This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp


15°36’36.2"S 29°46’13.1"E

Reviews of Anabezi Luxury Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Anabezi Luxury Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Anabezi Luxury Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr K
Florida

"Anabezi was perfect in every way"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"This was our second camp, following Lion Camp, and it was fantastic.

The staff was enthusiastic, energetic and engaging. This was the only camp of four that had studied up on our preferences and fully provided both food and drinks as requested (specifically, rum and pineapple juice; a carton of milk for Randy’s coffee; oodles of choices for our vegan as well as soy milk). Like all the camps, they greeted us as we came and went, but it wasn’t just fulfilling a requirement: they sincerely wanted to know about our day and very conscientious about anything we might need.

Upon arrival, they directed us to the late lunch buffet, which was a bevy of delicious choices. At 3:30 tea, they showed us a menu of choices to order for dinner! There were about items including veggie/vegan salads. They had cappuccino all day!

The room was spacious and lovely, with a separate sitting area, ample shelving, a mini bar and kettle. Bush babies were in our beds when we returned in the evening. The bathroom, with only a tub, could use more counter space-we just pulled in a small table. There is only an outdoor shower—but that included a sink and a toilet. The deck was gorgeous and vast with a private dipping pool. They had yoga mats for your use in the rooms!

Walkways went nearly a half mile from one end to the other, where there was another lounge with a full bar. There were numerous animals coming and going in the camp, with a few resident elephants as well. Hippo grunts were our bedtime lullaby. Wifi was limited to the main tent and it was excellent there.

Breakfast was at a civilized 6:30 with a fresh cooked egg option (and did I mention cappuccino?) with the game drive at 7. Noon lunch had about three entrée options and two salad options plus fresh bread and fruit. Tea at 3:30 was a yummy dessert cake. And dinner was plated based on your menu choice, except for one offsite boma that was delicious.

Our guide Mwila was the best of our trip. He was highly engaging with excellent communication, knowledge, driving skills, curiosity and sense of humor.

Anabezi highlights water activities and the sunset cruise was fantastic with elephants crossing the river at sunset. We arrived on a little island for our sundowner, and there was a full bar with glasses on a white table, and two elephants to greet us! Magical. (We opted not to do a sunset cruise at Victoria Falls because of this wonderful experience.)

We did two cruises, one canoeing and one nature walk. They were great though obviously reduced our number of full game drives (which were less spectacular than elsewhere--it seemed to me the animals were a little more skittish here).

We hated to leave this lovely camp: but to send us off en route to the airstrip was a gorgeous young leopard posing in a tree.

In conclusion: Anabezi is a world-class lodge with spectacular river setting" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Stockport

"Anabezi"

5 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2015
"Extremely comfortable, lovely setting by the river. Could watch lots of animals from our deck. The plunge pool on our deck was very welcome in the heat of the afternoon.

The camp had something of a hotel feel rather than a safari camp due to individual dining and activities. Told we could invite others to dine with us but because of separate activities we didn't get to mix much with others. We prefer the usual camp communal dining.

The food was excellent, dinner was ordered in advance from about three choices.

Staff and service was very welcoming, we had the same guide throughout our stay.

Guides were top notch but possibly due to it being a new camp there didn't seem to be much local knowledge, so drives were often quiet. We usually go to camps where there are no more than four guests to a vehicle. Here we had a car to ourselves, this resulted in not having a spotter on night drives, making them a lot less productive.

Walks were the most interesting activity, plenty of close up animal encounters. The boat and canoe trips were also highlights, one of the advantages of the lower Zambezi" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Crawley

"Combine luxury with adventure at Anabezi"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"We thouroughly recommend anabezi. The location, the rooms and the food are all top class. the chalets are well spaced out and allow privacy, each has an indoor and outdoor bathroom, and a small plunge pool on the private deck. One looks out over the riverbank at a constant stream of wildlife - warthogs, elephants, baboons, various antelope, and occasionally big cats.

there are 2 outdoor pools, one at each end of the camp, and 2 eating areas, though while we were there, the camp was not full, so everyone ate in the main dining area.

Nobby was our guide, and the standard of guiding lived up to it's high reputation. 2 game drives per day, the evening drive includes sundowners and a good chance to see nocturnal wildlife while driving back after dark.

The birding is just brilliant, and we also enjoyed a variety of river- based activities- including fishing. The Staff could not have been more helpful, and we appreciated having the same guide for our whole trip. We only shared the vehicle with one other couple on one occasion, otherwise we were just 2 plus the guide." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2015
"A luxurious camp with very large tents, your own decking & plunge pool. Personally, I am not too sure that the design with glass sliding doors in the rooms "fits" with the bush? The food is excellent with a choice of starters / mains / desserts for your evening meals. I got the opportunity to visit their sister camp Amanzi, which has very well appointed tents on decking, also overlooking the river.

Overall, Viewing wildlife around Anabezi from the decking was enjoyable. Fishing with Gift was really great (the last day of my stay, I caught a 18.5lbs tiger fish on my first cast!). The area is rich in wildlife and sightings plentiful (3 different leopards on the first game drive) and I was also very pleased to see an aardvark!" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Witney

"Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2015
"This was the icing on the cake for us - pure luxury in the African bush - and a great way to end our superb visit to Zambia. The location on the banks of the Zambezi was incredible and the luxurious accommodation could not be faulted. Lying on our day beds on the deck outside our tent watching the elephants and antelopes wanderin past was awe inspiring. Food and service were also superb; this was the only camp which offered a choice of menu and wines.

Again the game viewing was excellent.. Our guide Prisley was amazing. His knowledge was far reaching and he worked so hard to give us the widest variety of animals and birds. This camp is at the eastern end of the lower Zambezi park and we rarely saw another vehicle on our game drives. We were able to experience walking safaris and boat trips too which added further interest to the activities." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mr L
London

"Excellent new camp in Lower Zambezi"

5 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2014
"We stayed at this camp in late October and had an excellent time. Really good game and the whole park almost to ourselves it seemed; we only saw a couple of other vehicles during the five days we were there.

The camp was very new but not obviously so. The managers, Matt and Annette were clearly very experienced at running a camp and everything felt very smooth and well managed, especially for such a new operation.

Patrick was our guide and he was very good (if somewhat aloof). But aloofness aside, he knew his stuff and we saw excellent game, especially leopards and elephant. He was also very willing to go look for specifics such as the carmine bee eaters on the river so we were very happy with what we saw.

The "tents" were over-sized (in a good way) with a nice plunge pool with a view over the floodplain. I'd normally be a little dismissive of luxuries like a plunge pool but in 45 degree heat it was lovely! Also a good outdoor shower and an indoor bath. I personally didn't especially like the aesthetic of the double patio doors but they were very practical and made it easy to get on and off the terrace. And they did a good job in keeping out dust so what they lacked in charm, they made up for in practicality. Food was excellent too; always very well cooked and plenty of variety. And good wine :-)

Lower Zambezi remains one of my favourite Zambian parks with it's combination of riverine and bush environments. Anabezi was hard to fault with its choices of water and land based activities. I'd certainly go back again" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Coventry

"Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Anabezi already has the feel of an established camp although it only opened this year. The camp layout and chalets are of the highest order - the plunge pool being idyllic during the very hot days!

There were many aspects to Anabezi that we enjoyed; the welcoming cold towel after a game drive; the chats around the bar before meals; the company of the staff; and the delicious food. However an overriding point was the lack of overcrowding on the game drives where there was never more than three people involved.

Matt, Anet and Emma were exceptional hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. Matt and Nobi were great guides - both locating well hidden leopards from baboon warnings. They were very knowledgeable and keen to identify and let us photograph all wildlife including birds. It may seem a small point but they were willing to stop and switch off the engine to enable better photography - thank you.

Seeing and hearing a male lion roaring on our first night drive was an excellent start to our holiday. However the high point was probably the boat trips to see the Southern Carmine Bee-eaters. There is really nothing negative to say about Anabezi except that the animals are still somewhat skittish with approaching vehicles but this should disappear as the camp becomes more established.

Anabezi is already proving to be an excellent camp and will only get better still as it becomes more established. Well worth a visit and a great start to a safari holiday in Zambia." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A & L
Oregon

"Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"The location, accommodations and food are first rate. The service we enjoyed was top notch with a great deal of attention to detail. The Anabezi team did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome, attending to our requests and organizing community time with other guests and staff. The variety of safaris provided allowed us to safari by car day and night, safari on foot and on the water, both in boats and canoes. I would highly recommend the Anabezi." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
100%
8 reviews of Anabezi Luxury Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa