This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel


33°54’21.8"S 18°25’11.7"E

Reviews of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria & Alfred Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Ms C
London

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2020
"A strange and complete contrast from all our other stops.

Staff (especially reception and initial contact when first arrived) quite offhand. Perhaps it's a bit complacent on account of its undeniably great location.

Very few facilities at the hotel - most (pool, spa etc) are at the sister hotel, though that wasn't initially clear. Directions to these were pretty useless.

In fairness, the room was great, with fabulous views. So maybe Poor is a bit unkind as an overall rating.

But having stayed previously at the Radisson waterfront, the Radisson would win hands down for us." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2019
"Great location for a first night, right in the centre of The Waterfront with large well appointed rooms." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2018
"We enjoyed everything about our stay on the Waterfront, including the hotel, the restaurants within walking distance, and having the red buses to take us into the city and surrounds.

A highlight of the stay was a privately organised trip to Groote Schuur Estate which has been the home of many South African leaders since Cecil Rhodes. This trip was guided by a very knowledgeable guide called Najwaa Francke. I am this sure this visit would interest other Expert Africa clients interested in the history of Southern Africa." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs A & M
Malta

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Lovely hotel right on the water.

Breakfast was excellent however the cleaning staff were a little bit noisy when outside the rooms. Kept waking us up pretty early." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 31 Mar 2017
"The V&A is located in what must be one of the most iconic places in Cape Town. Literally on the waterfront and provided one has booked a mountain view room, the views are spectacular.

That said the hotel itself is rather gloomy with a rampant interior designer determined to reflect the warehouse heritage in the décor. Raw concrete effect walls in our room and carpet designed to look like bare red brick. Compared with other guest houses and hotels in South Africa we found it depressingly 'modern smart hotel' with very little feel of genuine welcome. We felt that provided one did not look outside, it could have been anywhere.

We ate royally over the road in the restaurant of the small sister hotel The Victoria. Dash is reputed to be one of the 5 best restaurants in Cape Town. On our night, once we had found the front door (get detailed instructions!), the service, wine list and standard of food were excellent.

We used the secure concierge storage for our luggage as there was no late check out available. This worked well and we were able to explore the waterfront and take a boat trip. On balance a good stay." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
A&A
Portland

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel"

5 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2017
"Staying at the Cape Town waterfront was perfect because of easy access to restaurants, shopping, bus routes, etc." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family A
Scarborough

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Could not be more central. Exactly what we needed after a hectic 3 weeks in country." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2016
"Having visited Cape Town several times we had determined that the V&A was the place for us because of its location – and so it proved. From the parking guard who guided us to a space to the friendly receptionists to the waiter who insisted we needed a glass of bubbly on our last morning the service was superb.

We arrived early but they were fully geared up for storing our luggage and transport was ready to take us to the England v South Africa cricket match where Jane confused everybody in her Proteas shirt while singing God Save The Queen!

The room was excellent with views over the harbour towards Table Mountain – highly entertaining watching the boats pootling to and forth. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but this was excellent with a large variety from which to choose.

We never used our car during our stay, instead buying two-day passes on the sightseeing bus which not only took us everywhere we wanted to go but also included free harbour cruises and a discount on the Cape Wheel. We went on this twice, once during the day and once at night and highly recommend it. The open-top bus is brilliant; there are several routes taking you anywhere from Table Mountain to Camps Bay to wineries to a tour of the harbour where you can see seals on wheels! It’s incredibly good value and a great way to get around the city.

We can’t get into the V&A on our next trip but look forward to trying its little sister Dock House." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Upgrade to Queen Vic"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2015
"In fact, we didn't stay in the V&A because, on arrival, we discovered that we had been upgraded to its sister hotel across the road, the Queen Victoria. The latter is a small boutique hotel with very comfortable rooms and first rate dining (although we did feel that the breakfast, though good, didn't quite live up to dinner). Great location, close to the Waterfront but far enough away to enjoy an air of calm." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms H
Kent

"luxury in the heart of Cape Town"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2015
"I happened to be here on my 50th birthday and they went out of their way to make it even better - I really appreciated this and would equally appreciate it if you could tell them so (the only contact details I can find are for reservations...)

Paying extra for the mountain view was absolutely worth it. The 'piazza view' side also has rooms overlooking the car park and the main road." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 22
95%
22 reviews of Victoria & Alfred Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
3
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa