This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Witney

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Our great trip to Zambia 2015

Zambia between 11 Aug 2015 and 22 Aug 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was all we had hoped for.

Although we understand most people visit Shiwa N'gandu last, we appreciated the relaxed atmosphere there first after our long trip out - no getting up at 5.30 here but a leisurely breakfast at 8.30. We also appreciated the luxury of Anabezi at the end. Three very different camps - all quite remote meaning not much other camp traffic about. we also had different experiences at each with excellent guiding throughout whether in vehicles, in a boat or on foot (an activity we had not experienced before which we really enjoyed}; the guides all worked hard to give us varied and illuminating experiences."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"shiwa n'gandu review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2015
"This was a wonderful experience and made a really relaxing start after 24 hours of travel. We had not expected luxury accommodation so were not disappointed that the bedroom was a little basic - this was made up for by the the evening fires in the bedroom.

Charlie and Jo were the most hospitable hosts one could wish for and did their utmost to make our stay really memorable. Jo in particular brought the history of the place to life and was spared no effort to give us all the information we could wish for. Charlie was a great guide taking us to all the places of interest as well as finding lots of game viewing.

To say they were ideal hosts is putting it milldly, they made us feel part of their family and the experience was like a country house party. The food was good homely cooking though not gourmet, but the drinks were excellent, both spirits and wine."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2015
"Another great experience. wonderful game viewing and excellent guiding. Superb location on the banks of the river but this did mean the noise of hippos at night made sleeping difficult at times. Also the elephants who came and ate the tree outside our hut did cause us a little concern.

The furniture made from local materials was interesting and ingenious.

The game viewing was superb, particularly the birds which we were particularly interested in. All the guides were so knowledgeable particularly Bryan who seemed to know everything and was able to explain things so well. The walk with John was also especially interesting. Although we have rated the food as only good, it was really better than that but was eclipsed by our next camp.

Altogether a great camp which can be thoroughly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

"Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2015
"This was the icing on the cake for us - pure luxury in the African bush - and a great way to end our superb visit to Zambia. The location on the banks of the Zambezi was incredible and the luxurious accommodation could not be faulted. Lying on our day beds on the deck outside our tent watching the elephants and antelopes wanderin past was awe inspiring. Food and service were also superb; this was the only camp which offered a choice of menu and wines.

Again the game viewing was excellent.. Our guide Prisley was amazing. His knowledge was far reaching and he worked so hard to give us the widest variety of animals and birds. This camp is at the eastern end of the lower Zambezi park and we rarely saw another vehicle on our game drives. We were able to experience walking safaris and boat trips too which added further interest to the activities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

What a fantastic trip!

Namibia between 8 Jun 2010 and 26 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We asked for something special to celebrate our Golden Wedding anniversary and we certainly got it. The highlights are too numerous to mention but we must comment on the people - they were all so friendly and helpful which really was one of the factors making this such a great holiday. We have returned full of wonderful memories.

Apart from specifics already covered, we must compliment Sefofane for very comfortable flight transfers. The game drive transfer between Ongava and Onguma was spoiled by it being unusually windy which meant we arrived at Onguma very, very dusty, but we did see lions on the way walking right up to our vehicle.

We should mention that South African 200 Rand noted are no longer accepted in Namibia due to problems with forgeries. They can only be exchanged at Bank of Namibia. There is no problem with smaller denominations.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have only praise for your service."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Desert magic at Kulala Desert Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2010
"This was a wonderful start to our holiday celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The staff went out of their way to make the actual day a special event including providing a bottle of sparkling wine and a wonderful cake (shared with the other guests). They tried (and succeeded) to make themselves an extended family for us - really heart-warming. The cuisine was very good home cooking and the baking was outstanding, the anniversary cake was great and the morning muffins just heavenly.

The balloon trip which began the day was memorable and the pilot (Paul) made sure everyone toasted our anniversary.

Our guide, Christoff, was exceptionally knowledgeable and was very kind to us "oldies", choosing a relatively easy dune for us to climb (Dune 45) - great fun coming down!.."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Art and elephants at Mowani Mountain Camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2010
"This lodge has the most spectacular setting in the hills with enormous boulders scattered around as though giants had been playing bowls/marbles/petanque!

The staff here were rather more formal than at Kulala Desert Lodge but nevertheless very friendly and efficient.

The food here was quite sophisticated and really delicious. The oryx was particularly good and cooked to perfection.

Our guide, Athan, was very informative on all aspects including not only the wild life but also on the rock art. He found the desert elephants for us - a group of 8 including two youngsters. Just stunning.

While the shower was a little temperamental this was just a minor point in an otherwise great visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Stunning scenery at Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2010
"This was undoubtedly the high point of our holiday as far as accommodation is concerned. The suites are huge and beautifully appointed, really luxurious. Then there is the huge deck looking directly over the river. And they provide hot water bottles - very welcome, the nights (and early mornings) were really cold.

Food and service were great too, after the first evening we were the only guests there (such a pity, it deserves to have more visitors) so we had really individual attention.

The activities here are rather different from other places we visited - again making it a rather special place. The river trips (we had two) showed us the wildlife of the river - stunning birds and of course the crocodiles. Perhaps the most stunning was the goliath heron, seeing it fly majestically over the river, just skimming the surface, was magical.

Then the visit to the Himba village was fascinating, our only regret was not being able to talk to them directly, but our guide, Franco, was great at translating and very knowledgeable on their way of life. He was also very kind and patient when he took us on a quad bike excursion, very gentle for the "mature"."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Wildlife galore at Ongava Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2010
"This lodge was a little disappointing; we felt that the management were not up to the standard we experienced elsewhere and this resulted in less than perfect service. It started when we were shown to the wrong lodge (one already occupied!) and then the one we did have had a broken glass pane in the door. A promise to fix it did not materialise and we had the impression they really had no intention of fixing it; we turned down an offer to move us as we had already unpacked and the lodge did have an excellent view of the waterhole. The accommodation was otherwise very good with lots of space and probably the best shower we experienced on our trip.

Food was good, only slightly below the excellent standards of other lodges. The service was not so good, especially in the dining room where the staff were much too interested in the football!

Our guide, Hennock, was excellent, well up to the superb standard we found everywhere - even if he did not find the lions! The trip into Etosha was great with lots of wildlife."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Great safaris at Onguma Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2010
"Another great location just outside the Etosha park and really comfortable accommodation. Plenty of space and a great deck looking directly over the waterhole. Another location where hot water bottles were provided, not only in the beds but on the game drives too,very welcome.

Service was impeccable and the delicious food only marred by rather tough oryx on our last night.

The trip into Etosha was outstanding. The highlight was watching a herd of 70 elephants marching in stately and orderly fashion to a waterhole where they peacefully drank all together; we watched in amazement. Thank you to our guide Charles."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Big cat heaven at Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2010
"We were quite surprised to find how big the Okonjima estate is and how hilly (especially after the very flat Etosha). The tents were very good but lacked a deck - something we had grown used to! Hot water bottles again, great!

Food fantastic though wine was a little pricey compared with other lodges. The service again was extremely good and friendly.

We came to see cheetahs and on our first afternoon met up with seven animals in a medium sized reserve where those almost ready for release into a huge reserve are kept. While we did not see any in this vast area we did track a spotted hyena going up to him on foot to within a few yards and finally found a leopard who, although clearly resting after a meal, posed for us and then got up and walked away disappearing in seconds into the bush.

Thanks again to our guide, Michael, who also told us about the efforts of the Afrikat foundation to rescue and rehabilitate wild cats and also try to educate farmers, and more especially young people, on how to live with these predators. He also educated us on the way cheetahs live, pointing out many things we were not aware of."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Finale at Olive Grove Guest House"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2010
"Please note this is about OLIVE GROVE not Okonjima which is on previous page.
Location was in a pleasant leafy suburb but a trip into town required a ride in the hotel's shuttle at £9 return. Although an attractive house, the minimalist decor seemed rather bleak in the winter climate though they did provide a welcome hot water bottle. Food was mostly excellent apart from a disastrous so called chicken breast which was completely uncuttable and inedible. Service was friendly and efficient"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team