This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D & Mrs J from IOW

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

A memorable and interesting trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 7 Oct 2016 and 27 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"The arrangements generally worked clockwork and all the places we stayed were well worth visiting.

Apart from the mishaps in respect of the car (see earlier) the other thing worth mentioning is the problem of the border crossing from Botswana to Zimbabwe. We apparently arrived at a peak time, but queuing for over 2 hours in the sun to pay $55 dollars for a visa was infuriating - all the more so because it was obvious that virtually every transfer agent except ours had a special arrangement with the clerks issuing the visas.

We lost count of the number of times transfer agents would go to the front of the queue with wads of passports and forms. We were, literally, the last in the queue at the point we left, even though many people arrive after us. I'm not sure of the answer - probably either they should crack down on petty corruption or you should get a different agent?"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Pretty good for a Govt camp, excellent game"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"The bungalow was spacious though a bit shabby.

A long cold drive to the plateau in the morning, but worth it for the game."
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"Very good stay"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"A quirky and memorable place.

An interesting hide for viewing game."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"A pleasant little camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"The camp and its location very good.

Average game viewing opportunities, though the river trip and our own self drive in Mahango were excellent. The final access road to the camp is about 2km long and very sandy and difficult in places - we got bogged down and needed a push twice.

Ideally we should have had a high clearance vehicle or 4WD, though this was the only place in the trip where it was a problem."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"A stunning tented camp, but so-so service"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"The facilities are stunning - very large tents with all facilities, and game pretty good in the surrounding area. But our stay was marked by two things:

the fire - there was smoke in the air when we arrived, and it developed as the afternoon progressed. We went on the sunset river cruise, but that was cut short to return because of fears the fire would engulf the camp. As we returned there was an intense bush fire raging just across the river channel from the camp, and evacuation was being considered. I think it was only the efforts of the staff working to divert the firs that saved the camp.

there was no proper camp manager at that time, and although the young F&B manager and head guide were doing their best the organisation and service did not match the quality of the facilities.

We'd definitely go back, but we'd probably take a fire extinguisher!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"A very good lodge"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2016
"This was our second visit and it didn't disappoint."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

"A lovely lodge, but little to do but relax"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"A beautifully located lodge and well run and friendly.

But few activities offered, though a visit to Vic Falls and surrounding area always interesting.

Our driver Conrad was excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Excellent"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2016
"Perhaps the highlight of the trip. Lovely facilities and excellent service.

The highlight was the foot safaris with Julian - tracking lions on foot and walking to watch elephants and buffalo in the river was an amazing experience.

We'd love to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"A fascinating place"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2016
"A place we had to visit, and facilities definitely grand and attractive.

Dinner in the Livingstone Room was a highlight - except the mosquitoes lurking under the table!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team