be able to see the falls, the bridge and the gorge all laid out below we were able to appreciate the scale of the whole thing.

Our onward travel by road to Kazangula and acroos the border to Kasane airport was very efficient and the airport at Kasane is very smart and almost brand new. Just one note that we did not have to make a river crossing at the border as mentioned in our itinerary, we just waled through the border and were picked up the other side.

Our overall experience at Ilala Lodge and Victoria Falls was very enjoyable and the locals very friendly and polite.

We saw elephant, baboon, Warthogs and monkeys in and around the hotel and the Falls." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P M & family
UK

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2018
"A very comfortable and friendly hotel with knowledgeable and helpful staff. The hotel has a very good restaurant ( The Palm) and there is also an excellent restaurant virtually next door (The Three Monkeys).

The Lookout, another good restaurant with spectacular views over the Zambezi gorge, is nearby.

We enjoyed the Zambezi sunset cruise on the hotel's own small boat. The Falls themselves are only a short walk away. We had two nights here and saw everything we wanted to in that time.

The hotel is very good value - you don't need to stay in the more expensive hotels." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Well sited hotel 10 mins walk from Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2018
"This large hotel came as a bit of a shock after a month of more intimate lodges and camps. However the staff were helpful and friendly.

the rooms are typical standard hotel fair. Unfortunately a new block is being built(May 2018) and there was drilling and banging during the day. There is also a disco behind the hotel with music playing until after midnight.

Breakfast was excellent but service at dinner on the 2 nights we stayed there was painfully slow though they are recruiting new staff. " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Alice
Dusseldorf

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2018
"Ilala is perfect stay to visit the Falls. Very conveniently located. Nice view from the garden.

It is walking distance from all attractions. Rooms are nice, comfortable with a nice garden access. You can relax at the pool/bar area. The service is fantastic.

Breakfast very good with all options and the team always ready to help. Front Desk super helpful nice people.

We also dinner at the Palm. Great wine and food perfect evening." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa