This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

123 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Old Mondoro Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 37 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Old Mondoro Bushcamp.
Lion

94% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

53% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

97% success

Spotted Hyena

68% success

Aardvark

33% success

Sable antelope

3% success

Eland

3% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 123
Duration
Arrival date
safari lovers
UK

"Elephant Heaven at OldMondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2023
"Arrived by boat from Chiawa , nice welcome by Maddy & Mark who have been managing the camp for 5 years .

Really nice reed / tented rooms right on river edge . Outdoor bathing watching the eles and hippos in Zambezi a real treat .

Maddy obviously takes great pride in the menus - food was delicious.

Elephants wandering through camp very regularly and also wallowing close by in the Zambezi .

Our guide was Luckson , a delightful man gently spoken , full of knowledge, and a very good communicator. We walked with him twice and learned so much .

We had two nights here and would have loved another !" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

J & J
York

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2023
"Same ethos as chiawa but more remote. Loved it.

Could have stayed longer. Fabulous location." See all these reviews: 20n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Dr and Mrs K
Derby

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2023
"We thoroughly enjoyed Old Mondoro and the Lower Zambezi. Excellent guide and wildlife viewing." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs JD
W London

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2023
"The wild life was good, but not as exciting as on previous years, but the Leopard sightings were superb.

And it was superb having Grant there on one of the lunchtimes at Old Mondoro, a couple of days after our arrival.

And again unfortunately, I suffered from quite a few Mosquito bites, and the high temperatures definitely worsened the itching I am afraid

All the guides agreed that this year there were quite a few Tetse flies about." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2023
"Always an absolute pleasure to return to Old Mondoro; such a well run and truly charming camp!

The location is fantastic, the wildlife in camp itself is incredible (Great place for elephant fans), we even had a leopard sighting from our dining table!!!

Each and every game drives brought a lot of photographic opportunities, from wild dogs in action, leopards "posing", the encounters of 2 relaxed porcupines wandering around and a simpala ("sable impala").

Wished I had stayed longer, need to book earlier next time!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr A F, Torquay
UK

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2023
"Excellent in all respects given small size and remoteness……which is a plus." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Mr Paul
Doha

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2023
"My second visit at Old Mondoro arrived by boat rom Chiawa Camp.

I was in Room 4 overlooking the channel. The first afternoon in camp, visited by an Elephant on my from balcony. Great experience. Lots to see from the room balcony particularly the bird life. Spotted the two male resident lions sleeping by the river.

Camp hosted by Dave and Madeline. My guide for the duration was Boaz who is a great character with lots of experience.

After a 5.30 wake up call, breakfast is a communal affair like all meals at Old Mondoro. Food here like Chiawa was of a very high standard.

The pack of 26 wild dogs were in the area where they are denning. Tracked them for a short time. Some nice Kudu sighting and a Porcupine in the night drive. A particularly interning sighting was a leopard raiding a Hammerkop nest in the tree which was occupied by Owls. Watched a leopard kill an implant in camp.

Honey badgers spotted on a night drive.

One of my favourite camps." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Dr T
Suffolk

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2023
"A delightful, small and intimate camp in a superb location on the bank of the Zambezi, complete with hippo and elephant.

Much more my idea of a traditional camp, notwithstanding the excellent food and facilities.

Wonderful wildlife enhanced for me by the excellent birding knowledge of the leader Mark." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"We couldn't fault it!"

6 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2022
"This is one of the best camps we have been to in Africa and we totally understand why so many guests give it such glowing reviews and choose to return. The location is stunning and our room (number 2 at the junction of the Zambezi and a side channel) provided verandah safaris every day, notably elephants coming to bathe, drink and swim out to the islands.

During our stay there was the first heavy rainstorm of the season which cut short an evening game drive and which managers Mark and Madeline described as the worst they had experienced. But they took it in their stride, not making a drama out of the situation. Their skill was also to the fore in the arranging of a lunch "in" the Zambezi: tables, chairs, parasols, food and drink were transported to a sandbank by boat and we had an unforgettable time with our feet paddling in the water. The food was exceptional throughout.

Our guide Sebastian was top notch, especially his skill in finding leopards in very photogenic situations. We stayed six nights, which gave us plenty of time to explore the area. There was never a dull moment. Also the landscape available on game drives is hugely varied but most magical are the different forests of winterthorn, mahogany and ebony and the amazing dappled light.

Everything here is excellent: attention to detail without being overbearing and the staff are brilliant. We couldn't fault it." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr D.
Bristol

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2022
"Wow!!

Not too sure it it would be possible to improve any element of the stay here at all.

Simply outstanding." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 123
99%
123 reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
118
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (120 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (89 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp offering a luxurious stay and excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (43 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


100% (17 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


99% (14 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


95% (8 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


95% (4 reviews)
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


100% (1 review)
Lolebezi

Lolebezi

A chic safari spot, luxurious Lolelbezi is the Lower Zambezi’s newest camp and offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by excellent guides.


100% (1 review)
Royal Zambezi Lodge

Royal Zambezi Lodge

This family-friendly lodge is located just on the outskirts of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in a great location overlooking the river.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa