This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Bath

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

0

A great holiday

Botswana between 15 Sep 2012 and 29 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very enjoyable, as always.

Yet another marvellous holiday planned by Expert Africa!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Excellent: Ernest led a very good team"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2012
"A very good way to relax, in particular after a long flight"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Saile Tented Camp

Saile Tented Camp

"A simple camp run well by Dennis"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"The camp was not as expensive as our other camps. But we felt that Dennis should have had more facilities. An example is that when there were 8 clients we were all in one vehicle with no tracker.

Overall we had a good time there. The description of the camp led us to expect more water activities.

The tents reflected the simple nature of the camp. The mattresses could have been better."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Good game viewing and makoro experience"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"George and KB were excellent guide and tracker respectively..

Some of the food was a little bit disapponting; the dinner on our first night was almost inedible."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Excellently run camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"Thuso and his deputy Obi were very involved seeing that the guests had a good experience. For instance Thuso arranged for a private safari the next morning when we had been disappointed in not seeing the carmine bee eaters at their nests.

Our guide Bali and his tracker Julius were good and we had good sightings of leopards and wild dogs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Tanzania and Rwanda

Tanzania and 1 other country between 6 Jul 2012 and 20 Jul 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were/are very pleased at your succesful efforts to change our dates etc.

Nairobi airport was not a good experience, both changing to fly to Tanzania and coming back from Rwanda. Talking to others, flying to Amsterdam and then with KLM to Kilimanjaro sounded much easier."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2012
"Rather a long way from the main road. but beautiful location!

The staff were especially friendly and efficient."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
The Manor

The Manor

"The Manor review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2012
"It was a bit over the top. It was more formal than Gibbs Farm and was run not quite as efficiently as Gibbs Farm. The food was excellent and the service good, but rather formal.

The swimming pool was cold and nobody about to help us.

As with Gibbs Farm, itt was a long way from the main road."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2012
"Our guides, Erasto and Benson, were excellent as was Alex (the senior guide) who took us on a walk and looked after us in the fly-camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2012
"Very high standard hotel but not quite living up to that level."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"Everybody at the Lodge was friendly. We felt that they needed more training.

The experience with the gorillas was very very special. The guides were very helpful. The climb to the forest to see our first group of gorillas was very strenuous and returning was even harder: we had a climb of several hours an dthen the same back. The walk to another group on the second day was very much easier and the gorillas just as interesting.

The trip to the golden monkeys was also interesting (but not equal to the gorillas!)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Tanzania: 4 camp safari holiday

Tanzania between 26 Oct 2010 and 9 Nov 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very enjoyable experience. We do wish there were more guides from the local communities being trained up."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2010
"We liked the camp and the services were good but there were two real negatives.

When we arrived after flying overnight from Lodnon plus a 2.5 hr flight to Ruaha we were met at 11 am who said we were going on a safari before going to the camp. This would have been fine if we had arrived at the camp after a couple of hours but our guide insisted on a long safari and we arrived at the camp in the dark at 6.45 pm. This was too much after a long journey. The safari was shared with another guest who had come from Dar es Salaam but she had also not wanted an immediate long safari. The second day we were pressured to do a 13 hour safari which we successfully resisted, returned at lunchtime and went out again late afternoon, avoiding the intense heat of the early afternoon.

There is the general slight problem for the camp that there seemed always to be a significant drive before any special sightings."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2010
"We were the only guests for the first two days and had Steve's undivided attention. He is an excellent guide, the best we have had in four safaris through yourselves. He interacted very well with his assistant Amon who he was training; itself something good to see.

Minor domestic details could be tightened up: one day we had no water for a shower and the next day it was not hot."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2010
"Attractive site; good game viewing with the plus of boat trips. Our guide, Mpogo, was quiet but very knowledgeable and interactive. We were served at table by Mohammed who was also excellent. But we would have preferred the more normal style of communal eating. Barbara ran the camp very well and was superb at interacting with the guests to check on possible difficulties."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Superb experience at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2010
"This is a five star camp with a superb positiion and outstanding romms and facilities. Tamlyn was an excellent hostess and our guide, Heribert, was very very good. He found us some very special sightings (eg wild dogs and lion cubs) and had very deep knowledge of the wildlife and also of conservation issues.

We had wanted to include another boat safari on the lake on our fourth day. That could have been fitted in before another couple went on one (in practice well after we would have been finished. We felt the arrangements were not always as flexible as they could have been."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2010
"We were harly there ie just overnight. It took us sometime to find a simple evening meal."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Good holiday; could take another!

Zambia between 27 Aug 2008 and 9 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Good
"Very enjoyable"

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Excellent guides, location & huts"

4 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"We enjoyed ourselves at Kaingo very much. We felt the owners should have been more "visible" eg introduced themselves. We appreciate that they had a new baby and that Mrs Shenton senr was present and was very sociable.

The game viewing was well organised and Mwila was an excellent guide, positive, helpful and knowledgeable.

The food was good but no as good as at Kuyenda."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

"Special and very welcoming;"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2008
"Phil and Babette are a good team. The game did not display itself as much as we wished but we had some good sightings.

Food was excellent eg fresh salads and imaginative menus were much appreciated.

When the camp was full having one vehicle and one guide was a pressure."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

"Good location and huts"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"It was surprisning that Bilimungwe was so underused. Our impression was that it was better than its neighbour (Chamilandu?). We stopped there on the way to Bilimungwe and the reception of the guests getting off there was much poorer.

Mike was managing the camp well and was good with the guests and with the other staff.

Our guide, Peter, was also excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Classy"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2008
"Chongwe was at a level and cost appreciably higher than the other three camps. The managers were involved and attentive. Beautiful locations.

We would have appreciated a less hectic motor drive on the river. Pottering through the reed islands is what we wanted. On the other hand the fishing trip was a great success.

Justin and George were excellent guides."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team