This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Peter from Stockton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Our best vacation ever!

Namibia between 21 Sep 2018 and 12 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our second visit to Namibia and our first not organized as a group. After this experience we can say we much prefer traveling on our own. Expert Africa helped us organize the exact trip we wanted and it exceeded all our expectations. We were able to visit parts of Namibia was had not seen during our first visit.

The team member who organized our trip has first-hand knowledge of Namibia, which was very helpful. Expert Africa thought of every detail, provided comprehensive information and were responsive to us during our trip as well.

We are already planning our next trip to Africa and will use Expert Africa to plan that trip as well."

Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Great view and comfortable accommodation "

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"Welcoming staff and delicious cool beverage upon arrival.

On this visit we had a large, comfortable room upstairs with a balcony where we ate breakfast. Breakfast was excellent (beginning with fruit and coffee and finishing with eggs and bacon) and a couple of other surprises.

Room and grounds, including pool, were impeccably clean. Staff was helpful in arranging transportation into town for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Great overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"We spent one night at Kalahari Anib Lodge on our drive from Windhoek to the Fish River Lodge. It was welcoming and fun.

Our room was small, but clean and artfully decorated. Grounds were well kept, including pool, and wildlife have free run of the grounds, which is really enjoyable. Our room had outdoor seating with a view of the grounds and pool.

We enjoyed the evening game drive and sundowner. We saw lots of animals, some we had never seen before. The Kalahari was in bloom and beautiful at the time of our visit near the end of September. We enjoyed lunch and dinner on the patio and enjoyed the campfire after dinner.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Luxury on the edge"

5 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Food, service and accommodation at the Fish River Lodge were impeccable.

Rooms are large and artfully decorated. Large porch overlooks the Fish River Canyon. The lodge itself has outstanding views of the canyon with a pool lots of room to sit outside. Be prepared for windy conditions, weather is variable, and we were provided with earplugs for nighttime use. We only needed them one night.

We also enjoyed the two day hiking package, which was outstanding. Our guide, Andy, was knowledgeable and tailored our daily hikes according to our preference for distance and difficulty. Camps were unique with roomy tents, comfortable cots with sheets and duvets. Bucket showers were welcome as was hot water in the morning to wash up.

Food was excellent, on a par with what we enjoyed at the Lodge. We were amazed that they were able to provide the same quality, but from a camp kitchen. Breakfast and dinner were prepared in camp and we carried our bag lunch and water with us each day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Good one night stay"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"Our first impression of Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge was that it had seen better days, but our first impression was wrong. Once we stepped into the Lodge and then saw our room we were very impressed.

The rooms are very large and the most artful of any accommodation we had on this trip. There was a large sitting room, beautifully appointed covered outdoor siting area and outdoor shower. Bed was comfortable with mosquito netting and the bathroom included a large, open shower. Rooms were air-conditioned.

We were surprised by the delicious, multi-course dinner. Wine selection was good. Breakfast included fruit and yogurt plus a hot option.

We enjoyed the evening game drive and sundowner with game sightings. The area that is remote to the lodge has a wild feel, but the area around the lodge didn't seem quite as natural because feed is put out for the animals. That said, it was fun to watch the meerkats as we ate breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Another comfortable night"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"This was our second stay during our time in Namibia. We had a smaller, downstairs room near the pool. Same attention to detail by the staff and same great breakfast.

We left some luggage on our first stay and only taken what we needed to the Fish River Lodge. Now we were able to switch to what we needed for the safari portion of our trip and left the other luggage. We would pick it up on our last stay before we left Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Great rhino sighting"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"We initially booked Desert Rhino Camp in order to fill time between the other camps we wanted to visit, but it was one of the true highlights of our trip. The rhino viewing experience and learning about the work of Save the Rhino Trust Namibia made this visit very special. We were impressed with the work of the trust and how respectful the guest viewing of the animals is.

The landscape is beautiful, we saw many Welwitschia plants (Namibia's national plant), and we spent one evening viewing a family of spotted hyena. One morning we were able to view a rhino mother and her calf with the help of expert Save the Rhino Trust trackers. Afterwards we enjoyed lunch in the bush with a presentation by the trackers.

The camp is rustic, but still luxurious. Meru-style tents are roomy with ensuite toilet and shower. The lodge is open air with sweeping views and a fire pit. Food was delicious and tables were set beautifully for meals. Service was excellent. We had a very special experience one evening, but it's a surprise for when you visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"Dry riverbeds, ocean and desert"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"The landscape is stark, but the lodge and rooms are far from that. This is the most striking Wilderness Safaris camp we have stayed at. The camp design is other worldly and accommodations luxurious. Rooms are very large and comfortable with views over a wide valley. En-suite bathroom includes double sinks, large open shower and separate toilet. Each "tent" includes a large, raised, covered stating area that includes a sofa, table and chairs and an outdoor refrigerator.

A highlight of this trip is a drive along the Hoanib River bed to the Skeleton Coast. The landscape changes constantly during the several-hour drive. The ocean along the skeleton coast is spectacular. I could have done without the stinky visit to the fur seal colony.

Evening and morning game drives along the Hoanib River bed were really beautiful and we saw many more animals than we expected. We saw all three of the resident elephant families, many oryx, a large tower of giraffe (that happened to amble by during one sundowner) and steenbok. We also enjoyed a presentation by a local brown hyena researcher. This camp has so much to offer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"The new Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2018
"After recent floods Serra Cafema had to be rebuilt and had only been open three weeks before our arrival. It is spectacular! Raised walkways connect each thatch-roofed chalet to the main lodge. Our chalet overlooked the rapids along the Kunene River. Rooms are very large and include a large outdoor living and dining space and deck.

Food was outstanding and be prepared for dining surprises.

The pace here is slower than most safari camps and it is a perfect place to end your trip to Namibia. It is all about the scenery at this camp and the Himba people. The Hartmann Valley is wide and covered in grass. Jagged mountains and sand dunes ring the valley. Our visit to a Himba village was very enjoyable.

We appreciated the ability to tailor our activities at this camp. One morning we preferred to take a scenic drive rather than quad biking. Our guide, Limbo, was happy to accommodate our request."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Back for a third time"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"We ended our visit to Namibia at the Hilltop Guesthouse where we retrieved our luggage and had an evening to pack for the rest of our trip in Africa. The staff, as with both other visits, were excellent. We left too early the next morning to enjoy breakfast, but the owner surprised us with coffee in our room.

Our room this time was not as nice as the others we stayed in. Primarily, the shower floor very steep and difficult to stand on. Otherwise our room was comfortable and impeccably clean.

We really appreciate being able to leave our extra luggage at the Hilltop Guesthouse during the safari portion of our trip. Thank you!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team