This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu

Reviews of Kinondo Kwetu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kinondo Kwetu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H
Cheshire

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

7 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2022
"Visually beautiful, stylish and very comfortable with amazing attention to detail.

All of the staff were extremely helpful, kind and friendly. Didi, the manager, couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable.

The settings for meals (which changed nightly) were always stunning and the food was delicious." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Exmoor Somerset

"Kinondo Kwetu stunning!"

6 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"Such an amazing well run peaceful location to finish off an outstanding holiday experience.
Stunning accommodation with beautiful views of the ocean.
Friendly and accommodating staff a pleasure to be with.
Amazing food imaginatively created and executed. Loved experiencing different locations and settings around the grounds.
Such a friendly yet tranquil atmosphere.
Loved enjoying the spa and health facilities.
Perfect!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Cheltenham

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

5 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2022
"A peaceful final stop for our holiday, after being out on safari we were content to just relax and this was the perfect place for that.

Each day we saw at most a dozen other guests and easily as many staff members, making this the ideal place to go for a quiet break. The secluded strip of beach meant that the only people outside the site we saw were the occasional passing fishermen.

The staff were all very polite and friendly, working hard to make sure we had everything we wanted. The food was excellent, always a set lunch and dinner of mostly seafood due to the location, written up in advance so you have opportunity to request something else. I'm quite a fussy eater but never had to ask for something different.

This was such a lovely place we were sad to leave to travel home." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"A little bit of paradise on the Kenya coast. "

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"Kinondo Kwetu is a little bit of paradise on the Kenya coast.

As you drive through the discreet wooden gates you are warmly welcomed and that welcome continues throughout your stay.

The staff are extremely friendly and hospitable. Nothing is too much trouble. Even though the meals were absolutely delicious, they catered very well for our fussy teenager. The accommodation is rustic but comfortable. The bedroom outdoor terraces are lovely.

Three beautiful days by the sea and a perfect end to our stay in Kenya." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr V
Birmingham

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2022
"Wonderful beach front setting, accommodation was carefully thought out by the Swedish owners and fitted in with the setting especially the African furniture and created the ethos for a relaxing stay.

Snorkelling trip was excellent.

Staff were very accommodating and thoughtful throughout, went the extra mile, for example getting in a specific type of wine when requested I would describe this as a luxury boutique lodge rather than hotel as a hotel would have a wider menu." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Chester

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2022
"Fabulous small hotel, lovely room - they up graded us to a suite.

Rather odd eating arrangements - no dining room as such so moved around to different locations each evening. Dinner on top of water tower not a good idea - food cold by the time it got there and had to eat sitting on the floor - difficult to cut meat! Food excellent.

Very helpful staff, nothing too much trouble.

For the price, I was disappointed to be charged extra for a group yoga session." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs B
London

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

8 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2022
"After our safari we decided to stay in Kenya and go to the beach for some relaxation. Kinondo Kwetu was the perfect place to do this.

The location and setting is stunning, the staff fantastic and the food is some of the best we have had. From all our research then this is the most luxury you will find on the Kenya coast and so if this is a special trip (ours was our honeymoon) then I’d highly recommend Kinondo. The one downside is that a lot of the activities incur an extra cost but kayaking/tennis are free and if you are happy to just eat/drink and relax then that’s not a problem.

Aside from the amazing staff and food, a lovely touch is you move around for each meal and experience different places to eat.

It’s worth doing some research on the rooms, we had a night in a beach cottage which was lovely albeit a bit rustic but luckily we were upgraded to a suite for our honeymoon which was very nice." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Lancs

"Kinondo Kwetu review"

10 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2022
"Nice rustic lodge but have to be aware families come here did spoil the serenity a little

Accommodation was good but a little rustic

Food was good although a little repetitive although having said that they do offer to cook you something different if you ask and they are happy to do this." See all these reviews: 19n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Lucy & Richard
London

"Heavenly Kinondo Kwetu "

7 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2022
"Really lovely resort - white sand - a causeway across the coral so you can see the wildlife without getting wet (!) - shady trees - excellent food and lovely, lovely, staff - spectacular architecture - huge spacious accommodation - huge pool - we had a happy lazy week here that ended too soon.

Only slight criticisms are (1) that it is quite a trek into town - although the resort was so lovely that you really didn't want to leave it it's always nice to see how the locals live and (2) boat trips seemed eye-wateringly expensive.

But, honestly, I can't think of any other resort I'd so like to return to." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
London

"Wow. What a beautiful place!"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2021
"Wow. What a beautiful place. Rustic but luxurious rooms, a choice of two pools and when we visited the sea was 32 degrees! Yes, really!

Fantastic food and extremely friendly and kind staff (who are very good at making cocktails!) They move the location of dinner to a different beautiful spot every evening!

We were really pleased to see that the whole lodge was in the process of switching to solar power, and it really felt like an environmental theme was quite prominent. It's also worth noting that the lodge is quite far out of town, and as a result it is extremely private - you can walk out on the beach and often have it all to yourself.

We did two dives while staying at Kinondo Kwetu, and the boat picked us up right from the beach. We were lucky to see turtles, anglefish, trumpet fish, crocodile fish and even huge shoals of sardines. Having dived in both, I would say the reefs are in substantially better condition than down the coast in Zanzibar.

We also took a visit to the nearby sacred forest. If you do one thing (in between eating and relaxing), you must visit the incredible forest just a few hundred meters away. We were shown around by a local student who was a fountain of knowledge about the wildlife, trees , medicinal plants and indignous groups that lived in this area. There are so few patches of coastal forest left, do take the opportunity to see one - and the very modest $10 entrance fee is a worthy contribution to its preservation. If you like birds, ask to go early in the morning!

Next time, I think we would start our trip at the beach to relax and unwind, before then setting off on our safari. That way around might be even better!" See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 20
98%
20 reviews of Kinondo Kwetu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kenya Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort is a relaxed resort-style hotel at the far south end of Diani Beach - an area known as Galu Beach.


89% (14 reviews)
Asha Boutique Hotel

Asha Boutique Hotel

Diani Blue is a low-key but stylishly comfortable small guesthouse, with high levels of service, in a busy, central part of Diani Beach.


95% (8 reviews)
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad is a good-value, laidback, family friendly resort with lots of Swahili character.


80% (6 reviews)
Water Lovers Beach Resort

Water Lovers

Water Lovers is a popular, low-key beach hotel in a central location on Diani Beach on the south coast of Kenya.


95% (4 reviews)
Driftwood Beach Club

Driftwood Beach Club

The low-key and long-established Driftwood is a family-friendly, owner-managed, bungalow-style beach hotel on a beautiful stretch of sands just south of Malindi town.


87% (3 reviews)
Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas is an exclusive, owner-run, hideaway property consisting of three unique villas in a central part of the north end of Diani Beach.


100% (2 reviews)
Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports is long-established and popular beach hotel right on one of Watamu's famous and beautiful bays.


90% (2 reviews)
Peponi

Peponi

Peponi is a long-established beach hotel, renowned for its good food, located in the village of Shela on the south side of Lamu island.


100% (2 reviews)
Mnarani Club

Mnarani Club

The Mnarari Club is located towards the seaward end of the beautiful Killifi Creek, and is an enduring favourite on the Kenya coast.


100% (2 reviews)
Kutazama

Kutazama

Kutazama is an owner-managed, boutique luxury lodge in the Shimba Hills in a stunning location overlooking the Mwaluganje Elephant Sanctuary.


100% (1 review)
Hemingways Watamu

Hemingways Watamu

Long-established resort hotel with a strong British following and a good reputation for deep-sea fishing.


80% (1 review)
The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island is a beach resort offering plenty of activities and beautiful flora and fauna all around.


80% (1 review)
AfroChic

AfroChic

Afro-Chic is a modern, Mediterranean-style ten-room boutique hotel on Diani Beach, with good food and a pleasant pool.


100% (1 review)
Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge is a picturesque tree-hotel overlooking a forest waterhole in Shimba Hills National Park, with an aerial walkway and abundant wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort is a large beach hotel on Shanzu Beach, north of Mombasa town, on Kenya's Indian Ocean coast.


100% (1 review)
Kizingo

Kizingo

Kizingo is an owner-managed, rustic, barefoot beach lodge on the southwest tip of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Tamarind Village

Tamarind Village

Tamaarind Village is a well managed apartment complex close to Mombasa city, with excellent restaurants, pools and visitor services.


No reviews yet
Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer is a relatively large rustic beach lodge on the west coast of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday’s Mida Cove is a stylish beach lodge, suited to those who are sociable and will enjoy the engaging hosts and the convivial atmosphere they create.


No reviews yet
Che Shale

Che Shale

Che Shale is sand-and-palm-tree beach lodge of rustic bandas, dedicated to kitesurfing and chilling out, located on a remote and beautiful bay half an hour’s drive north of Malindi Airport.


No reviews yet
Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village is a rustic, owner-built, owner-run beach lodge, with simple rooms made from local materials, located where Lamu Creek meets the Indian Ocean.


No reviews yet
Manda Bay

Manda Bay

Manda Bay is a luxury beach hideaway in a remote corner of an island in the Lamu archipelago, on Kenya's northern coast. It has a huge range of water sports on offer.


No reviews yet
The Majlis

The Majlis

The Majlis is a modern 27-room resort hotel on the beachfront of Manda island.


No reviews yet
Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach is one of the biggest resort hotels on Diani Beach, with a spectacular lobby and cascading swimming pool.


No reviews yet
House on the Beach

House on the Beach

House on the Beach is a comfortable family-size, private beach house with a large pool set by a cave complex, and a delightful garden leading down to the beach, in a secluded spot on Tiwi Beach.


No reviews yet
Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House is a secluded and luxurious boutique hotel on the southern Kenya coast, south of Diani Beach.


No reviews yet
Lamu House

Lamu House

Lamu House is a boutique hotel on the waterfront in Lamu town, with a swimming pool, bar and terrace restaurant.


No reviews yet
The Maji

The Maji

The Maji is a small, well managed beach hotel on the northern stretch of Diani Beach in southern Kenya.


No reviews yet
Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys is a remote beach property on its own private island on the far south coast of Kenya. Rustic in style, it will suit you if you cherish exclusivity over modern design.


No reviews yet
Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach is one of the smallest and quietest beach properties on Kenya’s coast, with a focus on rest and relaxation away from other tourists.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa