This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bilimungwe Bushcamp
Bilimungwe Bushcamp
Bilimungwe Bushcamp
Bilimungwe Bushcamp
Bilimungwe Bushcamp
Bilimungwe Bushcamp
Bilimungwe Bushcamp
Bilimungwe Bushcamp
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Reviews of Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bilimungwe Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bilimungwe Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Ms ES
Hornsea

"Wonderful Bilimungwe"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"Great camp, Alex was lovely and our guide Manda was great, all the staff were nice.

The room was lovely and the setting on the lagoon was wonderful, with lots of animals coming to drink.

Our last sundowner in the river was an unforgettable memory, thank you." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
NL

"interesting stories at Bilimungwe"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2016
"During our long walks, Manda and Suzyo learned us a lot about the ecosystem and life in Zambia. Rich wildlife.

Too bad we had to share the car with 6 people for the nightdrive." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Bilimungwe Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2016
"It was well worth the 2-3 hour drive down to Bili. It feels very remote and we only occasionally saw other vehicles.

The camp itself is big enough to give you space, but small enough to be very personal. There was also a lot of wildlife in and around camp day and night (we were woken one night by a very loud noise outside our room - most likely a hyena - and another night by Harry the hippo scratching himself on one of the stilts supporting the room!). Finding lion footprints in the sand of the breakfast boma on two mornings left us in no doubt we were in the wild!

Manda is a guide who comes with a high reputation and it is well earned. His knowledge and understanding of Wild Dogs in particular is fantastic. It is as though he has a sixth sense. He really understands their behaviour and was able to describe and explain what the dogs were going to do and how they were going to interact before they did exactly as he had described!

The ability to do walking safaris is one of the treats of Bili. Walking in the bush gives you a chance to look much more closely at some of the small stuff, as well as keeping you very alert! We were amazed one morning to find that a wood-fired pizza oven had been set up in the bush for brunch, along with fresh dough and all the ingredients to make our own pizzas! It might be wild, but there's a definite air of being well looked after around Bili!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Bilimungwe Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2015
"Great lodge and we loved the waterholes" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr VRG
Chiplun

"Brilliant Bili"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"This was the first Bushcamp in my South Luangwa itinerary. I was very tired after a long flight and it was dark by the time I reached the park gate. First I was taken to Mfuwe lodge where after a quick refreshment and completion of formalities, I was transferred to an open landrover. The drive to Bili lasted for almost 2 1/2 hours but turned out to be very productive with a leopard and a lioness with cubs welcoming me to South Luangwa!

Bilimungwe, the camp itself is very small with only 4 chalets. The guide Manda was excellent. Katie, the manager on site is in this job only for 3 months, but she was quite good at it and made me feel welcome at the camp. The waterhole in front of my chalet and the one in front of the deck was a magnet for wildlife especially elephants. Elephants were practically everywhere and one had to be a little careful while moving about the camp. From my chalet itself, I had good sightings of elephants, a magnificent male Kudu, Impalas, Bushbucks and even a gang of banded mongoose. At night I was woken by a antics of large hippo in the visiting the waterhole in front of my chalet....

Fortunately for me the camp was not full and there were only 4 more guests. Next morning we had a drive followed by a walk which was a practical demo of tracking a leopard on foot. Although we did not manage to find the leopard, it was great fun all the same. Evening was a spotlit night drive yielding good sightings of genets, civets, white tailed mongoose. Next day was even better with me as the only guest in the camp. Manda took me for long game drive. We tried to track down 2 male lions which are dominant in that area but failed to locate them. Instead we found 2 leopards, one male and one female, spending almost an hour with them. Most important during these 2 days we hardly came across any other vehicle and all sightings were practically private! This is in stark contrast to many parks in Kenya and even Tanzania...

All in all it's a great camp with an able guide. The slight negative point is that the chalets do not have electricity so the only light available is that comes from solar powered portable "Luci lights". This makes is a little difficult to move around in the chalet after dark and a torch is quite handy. But then again it's all part of experience of a "Bushcamp" ." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Warks

"Bilimungwe - what a location!"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2014
"This was the 2nd camp on our safari at The Bushcamp Company camps and we were bowled over when we arrived to see the fabulous location and layout. The 'chalets' are sited around 3 water holes and you don't really need to go out of camp to see a whole fabulous range of animals and birds. Just amazing! We were lucky to be staying in 'chalet' number 4, which I would suggest is the best location as it overlooks all 3 water holes. Other 'chalets' do not have such a comprehensive outlook, although they are all huge and very luxurious and overlook at least one water hole.

There was a similar regime - wake up at 5.30am for breakfast and a walk, returning at about 10.30am for brunch at 11.00am. Then siesta until game drive at 4.00pm, sundowners, then return for dinner and early night! The evening drives tended to last somewhat longer than at other camps, mainly due we think to Manda (our guide) wanting to find absolutely everything possible for us to see.

There was a temporary manager Ian, as Katie was having a well deserved break, so it probably was not reasonable to expect everything to run as efficiently as normal. Whilst everyone looked after us perfectly well, there were a couple of small glitches (like laundry not being done one day) that probably wouldn't usually happen. Having said that, we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and would not hesitate to return to this fabulous camp.

As well as being visited quite often by a variety of wildlife, the camp enjoys (?) the very close attention of a group of 3 elephants, who regularly get very close to feed on 'biscuits' from the winterthorn tree. At brunch one day, they were so close that they were picking up 'biscuits' from no more than 1 metre away from one of the guests (Roland) whilst he was sitting at the table! Consequently, walking around camp during the day can be challenging, interesting and exhilarating at the same time!

Unlike the other camps we visited, Bilimungwe actually took chairs on the game drive after tea so that we could sip our gin and tonics in total comfort at sundown - a very nice touch we thought even though we don't expect that level of pampering.

One of the highlights of our stay was enjoying our sundowner drinks (in the chairs!) whilst watching 31 elephants, ncluding one very tiny baby, crossing the river.

When we left camp for the last time, all the staff came out to say goodbye and they treated us to a wonderful song about Bili - fantastic!

All in all, a fabulous camp with fabulous game viewing that we will remember for a long time." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Bilimungwe Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"Large spacious cabins overlooking a waterhole which had a lot of animal activity. Puku, implala, wart hogs, waterbuck, kudu, bushbuck, monkeys, elephants, and a hippo were all in camp at the waterhole. A large family of elephants came in each afternoon and were great fun to watch.

This was another one of our favorite camps and we'd have liked to have stayed longer. Good drives and morning walks." See all these reviews: 22n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr GP
Manchester

"elephant heaven at bili"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2008
"after chindeni we found the rooms here alittle dark but this this was more than made up for by the location having its own waterhole game is in and around the camp all day elephants pass through and drink within yards of your room or the bar great for photos ,fisheagles,kingfishers,the resident moniter lizard who we watched catching frogs within a couple of feet of us mean you could just stay in camp and still see plenty .

the walks with the guide manda are excellent a rearly interesting man with a great knowledge and passion for his countrys history and culture finding ancient sites with bits of pottery and iron from early smelting plus learning how plants are used for medicines and sometimes witchcraft make you almost forget your here to see the wildlife .but the game veiwing here was fantastic cats every day plus everything else and the sight of a troop of baboons chaseing a male leopard in broard daylight just as we were setting off for a walk is one we will never forget

there was a slight problem with the food one night due to a spillage of fuel during transportation some things tasted of parrafin but this was soon sorted out by the very able manager mike and did not detract from our stay in any way. we had a great time at billi and would recommend it to anyone." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Bath

"Good location and huts"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"It was surprisning that Bilimungwe was so underused. Our impression was that it was better than its neighbour (Chamilandu?). We stopped there on the way to Bilimungwe and the reception of the guests getting off there was much poorer.

Mike was managing the camp well and was good with the guests and with the other staff.

Our guide, Peter, was also excellent." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Beckenham

"Bilimungwe review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2007
"Did you hear that we never got to Bilimungwe, as they closed it due to the rains? Instead we stayed an extra few days at Kapamba, although this was no hardship!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Showing 1-10 of 12
95%
12 reviews of Bilimungwe Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa