This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pinewood Beach Resort
Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort


4°22’37.4"S 39°33’15.9"E

Reviews of Pinewood Beach Resort

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pinewood Beach Resort and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs J
Milton Keynes

"Pinewood Beach Resort review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Just a standard beach hotel.

We were left waiting an hour for the pickup (the friendly airport guy helped us) and then they tried to charge us for transfers which they stated were not included until I showed them paperwork." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr I
Reading

"Time to unwind on the beach."

5 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2018
"We had a wonderful time at Pinewood Beach Resort.
The hotel was only 20 minutes from Diani airport and we were promptly picked up .
The hotel staff were very welcoming on arrival and we were soon unpacked and on the beach .
Our room was immediately behind the beach at first floor level so we had a great view of sea .
The staff who looked after our room could not have been more attentive .It was cleaned daily , beds made with a floral message and decoration on top , and the mosquito net drawn each evening . With regards to mosquitos we hardly saw any on our entire trip .
The meals were exceptional with fresh food cooked for you as you waited and the venue for dinner changing each day from the beach,pool area to the main restaurant.
Whilst we had planned to get out about we in fact we’re happy to stay at the hotel .The exception to this was a snorkelling trip arranged by the water sport people next door to the reef one afternoon . This is really worth doing and an opportunity to see some very colourful and large fish ." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
Bucks

"The perfect spot after a safari"

3 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2016
"Here again we were all delighted with the overall experience --and the sum of the parts was much bigger than the individual parts scored. Bit of a bumpy ride down an unmade road and quite a way from the little town could mean to some an ''excellent' rating. The beach here is mile after mile of perfect white sand but our party tended to congregate around the well laid out pool and adjacent bar and gym. The rooms were large and had a lovely African Art feel to them, the taps/shower were a bit dated and the layout of the hotel meant that only a very few had sea views. The service from the beach bar was sometimes a bit slow but Moses at the pool bar was a true professional .

All the waiters were superb and all the staff were always smiling and happy to greet you. The GM Pamela was outstanding and had a great sense of humour. She also takes any left over suntan cream to an orphanage for Albinos --but that is just part of what she does to help these stigmatised children.

The New Years Eve buffet on the beach was probably the best spread I have seen. Unlimited enormous king prawns, lobster and countless other fish and every meat on the grill including crocodile. The evening buffets in the main restraint were excellent by Kenyan standards but we all agreed the best thing was the chips served from both the beach and pool bar --they were tasty beyond--irresistible !!

Activities --There was a well organised volley ball game in the afternoons and few other things like a dart completion. Plenty to do but at a price --kite surfing scuba deep sea fishing (we caught a dozen smallish tuna and a dorado which they cooked for lunch for us) camel riding and glass bottomed boat and snorkelling.

Gym was adequate and spa tucked away a bit" See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
The M family
Michigan

"Crystal Clear Waters of the Indian Ocean"

5 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2015
"After a week on safari, this was the perfect place to dust ourselves off, cannonball into the pool, soak in the sun, and splash in the Indian Ocean. That water! Those pictures in the magazines are not enhanced. The water is really that beautiful, and the most spectacular I have ever seen, the color indescribable, the clarity like crystal, the beaches pure white.

The Pinewood was adorned with unique and abundant plants and flowers and trees and provided a lush entrance and oasis for birds and monkeys and lizards and geckos. The bar and lobby area were inviting and comfortable and a great spot to read a book, use the internet or watch the television, drink tea or coffee or order a cocktail, and watch the birds over the koi pond and water features. Food was excellent and varied and there were plenty of options for the most finicky eaters. The staff and chefs went out of there way to accommodate requests, and make sure we were all happy and comfortable.

We spent most of our time at the pool because our two young children wanted to do nothing but swim. The pool was beautiful, clean, and refreshing with plenty of lounges. The pool swim up bar was perfect for the girls daily chocolate shake, daddy's local Kenyan brew, and momma's Kenyan Sling. Moses served them all up with a smile, and a bit of fun with the girls. The beach side bar and grill served up fantastic wood fired pizzas, and a large menu to choose from with traditional dishes, fresh seafood, and burgers. Eat on the patio, on the beach, or in the cozy beach couches.

The weather was a bit strange for this time of year due to El Nino, and we received rain in the afternoon on a daily basis. It did not really effect us too much because the mornings were wonderful and sunny. We had breakfast, we went swimming, and enjoyed a good chunk of the day before the rains came. The rains came late afternoon when it was typically time to rest and get cleaned up for dinner. The rains sort of worked on schedule, came and went quickly, and nights were clear for late afternoon and dinner.

This strange weather pattern, however, brought in an out of the ordinary amount of seaweed up and down the coast of Diani Beach and very low tide, which we were told was very uncommon, and a bit unfortunate timing for us, as we did not swim in the ocean or walk the beach as much at the resort. This was not a resort issue, and simply nature at work. The resort staff worked hard to rake up the seaweed and clean the beach daily, so it was always beautiful. We would not let a silly thing like seaweed stop us anyway, and signed up for a snorkeling tour on a glass bottom boat that took us to a gorgeous atoll where there was no seaweed and the most magnificent white beach and clear water, and a gorgeous snorkeling spot, and a perfect place to swim and splash and play in the ocean. I could have stayed on that little beach atoll for days, it was gorgeous. They had many other water activities to choose from like kite surfing, diving, fishing and more, but because our kids are so young we were happy doing the snorkeling and hanging at the pool.

The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable beds with absolutely no complaints. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay happy and comfortable and always went out of their way to engage with the kids and joke with them. Pamela, the office manager, was exceptional and spent a lot of time with me talking about Kenya, her love for her country and for Diani Beach, and why everyone should come to the coast. I would return and I would recommend others to as well. It is a perfect place to rest and relax after an action packed safari." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The F family
Somerset

"Peaceful location"

6 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"Following an outstanding safari ,Pinewood Beach Resort was a welcome location to relax and reflect.
Sadly due to serious drop in visitor numbers because of the ongoing troubles in the north, all be it no evidence apparent throughout our journey, our family of six made up the total of 24 guests. Great for peace and quiet during the day however couldn't create enough atmosphere in the evenings. No fault of the hotels but with a capacity of 120 ish none the less had an impact.
That aside Hotel was clean well cared for with attentive staff and good food. Our suite spacious but lacking imagination and style.
Beginning to look a little tired. All but a couple of suites had views and only potentially overlooking the beach and sea purely down to the orientation of the plot and densely planted narrow grounds.
One dislike was,the always on, large television sited in the main bar and sitting area outside of the restaurant. A small not very comfortable area at best, sadly not conducive to spend any quality time relaxing.
Overall a pleasant time was had, however, no great wow factor which was hoped for and with that in mind would probably not return." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The C family
S London

"Bit disappointed in Pinewood"

5 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2015
"Pinewood didn't live up to expectation I'm afraid.

We hadn't realised it was so far removed from Diani Beach itself and felt very isolated. Given that there weren't many other guests here the place felt very souless.

Lots of irritating little niggles and I know we should make allowances because this is Africa but compared with the 'luxury' places we've stayed in Mozambique and Malawi and most recently Zanzibar this didn't compare favourably.

Our suite was lovely and the grounds are beautiful with visiting colobus monkeys and the food was fine. But we were ready to come home." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr K & Mrs A
Kent

"Disappointed with Pinewood"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2015
"It may seem illogical to describe Pinewood Resort as disappointing but give it a 'good' rating. The reason is that it wasn't our choice - we were moved here by Expert Africa after Foreign Office security warnings about our previous location in Kilifi.

It's a perfectly decent place which might well suit honeymoon couples or those seeking complete relaxation - gorgeous beach, nice pool, attentive service etc. - but, for us, not nearly as enjoyable as Mnarani Club and in a location that wasn't as interesting or attractive as Kilifi. What we did enjoy was the wildlife - beautiful weaver birds nesting beside the restaurant and daily visits from Sykes monkeys (even though one of them made a lightning raid on our lunch).

Like everywhere we went, guest numbers were vanishingly small and this would certainly have affected the ambiance." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms C & Mr S
Dublin

"Pinewood Beach Resort review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms C & Mr S
Dublin

"Pinewood Beach Resort review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"We had some problems in this resort and following discussions with management they were very keen to ensure that they would be resolved.

Rooms are spacious. Breakfast area very nice indeed. Dinner and breakfast very good. Lunch is poor. Very clean. Well maintained. And as everywhere in Kenya lovely staff with great sense of humour." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms P & Mr C
London

"Relaxing and luxurious in a stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2013
"If being honest on the whole we wouldn't usually be inclined to take a 'resort' option, but Pinewood was perfect for us, so I am really glad we took up the recommendation. It was small enough it didn't feel over-populated and touristy, but with all the benefits of a resort including the fantastic pool (which amazed us by being largely empty to swim in, not over-crowded with children playing as we feared), huge choice of food for the main meals and various services, bars etc.

We particularly wanted to feedback on the excellent staff who were friendly and helpful without being overbearing. We had relatively complicated arrangements at Pinewood because we were coming and going, and they were hugely helpful with things like packed breakfast for the early start, looking after luggage while we were on safari, and letting us keep our room after we had checked out until our late afternoon departure.

The food was also great, particularly the evening down on the beach for the BBQ and the swahili food evening.

The beach at Pinewood is obviously fantastic and we were able to take walks without being too deterred by the beach boys along the way! Obviously the Diani 'strip' offers a huge number of hotels, and we felt we were in an excellent choice. It is quite far down the beach road, and is on the rockier part where there isn't a tarmacked road, but we didn't have any trouble getting transport up and down, and it felt a bit more out of the way as a result of being further from some of the bigger resort complexes.

We did a fantastic bicycle tour booked through Franklin at the Pinewood and organised by Diani Bicycles down to Kaya Kinondo then around the village/banana and mango trees, which was one of the highlights of the holiday and an absolute bargain for 35 euros for a half day. Pinewood is in a great location to visit Kaya Kinondo which would probably be walkable from the resort and we recommend to any visitor." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 11
87%
11 reviews of Pinewood Beach Resort by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kenya Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kinondo Kwetu

Kinondo Kwetu

Kinondo Kwetu is a small, owner-run, all-inclusive boutique lodge of exceptional quality situated on a remote stretch of beach south of the busier Diani Beach area.


96% (9 reviews)
Diani Blue

Diani Blue

Diani Blue is a low-key but stylishly comfortable small guesthouse, with high levels of service, in a busy, central part of Diani Beach.


94% (7 reviews)
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad is a good-value, laidback, family friendly resort with lots of Swahili character.


80% (5 reviews)
Driftwood Beach Club

Driftwood Beach Club

The low-key and long-established Driftwood is a family-friendly, owner-managed, bungalow-style beach hotel on a beautiful stretch of sands just south of Malindi town.


87% (3 reviews)
Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas is an exclusive, owner-run, hideaway property consisting of three unique villas in a central part of the north end of Diani Beach.


100% (2 reviews)
Peponi

Peponi

Peponi is a long-established beach hotel, renowned for its good food, located in the village of Shela on the south side of Lamu island.


100% (2 reviews)
Mnarani Club

Mnarani Club

The Mnarari Club is located towards the seaward end of the beautiful Killifi Creek, and is an enduring favourite on the Kenya coast.


100% (2 reviews)
Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports is long-established and popular beach hotel right on one of Watamu's famous and beautiful bays.


90% (2 reviews)
AfroChic

AfroChic

Afro-Chic is a modern, Mediterranean-style ten-room boutique hotel on Diani Beach, with good food and a pleasant pool.


100% (1 review)
Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge is a picturesque tree-hotel overlooking a forest waterhole in Shimba Hills National Park, with an aerial walkway and abundant wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort is a large beach hotel on Shanzu Beach, north of Mombasa town, on Kenya's Indian Ocean coast.


100% (1 review)
Kutazama

Kutazama

Kutazama is an owner-managed, boutique luxury lodge in the Shimba Hills in a stunning location overlooking the Mwaluganje Elephant Sanctuary.


100% (1 review)
Hemingways Watamu

Hemingways Watamu

Long-established resort hotel with a strong British following and a good reputation for deep-sea fishing.


80% (1 review)
The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island is a beach resort offering plenty of activities and beautiful flora and fauna all around.


80% (1 review)
Kizingo

Kizingo

Kizingo is an owner-managed, rustic, barefoot beach lodge on the southwest tip of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Tamarind Village

Tamarind Village

Tamaarind Village is a well managed apartment complex close to Mombasa city, with excellent restaurants, pools and visitor services.


No reviews yet
Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer is a relatively large rustic beach lodge on the west coast of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday’s Mida Cove is a stylish beach lodge, suited to those who are sociable and will enjoy the engaging hosts and the convivial atmosphere they create.


No reviews yet
Che Shale

Che Shale

Che Shale is sand-and-palm-tree beach lodge of rustic bandas, dedicated to kitesurfing and chilling out, located on a remote and beautiful bay half an hour’s drive north of Malindi Airport.


No reviews yet
Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village is a rustic, owner-built, owner-run beach lodge, with simple rooms made from local materials, located where Lamu Creek meets the Indian Ocean.


No reviews yet
Manda Bay

Manda Bay

Manda Bay is a luxury beach hideaway in a remote corner of an island in the Lamu archipelago, on Kenya's northern coast. It has a huge range of water sports on offer.


No reviews yet
The Majlis

The Majlis

The Majlis is a modern 27-room resort hotel on the beachfront of Manda island.


No reviews yet
Water Lovers Beach Resort

Water Lovers

Water Lovers is a popular, low-key beach hotel in a central location on Diani Beach on the south coast of Kenya.


No reviews yet
Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach is one of the biggest resort hotels on Diani Beach, with a spectacular lobby and cascading swimming pool.


No reviews yet
House on the Beach

House on the Beach

House on the Beach is a comfortable family-size, private beach house with a large pool set by a cave complex, and a delightful garden leading down to the beach, in a secluded spot on Tiwi Beach.


No reviews yet
Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House is a secluded and luxurious boutique hotel on the southern Kenya coast, south of Diani Beach.


No reviews yet
Lamu House

Lamu House

Lamu House is a boutique hotel on the waterfront in Lamu town, with a swimming pool, bar and terrace restaurant.


No reviews yet
The Maji

The Maji

The Maji is a small, well managed beach hotel on the northern stretch of Diani Beach in southern Kenya.


No reviews yet
Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys is a remote beach property on its own private island on the far south coast of Kenya. Rustic in style, it will suit you if you cherish exclusivity over modern design.


No reviews yet
Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach is one of the smallest and quietest beach properties on Kenya’s coast, with a focus on rest and relaxation away from other tourists.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa