This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Camberley

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

The S's Great Experiences in Zambia

Zambia between 8 Oct 2008 and 23 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"A fantastic holiday in a great country.

Laundry service was really excellent and did make taking limited luggage very feasible.
It was great that we could drink the water at the Bush Camps and at the Livingstone Hotel.
Great problem buying postcards - we only really found any in Lusaka at the end of our trip.

Suggestions for improvement:

Mention that when going to Shiwa they only take one party at a time, even if it only consists of one person.

Suggest travellers take pens to give to children. Also could take old training shoes to give away or use as part trade for crafts."

Feedback response

Following on from this suggestion about pens … if you’re travelling and would like to take out things to help local schools, charities and other community organisations, then we can warmly recommend that you look up the charity Stuff your Rucksack.

Just follow the link on their homepage which says “Find stuff that's needed where I'm going”. This can help you to find good organisations in the area that you’re visiting and the things that they need.


Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Kapani Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"Thoughtfully they gave us a table to ourselves for the last night (having shared all previous meals with others).

Excellent guide (Rose).

Great area for seeing nearly all game in dry season.

Visiting at end of dry season meant no river/lagoon immediately outside the Lodge"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2008
"Great crowd meant that, combined with Pam (nee Carr's) presence as host, we had greatly enjoyable meal times.

Rained one evening so sadly animals moved further afield.

Our first experience of bush walks showed us how much more there was to appreciate than just the animlas & birds.

Excellent guide (Shaddy) and scout (Bardwill)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2008
"Fantastic hostess (Theresa)

Just the two of us one night and provided candlelit dinner at our hut

Lagoon and hide fantastic!

Some great experiences on our bush walks.

Brian proved a real character and a great Guide"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2008
"This Camp has everything and a great place to end our safari
Great to have river so close

Susie & Richard were excellent hosts
Again great experiences on our bush walks
Paul did a really good job as our Guide adding to all relayed by previous guides
Camisa was a great spotter as our Scout

Finally saw a Leopard - the icing on the cake"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2008
"Absolutely fantastic location, exceeding our expectations (having both read the Africa House)

Owners were unfortunately away but Frank, the House Manager, was a fantastic host especially bearing in mind that he was running many aspcts of the farm at the same time.

We found they only take one party at a time so being the only guests this meant it was extra special.
It is such a scenic place that we think they should sell postcards.

The principles by which the farm is run, helping the local community, is quite outstanding and a role model for others to follow.
The dogs were great fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2008
"Disappointed by the cost of trips - for example the short hop to Livingstone Island - having seen how little many Zambians have in other parts of the country and we suspect in relation to the wages of the hotel staff.

We thought the lawns were over- watered and the electricity could have been better used elsewhere in Zambia. (We advised the hotel of our view.)

Not a hotel problem but the cost to go to the Zimbabwe side of the Falls was incredibly expensive and both Governments could usefully re-examine their Visa charges.

Shopping excellent at the village by the Falls (as you advised) and also in Livingstone itself."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"No transfer bus waiting for us at the airport. (A hotel bus arrived to deliver aircrew but refused to take us or ring the hotel, despite having a mobile 'phone!)

Managed to get Proflight to ring the hotel and a bus arrived over an hour after we got through Customs. Advised Management (who apologised) and said we would be letting you know about their pick up failure. 

Return to airport well organised by the Concierge and left/arrived on time."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team