This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu

Reviews of Kinondo Kwetu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kinondo Kwetu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"A little bit of paradise on the Kenya coast. "

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"Kinondo Kwetu is a little bit of paradise on the Kenya coast.

As you drive through the discreet wooden gates you are warmly welcomed and that welcome continues throughout your stay.

The staff are extremely friendly and hospitable. Nothing is too much trouble. Even though the meals were absolutely delicious, they catered very well for our fussy teenager. The accommodation is rustic but comfortable. The bedroom outdoor terraces are lovely.

Three beautiful days by the sea and a perfect end to our stay in Kenya." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr S.
Chester

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2022
"Fabulous small hotel, lovely room - they up graded us to a suite.

Rather odd eating arrangements - no dining room as such so moved around to different locations each evening. Dinner on top of water tower not a good idea - food cold by the time it got there and had to eat sitting on the floor - difficult to cut meat! Food excellent.

Very helpful staff, nothing too much trouble.

For the price, I was disappointed to be charged extra for a group yoga session." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs B
London

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

8 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2022
"After our safari we decided to stay in Kenya and go to the beach for some relaxation. Kinondo Kwetu was the perfect place to do this.

The location and setting is stunning, the staff fantastic and the food is some of the best we have had. From all our research then this is the most luxury you will find on the Kenya coast and so if this is a special trip (ours was our honeymoon) then I’d highly recommend Kinondo. The one downside is that a lot of the activities incur an extra cost but kayaking/tennis are free and if you are happy to just eat/drink and relax then that’s not a problem.

Aside from the amazing staff and food, a lovely touch is you move around for each meal and experience different places to eat.

It’s worth doing some research on the rooms, we had a night in a beach cottage which was lovely albeit a bit rustic but luckily we were upgraded to a suite for our honeymoon which was very nice." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Lancs

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

10 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2022
"Nice rustic lodge but have to be aware families come here did spoil the serenity a little

Accommodation was good but a little rustic

Food was good although a little repetitive although having said that they do offer to cook you something different if you ask and they are happy to do this." See all these reviews: 19n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Lucy & Richard
London

"Heavenly Kinondo Kwetu "

7 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2022
"Really lovely resort - white sand - a causeway across the coral so you can see the wildlife without getting wet (!) - shady trees - excellent food and lovely, lovely, staff - spectacular architecture - huge spacious accommodation - huge pool - we had a happy lazy week here that ended too soon.

Only slight criticisms are (1) that it is quite a trek into town - although the resort was so lovely that you really didn't want to leave it it's always nice to see how the locals live and (2) boat trips seemed eye-wateringly expensive.

But, honestly, I can't think of any other resort I'd so like to return to." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
London

"Wow. What a beautiful place!"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2021
"Wow. What a beautiful place. Rustic but luxurious rooms, a choice of two pools and when we visited the sea was 32 degrees! Yes, really!

Fantastic food and extremely friendly and kind staff (who are very good at making cocktails!) They move the location of dinner to a different beautiful spot every evening!

We were really pleased to see that the whole lodge was in the process of switching to solar power, and it really felt like an environmental theme was quite prominent. It's also worth noting that the lodge is quite far out of town, and as a result it is extremely private - you can walk out on the beach and often have it all to yourself.

We did two dives while staying at Kinondo Kwetu, and the boat picked us up right from the beach. We were lucky to see turtles, anglefish, trumpet fish, crocodile fish and even huge shoals of sardines. Having dived in both, I would say the reefs are in substantially better condition than down the coast in Zanzibar.

We also took a visit to the nearby sacred forest. If you do one thing (in between eating and relaxing), you must visit the incredible forest just a few hundred meters away. We were shown around by a local student who was a fountain of knowledge about the wildlife, trees , medicinal plants and indignous groups that lived in this area. There are so few patches of coastal forest left, do take the opportunity to see one - and the very modest $10 entrance fee is a worthy contribution to its preservation. If you like birds, ask to go early in the morning!

Next time, I think we would start our trip at the beach to relax and unwind, before then setting off on our safari. That way around might be even better!" See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Andreas
Switzerland

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

6 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2021
"We (2 adults, 2 children 12 and 15) spent 6 nights to relax after our safari. This was a great addition to our schedule, and we greatly recommend that visitors spend a few days there instead of only visiting safari camps and hushing out of the country thereafter.

The information and photos on the internet had set high expectations, but our experience surpassed those. The generous park-like setting with many trees full with birds and monkeys is marvelous, the buildings and rooms are exceptionally well designed and influenced by traditional, local styles, decorated with African art, but with modern comfort and much attention to detail. The staff, headed by Anna, was overwhelming in how much they cared, considered our wishes, repositioned the locations of our meals, surprised us with cocktails during the day and invited artists and musicians.

The place with its two pools, sandy beach and comfortable furniture are already a good basis for spending days there. We made good use of the morning gym classes (facing the ocean) and sea kayaks, and other local activities would have been available. Trips to Diani Beach are further away and require transportation. We also visited the well run Kinondo Kwetu Health Services center supported by the Kinondo Kwetu foundation.

On the last day, we had the opportunity to meet the Andersson family and were amazed to hear that they conceptualized Kinondo Kwetu by themselves and how much they care about their employees and the people in the village nearby.

As we were going to thereafter leave Kenya, we much appreciated that a nurse came to the camp to take samples for the Covid tests and thereafter mailed us the results. The staff was very careful to heed the health precautions." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kinondo Kwetu - a great place to relax"

4 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2020
"This place is in a stunning location right on the edge of the beach. There were lots of activities available but we used the time to relax and chill out.

However, the one activity that we did was amazing and we would definitely recommend it to others who love marine life. We went snorkelling with whale sharks with Whale Shark Adventures.

Anna, the manager, was very friendly and extremely helpful throughout our stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G.
Newark

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"Kinondo Kwetu is beautiful. All the outside areas, the beach, the pools and the bar/restaurant area are really lovely. Our rustic beach cottage was in a great location, we could see the beach from our outside decking. 

It was very quiet when we were there with only around 5 other rooms taken which meant we had the beach and the pools to ourselves most of the stay, however there are loads of sun beds and the main pool is very big so I don't think space would be a problem even when it's full.

The beach was lovely, it was great for a walk and a swim when the tide was in. They have discrete security staff on the grounds at all times so it felt quite safe and secure. All the staff were really helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was ample, however lunch and dinner were just okay. Their vegetarian options were limited. We stayed for 4 nights and on the 4th night they wanted to give me what I'd had on the first night for dinner. 

All the excursions they offered were mega expensive ie 600 us dollars to have a boat trip to the marine park. The next place we stayed in Diani did similar trips but for a lot less." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Hampshire

"Paradise!"

7 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2018
"We cannot fault a single aspect. The service from top to bottom was exemplary without being overstated, and nothing was too much trouble.

I would say that we experienced the finest and most appropriate level of service and friendliness without comparison anywhere in the World we have travelled, from Australia to Singapore, South America, the Caribbean, numerous islands, and cruises with the best including Seabourne.

This is a real gem!" See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 16
98%
16 reviews of Kinondo Kwetu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kenya Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort is a relaxed resort-style hotel at the far south end of Diani Beach - an area known as Galu Beach.


88% (12 reviews)
Asha Boutique Hotel

Asha Boutique Hotel

Diani Blue is a low-key but stylishly comfortable small guesthouse, with high levels of service, in a busy, central part of Diani Beach.


94% (7 reviews)
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad is a good-value, laidback, family friendly resort with lots of Swahili character.


80% (6 reviews)
Driftwood Beach Club

Driftwood Beach Club

The low-key and long-established Driftwood is a family-friendly, owner-managed, bungalow-style beach hotel on a beautiful stretch of sands just south of Malindi town.


87% (3 reviews)
Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas is an exclusive, owner-run, hideaway property consisting of three unique villas in a central part of the north end of Diani Beach.


100% (2 reviews)
Peponi

Peponi

Peponi is a long-established beach hotel, renowned for its good food, located in the village of Shela on the south side of Lamu island.


100% (2 reviews)
Mnarani Club

Mnarani Club

The Mnarari Club is located towards the seaward end of the beautiful Killifi Creek, and is an enduring favourite on the Kenya coast.


100% (2 reviews)
Water Lovers Beach Resort

Water Lovers

Water Lovers is a popular, low-key beach hotel in a central location on Diani Beach on the south coast of Kenya.


100% (2 reviews)
Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports is long-established and popular beach hotel right on one of Watamu's famous and beautiful bays.


90% (2 reviews)
AfroChic

AfroChic

Afro-Chic is a modern, Mediterranean-style ten-room boutique hotel on Diani Beach, with good food and a pleasant pool.


100% (1 review)
Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge is a picturesque tree-hotel overlooking a forest waterhole in Shimba Hills National Park, with an aerial walkway and abundant wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort is a large beach hotel on Shanzu Beach, north of Mombasa town, on Kenya's Indian Ocean coast.


100% (1 review)
Kutazama

Kutazama

Kutazama is an owner-managed, boutique luxury lodge in the Shimba Hills in a stunning location overlooking the Mwaluganje Elephant Sanctuary.


100% (1 review)
Hemingways Watamu

Hemingways Watamu

Long-established resort hotel with a strong British following and a good reputation for deep-sea fishing.


80% (1 review)
The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island is a beach resort offering plenty of activities and beautiful flora and fauna all around.


80% (1 review)
Kizingo

Kizingo

Kizingo is an owner-managed, rustic, barefoot beach lodge on the southwest tip of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Tamarind Village

Tamarind Village

Tamaarind Village is a well managed apartment complex close to Mombasa city, with excellent restaurants, pools and visitor services.


No reviews yet
Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer is a relatively large rustic beach lodge on the west coast of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday’s Mida Cove is a stylish beach lodge, suited to those who are sociable and will enjoy the engaging hosts and the convivial atmosphere they create.


No reviews yet
Che Shale

Che Shale

Che Shale is sand-and-palm-tree beach lodge of rustic bandas, dedicated to kitesurfing and chilling out, located on a remote and beautiful bay half an hour’s drive north of Malindi Airport.


No reviews yet
Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village is a rustic, owner-built, owner-run beach lodge, with simple rooms made from local materials, located where Lamu Creek meets the Indian Ocean.


No reviews yet
Manda Bay

Manda Bay

Manda Bay is a luxury beach hideaway in a remote corner of an island in the Lamu archipelago, on Kenya's northern coast. It has a huge range of water sports on offer.


No reviews yet
The Majlis

The Majlis

The Majlis is a modern 27-room resort hotel on the beachfront of Manda island.


No reviews yet
Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach is one of the biggest resort hotels on Diani Beach, with a spectacular lobby and cascading swimming pool.


No reviews yet
House on the Beach

House on the Beach

House on the Beach is a comfortable family-size, private beach house with a large pool set by a cave complex, and a delightful garden leading down to the beach, in a secluded spot on Tiwi Beach.


No reviews yet
Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House is a secluded and luxurious boutique hotel on the southern Kenya coast, south of Diani Beach.


No reviews yet
Lamu House

Lamu House

Lamu House is a boutique hotel on the waterfront in Lamu town, with a swimming pool, bar and terrace restaurant.


No reviews yet
The Maji

The Maji

The Maji is a small, well managed beach hotel on the northern stretch of Diani Beach in southern Kenya.


No reviews yet
Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys is a remote beach property on its own private island on the far south coast of Kenya. Rustic in style, it will suit you if you cherish exclusivity over modern design.


No reviews yet
Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach is one of the smallest and quietest beach properties on Kenya’s coast, with a focus on rest and relaxation away from other tourists.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa