This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp

Reviews of Oliver's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oliver's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Oliver's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Ms P.
Minneapolis

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"This was our first orientation to both safari and Asilia and both were excellent! Our terrific guide Nathoo gave us the best introduction to the geography and culture. He was very informative about the bush and wildlife. On a personal note, he was very polite and solicitous of our needs and interests. We loved the Tarangire.

The camp manager Levi was a very hospitable host. The food was remarkably delicious (I asked for a few recipes)." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs S
Essex

"Remote and Rustic charm of Oliver's Camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2018
"We saw an awful lot during our three nights stay including incredible herds of elephants and giraffe. We did a night safari during a thunder storm and saw wild cat and Genets with their quarry.

Views from the breakfast/sundown deck were incredible and totally recommend an afternoon bush walk where we saw herds of elephants coming down to the river to drink.

We were lucky to have a wonderful guide who was genuinely passionate about wildlife and worked hard to ensure that we saw the best the area had to offer." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr P
Altrincham

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"Wow. My wife was keen to see Tarangire and particularly its Elephants and Boababs. I was looking forward to the bird life. We were not disappointed and a walking safari the morning we left was a great experience.

The situation of this camp is fantastic. Decking for sundowners was lovely and the way the staff greet you and then involve you is lovely. The tents are really comfy and the beds great. Someone should find out where they source the mattresses. Our sleep was accompanied by a mother elephant and her minute baby munching an acacia tree about ten feet from our tent. Wish we could have stayed another night. A recurrent theme of our trip would be the outstanding quality of the Asilia staff in all the camps we stayed at.

We drove in from Arusha through the reserve and left through the reserve on our way North to the crater, stopping in at Manyara lake. Birds enough for any birder and a Leopard sighting (Lying on a branch alseep 10 feet from the roof) to boot. So glad we added this leg to our trip" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Sarnia

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Oliver's Camp was lovely.. The staff were very helpful.. The food was excellent.

The only negative was the over-abundance of tseste flies. At certain times of the day they were unbearable. Both afternoons that we were there we stayed in our tent the entire time to avoid these flies. We had done our best to avoid the colours that the flies are attracted to, and used bug spray, but none of this seemed to have any impact on the flies at all." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr C
Newmarket

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2017
"We only had two nights here and I would have loved to stay for one more. This camp is relaxing, the staff were helpful, service oriented and welcoming. Jacky, the camp manager, is outstanding and certainly made all of us feel at home.

The beauty of the Tarangire surrounds you and I absolutely loved the outdoor shower; letting nature give me a super-surround. The meals were well prepared with quite a variety of choices. John Mndolwa from Asilia was our guide and driver for the rest of our trip. He knew the nooks and crannies of Tarangire and we were able to experience woodlands, swamp and open plains while enjoying the richness of the wildlife. John kept us on our toes looking for animals as we tried to out-spot him; which we never did. The man can see a lion laying in the bush from two miles away!

This camp is well worth a visit." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
Dorset

"Great Start to Safari"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"Oliver's was our first camp on this our second safari to Tanzania, organised by Expert Africa. We stayed here 3 nights and had a wonderful time.

We were met at Kuro airstrip by our camp guide Mustafa in an open sided Toyota Land Cruiser. On the extended drive from the airstrip to the camp we saw plenty of game including a leopard in a tree with its kill (impala?) and three young lions, again with a kill. We also had lunch ourselves!

On arrival at the camp we were warmly welcomed by Jacky, the manager, and her assistant Dickson. Throughout our stay the service from Jacky and her staff was excellent.

Our tent was comfortable with a large bed and had great views over the park. There was a flush toilet and both an indoor and an outdoor shower.

Dinner was communal and was preceded by drinks and chat around the camp fire. The food was good and plentiful although there was no choice.

We had a very interesting walking safari during which we were accompanied by an armed guide and an armed ranger.
We also did games drives and a night drive with our guide Mustafa who was excellent. We saw plenty of game, including monkey, mongoose, many lion, leopard, lots of elephant, large herds of zebra, wildebeest and buffalo, giraffe, kudu, water buck, reedbuck, dik dik (on the veranda of our tent), warthog, hyaena, jackal, ostrich, hippo and many beautiful birds. On the night drive we saw lots of nocturnal animals including honey badger, genet cat, owls, spring hare and white tailed mongoose.

Overall, a great camp set in a great National Park." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H
Vancouver

"Fantastic start to our Tanzanian safari!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"This was our first camp and wow - what a way to start! We stayed in one of the family tents and it was a perfect combination of slightly scary yet exhilarating tent experience for our boys and comfort/beauty for us parents.

Our hostess Jacky was incredible. Our bonfire pre-dinner social hour was a great way to unwind and share stories. Everything was lovely - an oasis in the middle of the park. We would absolutely recommend this camp to everyone.

And the park.....honestly dont have the words to describe the beauty of this park. You MUST visit this park. Being surrounded by herds of elephants a couple of different times is something we will never forget." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Dar es Salaam

"Great Start to our Trip at Oliver's Camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2016
"We were really impressed with Oliver's Camp.

Our tent was great and the outside showers are a lovely touch. The decking area for pre-dinner drinks and the camp fire area are both fantastic and the food here was excellent.

If I was being really picky I'd say that the lunch boxes could be a little more imaginative, but overall definitely no complaints." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Surrey

"Relaxing after long journey at Oliver's Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2015
"Jackie and Justin and their staff made us very welcome. They were always around when needed and were keen to ensure that out visit ran smoothly. A wonderful location at the quiet end of Tarangire National Park, with lovely views from the viewing platform where, rain permitting, sundowners and breakfast were served. The food was excellent and the relaxed atmosphere enabled us to recover after a long and slightly difficult journey.

We were lucky enough to be given the furthest room from the dining and lounge tents, which meant that we saw wildlife right outside our room whilst we relaxed on the bed. We went in the 'short rain' season, so some of the park roads were closed due to flooding. The Tsetse flies within the park were rather troublesome, although they were mostly steering clear of the camp.

Wildlife viewing was reasonable, bearing in mind the season and we saw unusual things such as a crab and a terrapin." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms Heidi
Chicago

"AMAZING Camp, Staff and Safari"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Little Oliver's Camp was an unforgettable experience!! Upon our arrival at the Kuro strip, we were met with our guide, Habibu and Larazo (our spotter), we went directly onto our very first game drive. They had a delicious packed lunch for us to enjoy at a picnic area as we stared out into Tarangire National park and viewed the peaceful animals.

Upon arrival at the camp, we were instantly greeted by Julie, the camp manager. Julie is amazing! She briefed us on the camp and gave us all the importantant information as this was our first time ever camping or on safari. Our tent was incredible! We had the "honeymoon" tent which was incredibly comfortable and safe. The outdoor shower was unreal. To be outside, taking a hot shower and watching elephants in the distance is just unbelievable, somebody pinch me! We enjoyed drinks by the campfire and a delicious dinner with the group on the deck. We LOVED sharing our experiences with everyone and kind of eating dinner as a "family".

The following day, we enjoyed a walking safari, day game drive and a night game drive. All of them were beyond our expectations. The night game drive was incredible, we saw so many new animals that you would never see during the day. We loved it! Upon our return from the drive, we were whisked away to a private candle-lit dinner on our tent deck. We couldn't believe it! Our friends had also arranged for us to have a nice bottle of bubbles to enjoy the dinner. It was the perfect ending to the perfect day. Julie and the staff did a fantastic job surprising us and arranging this beautiful, romantic evening for my husband and I. We never imagined something so special in the bush ;)

Our last day, we enjoyed another amazing breakfast on the deck and a game drive on our way to the Kuro strip. Our guide and spotter were so wonderful at their jobs. They were extremely intelligent about the park and animals and really offered a wealth of knowledge for us. They even packed the safari jeep with our favorite beer! It was a great experience and really set the bar high as our first safari ever.

We were sad to leave Little Oliver's Camp, it was such a beautiful place right in the national park." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Seychelles; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 47
94%
47 reviews of Oliver's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
9
0
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (17 reviews)
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire is a stylish tented camp, located in a quiet and remote area deep in Tarangire National Park.


97% (14 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


94% (10 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


100% (1 review)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (1 review)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa