This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Shiwa Ng'andu
Shiwa Ng'andu
Shiwa Ng'andu

Reviews of Shiwa Ng'andu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shiwa Ng'andu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shiwa Ng'andu.
Sable antelope

100% success

Sitatunga

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs F.
London

"House party at Shiwa Ng'andu "

2 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2019
"My stay at Shiwa felt like an old fashioned house party as they totally accepted me as part of the family. There were no other paying guests but Tom (the son) and two friends of his were staying and also the pilot of my charter plane. The room was comfortable and large, old fashioned and reminded me very much of my childhood. I could not find a socket for a hairdryer but it didn't matter.

The collection of Benin sculpture was wonderful, likewise the Mali granary door. I loved the fact that the whole family came together for all the meals and drinks before dinner, again how I grew up. Both Charlie and Jo took me on drives around the property which I found very interesting. I sat and read pamphlets, papers, guest books and books from the archive which were fascinating. They both seemed happy to discuss the history of the house and family.

The retired vet and his wife who live in the farmhouse also joined us for most meals. We went on a crocodile hunt and he did a postmortem, all a great thrill to be part of. I had wanted to go there for some time and absolutely loved it." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Sable antelope

5 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Amazing days at Shiwa Ng'andu"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"It was an experience like nowhere else, Jo and Charlie were great hosts and they have such an interesting Estate.

We were well looked after and felt very welcome and relaxed. We saw at first hand their hard work in their community.

A great start to our Zambian trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Leics

"Unique place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"This was our third trip to Shiwa which is a truly unique place to stay in Africa. Jo and Charlie are exceptional hosts and it was fascinating to catch up on all their projects and find out what had happened to people we had met there before.

There was plenty to do including riding every morning with Jo, walks, a tour of the estate with a visit to the new mill, game drives with Charlie - mainly to see antelope including eland, sable, Lichtenstein's hartebeest and sitatunga. We also fitted in a morning at the hot springs which was very relaxing. Then of course there is the opportunity to spend hours in the archives reading Gore-Browns diaries, photos etc.

One unexpected highlight was hand feeding a baby bushbuck who came up to the porch after dinner for his milk and fruit.

We were fascinated to hear the plans for the house in the next few years and will probably have to have another trip to see it when it is finished." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Bristol

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2017
"This was a unique experience like no other.
Staying in the Shiwa House with Jo and Charlie was like a 'country house weekend'.
The Shiwa House and the estate is an ongoing project. Do not expect great luxury because it isn't there. It is homely, quirky and somewhat basic. If you don't like cats or dogs Shiwa is not the place for you.
Both Jo and Charlie are great hosts and knowledgeable birders which suited us and both put themselves out to take us around their large estate viewing game and bird life.
The archive and library provide a picture of life in Africa in the early 20th century and the dream of Stewart Gore-Browne.
A wonderful four days." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family B-D
UK

"Family stay at Shiwa Ng'andu"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2016
"We visited Shiwa Ng'andu with our sons aged 12 and 14. It was an amazing experience for us all. We chose to start our stay here, to gently introduce ourselves to the country in an environment where we would be looked after and safe. this worked well, we were able to rest up after our long journey before getting stuck into activities. We also had a sense that this was a uniquely interesting place - again, it did not disappoint.

Charlie and Jo were extremely friendly and attentive and looked after us very well. We particularly liked the coming and going of many visitors - including Charlie and Jo's daughter and friends. it felt like we were family house guests. It was very interesting to learn about life in Zambia. We always felt welcome and our requests responded to. The boys were also made to feel very welcome.

In terms of activities, we did a lot of birding walks, walks by the lake, walked to the top of the hill to the livingstone memorial. we also visited the hot springs (extra cost of $8 pp). it was a very relaxing introduction to our trip. We saw a lot of birds (nearly 100 species) and all the antelope on the farm.

Food was good, much produced on the farm. Learning about the history of the place from Jo was also fascinating. We could have spent longer reading the materials and diaries in the library but didn't quite have the energy! Early starts were needed for some activities but this was optional! A quite time after lunch helped us to pace ourselves.

Overall, a really interesting and unique experience in an amazing place with fantastic hosts." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Herts

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2015
"A beautiful location. Jo and Charlie are excellent hosts.

Loved it." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Witney

"shiwa n'gandu review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2015
"This was a wonderful experience and made a really relaxing start after 24 hours of travel. We had not expected luxury accommodation so were not disappointed that the bedroom was a little basic - this was made up for by the the evening fires in the bedroom.

Charlie and Jo were the most hospitable hosts one could wish for and did their utmost to make our stay really memorable. Jo in particular brought the history of the place to life and was spared no effort to give us all the information we could wish for. Charlie was a great guide taking us to all the places of interest as well as finding lots of game viewing.

To say they were ideal hosts is putting it milldly, they made us feel part of their family and the experience was like a country house party. The food was good homely cooking though not gourmet, but the drinks were excellent, both spirits and wine." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Shiwa Ng'andu was the highlight of our trip"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2015
"We wished we had stayed more than three nights as this was the highlight of our three week Zambia trip. The little bit of Surrey located in the Zambian countryside was even better than we imagined from reading "The Africa House"

Our hosts Jo and Charlie could not have been more welcoming and friendly and the dogs soon became our best friends, when it suited them. The house was amazing with the likely hood of finding zebra or horses on the front lawn.

The tours of the house and farm, visiting neighbors for afternoon tea, game drives and walks (we saw four blue duikers) and history lessons in the library were all great fun We enjoyed our meals both for the excellent food and the great company.

The fire in our room brought it to life. The plumbing for the shower was very efficient unlike the plumbing for the bath but we would not change a thing. We admired how Jo and Charlie run a large farm, maintain and renovate a large manor house while taking in guests. What a challenge.

We really wished we had stayed longer as we felt we were coming part of the family especially when we had to chase zebras off the runway to allow our plane to take off" See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Ms P
BC

"Shiwa Ng'andu"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"We both loved, loved, loved Shiwa Ng'andu.

Charlie and Jo were wonderful hosts, the house has a wonderful feel, the history is fascinating, the community is so interesting, the wildlife great, and the dogs and farm tour such a bonus!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Remarkable experience - well worth it"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2014
"We didn't read that carefully about what we were letting ourselves in for going to Shiwa. It isn't a plush manor house but is a totally absorbing and busy experience across so many dimensions. A unique piece of Zambian and British history, a wonderful location, quite extraordinary owners in Charlie and Jo, a massive farm operation and extraordinary archive of documents.

Charlie and Jo are fabulous hosts - how they run the farm, manage a game reserve, sort the archives, restore the house, care for 1,000 people living on the estate, work with NGOs to improve the facilities in the area and still be available throughout the day to be the perfect hosts is unbelievable.

We spent three days with them and it wasn't enough. Over breakfast, lunch and dinner with Charlie and Jo we managed to get a small insight to the remarkable place and Charlie's family. It is an incredible operation. We also met some of their friends - some passing through and some resident on the estate.

The meals were great, totally from locally produced ingredients.

Well worth the visit to see a totally different part of Zambia from the Luangwa Valley and to get to know in a small way a remarkable couple. We didn't have enough time in the archives and we look forward to reading Jo's account of life in Shiwa from Sir Stewart Gore- Browne's arrival to the current day. Keep writing Jo!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 25
98%
25 reviews of Shiwa Ng'andu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
23
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Northern Zambia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wasa Lodge

Wasa Lodge

Wasa Lodge offers easy access to Kasanka National Park, best visited in November and December to see the millions of fruit bats that arrive in the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp stands on the southern edge of the Bangweulu Wetlands. It's a remote spot, and a very simple camp - but if you want to see Shoebills then it is one of the best places in Africa.


90% (6 reviews)
Luwombwa Lodge

Luwombwa Lodge

Luwombwa Lodge in Kasanka National Park, northern Zambia


90% (2 reviews)
Mutinondo Wilderness

Mutinondo Wilderness

Visiting Mutinondo Wilderness near Mpika in northern Zambia - the accommodation, wildlife, birds and animals


100% (2 reviews)
Impandala House

Impandala House

Situated in the grounds of the historic Shiwa Ng'andu manor house, Impandala House works well as a base for families or small groups to explore northern Zambia.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa