This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The C Family from Ireland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2019 trip

Zambia between 26 Oct 2019 and 3 Nov 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our third trip to Africa with Expert Africa and we would highly recommend them and would not use anyone else if we were returning. Megan and also Sabrina in the Botswana office went well beyond the call of duty at 6.00am on Sunday when we got stuck in Nairobi with a flight delay (on a flight organised by ourselves). Thanks to both of you.
We had seen the more northern areas of the South Luangwa Park previously and enjoyed seeing the more southern part."

Arranged By Megan Green


Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

"Chamilandu Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"We really enjoyed our stay at Chamilandu, the rooms are enormous and completely open to the elements with just the mosquito nets between us and the African night. The rooms are raised on stilts so this is safe and helps with the heat. Faneul has a great personality as camp manager and guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our walking safaris as well as the evening when we went on a 'wild dog hunt', and did eventually find three even if the kitchen staff would not have appreciated the very late dinner."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

"Kapamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2019
"Kapamba bushcamp was special to us as we had a sighting of 17 hyenas on a morning walk about 5 minutes from camp. We were also lucky to have one of the 2 rooms with a private tree house. The tree house has a large bed and cushions to slouch on and was a great way to relax for the afternoon while keeping an eye on the warthogs, elephant etc. We also had an elephant in camp.
Kapamba also do a lovely surprise brunch in the bush which is lovely after a walk.
The animals seen from all three bushcamps that we stayed in are not as habituated to jeeps as in the areas closer to the gate like Mfuwe Lodge which we liked but you do end up with lots of photos of rear ends!
As with the other camps we had no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed our stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Zungulila

Zungulila

"Zungulila review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"We had this camp all to ourselves so that made it very special! Again guiding and management were excellent and we have nothing but great memories especially the 200 or so buffalo that joined us for dinner both nights. We also had a leopard in camp but unfortunately slept through it all. We had a great thunderstorm prior to our last drive which appeared to make all the animals hide but we did have great sightings of elephant and the local pride of lions including a young cub. Food was good especially the snacks with the sundowners."
Excellent

My Oct 2016 trip

Zambia between 26 Oct 2016 and 3 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our overall trip way exceeded our expectations but we didn't know what to expect as we hadn't done a safari before. It was certainly expensive but I think we got value for our money. We loved all our guides and found Ruth in Nsefu specially pleasant.

The animals were on parade for us and we were very lucky to see almost everything the first day and could relax after that and just enjoy the drives for what turned up and plenty did. We didn't get to see the wild dogs but that will be our reason to return

The only sour note in the entire trip were the staff on the SAA flight from Joburg to Heathrow who appeared to think that the customers were there just to get in their way, they were so rude & unhelpful that we have sworn to never fly with them again!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

That's a difficult one!

We are struggling to think of anything but have come up with nothing.

We would definitely use Expert Africa and recommend you to our friends. But most of them are wimps and wouldn't appreciate hippos against the tents and frogs in the bathroom but we loved every second!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"First night in Zambia"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2016
"We were the lucky people who on our first morning drive with Kennedy saw a lion kill. And on the very same evening we experienced a leopard kill an impala followed by a frightening 2 minutes where we were in the middle of three lions, 2 male and 1 female as they consumed the poor puku the female had just brought down. Kennedy is a great guide, full of interesting facts and great fun.

We would very much recommend Flatdogs particularly as a first step between our fully wired lives and the isolated bush camps with which we followed it. The hippos do ensure you get no sleep but that is all part of the experience."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu was fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2016
"Ruth and the entire team at Nsefu were the perfect hosts. Everyone from the kitchen staff to our guide and spotters went way out of their way to ensure that we all had a great time. The location was perfect.

We felt very special here. A particular highlight was the bush breakfast at the end of our walking safari.

We will definitely return asap."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Last 2 night at Tafika"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"We were very sad leaving Nsefu but Tafika was yet another new experience. We loved the rooms, the bar and Bryan our guide was suberb. Again nothing was too much trouble and the quality of the game viewing was incomparable.

The walking safari & crossing the Luangwa by canoe was a highlight but nothing compared to watching the 15 lions that were eating their buffalo kill actually right beside the camp on our last morning.

We would love to go back and try their walking only bush camps. Highly recommended!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team