This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Gorges Lodge
Gorges Lodge
Gorges Lodge
Gorges Lodge

Reviews of Gorges Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Gorges Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Gorges Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Gorgeous Gorges Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"This was a real surprise to find such a spectacular setting for this lodge, which consisted of individual 2 level chalet units located along the rim of the Zambezi River gorge. The spacious units are extremely well equipped, with a large bathroom on the lower level and bedroom upstairs, which has a large deck affording great views of the river. There are easy walking paths between the units and the main lodge, which extend over some distance.
The food was excellent and a highlight was the BBQ dinners served each night in the outdoor patio near the main lodge
Another highlight was the day excursion to Victoria Falls, as well as a visit to the Victoria Falls hotel and a boat trip on the Zambezi River. We were in the company of an excellent guide from the lodge, "Richman", who also gave us a very informed tour of some local neighbourhoods in Victoria Falls town
The lodge owners and staff were great and took a special interest in making sure you had a wonderful experience at Gorges." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Relaxing time at Gorges Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"We had 3 days to relax at Gorges at the end of our safari. We chose to stay here, a short drive from Victoria Falls, as we wanted a quiet environment, and we were very happy with our choice. The location is spectacular, above the Batoka Gorge, and the chalets are very comfortable, with a veranda overlooking the gorge. The manager, Chris, gave a most informative presentation on the Verreaux's Eagle, a pair of which nest every year within sight of the lodge. Sightings of the eagles were excellent. Our driver, Richman, was most helpful and very well-informed about the local environment. Staff were pleasant and friendly." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Milton Keynes

"Gorges Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2019
"A lovely place in a fantastic location. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
SL
Boulder

"Gorges Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"The setting of Gorges Lodge is stunning.

The lodge is about 30 minutes down a dirt road, but the resulting vistas are well worth it. The black eagle talk and the dancing were highlights. I would not recommend the curio market. It was a bit too high pressure and we ended up spending more money that we wanted to.

Starting at Victoria Falls was a great way to begin our trip.

The helicopter operators preferred cash. In general, bring ones and fives for tips even if you plan to give more overall. It is hard for the locals to use a twenty dollar bill." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Elma

"Gorges Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2017
"If I did the trip over I would stay an extra night at Gorges and not stay right in Vict Falls. Most of the activities are the same.

i did not understand which activities were included in the all inclusive package. We did activities that had a minimal price.

We enjoyed these but since we payed a high price for our stay i would have taken advantage of some of the more exciting activities if I would have understood how the activities worked." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs J
IOW

"A lovely lodge, but little to do but relax"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"A beautifully located lodge and well run and friendly.

But few activities offered, though a visit to Vic Falls and surrounding area always interesting.

Our driver Conrad was excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Gorgeous Gorges"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"This was our 17th trip with Expert Africa (dating back to 2006); but it was somewhat different to most of our previous ones in that we had two family members with us making their first trip to Africa. We took our two guests to Victoria Falls so that they would have the opportunity to view the Falls from both sides (we live in Livingstone). With EA's help we opted for Gorges Lodge, where we hadn't stayed previously, and we were delighted with the choice.

The fact that Gorges is 30 minutes from the centre of Victoria Falls is really no disadvantage (ie no further away than many Livingstone Lodges - or indeed our home - are from the Falls). One round trip per day into town was included in our day rate as was one free admission to the Falls themselves. (There are other included outings too, including a sunset cruise, but we elected not to take advantage of these.) Furthermore, the travel time is more than compensated for by the sumptuous views of the Batoka Gorge from the Lodge.

This is a great place for lovers of raptors and we were especially fortunate with sightings of Verreaux's Eagle, one male adult visiting the Gorge around the Lodge every evening as he is periodically fed there. Additionally, the gardens of the Lodge and the scrub around it host a wide variety of birdlife. (And for lovers of waterbirds and waders, stopping off at the town's sewage works on the way in is well worth the effort.)

Our accommodation was very comfortable, one of the newly refurbished chalets. The communal areas are light and airy. The food is fairly standard but fine - the braai on our second evening being a highlight. The bar carries a decent range of wine and the mini-bar in our chalet was well stocked too.

The manager, Debbie, and her team made us most welcome throughout our stay.

All in all, highly recommended for newcomers to Africa and 'old hands' alike." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family G
UK

"Great stop in Victoria falls"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"This place is a gem. Debbie and her team are so helpful and made the extra effort to support us in achieving far more in 2 days than we though possible all of our activities were expertly arranged and made the trip stress free.
The drivers ,Conrad and Richmond, shared their local knowledge and made the drives in and around Victoria falls most enjoyable.
The lodge is a fair way out of town but the drive is well worth it. The location is second to none and a true retreat from the bustle of town." See all these reviews: 5n in Mozambique; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
98%
8 reviews of Gorges Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Conveniently located between Victoria Falls Town and the Falls themselves, Ilala lodge offers comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (222 reviews)
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa