This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp

Reviews of Luwi Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Luwi Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Luwi Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Sanur, Bali

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2018
"This one is a tough one to comment on. I personally loved the bush camp feel, the rustic nostalgic charm, the isolation and sense of adventure. We got there in the dark and it was a little intimidating for my wife, she has a phobia of frogs. She manifested her fears and when we got to the room there were frogs everywhere and unfortunately we had a snake crawling around as well. She was uncomfortable the whole night. I feel the website (official) does not really grasp what Luwi is all about. And when i enquired what the difference is between Nsolo and Luwi was, i was told there were nearly identical but in a different surrounding. Yes the concept is similar however the feel and layout is completely different. My wife felt a lot more comfortable at Nsolo then at Luwi. The following night we decided to do a sleep out (away from the frogs haha). The sleep out was one of the highlights of the trip. Absolutely fantastic experience and so liberating. My wife loved it as well. The best parts about Luwi was the common area, the FOOD!, and our guide Phillip. What a happy go lucky knowledgable guide. It was so nice cruising around with him, we had a great drive and the best part is, that it was private, there were no other guests with us. The staff in general were amazing as well. I would definitely stay at Luwi again, however i would have to ensure that the person i would be traveling with would be comfortable in that surrounding." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Mr A & family
UK

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"We had an outstanding visit with abundant wildlife ,excellent guiding and walks and interesting company would willingly return here." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
S & D
Herefordshire

"Luwi Bushcamp perfect"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"Luwi was one of the two best camps on our trip, the other being Tena Tena. The greeting was exceptionally warm, from Charles and all the staff, the accommodation was perfect, clean, comfortable and yet still part of the bush, and the food excellent. Our guide, Lawrence, had a fund of knowledge yet still made everything fun. To have a pride of lions polishing off an impala while we polished off our own dinner and then to see them running around only a few yards from the camp was particularly impressive. Perfect in every way." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P
London

"Beautiful Camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2016
"The camp itself is lovely and remains one of my favourite in South Luangwa (this is a return visit - I was here in 2012). I particularly love the open fronted design and the huge outdoor bathrooms. It should be a wonderful bush experience.

However, something was amiss. The host was absent, and a young hostess from Chinzombo was there, but seemingly specifically to entertain one particular group of guests (including joining them on game drives). It wasn't clear what the relationship was, but it was very flirtatious and made me feel uncomfortable. Norman Carr seem very flexible and happy to have guests at Luwi who are not much interested, or not at all interested in walking. As I wanted to walk the whole time I did end up feeling somewhat out of place. Not due to the guide, Lawrence, who welcomed me as someone after his own heart. But somehow it felt like Luwi had lost its soul." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
TunbridgeW

"Luwi Bushcamp"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2015
"The walk to Luwi from Nsolo was varied and along with all the walking safaris that we did a fabulous addition to our experinece.

Lawrence and Frank looked after us very well" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2015
"Enjoying the remoteness of the camp.
We highly appreciated Judy's cooking !
Friendly relaxed atmosphere and very helpful staff." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Lions roaring at night!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2015
"We got to Luwi after sunset, so we only got to have one full day there. However, we loved that day!

We'd never done a walking safari before & we didn't see any of the Big 5 on our walks, but that was OK. We saw lots of plants, smaller animals & just enjoyed being out in the wild. We did hear lions roaring nearby on both nights - that was super exciting! Rooms were rustic, yet super comfortable & we loved the open-air bathrooms & showers (plenty of hot water).

Manager Frank & guide Brian obviously have a great relationship & they are so hilarious to swap stories with during meals & during happy hour. Staying at Luwi was an awesome way to start our adventures in South Luangwa!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Switzerland

"Luwi the real Bushcamp experience!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"The best Camp of Norman Carr Safari's if stayed in.

Definately a Bush Camp, so remote but so wonderfully designed and wonderfull peoples there. Stayed only for 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer there. Lawrence the Guide was extraordinary and the Walks there were just fantastic.

I was really impressed! Thanks" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr T
Amersham

"rustic luxury in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2014
"My first walk on this trip, which was lovely and a delight to come back to a shower with lashings of hot water ! How do they do it ?

Quality of guiding very good indeed which made the walks even better. A superb setting with an amazing night chorus of lion, hyena ,honey badger, hippo and wild dog !" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Devon

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Luwi is an idyllic camp. Of simple construction in natural materials it blends with the surroundings and allows visitors to feel at one with the bush, as indeed do all NCS bush camps, but the remoteness of this camp makes it more enchanting.

As we were the only visitors it became "our" camp and thus an even more special place.

The walks in the bush around this area were fascinating and very informative, as were the game drives by both day and night. We saw the not-so-common reed buck and enjoyed watching elephant, impala, zebra and puku from the camp. Indeed some elephant came really close as they grazed and browsed their way through their day. Wonderful.

The idea of "sundowners" taken at sunset in picturesque locations is very good and allows the true ambience to be felt and increases empathy with the environment." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 38
93%
38 reviews of Luwi Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa