This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Storms River Restcamp
Storms River Restcamp
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp


34°1’16.6"S 23°52’56.1"E

Reviews of Storms River Restcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Storms River Restcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Storms River Restcamp.
Leopard

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"Storms River RestCamp"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2020
"This was a great one night stop in a beach side cabin.

It was very different from all our other accommodation but we enjoyed the its simplicity." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Prof & Dr M
Sheffield

"Storms River Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2019
"This is a SAN parks accommodation and is not up to the usual standard of accommodation usually booked by Expert Africa.
Yet we had specifically requested to stay here as we have stayed at several similar places in Kwa Zulu Natal and Kruger and knew what to expect. If it is your first trip to Southern Africa or if you are booking a special holiday then these camps may not be to your taste. Rooms are self catering cottages with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen area and lounge and a small veranda. There is a restaurant providing food from 07:30 hrs - to 20:00 hrs.
The main reason we wanted to come here was for the views and diverse flora and fauna. Our cottage was 20 metres from the Indian Ocean which we could see from our bed in the morning. What's not to like?

" See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Great place to watch waves crash onto rocks"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2016
"Big camp with space for tents, camper vans and chalets. We had a Honeymoon chalet, which had a bedroom and sitting room both opening up to a deck with a great view of the wonderfully shaped rocks and the waves rolling in and erupting into great towers of spray.

We arrived when the sun was shining and the sea was a wonderful turquoise. During the afternoon a mist developed and stayed until the following midday before clearing almost to the top of the cliffs. On the second morning, the mist came back with the waves crashing through the gloom. A wonderful experience and we were glad that we stayed for two nights.

The camp restaurant was good rather than great but efficient and friendly we tried the salads as lighter options. They were huge, but very tasty. We loved the whole experience and would definitely return." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Dramatic location above breakers"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"Chalets in a dramatic location above waves breaking above rocks. Adequate self-catering facilities although we chose to eat in the restaurant.

Unfortunately the restaurant lacked adequate management which permeated through the staff. Our booking for a group of twelve people was not honoured on two successive evenings. On the first occasion we eventually ate on plastic tables brought in from outside, and on the second on picnic benches. On our final morning there was only one other person ahead for breakfast, but the first person was not served for about 50 minutes and the last for about an hour. In the meantime other customers arrived, were served and left. The manager grudgingly apologised but lacked sincerity. After some argument our final breakfast bill was discounted by 50%, which represented less than eight percent of our total spend.

In fairness, the food was good when it came." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Crewe

"Storms River Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"Fantastic location right by the crashing waves though accommodation a little on the basic side though better than De Hoop. Lots of walk to do. Again our house was the furthest from the restaurant-not really walking distance - and some of the others appeared more luxurious though may not have been free." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Disappointing stay at Storms River Restcamp"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2014
"Location, right on the rocks immediately above the Indian Ocean, spectacular provided you enjoy the sound of pounding surf 24 hrs a day.
However fittings in accommodation old and tired.

We would recommend anyone staying in the Restcamp to check the location of their unit carefully as although ours was in a good position it was a 20/25 minute walk to the on site restaurant.

The on site restaurant only provided basic chain food and service could be poor. To get off site was quite a drive." See all these reviews: 34n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs Craig
UK

"Impressive sea, grotty accommodation"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2014
"We squeezed this in as from everything we read it seemed like we must. However, the faff of moving everyone for another night was not worth it at all. The sea was impressive but nothing that couldn't have been taken in with a quick stop enroute. The storms river suspension bridge was not impressive - I suspect only so when the weather is bad. It felt very touristy - my husband had done a zipline earlier in the day and we saw all the same people then walking to the suspension bridge like it had to be ticked off.

I know Tracy was excited that we had got oceanette N and the location was impressive but the oceanette itself was grim - hospital bright lighting, mould on the ceilings, dirty kitchen, worn out furniture, cold shower. I felt uncomfortable with the kids playing on the floor and I didn't want to eat in there. We bought new BBQ equipment having found old bits of meat on the ones left in the oceanette and threw out our breakfast stuff in favour of eating in the restaurant (distinctly average). Enjoyed jumping the waves with my 3 year old and probably would have taken a boat trip if it wasn't for the kids but wish we'd stayed the extra night in Knysna. Don't get me wrong, we can handle basic (although everywhere else on our trip was really great) but this was below basic." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Storms River Rest Camp - great location"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2014
"Great location with good walking trails at nearby Nature's Valley section of park. We occupied an Oceanette self catering apartment as there was nothing else available when we booked at short notice. This would have been adequate for two people self catering although we chose to eat in the restaurant." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"wonderful location, shame about the shed!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2014
"This is a fascinating place to stay and watch the thundering waves on the rocks. There is aso excellent hiking but a lot is on steep hills so you need to be fairly fit.

Unfortunately, we were allocated what I can only describe as a converted garden shed. We knew that this could not be right and managed to get moved to something very much better ( good in fact) but this was for one night only. The next day we had to repeat our removals to yet another cabin ( also very good). Thus our stay here was rather itinerant and this somewhat spoilt the stay. We did make the most of our time but could have done without all the upheaval and frankly the shock of our allocated first "home" I have rated the room as terrible ( which it was) had we been placed in either of our subsequent rooms I would have said good.

I have spoken to Tracy about the issues here, and I am happy with the result of our discussion and feel sure that there will be double checking in the future to ensure that no one else is placed in the same position.

I cannot comment on food as we self catered, a welcome change after several days of large portions!" See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Terrible
Ms R & Mr B
Lyneham

"Basic but great location"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2013
"As we expected, the cabin was quite basic, but absolutely fine. And definitely worth it in order to stay in that location.

Were surprised by how good the restaurant in the camp was. And the pool was really good (and unexpected) too.
" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 15
76%
15 reviews of Storms River Restcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
3
6
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tsitsikamma | Garden Route National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow

In a beautiful setting with superb scenery Hog Hollow is a wonderful retreat where personalised service is key, the staff are friendly and the food imaginative.


94% (29 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa