This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu

Reviews of Kinondo Kwetu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kinondo Kwetu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Lady C
UK

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2023
"Lovely spot. Not as quite I expected. I think the website needs some different photos. At fist sight the cottages looked a bit overlooked but actually they are cleverly placed. Much of the time we were there it was only at half occupancy so mostly you had evrywhere to yourself. Rooms a bit dark because you have to keep the shutters closed to keep the Sykes monkeys out - and hide your medication etc.

The main lounge and villa building have wonderful artefacts. Every meal your table is somewhere different - by the sea, pool, terrace. Could have done with a choice of meal. Just what is offered though I think they would have produced something else if you'd said - but that's at the serving time. But very good food - lots of fresh fish and vegetables.

Colobus and Sykes monkeys by day and Bush Babies by night. And lots of bird life.

Enormous main pool and warm sea. You need to bring shoes to walk on the coral if you want to swim.

Very nice attentive staff." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M
Cambridge

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2023
"A marvellous, welcoming destination.

Beautiful ocean and beach, outstanding staff - marvellous service at all times and with friendliness and attention without being OTT. Nidi and Anna were terrific hosts.

The accomodation, pools etc. very comfortable, convenient. Snorkelling and SCUBA trips went really well. We had a marvellous 4 nights here and would definitely recommend it.

The location gives it a real sense of effortless relaxation." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & C
Kent

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2023
"Having been on safari for a week, we were ready for some rest and relaxation, which Kinondo Kwetu certainly provided. It feels like an island oasis- so private and secluded with almost nobody else on the beach. The hotel is set across a huge area of land with rooms well spread out in different buildings, so you often walk around wondering where all the other guests are. Our room was really spacious with a lovely balcony from where we could sit and relax whilst sometimes watching the monkeys up in the trees.

Meals were delicious and varied - lobster for dinner on our first night was an impressive surprise! They were also very accommodating to people who wanted something different for one of the courses. I don't eat fish but they were organised and knew this and I enjoyed plenty of steak and chicken amongst other dishes during our stay. The very attentive and caring waiters were always eager to make sure we were happy with everything on the menu.

It was also great to see some Kenyan wine on the drinks menu - I thoroughly recommend both of the Leleshwa white wines which we enjoyed with our lunch and dinner. A wide variety of freshly made cocktails was also on offer, as well as bar snacks if you somehow had room in between meals. We did enjoy the yummy banana crisps and mango avocado salsa as a little pre-dinner snack. The hotel also had plenty of games we could borrow- we enjoyed a few games of Jenga before dinner!

The hotel also like to keep you on your toes - with dinner being served in different places around the hotel each evening, sometimes by the main house, sometimes out on the beach, etc. This meant the tables were really well spread out across the grounds and helped to maintain the peaceful atmosphere. Eating lunch on the beach watching the waves coming in was wonderful.

We made good use of the hotel's main swimming pool - a large curved pool measuring around 25x25m, a great space with more than enough room so it never felt even slightly crowded. Loads of very comfy sunbeds by the pool and along the beach were great for relaxing before or after lunch. Very comfy cushions to rest your head on.

We borrowed one of the hotel's kayaks several times during our stay to paddle along the coast a bit and we also went for a sailing trip in a traditional dhow with a very experienced local fisherman. Amazing to see how fast a simple wooden boat can go. The other trip we did was to 'Robinson Island', a sandbank which only exists at low tide. Beautiful place and we did some great snorkelling both here and from the sailing boat.

If you do book this hotel, make sure you visit the local community's small shop on the beach - they have some lovely handmade items and they made us some lovely wooden animal keyrings with our names intricately carved into them.

Overall, this is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy safari. All the staff are so helpful and the location is incredible- so picturesque and peaceful." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P and S
Chilterns

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2023
"Superb luxury and service." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs O.
London

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2023
"Kinondo was a perfect stop to relax after safari.

It was hard to move from the structured and polished Angama, but once we settled in to the more relaxed and traditional style we felt very lucky to have chosen the hotel.

Again the staff were brilliant, but the real stand out was the views and the food. The fish was some of the best we had ever eaten." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2023
"A lovely barefoot in the sand, laid back lodge on a quiet and beautiful stretch of beach. The management (Anna and Didi) were excellent and the staff were simply lovely - by the end of the first day they all knew our names. Nothing was too much trouble and one staff member taught us the African game of Bao when we asked how to. This is the complete opposite to an anonymous 5* hotel but with levels of service to rival that.

Particularly impressive was the food which was far more modern European fusion in style and lighter than on safari - e.g. lots of use of Asian style salads, together with lots of fish and shellfish. We also liked the use of the whole property for dining - we ate in several different locations from the beachfront to on an old wooden dhow, from a romantic balcony meal to outside the main lodge area.

This is a big property with lots of garden areas to chill out - room verandas, the beach (which whilst beautiful we found too windy) and two pools, one small adult one and a large lovely tropical one where children were allowed, but it was so large you hardly noticed.

The bedrooms were comfy rather than luxury, filled with wooden African furniture, with lovely verandas. The main rooms were beautifully and tastefully decorated with African paintings and artifacts, Moroccan lanterns and beautiful African fabrics were used everywhere.

Whilst there is a gym, library, tennis court, yoga deck with daily classes, sauna, spa and horse riding, we were happy to lie by the pool after 7 days of safari. A lovely place to chill." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Jenny
Faversham

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2023
"Relaxed, comfortable, easy and beautiful. Friendly and helpful staff, great food and cocktails. Sailed three times on an ngalawa, which I would heartily recommend.

My one less favorable comment is the limited access to swimming in the sea due to extensive dead coral. There is a walkway but the shallowness of the waters means it’s a long walk out for a swim at most points of the tide. This wouldn’t stop me from returning, but I would take it into consideration." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs H
Cheshire

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

7 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2022
"Visually beautiful, stylish and very comfortable with amazing attention to detail.

All of the staff were extremely helpful, kind and friendly. Didi, the manager, couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable.

The settings for meals (which changed nightly) were always stunning and the food was delicious." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Exmoor Somerset

"Kinondo Kwetu stunning!"

6 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"Such an amazing well run peaceful location to finish off an outstanding holiday experience.
Stunning accommodation with beautiful views of the ocean.
Friendly and accommodating staff a pleasure to be with.
Amazing food imaginatively created and executed. Loved experiencing different locations and settings around the grounds.
Such a friendly yet tranquil atmosphere.
Loved enjoying the spa and health facilities.
Perfect!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Cheltenham

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

5 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2022
"A peaceful final stop for our holiday, after being out on safari we were content to just relax and this was the perfect place for that.

Each day we saw at most a dozen other guests and easily as many staff members, making this the ideal place to go for a quiet break. The secluded strip of beach meant that the only people outside the site we saw were the occasional passing fishermen.

The staff were all very polite and friendly, working hard to make sure we had everything we wanted. The food was excellent, always a set lunch and dinner of mostly seafood due to the location, written up in advance so you have opportunity to request something else. I'm quite a fussy eater but never had to ask for something different.

This was such a lovely place we were sad to leave to travel home." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 27
99%
27 reviews of Kinondo Kwetu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kenya Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort is a relaxed resort-style hotel at the far south end of Diani Beach - an area known as Galu Beach.


89% (15 reviews)
Asha Boutique Hotel

Asha Boutique Hotel

Diani Blue is a low-key but stylishly comfortable small guesthouse, with high levels of service, in a busy, central part of Diani Beach.


95% (8 reviews)
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad is a good-value, laidback, family friendly resort with lots of Swahili character.


80% (6 reviews)
Water Lovers Beach Resort

Water Lovers

Water Lovers is a popular, low-key beach hotel in a central location on Diani Beach on the south coast of Kenya.


96% (5 reviews)
Peponi

Peponi

Peponi is a long-established beach hotel, renowned for its good food, located in the village of Shela on the south side of Lamu island.


100% (4 reviews)
The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island is a beach resort offering plenty of activities and beautiful flora and fauna all around.


87% (3 reviews)
Driftwood Beach Club

Driftwood Beach Club

The low-key and long-established Driftwood is a family-friendly, owner-managed, bungalow-style beach hotel on a beautiful stretch of sands just south of Malindi town.


87% (3 reviews)
Manda Bay

Manda Bay

Manda Bay is a luxury beach hideaway in a remote corner of an island in the Lamu archipelago, on Kenya's northern coast. It has a huge range of water sports on offer.


100% (2 reviews)
Mnarani Club

Mnarani Club

The Mnarari Club is located towards the seaward end of the beautiful Killifi Creek, and is an enduring favourite on the Kenya coast.


100% (2 reviews)
Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports is long-established and popular beach hotel right on one of Watamu's famous and beautiful bays.


90% (2 reviews)
Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas is an exclusive, owner-run, hideaway property consisting of three unique villas in a central part of the north end of Diani Beach.


100% (2 reviews)
Charming Lonno Lodge

Charming Lonno Lodge

Lonno Lodge is a boutique hotel on a quiet stretch of Watamu's coastline.


100% (1 review)
AfroChic

AfroChic

Afro-Chic is a modern, Mediterranean-style ten-room boutique hotel on Diani Beach, with good food and a pleasant pool.


100% (1 review)
Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge is a picturesque tree-hotel overlooking a forest waterhole in Shimba Hills National Park, with an aerial walkway and abundant wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort is a large beach hotel on Shanzu Beach, north of Mombasa town, on Kenya's Indian Ocean coast.


100% (1 review)
Kutazama

Kutazama

Kutazama is an owner-managed, boutique luxury lodge in the Shimba Hills in a stunning location overlooking the Mwaluganje Elephant Sanctuary.


100% (1 review)
Hemingways Watamu

Hemingways Watamu

Long-established resort hotel with a strong British following and a good reputation for deep-sea fishing.


80% (1 review)
Kizingo

Kizingo

Kizingo is an owner-managed, rustic, barefoot beach lodge on the southwest tip of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Tamarind Village

Tamarind Village

Tamaarind Village is a well managed apartment complex close to Mombasa city, with excellent restaurants, pools and visitor services.


No reviews yet
Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer is a relatively large rustic beach lodge on the west coast of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday’s Mida Cove is a stylish beach lodge, suited to those who are sociable and will enjoy the engaging hosts and the convivial atmosphere they create.


No reviews yet
Che Shale

Che Shale

Che Shale is sand-and-palm-tree beach lodge of rustic bandas, dedicated to kitesurfing and chilling out, located on a remote and beautiful bay half an hour’s drive north of Malindi Airport.


No reviews yet
Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village is a rustic, owner-built, owner-run beach lodge, with simple rooms made from local materials, located where Lamu Creek meets the Indian Ocean.


No reviews yet
The Majlis

The Majlis

The Majlis is a modern 27-room resort hotel on the beachfront of Manda island.


No reviews yet
Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach is one of the biggest resort hotels on Diani Beach, with a spectacular lobby and cascading swimming pool.


No reviews yet
House on the Beach

House on the Beach

House on the Beach is a comfortable family-size, private beach house with a large pool set by a cave complex, and a delightful garden leading down to the beach, in a secluded spot on Tiwi Beach.


No reviews yet
Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House is a secluded and luxurious boutique hotel on the southern Kenya coast, south of Diani Beach.


No reviews yet
Lamu House

Lamu House

Lamu House is a boutique hotel on the waterfront in Lamu town, with a swimming pool, bar and terrace restaurant.


No reviews yet
The Maji

The Maji

The Maji is a small, well managed beach hotel on the northern stretch of Diani Beach in southern Kenya.


No reviews yet
Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys is a remote beach property on its own private island on the far south coast of Kenya. Rustic in style, it will suit you if you cherish exclusivity over modern design.


No reviews yet
Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach is one of the smallest and quietest beach properties on Kenya’s coast, with a focus on rest and relaxation away from other tourists.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa