This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr K & Ms C from Germany

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2017 trip

Tanzania between 6 Oct 2017 and 17 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Good
"4.5 points overall"

Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

"Sleep under the stars in a tree!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"Repeat guest - that should say it all.

Only complaint, like last time, quality of dinner food average; with all the fresh seafood around, could definitely be improved.

Great everything else - the tree houses are off the charts worth alone a trip to Mafia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

"Good stay and activities"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"Park was a bit more crowded than I had expected.

Good lion viewing and bush walks"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chada Camp

Chada Camp

"Great park and good game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"Overall, I would give it 4.5 stars"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chada fly-camping

Chada fly-camping

"Great experience"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2017
"Tents were very comfortable, except not rainproof, just fly netting; and rain it did, resulting in a scramble for tarps midnight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2012 trip

Zimbabwe between 7 Oct 2012 and 15 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"see comment - it ended up being an absolutely great trip, but I have to come back another time for a Mana Pools to the Gorge trip.

The only point of critique I have, is that I wished I would have been informed about the possibility to go from Mana on downriver through the Zambesi Gorge."

Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

"Bumi Hills Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2012
"Nice place to stay as starting point for further activities"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Tailormade Tented Adventure Camp, Mana Pools

"Tailormade Tented Adventure Camp, Mana Pools review"

6 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"While I initially had hoped for more time on the river, rather than 50/50 water based / land based activities, this ended up being one of my best trips ever.

Great guiding, great scenery, good camping and catering, all in all highly recommended!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2011 trip

Mozambique between 19 Oct 2011 and 30 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"as always - very good planning

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

will be back"

Image alt

Explore Gorongosa, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"Explore Gorongosa review"

6 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"If you are not looking for a park with big 5s in abundance, Gorongosa is a very interesting and diverse place to go to. While that it still needs to be stocked with substantially more cats, if offers an abundance of wildlife to see.

Jeff, the resident guide has truly outstanding knowledge about the flora and fauna of Africa - likely the most informed guide we ever had1"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Guludo Beach Lodge

Guludo Beach Lodge

"Guludo Beach Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2011
"Great spot to relax on the Indian Ocean - The resort could only need a few more water based activities like seakayaking.

I would give it a 9 out of 10"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Polana Serena Hotel

Polana Serena Hotel

"Polana Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2011
"Classic Hotel"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Oct 2010 trip

Tanzania between 13 Oct 2010 and 22 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Good
"Compared to the prior trips were there were (with few exeptions) no other tourists in sight, this experience was too crowded for my taste - but given the destination, Serengeti during migration time, this is probaely difficult to avoid.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

See you next year"

Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2010
"Great place!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"Camp was a bit too groomed for my taste - too many other guests with the usual "where do you come from, what is your profession..." conversations. The prior experiences were a bit more private"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

"Oliver's Fly-Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2010
"Liked the fly camp much better than main cmp"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2010
"see above [Ed: see below!]"
Good
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Sayari Mara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2010
"Sayari was the sort of camp that we like to avoid; far too many guests and almost a hotel feel, but I guesss this is unavoidable in Serengeti during migration time"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

"Chole Mjini Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2010
"an absolutely delightful place! one of the best ocean setting locations I have ever been to (if one likes a rural romantic setting);
sligth drawbacks: a little more light in the evening (or working hed lamps ) would be helpful;
given the abundance of seefood available in the area, more faciful dishes would be nice. Also some better refrigration to keep beer and wine cold would be good.

Verdict: a few smaller flaws which are immaterial in light of the over all experience.
I would certainly go baclk any time!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2009 trip

Tanzania between 10 Oct 2009 and 20 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip as before and Elli was very plesant to work with"

Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"Oyster Bay review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2009
"They did not hav room available at the first nicgt but were very apologetic about it and provided another good hotel and foof for the night"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Selous Project, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"Selous Project review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2009
"It would have been nice to do some canoeing activity there - but not in the dry season"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking mobile

"Sand Rivers walking mobile review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2009
"very good location - what I did not quite appreciate before is how much easier it is to approach animals by boat or car and how much quicker they take to flight if approached by humans on foot."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team