This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Prof & Dr M from Sheffield

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

My Apr 2019 trip

South Africa between 30 Apr 2019 and 14 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"For us it always a pleasure to travel to southern Africa, which we have been doing for over 40 years.

As ever the Expert Africa consultants were excellent and we wouldn't consider travelling to Africa without their help and advice.

Although the travel tags and wallet are extremely well made and gratefully received, we found them bulky and might act more like flashing beacon to unscrupulous locals to locate unsuspecting tourists! We didn't use them preferring a simply plastic wallet on the basis that 'more is less'..

We booked our hotel accommodation The Taj in Cape Town ourselves. Located opposite St George's cathedral it is a very comfortable and welcoming place with staff eager to please. They also provide a complimentary shuttle service, by limousine (Range Rover/Jaguar ) to anywhere within 10 Km area and a regular shuttle bus to VA Waterfront and Table Mountain. Most rooms have views of Table Mountain too."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Galenia Estate

Galenia Estate

"Galenia Estate review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2019
"Coming to this accommodation so late in their season has its advantages as there was only one other couple staying. We were able to enjoy all the comfort and environment of a very beautiful estate. The morning walking tour was a pleasure and very interesting. They have a couple of tame donkeys on the estate plus a resident flock of ostriches. The estate suffered a major fire in February 2018 which destroyed much of the vegetation and some of the buildings. However, these have been rebuilt to a very high standard.
We enjoyed having a wood fire in our room in the evening and gazing up at the incredible African night sky.
The accommodation is very comfortable and is highly recommended. Our overnight stay was ample for us, but if you really need to relax, an extra day should be planned. The breakfast here is superb, and not your usual fry up!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

"Rosenhof Country House review"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2019
"The house set in a large garden on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn and the directions given by Expert Africa made it easy to find.
On arrival we were made very welcome. The place has a very traditional feel to it, which may not be to everyone's taste. For us it seemed like time had stood still for the past 20 years or so.

We enjoyed a really excellent evening meal and I would urge anyone staying here to ensure you do too!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Storms River Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2019
"This is a SAN parks accommodation and is not up to the usual standard of accommodation usually booked by Expert Africa.
Yet we had specifically requested to stay here as we have stayed at several similar places in Kwa Zulu Natal and Kruger and knew what to expect. If it is your first trip to Southern Africa or if you are booking a special holiday then these camps may not be to your taste. Rooms are self catering cottages with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen area and lounge and a small veranda. There is a restaurant providing food from 07:30 hrs - to 20:00 hrs.
The main reason we wanted to come here was for the views and diverse flora and fauna. Our cottage was 20 metres from the Indian Ocean which we could see from our bed in the morning. What's not to like?"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2019
"The directions to the accommodation could have been slightly clearer, as we drove past the accommodation! We couldn't see the white bricked sign 'Swellendam' from the car! Perhaps leave that bit out? This is a very minor criticism.

Very comfortable rooms with a veranda. Nice breakfast and afternoon tea on arrival.

We ate our evening meal at a restaurant recommended by staff who made the reservation for us. Not much to do here apart from visit the local museum. However a good place to break a journey en route to Cape Town or towards Port Elizabeth"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team