This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach

Reviews of Butiama Beach

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Butiama Beach and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs E.
Bristol

"Butiama Beach review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2019
"The thing that struck us with Butiama was the service - William and his team were INCREDIBLY polite and helpful - This place was absolutely paradise ! we had beautiful rooms, the communal areas were the perfect mix of laid back luxury - the evening meals, in a setting at the cusp between the beautiful fairy light lit pool and the warm gently lapping waves of the sea was just idyllic - we wish we'd stayed longer - and would like to return some time to swim with the whale sharks ! WE did a little kayak trip which was free, and fun

All our accommodation was fantastic on this holiday - it was so nice to have a contrast each time - Butiama really stood out as the lap of luxury !

The lodge also arranged our diving via Big Blu Dive Centre - this was very well done, the Dive shop was top notch and Jenny the Dive Instructor was as good as it gets.

Only slight disappointment was that at this time of year, I've now discovered, the winds can be high so the water was really quite choppy and visibility not fantastic ...but you can't have it all I suppose !! ha ha" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P.
Cumbria

"Comfortable Beach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2018
"I loved the sandy walkways that linked the various parts of this hotel....made you feel as if it was part of the beach.

It was also nice to have the tables for the evening meal just above the beach with soft lighting.

The rooms were comfortable and quite private, but none of the communal areas were too far away." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
Dubai

"Butiama Beach review"

6 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2016
"nice dives and friendly staff at diving club
best location for hotel in Mafia (nicer beach)
slow service
staff not always very friendly" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
Maidstone

"Butiama Beach review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2015
"Butiama proved to be the ideal location to wind down for 5 nights after over a week in the Tanzanian bush.

The hotel fronts onto a superb sandy beach, and includes comfortable rooms, a good swimming pool, and spacious bar and dining areas. The proprietor, Maura, was very hospitable, excellent fish dishes were served for dinner and Maurice provided arrangements for daily activities.

Our two sons took a 2-dive trip from the Big Blu Diving Centre. This was not successful - although both are experienced divers they had difficulty with communications from the divemaster and found that some of the diving equipment was faulty. As a result, they both only (partly) completed one dive. In recognition of these problems, Butiama didn't charge us for the dives. This was a disappointment because a reason for choosing this hotel was the availability of diving in the Marine Park.

We took two snorkelling trips from the hotel, both of which were excellent - particularly the second one inside the Marine Park. The snorkelling guide from the hotel was proficient and very helpful. We also took an enjoyable excursion to Chole Island, which was combined with a snorkelling trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs H
UK

"Butiama Beach Review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"We stayed at Butiama for 4 nights after a safari. It is lovely place to relax and Maura and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and well appointed with a lovely veranda with sofa and hammock. A few strides took us to the glorious beach where we could take a stroll or just relax. A light lunch is offered and can be taken by the pool, on the beach or in your room.

Information was given to us on the activities verbally on the first evening.. We assumed all activities were available every day but this was not the case. However when we did ask for a different activity to those on offer they did accommodate us.

A folder in the room with all information would have been helpful and easier than having to ask for prices etc. at the bar.

All in all an excellent end to out Tanzanian holiday." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"Butiama Beach review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"A great place to chill out!

Just what we needed, would have loved to stay another week!" See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda; 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr I
Northumberland

"Beautiful Butiama Beach"

6 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2014
"Butiama Beach was a delight and our thanks to you for recommending it to us. It really is a wonderfully relaxing lodge, the perfect place to chill out before returning to real life back in the UK. The whole place is delightful. Very laid back but all kept in good order and runs like clockwork. Maura and Moez were so welcoming and did everything possible to make sure that our stay with them was just perfect. The range of things to do always meant that we had something planned for the days when we didn’t just wanted to be lazy and take things easy, all arranged by Moez who discussed things every evening then made sure whatever you wanted to do happened. The food was great ( as long as you like fish and seafood ), I had read reports of the portions not being large enough but there was certainly plenty as far as we were concerned, all beautifully cooked and presented. We all hope to return in the not too distant future." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"The perfect beach resort."

6 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2013
"A lovely lovely place to spend a week. Maura and Moys were great company and very obliging. The staff were fantastic and Ali's cocktails were brilliant.

We loved it here and were glad not to be staying on Chole Bay, the beach was stunning and stretched for miles. Although the main town was nearby it was not intrusive.

The snorkelling nearby and at Chole Bay were the highlights of the week. Didn't want to leave!" See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Cambridge

"5 nights of post-Safari bliss"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2013
"We can't fault our stay. We enjoyed every moment of our 5 nights at Butiama Beach and were extremely sad to leave to go home. We stayed in a beach front bungalow which was extremely comfortable and had breathtaking views of the beach and ocean. The staff were helpful throughout and the setting wonderful.

The food was excellent - the best we have had for a long while - as were the cocktails.

We did different activities on each day. Setting off directly from Butiama Beach: snorkelling on a nearby reef combined with whale watching and a blissful picnic on a deserted beach with fire-cooked fresh fish, salads, fruit and wine; a very interesting and humbling visit to Chole Island; dive tuition and additional dives and snorkelling based out of Big Blu dive Centre at Utende; snorkelling with whalesharks; a sunset cruise; using the sea kayaks based at the Lodge; walks along the beach; plenty of swimming in the sea; massages. The sunset cruise, massages and a private dinner on the beach-front were honeymoon perks which we really appreciated.

Activities were arranged each evening, exactly according to our wishes, and remained flexible if necessary, for example snorkelling at Utende on the last day was abandoned when whale sharks were spotted out of season. Activities based out of Utende were a short (about 30 minute) transfer away, along a bumpy road which is currently being upgraded. The lodge is associated with the Big Blu dive centre with which we were extremely impressed. One introductory dive gave way to two more and we will certainly look to dive again in the future.

Some reviews we had seen on trip advisor mentioned the proximity of Butiama Beach to Kilidoni, but once we had driven into the lodge from the airport this really wasn't an issue. In fact, visiting the other side of the island and Utende to dive, we felt that the beach near the dive school and waters around were actually far busier than by Butiama Beach.

Overall, a perfect end to our holiday after 7 nights on Safari in Tanzania. Our only hesitation in recommending Butiama Beach is that there may not be space for us to return!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The M family
Herts

"Butiama Beach review"

5 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2011
"Small and friendly. Run by owners, Maura and Moes, who are extremely helpful and charming. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms simple and stylish. Great food. Fantastic snorkeling on reefs and wonderful picnic on totally deserted beaches.

Great fun deep sea fishing. The highlight was an amazing experience swimming with whale sharks. Unusual for them to be around in August so we were very lucky. One of the best things we have done on any holiday anywhere.

Would have marked excellent were it not for the fact the lodge is not too far from Kilindoni so doesn't feel that remote or secluded. However, this is an advantage if you want to see something of the town...great fun, very friendly, and untouched by tourism.
Definitely recommended." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Showing 1-10 of 10
94%
10 reviews of Butiama Beach by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mafia Island

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pole Pole

Pole Pole

Pole Pole is a small, quiet beach lodge on Mafia. It's comfortable, almost luxurious, and has a great range of activities.


94% (99 reviews)
Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini is one of Tanzania's most environmentally aware lodges. With tree-houses, superb diving and a fantastic location on the rural island of Chole, this is ideal if you want to get back to nature.


94% (28 reviews)
Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi is a small, personal beach lodge on Mafia Island that has the features of a larger hotel, including a large pool and spa.


82% (11 reviews)
Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole is a charming Italian-owned eco-lodge on the coast of Mafia Island, with simple rooms and friendly owner-managers.


No reviews yet
Thanda Island

Thanda Island

Thanda Island is a high-end private island destination that caters to just one group of travellers at a time.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa