This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia

Reviews of Kicheche Laikipia

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Laikipia and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Laikipia.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

53% success

Wild dog

27% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

80% success

Hippo

19% success

Striped Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Mr + Ms D
Santa Cruz

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2022
"Another great camp. Not as dramatic as Amboseli in geography = no Kilimanjaro, but made up for it in other ways. In a conservancy that protects rhinos but many other animals are present.

Food and drink were good; staff was very attentive and efficient. Think there are only 6 rooms/tents, so not quite as fancy as Tortillas but nice.

Guide - had Peter as our very excellent guide. Very knowledgeable and fearless in going after the perfect view point of an animal." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms. N
Montana

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2022
"I was met by William at the private airstrip arriving from Sarara. Right off the start, William identified many new birds for me in this area. William also could point out the ellies in the distance and even upclose. We saw hyenas right away too. What a great guide. We even made a list of 100 birds in one day of guiding. Upon arrival at the camp, Louise met me with her dog and suggested activities for me. She arranged for me to go horseback riding that day at 3:00pm. What a special treat. I was able to see the last two northern white rhinos and the one surrogate that lives with them in the Ol Pejeta Conservatory. I saw Najin and Fatu. This area is memorilized in memory of Sudan... I was also riding by the graveyard of other rhinos that had been killed.
The camp does a great job of providing support for the surrounding community and really follows the students that clients can adopt. A student is followed from primary school all the way up to college. If a student is not doing well or faltering, a tutor is brought in to rectify and assist the students. I chose this camp because of its committment to the community.
I saw so many rhinos, and ellies and other animals with William. This is a really fun camp. The food is also delicious - I had a spun sugar dessert one evening. I was given so many choices for my meals and there were always flowers nearby and on the tables. There were two fireplaces for warm eating. The lighting in the tents was great: I also appreciate the robes, and the flashlights and leaving the tent open for me at night. The hot water bottle is also a great touch at night. Thank you Louise." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2022
"We visited Kicheche Laikipia in February which is the short dry season. It was indeed dry as we expected. The waterhole in front of the camp went noticeably lower each day, still, lots of animals come to the waterhole to drink. The elevation is over 6000 feet so the mornings were quite cool, low 50s Fahrenheit. It was a race to get dressed quickly in the morning. However, the camp brought us hot coffee at our wakeup time, which helped warm us up. It warmed up quickly once we got out on the game drive but hot water bottles and ponchos in the vehicle made for a comfortable start. It also cooled down quickly at night and hot water bottles in our bed kept us warm until morning.

At Kicheche Laikipia we usually didn’t have early breakfast in camp. We started with coffee in our tent and then went straight to the safari vehicle. Right after leaving camp we had a great morning view of Mount Kenya with the sunrise. About 9:00 am each day our guide Simon would find a scenic spot and set out breakfast for the three of us. The camp was only partially full so we had a vehicle to ourselves.

The tents are very spacious with a comfortable bed, large double vanity, shower and flush toilet. The tent is open on the front in the bedroom during the day with netting and flaps that drop down at night. By the time we returned at mid-day the staff had opened up the front of our tent. We had no problem with bugs of any kind in our tent.

Meals were excellent with plenty of variety, delicious salads, soups and vegetables in addition to plenty of beef and chicken. Deserts were delicious too. Lunch was served in a tent near the waterhole. Dinners were served in the main tent, which also has a comfortable seating area. One evening we enjoyed a meal of all local dishes that included a variety of stews and vegetables. It was our favorite dinner.

Early in the morning and after dark we were escorted to and from our tent by one of the staff members. Time spent around the campfire with a glass of wine before dinner was a highlight.

One day we went to the Ngare Ndare Forest and hiked to a couple of waterfalls and then after a picnic lunch, and some bird watching, we did the canopy walk. It was quite interesting and fun. It was about a two hour drive to get there and it was interesting to drive through the town of Nanyuki. We flew into a different airstrip so had not seen Nanyuki yet. Another afternoon we visited the Endangered Species Enclosure and saw the last two Northern White Rhinos that exist in the world. We also took photos at the marker for the equator which we had crossed twice that day.

The camp is in a private area where self driving is not allowed so the only time we saw other vehicles is when we went into the more open area. Even then we rarely came across anyone else. Game viewing was very good with a lot of black rhino and white rhino. We also saw some baby jackals who came out of their den to visit with us. One afternoon we watched a female lion hunting; she ultimately was unsuccessful after a try at some zebras and then a close call for a warthog. That was quite exciting! Simon is one of the most detail-oriented guides we’ve ever had on safari. We learned so many details about everything from whistling acacia to lizards to rhinos. He is a stellar guide." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 10n in Rwanda; 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2021
"Relaxed camp but with great attention to details.

The jeeps are perfectly equipped: ponchos, hot water bottle and portable coffee mug were very welcome! Lovely guiding by Peter.

Good sightings on every game drive" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss G.
Newark

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2021
"Louise and her team are extremely friendly and welcoming. Louise was very approachable and helpful. From the minute we arrived in KL the hospitality was phenomenal, nothing would have been too much trouble.

The camp itself has a great view over the dam and the wildlife that visit are forever changing. We extremely enjoyed our lunch sitting out watching the elephants and giraffe, among others, go by.

The fires in the main tent are lovely to come back to after your afternoon drive, especially in the rain! The tents are great, with a nice seating area & hammock to enjoy the view. The hot water bottles at night were very much appreciated as it was quite cold and rainy.

The food was the best of the trip, a real effort was made to accommodate my vegetarian diet in different and interesting ways. We loved everything we were given and even asked for some of the recipes when we left.

Without a doubt Simon our guide was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and extremely friendly and easy to get on with. We really enjoyed our game drives with him. He is a great ambassador for the Kicheche brand. It is very evident that he has a passion for his job, his country and the animals. He takes great pride in what he is doing and went above and beyond to make our experience one to remember.

Ol Pejeta is a great conservancy, we loved to see so many Rhino. We enjoyed our visit to the chimp sanctuary, which Simon recommended we incorporate into a game drive.

The visit to the Northern White Rhinos was insane. It was probably the highlight of the trip for me. I didn't know what to expect but I didn't think we would be the only people there and that we would get to drive into the enclosure in our jeep. We had the sole attention of Najin & Fatu. It was a spectacular experience to hand feed and touch them. Najin put her whole head, giant horn included, into the jeep for another carrot. She then decided to use the bumper as a horn sharpener to Simons dismay!

I would without hesitation recommend KL and hope to return one day soon and we want to say a big thanks to Simon, Louise and the rest of the team for giving us a great stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms A.
London

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2021
"Peter was a brilliant guide - pby the best of all as he was super patient and enthusiastic with the boys!

Great game, great food, great staff and great manager!

Weather was relatively chilly and wet but this was unimportant!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Andreas
Switzerland

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2021
"We (2 adults, 2 teenagers) had a fantastic 4 nights at Kicheche Laikipia. The length of time gave us an opportunity to experience all facets of the reservation, gain deep insights through our guide, enjoy the camp and interact with the lovely staff. Great care was taken to use all the precautions against Covid.

Andrew, the camp host, is amazing. He speaks like an English academic and has knowledge like a professor. He gained his knowledge through many years of training as a guide. We spent much time talking with him about wildlife in Ol Pejeta and Africa. When talking about Ol Pejeta, he explained the connection with Fauna and Flora International and we came to the conclusion that background and details about this showcase reservation are not easy to get. Perhaps, this could be a hint to Expert Africa to be more elaborate on what is so special about Ol Pejeta.

Josphat was our guide. He is very knowledgeable and has a great sense of humor that built a good connection with the family. The only slight reservation we have is that the night safari felt a bit too much like hunting down animals (rather than getting to a good position and then observing without intruding).

The service at the camp was immaculate, the family tent in good condition, and the food was very creative and flavorful. The low quality of the mountain bikes however did not inspire us to take a ride. The water level in the lake was too low to consider canoeing.

In addition to the night drives (that few other camps offer), we had a peek at the endangered rhino sanctuary and the rescued chimps sanctuary (both not directly accessible due to Covid precautions)." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr D
Surrey

"Very good 4 night stay at KiKeche Camp"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"I thoroughly enjoyed Kikeche Laikipia. Attentive staff, excellent food, spacious comfortable tents with a view of the lake. The guide Josphat was an excellent spotter and had a good knowledge of the wildlife." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Steve H
Leeds

"Superb Kicheche Laikipia"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2020
"Having stayed at the other Kicheche Camps in the Mara Conservancies many times I was looking forward to staying at their fourth camp and it lives up to their very high standards. They took the unseasonably wet weather in their stride and made sure our stay was unforgettable for all the right reasons. Peter was a great driver/guide and we all enjoyed his company. Great wildlife sightings including good birds and great hospitality all round. Excellent food and great location." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D.
Penrith

"Kicheche"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2020
"This was the overall highlight from a game viewpoint" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 44
99%
44 reviews of Kicheche Laikipia by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Laikipia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness is a rustic owner-managed bush camp, in excellent wild dog territory, offering outstanding guiding.


95% (21 reviews)
Sosian

Sosian

Sosian Lode is a distinctive, estancia-style ranch house on a former cattle ranch, with great opportunities for riding, relaxing and seeing wild dogs and other savannah wildlife.


100% (15 reviews)
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama is a comfortably rustic, very personal, riverside eco-lodge on a game-rich private ranch in Laikipia, an hour’s drive north of Nanyuki airport.


99% (14 reviews)
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness is a comfortable, fenced safari lodge with nine cottages, great views and a huge range of activities.


97% (12 reviews)
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is a simple camp, with comfortable tents, delivering an authentic wilderness experience backed up by good food and guiding.


98% (8 reviews)
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp is a comfortable and homely tented lodge, located in the Lewa Conservancy and offering a relatively exclusive safari away from mass tourism.


95% (8 reviews)
Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

The community-owned Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge sits atop a small hill in the remote Il Ngwesi Group Ranch, a two-hour drive north of Lewa Conservancy in north-eastern Laikipia.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp is a small, simple, well established tented camp, with a keen focus on sustainable and low-impact tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Borana

Borana

Borana is a comfortable and striking lodge on the Borana Conservancy in eastern Laikipia, offering pleasant accommodation with good food and service and a very wide range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Tassia Lodge

Tassia Lodge

Tassia offers a unique wilderness experience in a remote location: come here for cultural interaction, stunning views and something a bit different.


100% (4 reviews)
Lewa House

Lewa House

Lewa House is a boutique safari lodge on a farm on the Lewa Conservancy, north of Mount Kenya


100% (4 reviews)
Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge is an exclusive and luxurious bush lodge set in the private Solio Game Ranch in southern Laikipia.


100% (4 reviews)
Sirikoi

Sirikoi

Sirikoi is a small, very high-quality safari camp with excellent service and food and a wide selection of activities.


100% (2 reviews)
Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp is a luxury safari base of tented rooms, ranged along a ridge in the Loisaba Conservancy, facing Mount Kenya. The camp was completely rebuilt in 2016.


100% (2 reviews)
Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Starbeds is a simple camp of 4 rooms with pull-out, open-air 'star beds', located near a dam in the Loisaba Conservancy, in northwestern Laikipia.


100% (2 reviews)
Kifaru House

Kifaru House

Kifaru House is a small, stylish safari lodge in the Lewa Conservancy, with beautiful views across the landscape.


100% (1 review)
Sandai

Sandai

Sandai is a pretty, owner-run homestay, set between the Aberdare Range and Mount Kenya, offering a range of activities at extra cost.


100% (1 review)
Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris operates camel assisted, multi-day walking safaris from its main camp, Tumaren, set in a remote part of Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge is a charismatic and remote lodge in western Laikipia on the high, rocky banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River.


100% (1 review)
Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Sweetwaters Serena

Sweetwaters Serena is a large, older tented camp – the largest camp in the Laikipia region – in the eastern part of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy.


100% (1 review)
The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille is an unusual safari lodge in northern Laikipia, consisting of three exclusive villas, and offering a huge range of activities.


No reviews yet
Thomson's Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge is a simple hotel dating back to the colonial era above the falls of the same name, just outside the western Laikipia town of Nyahururu.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa