This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs K from Crewe

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2014 trip

South Africa between 26 Oct 2014 and 12 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great holiday overall - thank you Tracy.

The V+A,Avondrood and The Plettenberg were all very good,Tsitsikamma was fine ,De Hoop merited a shorter visit with better accommodation and no food issues !"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"Excellent hotel,well sited for the waterfront,no security issues at all day or evening.Piazza rooms also have partial water view.

Hire car not required for Cape Town as hop on/hop off bus very good for most visits and taxis also cheap. Four nights wasn't long enough as loads to do .A great city."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Avondrood GH

"Avondrood GH review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2014
"Franschhoek is a lovely place with lots to see and do in a sensational mountain setting. The host at Avondrood could not have been more helpful with suggestions and booking of restaurants.Relaxed atmosphere.Easy walking distance into town.

This place needs to be added to Expert Africa's list of accommodations."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"De Hoop Opstal review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"Only worth a 2 night stay as once you've done the river walk and seen the beach (beautiful) there is not much else to do and you are 1 hour down a dirt road. Seeing Whales from the beach was a highlight.

The restaurant burnt down a few months ago and both myself and my wife got gastroenteritis form their efforts - I would not return until this is sorted out.

Our accommodation was very basic - the worst of our visit - there were higher standard units available and these should be offered instead - Village rooms were also a mile from the restaurant and you were clpse to the staff quarters."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Average
The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

"The Plettenberg review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"Fantastic luxury hotel in sensational location overlooking two beaches. Pricey but worth it. Food in the restaurant very good value.

The best location view wise that I have ever stayed in. Recommend the skydiving !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Storms River Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"Fantastic location right by the crashing waves though accommodation a little on the basic side though better than De Hoop. Lots of walk to do. Again our house was the furthest from the restaurant-not really walking distance - and some of the others appeared more luxurious though may not have been free."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Elephant House

Elephant House

"Elephant House review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"Colonial setting - very convenient for the park. Good quality large room .Staff appeared a little 'at sea' with customer service but were trying hard - it felt like they needed a manager.

Limited menu but tasty enough.

Recommend Crisscross tours for the safari visit."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team