This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House


33°34’30.4"S 22°12’22.8"E

Reviews of Rosenhof Country House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rosenhof Country House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"Rosenhof Country House"

1 night Arrived 10 Feb 2020
"Again just for one night so didn't have a chance to fully enjoy the hotel and it's facilities." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Dr M
Sheffield

"Rosenhof Country House review"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2019
"The house set in a large garden on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn and the directions given by Expert Africa made it easy to find.
On arrival we were made very welcome. The place has a very traditional feel to it, which may not be to everyone's taste. For us it seemed like time had stood still for the past 20 years or so.

We enjoyed a really excellent evening meal and I would urge anyone staying here to ensure you do too!" See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Glos

"Rosenhof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2017
"Extremely pleasant hotel - very comfortable accommodation, helpful staff and convenient location." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Lovely little hotel"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2016
"Once again a delightful little place - and close to what must be the best drive in the world ( over two mountain passes).

The usual South African care and attention and lovely meals.

We made the mistake of eating out one night - after 1.5 hours still no food, and complete lack of concern from the staff - so we returned to the hotel, hungry, at about 9.30. Staff made a huge fuss of us and made sure we had as much food as we needed! Wish we had stayed in!" See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Godalming

"Lovely setting, wish we had more time there"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2016
"A lovely country house with a very comfortable room.

We stayed for delicious dinner and wished we had more time to appreciate the surroundings." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Muswell Hi

"Rosenhof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Wonderful stay at Rosenhof Country Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"This is lovely colonial style accommodation in a converted farmhouse and surrounding buildings. Service truly excellent. Food fabulous.

Although some way out of the centre of Oudtshoorn it is definitely worth staying and eating here." See all these reviews: 34n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Midlands

"Rosenhof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2014
"Our room was excellent - we were upgraded to one of the suites which was actually a detached bungalow, complete with its own swimming pool, which we used as the weather was unseasonally hot. We didn't however make use of the personal gym in the bathroom!!

We ate in the hotel on the first evening but the menu is a set three course meal with limited choice - we walked to a local restaurant on the second evening." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Old fashioned Rosenhof"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons review: Despite our agent informing all the places we were staying of disability, this place obviously did not read their notes. We had to negotiate some awkward steps to the room despite us noticing later that a few other rooms did not have steps and appeared not to be occupied. There were also awkward steps to the dining/swimming pool area, however, they did offer to serve us breakfast on our patio.

The style of this place is in the name - country house - but even so the room seemed a little dowdy although the bathroom was modern.

Good welcome and excellent breakfast." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms H & Family
Roke

"Rosenhof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2013
"It was the middle of an arts fesitival and the road the Rosenhof was one was closed which was a bit of a challenge but solved by a friendly traffic officer (who escorted us direct to the gate).

Lovely room, great food and wonderful breakfasts." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 14
90%
14 reviews of Rosenhof Country House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Little Karoo

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galenia Estate

Galenia Estate

Just outside Montagu, Galenia Estate is a newly refurbished guesthouse nestled on a hillside estate with over a thousand olive trees.


100% (7 reviews)
Mooiplaas Guesthouse

Mooiplaas Guesthouse

In a rural area, not far from Oudtshoorn, the friendly Mooiplaas Guesthouse is a good base for exploring an ostrich farm, the Cango Caves and the Swartberg Mountains.


90% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa