This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

102 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Old Mondoro Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Old Mondoro Bushcamp.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

7% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

76% success

Aardvark

40% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 102
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs JD
W London

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Amanda, thanks a million for managing to secure our room request of Room 4---certainly the best on the property, as it faces the lagoon, which attracts lots of wildlife

For your info, they have built another room---room 5----which also faces this lagoon---so also very good

The only problem this year, and problem is not the proper use of that word, is that as the water levels were so low, there was less water in the lagoon, and therefore a few less animals---but that's nature for you---and climate change!

We absolutely love Old Mondoro and it is probably our favourite of the 2 x properties owned by the delightful Cummings family

It has new managers who are good and helpful

The "dinner party "style at dinner times is lovely and again, we met some very nice and interesting people

Two of the guides were very very good---particularly Marshall, but also James was very good

What made Marshall so remarkable is the amount of overseas travel that he has done, which has widened his outlook on everything from the history of countries to the economics of various countries

So. apart from him being a very good guide, he was also a very interesting intelligent guide and we had some great drives with him

There are supposedly many leopards at Old Mondoro, and last time we visited here in Sept 2017, with yourselves. we saw many sightings and many diurnal sightings. This year, despite Marshall's best intentions, we saw only 1 x nocturnal sighting which was a bit disappointing

The same with the lions-----in Sept 2017, we saw lots of good sightings, but there seem to be far less lions around this year, which was a shame

Saw heaps and heaps of elephants here and also on the boat the Chobe Princess, which I forgot to mention

We also saw other animals and loads of birds which was great" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Devon

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"As the other camps, staff, food, accommodation and activities were great The two main guides, Marshall and Sebastion were outstanding. Tongue in cheek requests to Sebastion for a Pel's Fishing Owl and an Aardvark produced both in under an hour!

A couple of points:

The camp is very spread out and the need for vehicle transport because of the presence of elephant and buffalo, rather than walking could be inconvenient.

Secondly, visitors would be well advised to get their requests for activities in early. We could not initially get a boat trip when we wanted because a group had booked a boat every day for fishing. Also the manager was not that attentive in putting like minded people together. In both cases the guides were more attune and found solutions. Having said that, Mark the manager was very good and experienced.

Coat hangers etc. etc.!

The use of red spotlights at this camp greatly enhanced night drives, and allowed approach to animals without distressing them.

We really enjoyed a leisurely boat ride down the Zambezi with great views of birds and animals We would have liked to have canoed in some of the Zambezi channels but the water was too low for this.


Wildlife Survey:

Waterbuck - 10+ sightings. Very Common
Porcupine and Genets
Buffalo - Big herds of 200+
Lion - 13 individuals seen including after dark
Leopards - 9 individuals in 8 sightings!
Honey Badger - 2 sightings, including in daylight.
Civit - 6 sightings, including in daylight
Hippo and Elephant and, in the water, crocodile everywhere.

Highlights:

Passing through a huge herd of Buffalo after dark.

Watching around 6 large crocodiles dismember a dead Hippo, while another 30 smaller crocs looked on.

A single 4 hour game drive from daylight to darkness that included:
8 lions including 3 males moving after dark
5 leopards, all active, three after dark. This gave a total of 8 for the day
5 Civits
2 Punctures
1 Porcupine
1 Honey Badger
and an Aardvark!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

8 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Great camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Our second visit and it is still our favourite camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
MrD & MsK
Gold Coast

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"Good fun having elephants joining you for meals!
Excellent bushcamp experience.
Amazing food.
Attentive staff.
Excellent guides." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Excellent Safari at Old Mondoro "

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2019
"It was my second time returning to this camp and thoroughly enjoyed my stay this time again.

The setting is delightful, right on the Lower Zambezi river and surrounded by beautiful trees. Even with the addition of a 5th tent, the camp remains "bijou", the team is wonderful. Wildlife is plentiful (in the camp and nearby). The leopard sightings were absolutely outstanding.

Already looking forward to returning next year." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Old Mondoro"

4 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2019
"Lovely camp. We were in room 3 which has the benefit of a view over the river and the lagoon - siesta time was spent watching an ever changing wildlife panorama from the veranda.

Juliet and James were very friendly, welcoming hosts and all the guides were excellent.

We had some fantastic leopard sightings here but will always have a memory of the elephants ambling through the camp and stopping to browse or have a good scratch on the trees.

The bathtubs are a great added luxury." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Two Travellers
UK

"Old Mondoro review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"We loved the camp's location right on the river, and the surrounding floodplain with its beautiful winterthorns and mahogany trees created a really magical setting. Mark and Madelein were energetic and enthusiastic hosts who made us feel very welcome.

We had great sightings of leopard and lion on our game drives, when we met barely another vehicle, but just as good were the evening drives after sunset using a filtered spotlight. On one of these - thanks in particular to the sharp eyes of our spotter and trainee guide Samora - we were lucky enough to see an aardvark, something we had never ever thought would happen and which was really a highlight of the whole trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M.
Peyia

"Superb"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"The luxury continued here on a similar basis to Chiawa Camp - facilities luxurious and comfortable. Chalet overlooked part of the river, so spent the afternoon siesta time watching animals from the terrace area of our room. Staff all friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Delicious food, which included a full cooked breakfast on our last day - nothing was too much trouble. All game drives were exceptional including a river safari. Particularly liked the "hot water bottle" which we had on the early morning game drives - when it was cold, these were a godsend!


Overall an excellent place to finish our safari." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

F family
Sherborne

"Stunning river setting at Old Mondoro "

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"We loved the location. It is extremely photogenic with the camp overlooking a wide expanse of river with numerous pods of Hippo wallowing in the shallows.

We found the accommodation most comfortable; all chalets are perfectly situated facing a small tributary with the main river to the left. Game was ever present: elephant were regularly sighted having mud baths a few metres away below our veranda; plus water buck, buffalo, impala and countless birds large and small: Goliath Heron, Grey Heron, Egrets, King fishers and Ibis.

The staff were lovely: attentive and courteous, and the food was excellent. No chance of losing weight here, with the charming Madeline, the hostess, anticipating our needs before we knew we needed them! The very knowledgeable guides proved to be expert trackers - the excellent host Mark being one and Sebastian another. We saw leopard three times in our short stay, and the rare aardvark and honey badgers on our nocturnal safaris.

We also loved the canoeing and boating experiences: lots of crocs, hippos, marabou storks, marshal eagles, fish eagles, a Harriet hawk, bee eaters and more kingfishers. On land the open vehicles gave unrestricted viewing. My only recommendation would be to have adjustable camera selves on the guide rails to rest long lenses on.

A memorable stay - thank you." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

3 sightings

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Joanne
USA

"Old Mondoro Awesome Again"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2019
"Awesome stay, great time with guide Seb and fishing guide Johan.

New managers were good." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 102
99%
102 reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
98
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (34 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa