This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp
Luwi Bushcamp

Reviews of Luwi Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Luwi Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Luwi Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs J
Dyfed

"Into the wild"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2011
"A wonderful greeting and welcome, arrived just in time for lunch. We loved the rustic room and the marvelous view across the small grassy plain towards the dry Luwi river bed.

The location is remote and unrivalled, the walking excellent. Brian our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour.

Memorable sightings of animals but so much more eg learned about the habitat. We were sorry to leave but had a very good walk to Nsolo" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms L
USA

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2010
"Camp was just fine. Just that Nkosi and Botswana trip were very "hard act to follow"

[Ed: This comment refers to the fat that these travellers started their trip with us with a 12-day Botswana safari organised through our Wild about Africa programme. They rated this as "excellent", and their Botswana guide, called Nkosi, as "**AWESOME**" ]" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & friend
Italy

"Remote and wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"Luwi has probably the most fascinating setting of all the camps, at least in my personal opinion: the landscape you have in front of your chalet and in front of the morning fire, where we had breakfast at the sunrise, is breathtaking.

We started immediately, after our first brunch in Luwi, with a short drive in the plain just in front of the camp to follow a dominant male lion who was chasing away the young male lion: a scene very emotional, also considering the behaviour of the lioness who was the mother of the young one.

We had very interesting walks with our guide Levy, and at the camp Mouse was very friendly. The first afternoon walk in Luwi ended in the hide overlooking the hippo lagoon where we had sundowner: wonderful setting!
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr H
San Fran

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2010
"Walking was great.

Birding was excellent.

Staff was very accommodating." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Plymouth

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2010
"we enjoyed it at Lewi and the staff were excellent but unfortunately we saw hardly any game except hippos and crocodiles. Would not choose to go there again" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2010
"Very enjoyable but, as it is purely a walking bush camp, two days is probably enough. Super staff.

What a shame that Mouse suffered a bout of malaria whilst we were there - but she was great. Paul collected us from Mfuwe International (!) and also guided us during our stay - very good." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Glos

"Cotton wool at Luwi"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2009
"Our experience at Luwi was mixed. We arrived at nine o'clock in the morning after the drive from Kapani. Apart from eating, our next activity was at 15.45 almost seven hours later. There was little to do at the camp as the safety arrangements were, in our opinion, restrictive and assumed we had absolutely no idea how to behave in the bush.

With the obvious exception of the guides and scouts we had more bush experience than the camp staff having travelled reasonably extensively, travelling and camping unscorted in big game areas and having many 'interesting' encounters.

There is a great hippo pool with a hide overlooking but we were not allowed to stay there alone without a 'minder'. This arrangement did not work well - I think I managed a 30 minute stay - and the first few hours at Luwi were very frustrating - essentially sitting and waiting for the opportunity to actually do something. Unlike kapani there was little to maintain interest in the dead hours.

Apparently the restrictions on staying at the hide had been introduced when a visitor was lucky enough to have elephants visit the vicinity. He enjoyed the experience and we would also have enjoyed the experience. Sadly my diary entries refer to the camp as 'Stalag Luwi'.

On the walks we went out as a group of six,ourselves and a group of four italians travelling together. After the luxury of having our own guide in Kapani we found that this became a bit wearing. Groups of four stick together as a group of four and we inevitably found ourselves at the back of the group very quickly. This prevented significant contact with the guide and we lost sighting and photo oportunities also. The group size of six was particularly frustrating when other pairs went out as a group of two. Why not two fours? We raised our concern and disappointment with the camp staff but this made no difference.

We finally got a change in approach when we raised the same concerns at Nsolo and our host (Pria) took action. Whilst at Kakuli the GM, David Wlson, spoke to us and apologised for our experience. He also agreed with our view of managing the risk from wildlife encounters in a more thoughtful and less defensive manner. If you want to have any sensible bush wildlife experience then there is inevitably an element of risk, but it needs to be managed, not avoided. If you want to avoid risk altogether then stay at home and watch 'The natural world' etc. The roads are more dangerous than the animals." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Rugeley

"Even more remote at Luwi"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"For remoteness and feeling well and truly in the bush, Luwi was exceptional. The accommodation was excellent.

Our guide, Brian could not have been more informative when asked questions.

As with other camps, the food and service was always first class. Lots of game sightings.

A very relaxed, enjoyable stay, beyond our expectations." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Camberley

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2008
"Fantastic hostess (Theresa)

Just the two of us one night and provided candlelit dinner at our hut

Lagoon and hide fantastic!

Some great experiences on our bush walks.

Brian proved a real character and a great Guide" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AL
France

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"Our second visit to Luwi and the accomodation, food etc were as expected.

Unfortunately we felt that although very knowledgeable and personable, our guide Sam always seemed to be in a hurry and we felt that we were being rushed through game drives and walks without the attention to detail shown by all of our other guides.This did not make for a satisfactory experience.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 38
93%
38 reviews of Luwi Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa