This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs P. from Cumbria

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

My Nov 2018 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 16 Nov 2018 and 1 Dec 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"I have had the most wonderful holiday.

Everything was seamless with the arrangements and accommodation. The staff at the hotels and lodges were friendly and made me feel welcome and as if nothing was too much trouble.

The trip itinerary was informative and everything worked to plan.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No....I have been impressed with the way the holiday was planned and with the seamless way it all fitted together while away. The connections were all on time. I always felt that everything was taken care of...and each step of the holiday fitted into place without any stress......just what a holiday should be.

Thank you Expert Africa."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


The Slipway

The Slipway

"Lovely setting by the sea"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2018
"This was a lovely relaxing place to stay after the long flight.

The staff were helpful and the restaurants nearby meant that we didn't have to go far to get our evening meal."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

"A real gem in the middle of the reserve"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2018
"This was my first safari and I didn't know what to expect. We were greeted by genuinely happy staff with welcome drinks and shown to our tent, which was very comfortable. It was wonderful to be so close to the wild.....no fences and animals roaming around, but always I felt that there were staff who were 'keeping watch'. The tent was very comfortable and I particularly liked the 'evening Breeze' system of cooling the bed at night.

The food at this camp was superb. Every lunchtime and evening, we had a varied, well prepared and tasty meal. Breakfasts out on safari were magical....as were the sundowners. I felt that there was nothing that the staff wouldn't do to make our stay as memorable as possible. Our guide Penuel, was experienced, knowledgeable and again, wanted us to have the best experience from our safari.It was lovely to arrive back at camp to be met by smiling staff with cool flannels, who seemed genuinely interested in what we had seen on our game drives. I would thoroughly recommend this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

"Comfortable Beach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2018
"I loved the sandy walkways that linked the various parts of this hotel....made you feel as if it was part of the beach.

It was also nice to have the tables for the evening meal just above the beach with soft lighting.

The rooms were comfortable and quite private, but none of the communal areas were too far away."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

"My favourite place of the trip"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2018
"I had read about treehouse lodges, but this one was a lovely surprise. Sleeping halfway up a huge baobab tree on a platform reached by wooden stairs. No doors or windows.....just open to the sounds and smells of the outdoors.

The 'room' was simple but comfortable with a hammock, comfortable bed, washing facilities....and a ground level composting toilet and a wonderful outdoor shower heated by a kerosene burner....not sure about health and safety, but I loved it. No electricity, although solar lamps were issued...but we were encouraged to enjoy the dark. I also loved the meals at a communal table, where we met some very interesting guests.

I like the ethos of this lodge ....the owners encourage an eco friendly style of living. They also support the local community and the marine conservation park. I loved walking along the sandy paths linking the treehouses to the communal areas and seeing monitor lizards, huge hermit crabs and other wildlife. We stayed two nights here and I wish it could have been longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Peaceful Retreat"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2018
"Pole Pole is a very relaxing, peaceful place to stay. They have a spa and massage room, which was very good too.

The rooms are built from wood and palm leaves and blend into the scenery, so it is almost hidden . A real hideaway. I loved the sundowner trip on the old wooden Dhow....very special to see the sunset from a boat. The staff were very helpful too. If I had to make a very small complaint.....my lodge seemed to have a family of resident squirrels which I could hear running around in the roof all night. Actually, it was quite sweet to see them, but they were very noisy at night.

A lovely place to stay right by the sea."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Xanadu Villas

Xanadu Villas

"Luxury Holiday Villas"

1 night Arrived 27 Nov 2018
"Xanadu is very luxurious and every need has been catered for.

The villas are extremely well appointed and private.The beautifully landscaped gardens make for a peaceful atmosphere. All the individually designed villas are secluded and very private. Although there are lovely communal areas, as you have your own private pool...and your own butler, as well as large rooms and a separate living area, you could easily have a wonderful holiday here without being recognised.

Although we had a very pleasant stay here, it is not the sort of place I would normally stay at. I enjoy meeting other people and hearing their stories, and I felt that Xanadu was encouraging the sort of holiday where guests prefer privacy and not mixing with other guests.

A beautifully designed and appointed place for a luxury holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

"Standard Hotel in Stonetown"

1 night Arrived 28 Nov 2018
"Although this hotel looked lovely from the outside, and I think some of the rooms in the older part may have been nice, we had a very standard room,with only a tiny window looking out onto an alleyway, and another window opening onto the corridor.

It was comfortable enough....if a bit noisy with people walking by on the corridor.It was also a very large hotel.....51 rooms, which felt a bit big and impersonal after the smaller quieter places we had been staying at.

It is very central in Stonetown though, so easy access to the old town."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Jozani Forest Tour

Jozani Forest Tour

"A different view of Zanzibar"

28 Nov 2018 • Morning excursion

This is just a lovely walk through the forest, hoping to see the red Colobus monkeys.

We did see a couple, but it was interesting to walk through with a guide who was able to tell us a lot more about the trees, the mangroves and the crabs that live there.

The visitor Centre was interesting with some information boards explaining more about the area and the conservation work being done there.
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team