This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Oliver's Camp
Little Oliver's Camp
Little Oliver's Camp
Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's Camp


4°7’48.3"S 36°4’47.1"E

Reviews of Little Oliver's

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Oliver's and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Oliver's.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A
East Lothian

"Exclusive Little Oliver's "

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2019
"Exclusive and personal. This camp is a true delight and, to us, represented Tanzania at it's very best. The Manager, Abel, and all the staff were absolutely lovely. There are only 5 tents which means the service is very personal and although we only stayed two nights we felt very much part of the camp and the people. Our tent was number five and was set on it's own down a short path from the communal path. It was a fantastic experience. We could sit on our veranda and watch elephants moving peacefully through the bush. At night we could hear animals wandering around but we always felt safe. All the food and drink were excellent.

The safari experience at this camp was mind blowing. It must be said our guide, Penuel, was first class and exceedingly knowledgeable. He also had eyes like a hawk and could spot animals from afar and birds camouflaged in the trees. The sheer numbers of beautiful animals was a complete delight. The elephants liked to come up close to the jeep - one even came within four feet of our jeep, looked at us and started to give himself a dust bath. It was very humbling to be so closer to these huge, gentle animals.

We also went on a night drive which was an exceptional experience. On the night drive we saw so much including a lone serval and then a pair of servals and later an aardwolf which is very rare to see. The highlight of the night drive has to be when we saw two male lions. They were walking along the track towards us. Fortunately we recognised them as the two we had seen previously that day and we knew they had eaten well. One came straight up to the open jeep and walked by within three feet of my door. He was magnificent. To be so close to a walk lion is a tremendous experience.

Apart from that Penuel drive round the national park making sure we saw as much as possible. We saw at least 30 different mammals, 80 different birds that we know the names of but many, many more plus an African puff adder.

The low point was leaving the camp. I still miss it!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs C
Highgate

"Wonderful camp in a great location"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2019
"Very friendly and accommodating staff. We really liked the Asilia ethos.

Lovely location and fantastic rooms

Excellent food

Amazing wildlife! " See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Volcano

"Great Camp in a Beautiful Park"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2018
"Tarangire is a beautiful park with lots of wildlife and varied terrain and vegetation. Little Oliver's Camp is a wonderful place. Each "tent" is secluded and has a great view of the Tarangire River Valley. The common area is nicely appointed, and there are lovely decks for dining. The camp is well managed, staff is very friendly and helpful, and the guiding is excellent. We saw lots of wildlife on our game drives, including large herds of buffalo and elephant. We counted over 100 elephant at one stop in the afternoon!

Walking safaris are also available, and our guide, Said, and Camp Manager Chris, made it a memorable morning with lots of game sightings.

Little Oliver's is located in a remote part of the park, and although we did see other vehicles on game drives, there were not that many." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr F
Edina

"Little Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2017
"We loved our stay at Little Olivers camp... beautiful location, far away from everyone else, dinners under the stars, excellent cocktails (enjoyed at the campfire, a daily highlight), the tents were great (special kudos for the outdoor shower, a special treat!) and the game drives were superb, especially the only night drive we did this visit... We also did a walking safari, one of the highlights of our stay .

Special mention for Anna, the lodge manager, who made sure we loved every minute of our stay, and Herebert and Shomari, our fantastic guides.." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H&S
Dublin

"Little Olivers"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2017
"Hidden gem, lots of wildlife and diverse habitat

Excellent guides

Walking safaris but selling point for those interested - we loved to get on foot to get close up to the wildlife" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The P family
Norfolk

"Little Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"Amazing camp. Fabulous location and brilliant staff

The rooms were comfortable, a shower watching the stars is something everyone should do. Elephants outside the room in the middle of the night too.

Food stunning, thanks for our anniversary cake

Nothing but praise for this camp. I would have no hesitation in recommending" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Texas, USA

"Little Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"Great staff and routine flexibility. Attentive management. Could add hair dryer" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Ms R
London

"Great Camp and Great Location"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"Very much enjoyed Little Oliver's. Julie was very welcoming and the staff were exceptionally helpful.

We had excellent trips in Tarangire and Lake Manyara. Both highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs HC
W London

"Felt very special"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2016
"Although the tented rooms felt a bit basic, our stay here was a true highlight. This was down to our enthusiastic guide, Noel, but mainly due to Julie, the camp manager, who made our stay feel very special with some thoughtful personal touches. She was also very good company!

In addition, on our last day, we needed to visit the medical centre in Arusha to have some insect bites looked at as they had blistered and needed antibiotics - Julie was very supportive and helped make the necessary arrangements
" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms F
California, USA

"I loved Little Oliver's and Tarangire"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2015
"I was the only guest during my stay at Little Oliver's, which was really wonderful. The new relief manager, Olivia, could not have been more accommodating. We had all our meals together and talked about everything under the sun. I was so comfortable there I didn't want to leave! Everything was perfect.

Then there was my guide, Albert. He picked me up in Arusha and we drove to Tarangire and then had an all day game drive. It was nothing short of a perfect start to my safari.

I've been on a number of safaris and, hands down, Albert was one of the best guides I've ever had. Knowledgeable, patient, passionate, funny, kind, and could spot animals like nobody's business." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
98%
17 reviews of Little Oliver's by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
0
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp is a small, intimate, luxury tented camp in a great location in northern Tanzania's Tarangire National Park.


94% (47 reviews)
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire is a stylish tented camp, located in a quiet and remote area deep in Tarangire National Park.


97% (13 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


94% (10 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (1 review)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (1 review)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa