This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp

Reviews of Oliver's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

60 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oliver's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Oliver's Camp.
Lion

93% success

Leopard

79% success

Cheetah

58% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Hippo

83% success

Eland

70% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 60
Duration
Arrival date
Brydon
UK

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2024
"Where do I start … extraordinary location … so remote past the Tarangire Swamp … beautiful location and accommodation… extraordinary catering" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Gina Dai
NYC

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2023
"Tarangire was the first leg of our trip and our very first safari experience! We were there for 2 nights and we loved the camp and had such an unforgettable experience.

The room and overall camp design was beautiful, and location was perfect - it was further into the park and close to where most of the animals were. Staff at Oliver's was beyond amazing - they really made sure we felt so welcome.

Above all, our guide, Samuel, truly made sure our first taste of safari unmatched. Sammy was the kind of guide that only wanted his guests to have the best experience and went above and beyond to deliver that. Not only was he so knowledgeable, but what touched us was his his infectious energy and love for wildlife and nature. He was so enthusiastic and made every sighting (big and small) so special. He made sure that we not only saw animals, but understood why they were behaving a certain way as he explained their behavior, habitat preferences, how animals interact with each other. With Sammy, I never felt rushed in observing animals and he made sure that I can take in all the moments while he helped to take photos when needed.

There was never a dull moment with Sammy - when we were on the road driving, he shared so many stories about his past sightings and his Maasai culture and upbringing that made every moment with him so memorable.

I hope Sammy can bring his passion for wildlife and nature to as many travelers as possible - we cannot thank him enough for giving his the best first taste of safari!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2023
"We stayed for 3 nights at Oliver’s Camp as part of our 2 week safari holiday. I cannot express how fantastic this place and all the staff are. From the moment we were greeted by our guide Augustino from the plane, to the moment we said goodbye to him, we were made to feel like we were part of the Oliver’s family.

Augustino was an amazing guide, he really listened to what we were interested in and stopped for any animal, no matter how small. He understood that we were excited to see every zebra, no matter how many we had already seen! We got the chance to go on a night drive and with the help of Michael as a spotter they made it a magical experience that we will never forget.

The “tent” (it’s difficult to call something with a huge bed and 2 showers a tent!) was beautiful and spotless (how do that manage that in a tent in the middle of the bush??). The food was always delicious and you will never go hungry. The service was so friendly and everyone always seemed to know our names. Salum our waiter was brilliant.

The atmosphere at the camp was wonderful. When you get back you sit around a campfire and exchange stories from your day. All the managers were so friendly and fantastic company.

We were so sad when we had to leave and I can’t wait until I have the chance to visit again" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs K.
Nice

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2023
"what an amazing first camp for our visit to Tanzania. the location was incredible as was our tent. we had a great view of the landscape. our guide, david, was extremely personable and knowledgable, resulting in a wide variety of game viewing. watching 2 cheetahs track and try to take down an impala was an unforgettable experience.

the staff at Oliver's were great as was the food. morning tea service was especially welcome." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ali
United Kingdom

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2023
"Wonderful camp.

Very close to the wildlife, elephants came into camp and you could hear them all making their rumbling noises all though the night!

Very good food and service. Very attentive staff.

Good location." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
California

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2023
"Great camp. They need a golf cart to get the less-than-mobile tourists between the cabins and the main building. But what a location! And such nice people." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Rusty Hudak
Stow, OH

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2023
"Only stayed one night. If I was to return, I would at least add one more. Very nice facility." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr & Mrs B
Altrincham

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2022
"We returned to Olivers after last being there in 2017. A bit has changed with the camp now joined with Little Olivers. We stayed at Little Olivers this time as there was still refurbishment going on at Olivers.

The tent was very much as remembered, very comfortable bed and well set out area with internal and external showers. Excellent wi-fi throughout camp. A pretty pool and bar area has been built in between the two camps and that is being connected to the two camps by a walkway. The sundowner area at Little Olivers didnt quite match the wooden decked area at Olivers from memory, but still afforded great views down to the river bed.

Plenty of wildlife about and our tent was treated to the gentle sound of munching water buffalo and elephants during the night time hours.

As previously the staff were outstanding, and Brian has a great team there. You are assigned a host for the duration of the stay who looks after all your dining/drinking needs. Genaroza was excellent. Food is of good quality and portions are generous.

We did a walking safari as well as our game drives, which was interesting and our guide took time to talk about tracks, signs of animals and bush craft. A nice change from being in the vehicle and well worth the time.

We had two days of game drives and there is a lot more water there than 2017 resulting in a large lake / swamp area which is a magnet to animals and birds. We saw a stunning variety of wildlife and a recent lion kill with the accompanying pride with its cubs.

We also did the night drive which to be honest was a little underwhelming. My thought was that perhaps half the distance at half the pace might have revealed more, but to be fair the guides still picked out a lot of things in the dark, and they do know their job.

We were treated to a great send off on the night before departure, and the staff work hard to ensure everything is just right

In summary we arrived already in love with Tarangire / Olivers and left even more smitten." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"The staff was helpful with everything. We stayed in a lovely room, which was very big.
The first night we were the only guests. They cared very good about us. We had the meals at different places in the camp. Breakfast in the bush, lunch also, an other breakfast at the sundowner place and dinner always near the fire.
We had different activities. We had game drives, an evening drive and a bush walk.
Unfortunatly there are a lot of tsetse flies, so we got a lot of bites. We prepared better for the next camps!" See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mike & Janette
UK

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2022
"Fantastic camp, staff really good and welcoming.

Amazing concentration of wildlife in the dry season" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 60
96%
60 reviews of Oliver's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
9
0
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire is a stylish tented camp, located in a quiet and remote area deep in Tarangire National Park.


98% (20 reviews)
Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (18 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


95% (11 reviews)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


96% (5 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (2 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (2 reviews)
Olkeri Camp

Olkeri Camp

Olkeri is a comfortable tented camp, located in the Randilen Wildlife Management area, bordering Tarangire National Park; ideal for those looking for pristine wilderness.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa