This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel


33°54’21.8"S 18°25’11.7"E

Reviews of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria & Alfred Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Ms L
Leeds

"The best location for a short stay"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"Visiting South Africa was a last minute add on to our safari trip to Namibia and Botswana so we were not sure what we were going to make of it. However we loved South Africa and Cape Town in particular.

We are so glad we booked the V&A as it's in a perfect location. It's right on the V&A waterfront and all the bars and restaurants there. It's also an easy stroll to the Hop On - Hop Off tourist bus and the access point for the Robbin Island Tour. The hotel was helpful in that they suggested we book all our tours the moment we arrived and so in the 2 nights we spent there we went up Table Mountain, took all the tour bus routes as well as getting off to visit Kirchenbosch Botanic Garden and some other stops and visited Robbin Island all of which we would thoroughly recommend.

We discovered the Watershed between the V&A Hotel and the tourist bus stop. This is a converted warehouse with beautiful local craft work for sale and we just wished we had more luggage space so we could take some home. The imagination and ingenuity which the African craft workers show in recycling redundant materials to create beautiful objects is quite stunning.

We would love to go back to South Africa and we would definitely stay in the V&A again." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Malaysia

"Grand old hotel in superb location"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"A lovely old hotel located close to all the amenities.

We had a room with beautiful views of Table Mountain.

Staff was very attentive & helpful." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
C
Boston

"Convenient Hotel In V&A Waterfront"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2015
"The buffet breakfast was a pleasant surprise - I could have sat there all day. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly until the last morning when we were leaving. Since our departure was prior to the start of breakfast they packed a "to-go" back that was FILLEd with food. Although I wish I had known that the buffet would already be out - I would have just asked if I could have eaten from that even if they weren't officially "open".

We asked them to make dinner reservations for us one night and the front desk said she would let us know when they were confirmed which she never did (but we ended up going for dinner anyway and it all worked out).

The location was very convenient and the room was nice. Appreciated the complementary water." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Excellent location and service at the V & A"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2014
"This was our second stay at the V & A at the end of our trip before returning to the airport. Although only there for one night on this occasion the accommodation and help from staff was as excellent as on our previous six night stay.

We were allowed to stay beyond normal check out time and could leave the car in their secure parking area until due to head off for our flight later in the day." See all these reviews: 34n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Crewe

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"Excellent hotel,well sited for the waterfront,no security issues at all day or evening.Piazza rooms also have partial water view.

Hire car not required for Cape Town as hop on/hop off bus very good for most visits and taxis also cheap. Four nights wasn't long enough as loads to do .A great city." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Midlands

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"This was our second visit to the V&A. The location is superb, very central to all of the waterfront activities, and last minute shopping before coming home. We love wandering around the craft markets.

Breakfasts are excellent, bountiful and leisurely - on the pavement by the waterfront watching the world go by. We had dinner in the hotel one night which was also very good.

Last time we stayed we were in room 220 and we were hoping for a similar room this time, however we were next door in room 218 and instead of the comfy chairs we had a dining room table and four dining room chairs, nowhere comfortable to sit at all. Very odd. We don't spend a lot of time in hotel bedrooms even less time holding dinner parties in them, but we would expect somewhere to sit and relax. We do think that hotel designers ought to try staying in some of their creations." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Excellent location & service at the V & A"

6 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2014
"A beautiful location on the waterfront with wonderful clear views of Table Mountain from the mountain view rooms. Very safe location making us feel comfortable from the start of our holiday. Well positioned for the city bus tours.

Excellent all round service by very helpful and welcoming staff.

Very good restaurants nearby.

We would definitely use this hotel again." See all these reviews: 34n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Excellent waterfront hotel, V & A"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"Excellent location, very helpful and courteous staff, one of the best breakfasts we've had anywhere.

Although we had a loft room it was very comfortable, spacious and well appointed." See all these reviews: 9n in Malawi; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Purley

"Great location,service and food!"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this friendly and very comfortable hotel. We were upgraded to a superb room with wonderful views of Table Mountain on one side and the harbour on the other as the hotel had been told by our children that it was my husbands 65th birthday during our stay. They also presented him with a birthday cake on the day and every member of staff we met that morning wished him happy birthday!

The food at the hotel was excellent. The breakfast buffet had a wide range of delicious cold foods and a substantial cooked breakfast was also on offer. We had dinner there on our last evening overlooking the harbour and the food was imaginative and beautifully cooked.

The staff were endlessly helpful and enthusiastic in their suggestions of things to do. The waterfront is an excellent location to stay as it feels completely secure and is a very lively place. We visited a couple of other hotels during our time in Capetown, including Mount Nelson but we can't think of a nicer place to stay than the V &A ." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
USA

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2011
"Location was perfect with easy access to the waterfront area and the sightseeing bus.

The staff was very accommodating as the room was not ready when we arrived and they treated us to a snack in their restaurant. When we were ready to leave, the kitchen was not open for breakfast and the staff arranged to have breakfast delivered to our room." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 22
95%
22 reviews of Victoria & Alfred Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
3
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa