This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp

Reviews of Oliver's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

53 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oliver's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Oliver's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

57% success

Cheetah

67% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Hippo

67% success

Eland

60% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 53
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs B
Altrincham

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2022
"We returned to Olivers after last being there in 2017. A bit has changed with the camp now joined with Little Olivers. We stayed at Little Olivers this time as there was still refurbishment going on at Olivers.

The tent was very much as remembered, very comfortable bed and well set out area with internal and external showers. Excellent wi-fi throughout camp. A pretty pool and bar area has been built in between the two camps and that is being connected to the two camps by a walkway. The sundowner area at Little Olivers didnt quite match the wooden decked area at Olivers from memory, but still afforded great views down to the river bed.

Plenty of wildlife about and our tent was treated to the gentle sound of munching water buffalo and elephants during the night time hours.

As previously the staff were outstanding, and Brian has a great team there. You are assigned a host for the duration of the stay who looks after all your dining/drinking needs. Genaroza was excellent. Food is of good quality and portions are generous.

We did a walking safari as well as our game drives, which was interesting and our guide took time to talk about tracks, signs of animals and bush craft. A nice change from being in the vehicle and well worth the time.

We had two days of game drives and there is a lot more water there than 2017 resulting in a large lake / swamp area which is a magnet to animals and birds. We saw a stunning variety of wildlife and a recent lion kill with the accompanying pride with its cubs.

We also did the night drive which to be honest was a little underwhelming. My thought was that perhaps half the distance at half the pace might have revealed more, but to be fair the guides still picked out a lot of things in the dark, and they do know their job.

We were treated to a great send off on the night before departure, and the staff work hard to ensure everything is just right

In summary we arrived already in love with Tarangire / Olivers and left even more smitten." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"The staff was helpful with everything. We stayed in a lovely room, which was very big.
The first night we were the only guests. They cared very good about us. We had the meals at different places in the camp. Breakfast in the bush, lunch also, an other breakfast at the sundowner place and dinner always near the fire.
We had different activities. We had game drives, an evening drive and a bush walk.
Unfortunatly there are a lot of tsetse flies, so we got a lot of bites. We prepared better for the next camps!" See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mike & Janette
UK

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2022
"Fantastic camp, staff really good and welcoming.

Amazing concentration of wildlife in the dry season" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr L.
Solihull

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2022
"The camp lived up to our expectations with varied dining experiences making a most enjoyable stay.

The guides were very knowledgeable, great fun to be with and made our teenage granddaughters first safari experience very special.

The rest of the staff could not have done more to make our stay very very pleasant." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms J.
Los Angeles

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2022
"We loved our stay at Oliver's Camp!

The staff was very welcoming and helpful and when we had a small problem with our room it was cleared up right away.

The first night we watched the sunset and a herd of elephants from the viewing platform.

It was a wonderful experience and we hope to go back one day." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2021
"A tented camp as it couldn‘t be any better: unbelievable welcoming, attentive and friendly staff that made every day of our stay feel very special.

The camp itself offers lovely views from various open decks. The tents are very comfortable and offer all luxury needed.

We loved the place for its outdorsiness (unfenced, located in a rather remote area of Tarangire) as well as its authenticity. Special thanks to Chef Burka who surprised us with a wonderful candle light dinner full of local delights.

Thank you very much to the whole team for this experience !" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms P.
Minneapolis

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"This was our first orientation to both safari and Asilia and both were excellent! Our terrific guide Nathoo gave us the best introduction to the geography and culture. He was very informative about the bush and wildlife. On a personal note, he was very polite and solicitous of our needs and interests. We loved the Tarangire.

The camp manager Levi was a very hospitable host. The food was remarkably delicious (I asked for a few recipes)." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr W
Essex

"Remote and Rustic charm of Oliver's Camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2018
"We saw an awful lot during our three nights stay including incredible herds of elephants and giraffe. We did a night safari during a thunder storm and saw wild cat and Genets with their quarry.

Views from the breakfast/sundown deck were incredible and totally recommend an afternoon bush walk where we saw herds of elephants coming down to the river to drink.

We were lucky to have a wonderful guide who was genuinely passionate about wildlife and worked hard to ensure that we saw the best the area had to offer." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs B
Altrincham

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"Wow. My wife was keen to see Tarangire and particularly its Elephants and Boababs. I was looking forward to the bird life. We were not disappointed and a walking safari the morning we left was a great experience.

The situation of this camp is fantastic. Decking for sundowners was lovely and the way the staff greet you and then involve you is lovely. The tents are really comfy and the beds great. Someone should find out where they source the mattresses. Our sleep was accompanied by a mother elephant and her minute baby munching an acacia tree about ten feet from our tent. Wish we could have stayed another night. A recurrent theme of our trip would be the outstanding quality of the Asilia staff in all the camps we stayed at.

We drove in from Arusha through the reserve and left through the reserve on our way North to the crater, stopping in at Manyara lake. Birds enough for any birder and a Leopard sighting (Lying on a branch alseep 10 feet from the roof) to boot. So glad we added this leg to our trip" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Sarnia

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Oliver's Camp was lovely.. The staff were very helpful.. The food was excellent.

The only negative was the over-abundance of tseste flies. At certain times of the day they were unbearable. Both afternoons that we were there we stayed in our tent the entire time to avoid these flies. We had done our best to avoid the colours that the flies are attracted to, and used bug spray, but none of this seemed to have any impact on the flies at all." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 53
95%
53 reviews of Oliver's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
43
9
0
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (18 reviews)
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire is a stylish tented camp, located in a quiet and remote area deep in Tarangire National Park.


98% (17 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


94% (10 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


100% (3 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa