This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate

Reviews of Galenia Estate

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Galenia Estate and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Ms C
London

"Galenia Estate review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2020
"Lovely place, great views, great food and very helpful capable staff." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Dr M
Sheffield

"Galenia Estate review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2019
"Coming to this accommodation so late in their season has its advantages as there was only one other couple staying. We were able to enjoy all the comfort and environment of a very beautiful estate. The morning walking tour was a pleasure and very interesting. They have a couple of tame donkeys on the estate plus a resident flock of ostriches. The estate suffered a major fire in February 2018 which destroyed much of the vegetation and some of the buildings. However, these have been rebuilt to a very high standard.
We enjoyed having a wood fire in our room in the evening and gazing up at the incredible African night sky.
The accommodation is very comfortable and is highly recommended. Our overnight stay was ample for us, but if you really need to relax, an extra day should be planned. The breakfast here is superb, and not your usual fry up!" See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Hants

"Perfect location, lovely view, good food"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"A lovely property up away from the road, tucked under the mountains.

Beautiful view over the valley and to Montagu. Excellent restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.

A pity the bad weather prevented walks around the estate." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"The Phoenix Risen"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2018
"We visited Galenia in April 2017 based on location and a hope that the standards the Baileys set in Tanzania would be maintained here. They were and we absolutely loved it.

We re-booked for this year and heard, to our horror, it had been very badly damaged in a bush fire in February 2018. It is testament to this family run operation that their undertaking to rebuild during the closed season was achieved. We stayed in one of the new rooms, rebuilt in exactly 3 months, and unless you knew you would never have guessed it had risen from the ashes. The operation remains top class but we were a little optimistic to expect the birds would have returned after so much of the surrounding fynbos and woodland had been burned to the ground.

Nonetheless, we again loved our stay and even managed a swim. Apart from the charm and friendly efficiency of the staff the gold star was the cooking. By far the best of any of our stops, the daily changing menu was full of innovation and most excellent cooking. Bearing in mind the opposition includes Bushman's Kloof and The Cape Grace this is an outstanding place to stay, relax in great comfort and eat wonderfully well.

Should we return to Cape Town, Galenia will be a must. It is just too good to miss." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Galenia Estate"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"Wonderful location, with great views and activities.

Fantastic dining in their restaurant and also in room.

The dams were empty because of the drought so no birds to be seen from the hide, but plenty when walking on the trails.

We will return when the dams are full again!" See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"Relaxing in beautiful surroundings at Galenia"

3 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"We didn't quite know what to expect but we wanted somewhere quiet to chill out before our holiday started in earnest. As it turned out we were absolutely delighted with the whole experience.

We had a very warm and comprehensive welcome from the manager, which is always a good start. Our accommodation was very comfortable and well equipped - to be picky the bathroom needed a bit of an update but it was OK. The outdoor shower was lovely.

The staff were excellent. We particularly liked the Estate Manager, Cade(?), who was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He was passionate about the estate and especially his olive grove and was happy to take time out to show us his olive press. He and others also hosted an early morning guided walk when they could demonstrate their exceptional knowledge of the local ecosystem.

The free talk and sampling of olive oil was a real eye opener for us. Olive oil can now almost be bracketed with wine and tea for the real connoisseurs!

Perhaps the high point was the evening meal - delicious home cooked food, well prepared and presented and reasonably priced. The view from the dining room was fantastic." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Galenia Does What It Says on the Tin"

5 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2017
"Galenia is new and not yet on the Expert Africa list - it should be. We heard about it when searching for an alternative southern Africa holiday to replace our usual Botswana trips. We needed comfort, non malaria and somewhere to relax, watch birds and do what retired people do on holiday.

Run by the family that runs Beho Beho and The Oyster Bay Hotel in Tanzania, we expected similar standards and got them. Wonderfully comfortable cottages, a huge estate to wander in at will and sunbirds feeding on the honeysuckle outside our room was just what we wanted. Run by an extremely charming and professional staff, Galenia ticked all our boxes.

Although they only offered cold cuts and cheese for lunch it was all we needed and this winter they intend to extend the kitchen to be able to cater for those wanting a more extensive lunch menu. Set in a spectacular mountainous valley Galenia is a gem well worth investigating for either short or longer stays. We stayed 5 nights and plan to return as soon as we can." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
100%
7 reviews of Galenia Estate by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Little Karoo

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House is a luxurious country house in South Africa’s Little Karoo, ideal for exploring the nearby Cango Caves and various ostrich farms.


90% (14 reviews)
Mooiplaas Guesthouse

Mooiplaas Guesthouse

In a rural area, not far from Oudtshoorn, the friendly Mooiplaas Guesthouse is a good base for exploring an ostrich farm, the Cango Caves and the Swartberg Mountains.


90% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa