This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu

Reviews of Kinondo Kwetu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kinondo Kwetu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kinondo Kwetu - a great place to relax"

4 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2020
"This place is in a stunning location right on the edge of the beach. There were lots of activities available but we used the time to relax and chill out.

However, the one activity that we did was amazing and we would definitely recommend it to others who love marine life. We went snorkelling with whale sharks with Whale Shark Adventures.

Anna, the manager, was very friendly and extremely helpful throughout our stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G.
Newark

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"Kinondo Kwetu is beautiful. All the outside areas, the beach, the pools and the bar/restaurant area are really lovely. Our rustic beach cottage was in a great location, we could see the beach from our outside decking. 

It was very quiet when we were there with only around 5 other rooms taken which meant we had the beach and the pools to ourselves most of the stay, however there are loads of sun beds and the main pool is very big so I don't think space would be a problem even when it's full.

The beach was lovely, it was great for a walk and a swim when the tide was in. They have discrete security staff on the grounds at all times so it felt quite safe and secure. All the staff were really helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was ample, however lunch and dinner were just okay. Their vegetarian options were limited. We stayed for 4 nights and on the 4th night they wanted to give me what I'd had on the first night for dinner. 

All the excursions they offered were mega expensive ie 600 us dollars to have a boat trip to the marine park. The next place we stayed in Diani did similar trips but for a lot less." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Hampshire

"Paradise!"

7 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2018
"We cannot fault a single aspect. The service from top to bottom was exemplary without being overstated, and nothing was too much trouble.

I would say that we experienced the finest and most appropriate level of service and friendliness without comparison anywhere in the World we have travelled, from Australia to Singapore, South America, the Caribbean, numerous islands, and cruises with the best including Seabourne.

This is a real gem!" See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Chicago

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2018
"Delightful retreat, lovely food and service. We more or less just relaxed by the beach, had massages, used the cliff top gym and swam in the beautiful pool. A perfect end to six days of safari which takes it out of you!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs BP
Surrey

"perfect place to relax after safari"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"This hotel is a little gem! After a great safari it is lovely to take time to relax completely.

We were warmly welcomed by Ana who explained everything to us and took us to our cottages. The staff were delightful and always available but not intrusive.

All round the grounds there are numerous chairs and benches beautifully decorated with colourful cushions. All placed in a little corner of peace. Some in the shade, most with fabulous views of the Indian Ocean.

It seems you can always find a little place to be alone and take in the view.

I loved that everything was out for us to help ourselves, drinks by the pool, towels by pool and sea, tea and coffee stations at various points in the grounds. Kayaks and snorkel equipment on the beach.

There is a yoga station and some morning classes, also some rather outdated gym equipment on a cliff giving it a fantastic view out to sea. Very therapeutic!

The food was good, there was a set menu for both lunch and dinner but other things were available on request. The best meal was the Sunday curry lunch!

In the same spirit of informality lunch and dinner is taken in different places throughout your stay.

This was a perfect end to our holiday but guests should realise it is not suitable for trips to Mombasa, the Marine Park, or safaris in Tsavo. It is a good one and half hours drive to Mombasa on slow roads. Also there are no local shops, bars or restaurants.

The beach is beautiful but there is a wide stretch of coral beyond the beach which means you need shoes. The owners have made a concrete causeway below waterline so that it is possible to walk beyond the coral to swim." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family S
Lonond

"Paradise"

5 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2017
"Amazing hotel, with amazing staff. Couldn't fault it." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Edinburgh

"Fantastic hotel - the most relaxing time ever"

4 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2016
"Absolutely wonderful beach hotel where we had the most relaxing few days at the coast after a week on safari. I cannot praise the hotel enough!

It was quite quiet but even if it was busy the hotel would never feel crowded as there are so many little areas to sit in and enjoy peace and quiet. We loved the fact there is no dining room - finding where our lunch or dinner were being served, from the pool to the beach hut, was great fun and always a surprise. The food was outstanding.

Attention to detail was apparent everywhere and the genuine interest of the managers was great. We had expected to explore a bit and eat out a couple of times - we never left the hotel!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Friern Barnet

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"A great place to chill and relax and yet still we could be active with water skiing and boat trips, the on site facilities were good and readily accessible." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Dr N
London

"Beach paradise at Kinondo Kwetu"

5 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2015
"Our five days at Kinondo Kwetu were the perfect way to end our honeymoon.

Food and drink were amazing, with dinners served at different venues across the resort, which was a lovely touch. The pools are great and kayaking/diving facilities are wonderful. It was all made so easy for us. Excellent massages and yoga classes overlooking the sea - the dream!

An added bonus was the tennis court, which allowed us to be a little more active when we wanted to be!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
96%
9 reviews of Kinondo Kwetu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kenya Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort is a relaxed resort-style hotel at the far south end of Diani Beach - an area known as Galu Beach.


87% (11 reviews)
Diani Blue

Diani Blue

Diani Blue is a low-key but stylishly comfortable small guesthouse, with high levels of service, in a busy, central part of Diani Beach.


94% (7 reviews)
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad is a good-value, laidback, family friendly resort with lots of Swahili character.


80% (5 reviews)
Driftwood Beach Club

Driftwood Beach Club

The low-key and long-established Driftwood is a family-friendly, owner-managed, bungalow-style beach hotel on a beautiful stretch of sands just south of Malindi town.


87% (3 reviews)
Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas is an exclusive, owner-run, hideaway property consisting of three unique villas in a central part of the north end of Diani Beach.


100% (2 reviews)
Peponi

Peponi

Peponi is a long-established beach hotel, renowned for its good food, located in the village of Shela on the south side of Lamu island.


100% (2 reviews)
Mnarani Club

Mnarani Club

The Mnarari Club is located towards the seaward end of the beautiful Killifi Creek, and is an enduring favourite on the Kenya coast.


100% (2 reviews)
Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports is long-established and popular beach hotel right on one of Watamu's famous and beautiful bays.


90% (2 reviews)
AfroChic

AfroChic

Afro-Chic is a modern, Mediterranean-style ten-room boutique hotel on Diani Beach, with good food and a pleasant pool.


100% (1 review)
Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge is a picturesque tree-hotel overlooking a forest waterhole in Shimba Hills National Park, with an aerial walkway and abundant wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort is a large beach hotel on Shanzu Beach, north of Mombasa town, on Kenya's Indian Ocean coast.


100% (1 review)
Kutazama

Kutazama

Kutazama is an owner-managed, boutique luxury lodge in the Shimba Hills in a stunning location overlooking the Mwaluganje Elephant Sanctuary.


100% (1 review)
Hemingways Watamu

Hemingways Watamu

Long-established resort hotel with a strong British following and a good reputation for deep-sea fishing.


80% (1 review)
The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island is a beach resort offering plenty of activities and beautiful flora and fauna all around.


80% (1 review)
Kizingo

Kizingo

Kizingo is an owner-managed, rustic, barefoot beach lodge on the southwest tip of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Tamarind Village

Tamarind Village

Tamaarind Village is a well managed apartment complex close to Mombasa city, with excellent restaurants, pools and visitor services.


No reviews yet
Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer is a relatively large rustic beach lodge on the west coast of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday’s Mida Cove is a stylish beach lodge, suited to those who are sociable and will enjoy the engaging hosts and the convivial atmosphere they create.


No reviews yet
Che Shale

Che Shale

Che Shale is sand-and-palm-tree beach lodge of rustic bandas, dedicated to kitesurfing and chilling out, located on a remote and beautiful bay half an hour’s drive north of Malindi Airport.


No reviews yet
Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village is a rustic, owner-built, owner-run beach lodge, with simple rooms made from local materials, located where Lamu Creek meets the Indian Ocean.


No reviews yet
Manda Bay

Manda Bay

Manda Bay is a luxury beach hideaway in a remote corner of an island in the Lamu archipelago, on Kenya's northern coast. It has a huge range of water sports on offer.


No reviews yet
The Majlis

The Majlis

The Majlis is a modern 27-room resort hotel on the beachfront of Manda island.


No reviews yet
Water Lovers Beach Resort

Water Lovers

Water Lovers is a popular, low-key beach hotel in a central location on Diani Beach on the south coast of Kenya.


No reviews yet
Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach is one of the biggest resort hotels on Diani Beach, with a spectacular lobby and cascading swimming pool.


No reviews yet
House on the Beach

House on the Beach

House on the Beach is a comfortable family-size, private beach house with a large pool set by a cave complex, and a delightful garden leading down to the beach, in a secluded spot on Tiwi Beach.


No reviews yet
Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House is a secluded and luxurious boutique hotel on the southern Kenya coast, south of Diani Beach.


No reviews yet
Lamu House

Lamu House

Lamu House is a boutique hotel on the waterfront in Lamu town, with a swimming pool, bar and terrace restaurant.


No reviews yet
The Maji

The Maji

The Maji is a small, well managed beach hotel on the northern stretch of Diani Beach in southern Kenya.


No reviews yet
Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys is a remote beach property on its own private island on the far south coast of Kenya. Rustic in style, it will suit you if you cherish exclusivity over modern design.


No reviews yet
Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach is one of the smallest and quietest beach properties on Kenya’s coast, with a focus on rest and relaxation away from other tourists.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa