This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge

Reviews of Chole Mjini Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chole Mjini Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
M&A
Austria

"Chole Mjini - not really a hit unfortunately"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2020
"We did not fall in love with the place as so many other guests apparently have. Our stay was spoilt a bit by too much rain, and everything was damp all the time.

The tree houses themselves are very cool, enjoyed those a lot. Food was OK, sometimes good to very good but generally not very impressive. We did not see much of the owners, they never joined meals. Anne joined us for two minutes at one breakfast and about 15 minutes before dinner once. There was Dim, a young and very helpful Dutch acting as assistant manager who was very keen and did everything he could to help and make our stay enjoyable. Still, we found it weird that the people in charge showed zero interest in their guests. Not the most welcoming atmosphere.

And while we appreciate they keep things more basic it would have been nice to get a cocktail on a tropical island, and at least some ice with G&T and Amarula. Laundry was something that quite irked us, we put it in immediately after arrival. The next day was dry. It was returned to us only the following evening - completely wet and impossible to wear! Obviously they had let it hang in the rain. So we had no clean stuff for our flight home. Pretty embarrassing to travel in our smelly safari stuff.

Those complaints aside, still enjoyed the Mafia Island Marine Park a lot. We loved snorkeling (like swimming in an aquarium) and the sandbank and sunset sail cruises. Also enjoyed really good birding. No Whale Sharks - we did not try. Chatted to a number of people, and none had been successful during and before our stay.

One reason why we´re not really sold on Chole is the island itself. We love to walk, and love remote places. We had read in the description of Chole that there's a village nearby. Which is fine. What we had not anticipated however is that there are locals everywhere all over the island. Every path leads through the villagers backyards, and we were not completely comfortable with that. Many people probably will enjoy that aspect a lot but not entirely our cup of tea.

To sum up, we could easily see returning to Mafia but it will be a different lodge then." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs E.
Bristol

"Chole Mjini Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"What a fun and original place to stay - we LOVED the fact that it was so eco - with no electricity and living in baobab tree houses - we loved the fact that we had to heat our own shower water with a Heath Robinson contraption - The beds were so comfortable, it was so luxurious just listening to the doves each evening and morning, and to be woken naturally by the early morning light.

This was the equivalent of glamping - it felt wild and adventurous and very very cool to be staying there - but it had that little touch of sophistication - Each evening we had a dinner party with Anne and Jean, our hosts - with lots of lively conversation - the culmination was a birthday party or one of the other guests - under the star lit sky we danced to a kind of African gamelan xylophone ! great fun -

WE did a dive organised by Butiama/ Big Blue from here - and also did a wonderful trip to the sandbar where we lazed around and drank coke and beer ! We also really loved being introduced to the eccentric game Viking Chess - just wished we'd had more time to play ! Next time maybe" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs P.
Cumbria

"My favourite place of the trip"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2018
"I had read about treehouse lodges, but this one was a lovely surprise. Sleeping halfway up a huge baobab tree on a platform reached by wooden stairs. No doors or windows.....just open to the sounds and smells of the outdoors.

The 'room' was simple but comfortable with a hammock, comfortable bed, washing facilities....and a ground level composting toilet and a wonderful outdoor shower heated by a kerosene burner....not sure about health and safety, but I loved it. No electricity, although solar lamps were issued...but we were encouraged to enjoy the dark. I also loved the meals at a communal table, where we met some very interesting guests.

I like the ethos of this lodge ....the owners encourage an eco friendly style of living. They also support the local community and the marine conservation park. I loved walking along the sandy paths linking the treehouses to the communal areas and seeing monitor lizards, huge hermit crabs and other wildlife. We stayed two nights here and I wish it could have been longer." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Chole Mjini Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"The tree house accommodation built around a large Baobab tree with views of the sea was absolutely unique and quite wonderful - even in the dark when quite windy! We slept really well and were very comfortable. The "plumbing" was basic. We were prepared for it and so it was as expected but it may not suit all tastes and this would be a shame as the overall experience was exceptional.
Apart from the activities which I will turn to next our fondest memory will be of the way we were so well looked after by Celine and by Jay, who were unfailingly kind and thoughtful.
We had a wonderful whale shark trip with Jean's team based on Mafia island. Our briefing from Sami was excellent and made us fully aware of how to swim with whale sharks without distressing them, thereby getting the best experience (for them and for us)! We got the impression that each of our four guides that day were all equally well informed and responsible and that added to our enjoyment. Sadly no other boat seemed to take this more responsible attitude with examples of others diving into the water right over the fish, causing it to dive deeper and to change direction. Hopefully this will be addressed. In spite of this we had a truly wonderful morning, seeing three whale sharks, a very large Ray and a large number of fish. Our only regret is that we failed to see that you could hire an underwater camera (which could have been terrific as our sightings were wonderful, especially when we were first to find a whale shark and had about five minutes swimming alongside it before the irresponsible hoards arrived).
The next day I tried an experience dive with the diving operation just across the water. They were very professional and ensured I was well prepared for my two dives before we left for the first dive site. It was worth every dollar! Luke spotted a huge number of interesting fish and was able to point most of them out to me, as well as a turtle I was thrilled to see.
We cannot recommend our stay too highly if you enjoy water based activities. It was a quite brilliant part of my trip - even better than I had hoped." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Herts

"Amazing Tree House Adventuree"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2018
"The Tree House was an extraordinary place to stay. We loved the outdoor shower! We had great views over the sea and the forest with frequent sightings of Amethyst Sunbirds. The food was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The option of dining with the other guests proved very enjoyable.
The sandbar trip and picnic was great fun and allowed us to see some other birds. The village tour was very interesting.

Species seen included Hermit Crabs and Monitor Lizards.
Birds seen included Black-bellied Starlings, Golden Weavers, Brubrus, Common Bulbuls, Amethyst Sunbirds, African Paradise Flycatchers, Bronze Mannekins, Common Waxbills, Black-headed Weavers, Tawny Eagles, Whimbrels, Pemba Green Pigeon, Emerald-Spotted Dove." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G
HitherGreen

"Unusual stay at Chole Mjini"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2017
"The treehouses at Chole Mjini are pretty magical and kept us dry even in a torrential storm!

We loved the experience of staying in the treehouses and Chole Mjini has clearly been lovingly built and looked after by Jean and Ann. The staff were friendly and the food tasty. We liked that locals from Chole Island appeared to make up the majority of the workforce.

We enjoyed a couple of very good snorkelling trips during our stay but were unsuccessful in our bid to swim with the whale sharks.

If we were to come up with any particular criticisms of Chole Mjini it would just be that the toilets were a little too dark and the showers were powered by kerosene which does not particularly fit with the eco nature of the resort.

Overall however, it was a very relaxing, rustic but beautiful lodge that we would definitely recommend to others." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Ms C
Germany

"Sleep under the stars in a tree!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"Repeat guest - that should say it all.

Only complaint, like last time, quality of dinner food average; with all the fresh seafood around, could definitely be improved.

Great everything else - the tree houses are off the charts worth alone a trip to Mafia." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
MRs W
Surrey

"Excellent tree houses for relaxed stay"

6 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2017
"Chole Mjini Lodge is a wonderful opportunity to be away from the hustle and bustle of life. The pace of life slows down and the activities are quite flexible with meals are provided to suit. The owners, Ann and Jean are keen to share their experience of living on Chole with guests. There are a number of trips or activities you can take part in.

The tree houses are all different and although accommodation is very simple, all have ingenious facilities including long drop toilets and hot open air showers. They have fantastic views and you wake up to sunrise at tree canopy level with bird song disturbing the stillness.

Taking a boat to a nearby sandbank, (which we had to ourselves, along with birds and crabs) was wonderful if not a little surreal. Spending an hour or so on a white sandy beach with sunshade and drinks provided before a boat comes to collect you was fantastic.
We used our days to scuba dive but had the rest of the day to relax.

Meals were served in different locations on the site. Whether it be in the historic ruins, on the dock if the tides allowed, on under a Tamarind tree with a view, the food was superb. All locally sourced food meant that meals were mainly seafood based but there were always vegetarian options." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr J
Aylesbury

"Unique eco Chole Mjini Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"What a place!

Enchanting, airy tree-house rooms, kerosene fuelled outdoor shower, odourless, long drop eco loo, and no electricity.

Hands on owners who made us very welcome. Superb location.

The boat trip to the sandbar exposed in mid-ocean at low tide was magical." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"A Rare Return Visit"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"We don't often revisit places but we fell in love with Chole Mjini five years ago. We enjoyed our return visit just as much.

Everything was as we remembered; the smell of frangipani on arrival; the dhow sailing; tree house living; good island food and relaxing activities. Anne and Jean are welcoming hosts and their passion for Chole is infectious." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 28
94%
28 reviews of Chole Mjini Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mafia Island

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pole Pole

Pole Pole

Pole Pole is a small, quiet beach lodge on Mafia. It's comfortable, almost luxurious, and has a great range of activities.


94% (99 reviews)
Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi is a small, personal beach lodge on Mafia Island that has the features of a larger hotel, including a large pool and spa.


82% (11 reviews)
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

Situated just west of Kilondoni, the main town on Mafia, Butiama Beach is a simple beach lodge with friendly managers and a laid back vibe.


94% (10 reviews)
Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole is a charming Italian-owned eco-lodge on the coast of Mafia Island, with simple rooms and friendly owner-managers.


No reviews yet
Thanda Island

Thanda Island

Thanda Island is a high-end private island destination that caters to just one group of travellers at a time.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa