This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Croydon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

August trip to Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe between 26 Aug 2019 and 7 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent, with well chosen accommodation and locations which met our needs and expectations perfectly. The trip was very well organised by the team at Expert Africa and we continue to sing your praises after several safaris arranged by you over the last few years."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

"Excellent safari at Somalisa Expeditions"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"Very comfortable and well-appointed tented accommodation, helpful and friendly staff and excellent wildlife sightings, including dozens of elephants, some at very close quarters. The camp is well situated for exploring an area full of a variety of animals and birds, with very few visitors, so sightings are never crowded. David our guide was excellent, diligent in seeking out the more rarely seen animals, and extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of wildlife. We were made to feel most welcome and would not hesitate to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

"Great experience at Zambezi Expeditions"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"Great location beside the Zambezi, with animals - elephants, hippos, lions - coming right into camp. Wonderfully welcoming, helpful and friendly staff, led by our exceptional host, Sabasten. Tents were quite basic but very comfortable, with bucket showers available whenever we wanted. The food was excellent, provided by Derrick the chef and his assistants. Our guide, Cloud, was wonderful, very knowledgeable and friendly. He worked very hard for us to get the best experience from our safari, including having to pull our canoe in places as the river levels were so low. The canoe safari provided excellent viewing of hippos and elephants from a different perspective. We would not hesitate to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

"Relaxing time at Gorges Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"We had 3 days to relax at Gorges at the end of our safari. We chose to stay here, a short drive from Victoria Falls, as we wanted a quiet environment, and we were very happy with our choice. The location is spectacular, above the Batoka Gorge, and the chalets are very comfortable, with a veranda overlooking the gorge. The manager, Chris, gave a most informative presentation on the Verreaux's Eagle, a pair of which nest every year within sight of the lodge. Sightings of the eagles were excellent. Our driver, Richman, was most helpful and very well-informed about the local environment. Staff were pleasant and friendly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Great time in Tanzania

Tanzania and 1 other country between 2 Sep 2016 and 13 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful holiday, with lots of variety. Both camps we stayed in were excellent and offered different game viewing experiences.

Stone Town provided a completely different 'town' experience, while Chumbe was the perfect place for relaxation. Staff everywhere we stayed were first-class.

All our connections worked perfectly. Many thanks to Liz for organising everything so competently."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun stopover"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"We only had a few hours here before starting our safari.

The room was comfortable, breakfast good and staff friendly and helpful. The only reason we did not rate this as excellent was because of a check-in problem: they did not have our booking reservation when we arrived from the UK.

Eventually matters were resolved satisfactorily."
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Excellent and varied safari at Selous Impala"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"We particularly enjoyed the variety at this camp, with water safaris being a major activity, as well as driving and walking. Our excellent guide, Gerard, was really knowledgeable about the area and enthusiastic and passionate about wildlife. He made every day varied, fun and interesting. Breakfasts in the bush were good and we found new spots each day for our sundowners - the sunsets over the river were beautiful. Moshi our boatman was also very knowledgeable and helpful. Birdlife was fabulous.

Viewing a stand-off between a leopard trying to guard its kill - an impala it had hauled up a tree - and a pride of lions on our second day was amazing. It resulted in the leopard running away, chased by a lioness. Fortunately, the leopard escaped unhurt, but did not return to its kill on the remaining two days of our stay.

The camp is spacious, with tents well separated from each other. Rooms were comfortable and spacious and the food was very good. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Evans, our waiter, provided an excellent service every day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Wonderful tented camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"Kwihala is a very well-run camp in a great location on the (dry when we we visited) riverbank. Tents are spacious and well appointed. The bucket showers worked perfectly! The site is extensive, so each tent is well separated from others. Tam, the manager, is knowledgeable and experienced, and working with the team of guides and other staff, provides an all-round excellent safari experience. The food was really good, varied and of consistently high standard.

Highpoints - we arrived at the airstrip to be told that there was a pack of wild dogs which we really must see before being taken to the camp. After an exciting drive through the bush, we got there just in time to see them before they moved off from resting round a tree. As we had always wanted to see wild dogs, this close-up experience was perfect. Thanks to Michael and Charles for this amazing experience.

Our guide, Hamza, ably supported by Michael, was excellent and knowledge. He was determined to give us the best viewings possible. The two of them also provided us with the - entertaining, for us - spectacle of them rescuing another safari vehicle (from outside Ruaha) which had become bogged down in a riverbed. Good driving skills!

Ruaha provided excellent sightings of elephants, lions, a variety of antelope and wonderful birdlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"A welcoming refuge in Stone Town"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"The Coffee House is a beautiful old building in the midst of busy and bustling Stone Town.

We were made extremely welcome by the manager, Salome, and her staff made us very comfortable. Our room was comfortable, large - and quiet. We only had one night there, before moving on to our next destination but we returned there a few days later for lunch. Food was excellent and the coffee is good too.

We enjoyed our breakfast with excellent views from the tower top terrace."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Peaceful Chumbe Island"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"Chumbe is a real escape from the mainland of Zanzibar. With only 7 cleverly designed, eco-friendly bungalows, it is quiet, beautiful and well-run - a real Indian Ocean paradise, with a difference.

Snorkelling on the coral reef was great, walking tours were interesting, particularly seeing the giant coconut crabs and fruit bats. Great beach, wonderful and varied food, friendly and professional service.

We really enjoyed our 2-night break here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Excellent safari and Victoria Falls visit

Zambia and 1 other country between 6 Aug 2014 and 18 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very good - excellent game drives and walks, superb and knowledgeable guiding, excellent accommodation in wonderful situations with efficient and attentive staff. Combining a visit to spectacular Victoria Falls with two safari locations worked very well for us. The overall trip went without a hitch and we were very impressed with the way all our internal transfers were handled seamlessly by RPS's support staff on the ground. It has left us with lots of great memories."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

"Excellent short visit to Stanley Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"Beautiful, very comfortable lodge in quiet location with long view towards the Falls. Very helpful and attentive staff who organised visits to Victoria Falls park, a helicopter trip and evening sunset cruise. We had two nights there and felt that an extra day would have been better to fully explore Livingstone and just enjoy the lovely surroundings.

The food was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Comfortable and beautifully situated lodge "

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2014
"Great situation with comfortable and spacious rooms. Excellent guiding from Obi, with sightings of leopards, lions, many hippos, Nile crocodile, giraffes, zebras - everything we would have expected.

Food was excellent and could not be faulted."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Excellent safari at Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2014
"We very much enjoyed our stay in the historic, beautifully modernised rondavels at this camp. Outstanding views over the river and excellent location for enjoying the wide variety of animals that visit the camp or cross the river nearby. First-class guiding from Chilumba who was happy to share his extensive knowledge with us, whether walking or driving.

Excellent sighting of game, including leopards, lions (and lots of cubs), large herds of buffalo, elephants, giraffes, zebra, etc - everything we hoped for. Good bird watching too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Relaxing at Pumulani"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2014
"Our second visit to Pumulani. Beautiful location, high above the lake, and excellent spacious accommodation with large bedroom and living area, plus views of the setting sun over the lake.

Staff are attentive, efficient and friendly. For us, the slight disappointment was the food which was not as good as on our last visit a year ago and not up to the standards we found at other locations on this trip. Hopefully, this was a temporary blip.

We enjoyed snorkelling, walking and kayaking."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

A fabulous two weeks

Malawi and 1 other country between 6 Sep 2013 and 20 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Malawi was absolutely wonderful, one of our best holidays ever. Would love to go back some day.

Weather in Cape Town was variable, from sun to hail, through wind and rain, so we couldn't do a couple of things that we wanted to do (go up Table Mountain and visit Robben Island). We did see whales at Hermanus, which was on our to-do list, and penguins at Betty's Bay. City bus tours were good for getting to know the city. We were very glad we hired the car for two days as this enabled us to see the coast and the wine area.

All arrangements worked like clockwork, thanks a lot, Claire., for putting it all together for us."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Superb lodge and safari at Mukumuladzi"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"Wonderful accommodation and food, excellent and welcoming hosts. Guides very knowledgeable. Walks and game drives really informative and enjoyable.

Surprise lunch by the river one day, just for us, was great. Staff all really helpful and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble. For two nights we were the only guests and service remained superb. We can't fault our time spent there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Relaxing and active time at Pumulani"

5 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"Superb setting for the lodge. Beautiful spacious accommodation, lovely view over the lake. Food really good, excellent barbeque lunch one day by the lake.

Excellent host (Jake, who was temporary manager while Alex and Karien were on leave) who went to great lengths to make sure all our activities were well organised, i.e. snorkelling, dhow lake trips, walks, including village visit, and kayaking. All great fun and extremely informative, especially the village visit, where we also visited the village school. Guides and all staff were excellent, really welcoming and friendly. Overall, excellent level of service.

Only comment would be the lack of clothes hanging space in our chalet: there was only space for four hangers in total, which really wasn't enough for our clothes for our three different locations. The design of the hanging space could not allow for more hangers, a bit irritating. But a minor point overall."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"Excellent waterfront hotel, V & A"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"Excellent location, very helpful and courteous staff, one of the best breakfasts we've had anywhere.

Although we had a loft room it was very comfortable, spacious and well appointed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team