This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs V from Coulsdon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

48

Excursions taken

3

Stunning scenery and welcoming hotels

South Africa between 19 Oct 2016 and 12 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thanks to Claire for selecting such wonderful hotels for us, The scenery is stunning. The fynbos fascinating. There can't be a better country for a road trip.

And returning to such lovely welcoming hotels each night made the whole holiday a real treat."

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Constantia

The Constantia

"Probably the nicest hotel we have ever stayed"

6 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"What more could this hotel offer? The whole staff seemed to be dedicated to our relaxation and enjoyment. Where else do you get introduced to the support staff (Thom and Beauty and another lady)on arrival?

Tess the manager advised and supported throughout, suggesting wonderful days out. ....and as for the huge bedroom/lounge/bathroom - I was exhausted walking from one end to the other! Lovely garden, great breakfasts.

Somehow we felt as if we had joined a caring family. So glad we spent 6 nights there."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Grootbos Garden Lodge

Grootbos Garden Lodge

"Great guide at Grootbos"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2016
"The Forest Lodge dining area had burnt down and was being refurbished. Consequently our room was at the Forest Lodge and we were bussed to and from the Garden Lodge for meals. This sounds awful but it worked really well, as the Garden Lodge was too child friendly for our liking and the Forest Lodge was peaceful and the rooms were superb!

But the real star was our guide Aneke, who knew everything there was to know about the Fynbos! (and also found us the only 2 whales in the area!) The drives and walks with her were lovely, the rooms were great as was the food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2016
"Beautiful old house with lovely rooms and the excellent service which seems to come as standard in SA.

Well positioned in the centre of town.

We didn't think there was much to do in town, so we walked in the nearby Bontebok National Park"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Sociability encouraged at Hog Hollow"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2016
"Just fabulous.

Walks nearby and so much else to do in this area. We planned to spend time in the nearby parks but the staff suggested other more entertaining options (boating on the Keurbooms!)

Staff great and so helpful. food excellent and a real effort to get the safari campfire feeling before the evening meal. Delightful room with amazing views."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"How can we go beyond excellent!"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2016
"After a fortnight in SA we didn't think the accommodation could be better - and then we arrived in Kwandwe.

Excellent food, beautiful room and now with the added attraction of excellent guiding and wild animals during dawn and dusk safaris. This really felt like luxury in wild Africa - and free gin!

Neat little "surprises" (which I won't spoil) both in the rooms and on safari!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

"Lovely little hotel"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2016
"Once again a delightful little place - and close to what must be the best drive in the world ( over two mountain passes).

The usual South African care and attention and lovely meals.

We made the mistake of eating out one night - after 1.5 hours still no food, and complete lack of concern from the staff - so we returned to the hotel, hungry, at about 9.30. Staff made a huge fuss of us and made sure we had as much food as we needed! Wish we had stayed in!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

The Robertson Small Hotel

"Tiny bedroom - but who cares!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2016
"Beautifully converted and furnished, if small, bedroom - but who cares when the service and facilities are so good! Lovely, friendly staff, perhaps the best food we had eaten in a month and they even make their own tonic to drink with the local gin.

Not a lot to do in the area, if you are pressing on to the winelands (how many vineyards can you visit?) In retrospect I would have spent more time here and missed the traditional winelands of Franchhoek.

The Fish Eagle walk at Van Loveren is probably best avoided!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"Room 1 has its own patio!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2016
"Perfect for exploring the the tourist traps of the Franchhoek vinyards.

Another super little hotel where the staff couldn't do enough for you - even sent out for craft beer when I said I couldn't face another ghastly lager!

Be warned - book well in advance for the best restaurants! Eat at Foliage - undoubtedly the best food we ate in 3 weeks, and there was some stiff competition."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

A fantastic trip.

Namibia and 2 other countries between 5 Nov 2014 and 26 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great time on this trip. The driving in Namibia is easy and well sign posted. Our extra trip to Damaraland and Hoanib, caused by Wilderness Safaris not confirming Camp Kipwe, were interesting but messed up our leisurely 3 days we had planned at the start of a very busy holiday. However they were great experiences and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.

All other arrangements ran beautifully smoothly and Expert Africa''s advice was spot on. I would recommend Expert Africa for African holidays as they are so well thought out and meticulously planned.

We had a great time. Thank you Expert Africa for this lovely experience.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We really appreciated the opportunity to meet your staff at the recent Sunvil event and at the Destinations Show. Keep up the good work!"

Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

"A great start to a holiday in Namibia."

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"This place was gorgeous. We loved our stay here and had a lovely dinner and fantastic breakfast. We would whole-heartedly recommend Olive Exclusive for a lovely comfortable experience.

This was a first class place to relax after a long flight."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"A friendly central guesthouse."

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"We had a very warm welcome and it was nice to see Peter again whom we had met 3 years earlier when we stayed here. Nothing was too much trouble, restaurant bookings and trip confirmations were all done for us.

It is in a convenient position in Swakopmund with an easy walk into town and to restaurants.

Some of the restaurants listed in our travel books have closed down and they were all very full. We would recommend early booking for the Jetty and the Tug as they are very popular and interesting places to eat in.

It rained whilst we were there, something people said had never happened before!

We all enjoyed the kayaking with Jeanne of Ecotours and the trip to the Cape Cross seal colony was well worth the long rather dull drive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"A first class hostess at Damaraland."

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"We loved it here and were sorry to only be here for one night. Maggie, the boss, made it very very special and greeted us with song and said goodbye with song. The menu was read to us in English and click language and breakfast on top of a hill one morning was a lovely surprise with eggs cooked over a fire. Maggie ate dinner with us and entertained us all.

A first class camp thanks to Maggie and her team."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"An interesting place.

The communal areas of the camp are very comfortable and eating dinner in the open one night was delightful. The staff entertained us with singing and dancing after dinner which we loved (ask them to do the Toyota song!)

The staff here are very charming and helpful and fun to be with. Gert our guide was outstanding and we loved our time with him. He was very informative on animals and plants and the geology of the area.

The rooms seemed almost too modern and because we were told to keep windows closed at night you could have been sleeping in a good quality hotel anywhere. You don't have the experience of feeling you are part of the environment as you do in a tent or chalet. It was all very comfortable and good quality but lacked the charm of other Wilderness camps.

We really enjoyed the flights to and from Hoanib."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Disappointing Dolomite."

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2014
"This is not a very well run camp. The receptionist and lad who collected our bags were great but it was downhill after that.

We noted 3 staff relaxing in the residents lounge who were not very happy when we looked in, so we didn't feel welcome there.

The chalets were very hot and airless when we arrived at 4 p.m. when they were in full sun. We were advised not to leave the chalets after dark and to summon a guide by phone to take us to dinner. The telephones in Rooms 3 and 4 (where my sister and her husband were) did not work so we were stranded when we wanted to go to dinner and we had to risk going on our own. No one seemed concerned!

Dinner was a very slow affair with a sullen waitress who didn't smile. When dinner arrived an hour and quarter later, Jen's was embelished with beetles and their larvae which meant she had no main course that night and it put the rest of us off our food!

We only stayed here to gain admittance to the western end of Etosha but the only waterhole worth visiting was the one nearest the camp, all the other waterholes we visited were dry. We wished we had just stayed 2 nights at Okaukuejo."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Worth it for the lovely waterhole."

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"The restaurant is fairly average. The shop is under stocked. There is a distinct lack of any ambiance but who cares, the waterhole is wonderful. 7 rhinos jostling and challenging each other and interacting with a female rhino. Lionesses, elephants, kudu, springbok, giraffe, jackals in the evening. It was great the next morning too, with birds and game arriving in a procession of African wildlife.

We wanted to buy food to make a sandwich to eat at the waterhole that night but the stock in the shop is so poor we ended up with plastic sliced bread, flavourless processed meats and amazing 'cheese flavoured' slices.

The chalets are clean, large and comfortable with kitchen facilities, which is very nice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Lovely Mushara Bush Camp."

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2014
"Lovely camp and very child friendly. Staff very helpful and lovely comfortable tents with fans. Food was pretty good too. We had an enjoyable meal that was set up outside one evening. The grounds and swimming pool are great. An ideal spot from which to explore Etosha.

Our guide was good company but not particularly knowledgeable. He was experienced and knew where to look for game but not so good on plants and birds. We did a walk and a drive into Etosha with him.

We enjoyed our stay here and were sorry to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"On the river at Hakusembe"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2014
"The four of us shared a lovely house here with 2 bedrooms, lounge and large dining table. We had a lovely outlook over the river. The staff were exceptional here and a pleasure to be with. Our guide on the river trips was great. Mathias was very knowledgeable about all aspects of the area and fun to be with.

The high spot was the cultural dancing we had asked for. The group were internationally renowned and the manager said we were very lucky they were free to sing and dance for us. The staff at Hakusembe Lodge enjoyed it as much as we did and some of them came back on their day off to see the group. The lodge paid part of the cost as the whole dining room enjoyed the show free of charge! We felt it had been worth every penny.

We were sorry to leave here and to leave the exceptionally charming fun staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Lovely river position."

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2014
"Cameron, the charming manager, met us at the door. He was full of very useful information about what to do in the area. He suggested which parks to visit and the best times of day to visit them and told us it was easy to self drive in the parks.

We did a river trip but the guide was not very good so we didn't repeat it. It was delightful to sit on our balconies watching the birds, hippos and otters playing in the river. The grounds were full of interesting birds, even a paradise flycatcher and his mate were there to greet us!

Lunches were a bit boring but the dinners were lovely."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Remote Nkasa Lupala."

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2014
"This was a lovely remote lodge with an hours drive down a potholed track. The manager, Simone, is very environmentally aware, power is provided by solar panels as is the case in many lodges.

We arrived too late for lunch after a long drive but nothing was provided for us to eat until tea time.

It was very hot here, our tents were in full sun most of the day and unbearable to be in until the sun went down. There were no fans to alleviate the heat and no pool either despite the lodge's advertising, which also mentions fans, mosquito nets, laundry, swimming pool, tea and coffee stations (there is only one in the main lodge, and no free cold drinks available) and an in room safe, none of which exist. We were also disappointed to have to buy water in plastic bottles despite the heat. - both economically and environmentally unsatisfactory. Perhaps this is to be expected in this remote location, but it was very disappointing to be promised things in the lodge's advertising that simply didn't exist. We stayed in a number of lodges for 2 nights and this was far and away the most expensive.

The trips were good, we went out in the afternoon with Simone who is very knowledgeable about all aspects of the area. The next day we did a combo which was delightful. We watched elephants eating in the reed beds which was very exciting. We also saw huge herds of buffalo. A very enjoyable trip with a good informative guide called Moses.

It was lovely to eat dinner at a long table overlooking the water each night."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Poor
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"An oasis of calm at Garden Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2014
"We were welcomed by Emily, one of the managers who, despite it being 2.30p.m. rustled up a lovely lunch for us. The Garden Lodge was an oasis of calm in the busy town of Kasane. Nothing was too much trouble for the team of managers or their staff. The rooms were large and comfortable and had a.c. The food was delicious.

Trips on the Chobe River were great, there is a huge variety of birds. The highlights were the elephants coming down to drink in the morning and evening. One evening we were treated to 10 minutes of a leopard coming down from his tree and walking along the river bank. The two guides, Innocent and John, were very knowledgeable and knew just where to go to see the best of the animals and birds.

We were a bit disappointed by the safari in the park as there were nothing like the numbers of animals around that we had experienced in July five years ago. It had rained 2 weeks ago and the animals had dispersed, although they were drifting back as it hadn;t rained since.

We loved it here and would recommend it to anyone who wants to explore Chobe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Great for visiting Victoria Falls."

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2014
"This is a large lodge with many guests, but it is in a perfect position for walking down to the Victoria Falls. It is very comfortable and the a.c. in the rooms was very welcome (especially as the temperature was around 38 deg. C whilst we were there). The breakfasts were lovely with the highlight of churros every day. The evening meals were pretty good too. It was lovely to eat outside.

We did a trip of an evening safari in Livingstone and Stanley Park, which is a private estate where rhino conservation is a success. After a sundowner we were taken to an outside dining area and had a lovely meal arriving back at the hotel at 9 p.m.

Zimbabwe is very expensive after Namibia. They have aligned their currency with the US dollar. The local population was keen to barter with us using any spare clothes or shoes we had as they find it hard to buy these things."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

A stunning holiday.

Tanzania between 2 Nov 2013 and 21 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a lovely holiday and would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone.

It was a lovely combination of beach and safari and the areas of Selous and Ruaha were totally different experiences. The snorkelling on Mafia was unexpectedly wonderful. Expert Africa certainly guided us to some lovely places and it is one of the best experiences of Africa we have had. All our connections went very smoothly and we were well looked after."

Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Great place to relax before or after safari."

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2013
"Ras Kutani is a fantastic place especially after a long flight with no sleep. David the manager was very welcoming as were all the staff. The food was lovely, especially Sundays curry! The best breakfasts we had with an amazing view.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights here. We were sad to leave even though we were off on safari. We would recommend Ras Kutani unreservedly and it made a lovely alternative to staying overnight in Dar."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Luxury in the bush."

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2013
"Barbara and Sylvia made us feel most welcome to this lovely camp. All the staff were attentive and efficient.

Our guide Dennis was fantastic and we had a great time with him on safari and on the water. Beautiful birds and many hyena.

The 35 elephants crossing the river at dusk was a highlight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Informal luxury in the bush."

4 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2013
"A beautiful place, 6 huge tents widely spaced. Amazing food (my husband was in heaven!)

The safaris were amazing, totally different terrain to Selous, dry so easy to observe big cats, of which there seemed to be large numbers.

Our guides, Lorenzo and Said were great guys to spend time with. Lorenzo was very knowledgeable about all aspects of the area and he was very informative. A highlight was watching elephants at a small waterhole enjoying a mud bath after rain."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

"The perfect beach resort."

6 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2013
"A lovely lovely place to spend a week. Maura and Moys were great company and very obliging. The staff were fantastic and Ali's cocktails were brilliant.

We loved it here and were glad not to be staying on Chole Bay, the beach was stunning and stretched for miles. Although the main town was nearby it was not intrusive.

The snorkelling nearby and at Chole Bay were the highlights of the week. Didn't want to leave!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Namibia Trip

Namibia between 24 May 2011 and 21 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Amazing! We were lucky to have a month here but would have liked longer. There is so much to see and do.

A lovely country with great lodges and fabulous wildlife. I think we saw the best of everything thanks to the excellent advice from Sabina for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

It was really really cold, not just on game drives but also in tented camps. Windproof jackets need to be recommended at this time of year. Temperatures fell to at least -2 deg. C. We didn't feel prepared for it being quite so cold at nights. We were glad we had our thermal underwear with us! It even snowed at Solitaire two days after we left the area.

I was really glad that you recommended a 4x4 to us and think you should have pushed us in that direction earlier as it really enhanced the trip, e.g. we could fully explore Fish Canyon and the Luderitz Peninsula. Having no experience of 4x4 driving, a short course at the beginning of the holiday would have been useful and we met a woman (Rome, who is Willems neice) at the Barchan Dune Resort who was talking about doing just that in Windhoek where she lives."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2011
"A great place for a first night's stay. It was easy to find from the airport. They were very welcoming, hot water bottles and heating were a real plus as it was cold at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2011
"Charl (manager) and Dube (guide) were fantastic. Charl bent over backwards to help us with 4X4 advice and even checked our tyre pressures and evened them up for us! The Dune Chalets had a gorgeous view, heating and hot water bottles and the warmest dressing gowns on earth were very welcome. The food was lovely with lots of choice. It was great to see lots of game animals right at the start of the trip, ostriches were particularly fascinating.
This was a superb place to break the trip to Fish River Canyon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2011
"A lovely lodge in a beautiful setting. Although our room was small there was heating which we needed in the morinings. Unfortunately it was too cold to use that amazing pool! An ideal base to explore Fish River Canyon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2011
"A lovely warm room, receptionist moved us to a room with a balcony actually on the rocky shore which was small but very comfortable with seabirds feeding 3m away from us. Lovely warm, charming staff and good food. There was even a washing line in the bathroom!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Halifax Island boat trip

Halifax Island boat trip

"Sedina Boat trip"

31 May 2011 • Morning excursion

Rough seas off Luderitz were interesting but we made it there and back safely. It was good fun and the only way to see the penguins. We'd recommend it.
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2011
"The room was spartan with no heating. Temperatures fell below zero at night so it was very cold.

. However the warm welcome from Hannah and Taso made up for it. Hannah's food was some of the nicest we had, especially the huge range of home made products at breakfast (8 jams!) It was nice to be able to walk safely without a guide. It was lovely that Hannah sat and ate and chatted with us during the meals."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2011
"Lovely lodge and lovely rooms. Helpful staff and our guide, Angula, was great. The let down was the food with poor quality beef and lamb being served at dinner. We felt it was the fault of whoever buys the meat, not the chef. Why on earth don't they serve game?

Nevertheless, this is a minor quibble as it is a great place to stay especially as they have their own gate to the park!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2011
"Unbelievable, we felt like one of the family. Hannetjie and Willem were so welcoming. Lovely lovely room, lovely food and oodles of wine, we wished we were staying longer. We are glad that Sabina recommended breaking our journey here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2011
"Peter was very welcoming and helpful. The location just 5 minutes from the centre of town was perfect. Our room had its own lounge and kitchen and was very comfortable. Peter booked our restaurants for us and really looked after us, he was so obliging even letting us leave our luggage in the room until we returned from kayaking at 1 o'c the day we left. Lovely breakfast.

There is so much to do around here we wished we had stayed at least another night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Turnstone Tour to Sandwich Harbor"

6 Jun 2011 • All-day excursion

Ernest seemed a bit disorganised at the start but the day was great. We had a lovely lunch with home made lasagne and pate. It was a fascinating day and to be recommended.
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2011
"It was very very cold here in June! Too cold to use the shower built into the rocks. The tents really need heat in winter BUT this was a lovely place to stay. Murray and Robert were very welcoming. The guide, Heidi, was the best of our trip and so was the chef. The choice at breakfast was amazing - try the savoury or sweet pancakes -delicicious!
We were really glad we stayed here even tho' it was so cold."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Pelican Bay Kayaking"

7 Jun 2011 • Morning excursion

Again a bit disorganised at the start as we had forgotten to phone and confirm we were coming but Jeanne sorted us out and was great fun to be with. The kayaking was great and I think one of the highspots of the trip. Jeanne took lots of photos and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We have reocmmended both this and the Sandwich Harbour trips to other people on their way to Swapokmund.
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"Beautiful place with lovely warm 'igloos'. We showered outside at midday between 2 boulders under an awning whilst it was still warm! It felt less personal that other camps as there was no central fire place and neither the guides nor management socialised with the guests. A lovely open kitchen and charming chef, Henri who was quite happy to socialise in his kitchen.

Good food and really good excursions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2011
"You stay here for the view! We took lovely walks, both with and without a guide, Nice rooms and welcoming staff. We were a bit surprised to find a group of staff hanging around the front door smoking and ignoring Mike lugging cases to our car. Even the management appeared to spend their days smoking on the verandah!
It didn't spoil our enjoyment of the place though."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"A fabulous tent with a view of the busy waterhole, frequented not only by game but also by lion. Our guide, Festus, was great, he found us rhino plus baby and a cheetah with a recent kill. Welcoming staff who joined us for meals and group drinks around a fire. Nothing was too much trouble - I want to live here (Mike)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2011
"We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation. A Bush Chalet is a lovely big room with kitchenette, just yards from the waterhole, but away from the crowds that the waterhole attracts - the game attracted to the waterhole at night was stunning. 5 rhinos at one point, so crowded that a lioness took her cubs away. There was even a total lunar eclipse that night! We didn't eat supper here as we had had lunch at Ongava, but did have a lovely breakfast here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2011
"What a lovely place. Unfortunately only 4 of us the first night and just the 2 of us on the second. We enjoyed talking to the staff tho' who looked after us very well. Our room was absolutely lovely as was the food. This is a lovely spacious lodge with very comfortable furniture throughout. Beautifully decorated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Villa Review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2011
"We were delighted to be upgraded to the best room in the Villa complex. What an amazing, exclusive place. We were well looked after by AJ (guide and manager), Martin the cook and Joanna the housekeeper. We had a lovely time here and didn't want to leave!!! Six other guests were also upgraded and we had a great time talking at table and around a fire after dinner.

Fabulous!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Zambia trip.

Zambia and 1 other country between 17 Jul 2009 and 9 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a lovely trip, we enjoyed every minute of it. Lucy got it absolutely right in the order we did things. It was lovely to chill out at the Zambesi Sun for the first 4 days with the game drives at Chobe and Kafue following. This gave us the chance to get very close to all the animals we had hoped to see and to photograph them. The walking safari following on meant there was no pressure to see and get very close to any of the animals and we could enjoy the walks and savour Africa at a leisurely pace with animals getting close to us when we stayed still.

All the places we stayed in were very special and was just the sort of safari we had hoped for. There was a bit of pressure on animals in Chobe with 4 cars watching lions at one point but there was fantastic amounts of game there. The boat trip was particularly lovely and we watched elephants drinking from the river and 100's of birds.

It was very easy to move from one part of the holiday to the next and all links and transfers were perfect. Hard to imagine that so many links and transfers and border crossings could go without a hitch!

At the planning stage, Lucy listened carefully to me and made absolutely the right recommendations. She remained cheerful through 2 sets of reboookings caused by BA changing flight days. She and Anna are obviously well known and respected in Zambia. Lucy's service was so good that I have booked my next holiday to Equador and Galapagos through Sunvil, and hope to book Namibia in the future. Pity that Expert Africa didn't organise the weather!

Suggestions for improvements:

It was the quality of your service before booking that made us book with you, irrespective of price. We could easily have done this trip cheaper by making our own arrangements - but I wouldn't like to be in Africa without Expert Africa! Just the thought of the Zambia|Botswana border without Expert Africa makes me go cold. What other firm gives clients their consultants mobile numbers in case of emergencies?

Matchless service and nothing could have been improved."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Service in the Sun"

4 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Fabulous service. We felt that we were treated as individuals, despite the size of the place. MASSIVE buffet breakfasts and dinners maintained good quality. We ate at the Royal Livingstone one night and wished we had stayed at home!

They seemed a little secretive about the shops on site and when we found Squires restaurant we ate there. Food not so good, but great atmosphere and portions manageable! And, of course, we could walk to the falls any time we wanted. Waiters and barstaff particularly charming.

Elephant safari and day canoeing recommended, but be careful if you take a sunset cruise - some are loud drunken revels!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2009
"Absolutely Delightful! Excellent views and lovely chalet. the lodge so lovely that we opted out of activities one day so that we could enjoy it. Could have stayed much longer. On arrival we were welcomed, given drinks and a buffet lunch of chicken pie and we wondered how this could be improved on. It was!

Loads and loads of wildlife in the park itself and around the lodge, but the night drives a bit naff! Vast herds of elephant, hippos and giraffe. Hoards of birds on the river got twitchers over-excited.

Welcoming, helpful, convivial managersand staff and excellent guides (BG, but also JJ who made himself available for a morning walk) who made the most of the opportunities around Chobe.

A fabulous place - even saw a honey badger on BGs' "short cut" - which should be compulsory!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Lufupa Bushcamp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Lufupa Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Fantastic location overlooking the river. Disturbed by hippo feeding outside the tent at night and warthog and young during the siesta, but that isn't a complaint!

Great guide, Solomon, who found 3 cheetahs and a lion in the first hour with us - he couldn't keep that strike rate up, but it was really good to have the same guide over the next week.

Impossible to fault Lufupe. Lovely big spacious tent with fabulous showers and deck to relax on. Great staff and manager."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Musanza Bushcamp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Musanza Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"Absolutely fabulous camp. Evidence, the manager, and 4 other staff including Daniel the cook, made our stay really special. Greeting us with warm damp towels after every trip and a table of beautifully decorated drinks made us feel this camp was very special.

One evening we were taken beyond the camp by our guide 'looking for leopard' , to find Evidence had had the whole dinner moved along the river bank with lanterns and roast chicken awaiting us on the beautifully laid table and napkins folded to look like birds.

Although basic, the camp was very comfortable and eating breakfast and lunch on the anthill overlooking the river was a real treat. All the food was beautifully prepared with lovely little touches of decoaration. We felt the staff put in a lot of effort to make Musanza a place we would always remember with fondness."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

"Busanga Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"Another beautifully sited camp also expertly run. The rooms were lovely and the staff fantastic. The food was again superb. Laura and JD made us feel very welcome by greeting us as we crossed in boats with drinks and food. Nothing was too much trouble when I was a bit unwell one night.

My husband's supper was bought to our room and we were looked after very well. The next morning we stayed in camp and enjoyed the raised deck and our own deck for watching animals on the plains.

The guided trips were lovely and the sight of hundreds of open beaked storks gathering on one of the 'islands' before taking off and turning the sky black as the sun went down is something we will always remember."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2009
"Heather greeted us as we arrived and gave us a welcoming G&T after our journey. This camp is very different to the Kafue camps but very comfortable with lovely huts and facililties. Again, on an absolutely idyllic site, with monkeys and antelope making siesta time too interesting to siesta.

The microlight trip is an absulute must, I felt very safe with John and really enjoyed the birds eye view of places I would see later on. Carol and John make our stay there very comfortable with nothing too much trouble, even organising us to meet up with a friend we had made in Kafue. Again, lovely food and fabulous bread thanks to Rhona's expertise.

Our guide Alex was very knowledgeable about plants and animals but couldn 't give me information about the geology of the springs and delta. We really enjoyed our 2 day stay here and would have liked to stay longer!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2009
"We only had one night here on 7th August. We swapped it for the 2 days in Crocodile to make our homeward journey easier, but again, loved it. In a lovely position to be able to watch animals and some lovely walks.

Cameron our guide, was very knowledgeable and great fun to be with. We became particularly fond of George, our tea bearer who taught Mike how to make fire without matches. Also our thanks go to our spotter, Emanuel, who looked after us very carefully and at no time did I feel any danger because he and Cameron knew exactly what to do when danger threatened."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2009
"Absolutely loved this camp. Again food fantastic and the staff lovely and welcoming. Our cook proudly showed us around his kitchen. It is difficult to believe such lovely food comes out of such primitive facilities. Again, bread to die for!

I particularly loved the hut we stayed in, lovely and comfortable. Peace and quiet except for the lions, hyenas, hippos, cicadas, barking puku.......!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"Lovely hotel but with intrusic music in the bar that made it difficult to talk. The food (a la carte menu) was very very poor at supper and very disappointing after the fantastic food we had eaten in the bush. Breakfast was lovely tho'. The staff were very helpful and charming.

I was glad we only had one night there."
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team