This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

108 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Old Mondoro Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Old Mondoro Bushcamp.
Lion

92% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

32% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

70% success

Aardvark

33% success

Sable antelope

5% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 108
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Munich

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2022
"Canoeing was a little bit disappointing. Apparently, they changed the location from one of the narrower channels to a very open and wide channel. For me it was identical to the main river.

Prior to the trip I watched videos from previous years and I would have definitely preferred the narrower channels.

Food in all other lodges of our trip was better. Old Mondoro's food was only average with respect to variety and taste.

But the forest around Old Mondoro was very beautiful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs & Mr L
Chicago

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2022
"An absolutely amazing experience.

Old Mondoro was the height of safari luxury with the emphasis on the landscape and animals. Everything from the room, staff, food, and location were exceptional and we had a great experience.

The hosts provided some very special touches (arranged a private dinner for our anniversary and had drawn me a bath when I mentioned the desire for one earlier in the day) that were surprising and beyond expectations.

We would absolutely stay here again. If I could give this camp beyond an 'excellent' rating, I would." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr P & D
Australia

"Great camp, location, hosts & staff"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2022
"The only reason we did not say it was excellent was our guide. We felt Seb was already retired. He had done "this" so many times. We had Mark (the host) take us out on "Dog Day" and the energy was great.

The important thing for the guides is to "bring it" with each guest. Seb didn't position the jeep for good photography, we felt he was disengaged and relied on the radio for sightings.

The location was amazing. The forest, haze, sunlight, game sightings was really 10/10. We have an amazing experience with a pack of wild dogs that the BBC were also filming - Mark - you are mental! We have the best pictures on "Dog Day"! Marks energy and passion shone through.

Madelaine was sincere and humble - the 2 hosts are a good fit. The food was great. Sitting by the camp fire and having night caps after dinner was the best. This was a relaxing camp - wished we had stayed 5-6 nights here. The drinks, refilled and flowing.

We felt very welcome here. The tents were luxurious too." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr Paul
Doha

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review June 2022"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2022
"Arrived at Old Mondoro after a game drive from Chiawa camp. Just before arrival in camp viewed a pride of lions females and cubs. Juliet camp manager greeted us with a warm welcome. Marshall was an excellent guide.

The camp is quite small and intimate with the tents spread out along the main river and a channel. There is a real inclusive atmosphere about this camp with all guests sharing the camp fire and a communal dining table. I was room 3 facing the channel where you could see some excellent bird life and hear the morning call of the hippos.

Great twilight time viewing of a female leopard and cubs. the large pack of wild dogs 24 in total were back in the area after several weeks away. Watched the dogs as they stalked, chased and finally caught a warthog. Gruesome stuff! Earlier we watched the dogs finishing off an Impala and a Baboon. Lots go Ellie herds around camp.

Thank you for aa wonderful stay Juliette , Marshall and the team." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

8 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Z
Z

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2021
"A memorable stay that rivals Mwamba Camp.

Saw various elephant antics in and out of water, including one who stands on hind legs to reach for the winterthorn tree. I am very happy with what I saw out of Room 2 but did wonder what others saw out of Room 3, 4, 5, since these rooms tend to look out to the lagoon/stream rather than the main river.

Probably one of the few camps in my life where omnipresent wildlife are threading the same path as me. It is a very well-designed bush camp. There are some critters in the room too just like any other bush camp eg Mwamba but it doesnt bother me beyond wondering if I am transporting a frog back to Lusaka." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Drs. R&C
Houston

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2021
"Stayed at OM as part of our honeymoon trip in July 2021. It was our last stop and was the best camp we went to our whole trip!

We were transferred to OM by boat. It took between 1-2 hours from Chiawa Camp to get there. Immediately upon arrival, the camp was full of tranquil bull elephants who were eating around the winterthorn trees. The main area was a minimalistically beautiful roofed deck. We were briefed and then shown to our tent. We were in tent #3, which is a tent overlooking a small lagoon feeding into the Zambezi. The tent was so close to the bank you could have jumped into the lagoon from our deck! It was magnificently beautiful and we had great views of animals drinking along the bank and crossing it. There were some afternoons where we couldn’t take a nap because of all the action going on! One afternoon, it was surrounded by a herd of elephants in and around the lagoon, with a mom and baby crossing the lagoon right next to us! Another afternoon we saw the drama of a buffalo drinking and almost getting caught by a crocodile. The walls of our tent/chalet were made of 2 layers of reeds/small rods of wood lined interiorly with insect netting. The windows have relaxed coverings that it impossible to keep bugs out. This, however, made the place feel like the extension of a game drive and kept us in tune with the outdoors. At night, because we were so close to the lagoon, the sound of the frogs, insects, and hippos were at times deafening! I don’t mean that in a bad way because I loved it.

Staff were all excellent in adherence to covid protocols of masking and social distancing. Our temperatures were checked daily. All of the staff had at lease one dose of the covid vaccine.

Food was fresh, delicious, and generous.

The wildlife, exclusive feel, and landscapes were what stole the show, however. This place is in the best section of the park. The camp is in an area that was previously a flood plain prior to the dam. As a result, it’s a flat plain where winterthorns now grow in abundance. In the surrounding areas it felt so open as well. It lended itself well to looking for wildlife. On top of that, there aren’t many other camps in the area. The only vehicles we would run into were other OM cars at some sightings and maybe one other inside-the-camp car. Most game drives we were the only car around and my wife and I had sightings all to ourselves!

The predator density was AMAZING. Our guide during our OM stay was James and our spotter during the night drives was Tryford. They were a legendary combo. They were so skilled at finding anything, in particular lions and leopards. James would track their footprints, localize alarm calls, and read the body language of prey and vultures so well that he would seemingly find them at will! Leopard sleeping on a tree, leopard dragging an impala kill and eating it at night, leopard patrolling - all wonderful sightings. We had so many leopard sightings we had an equal number of sightings of leopards as we did lions! And we spent so much more time and were so close to the leopards compared to the lions. The only thing we couldn’t find that was reportedly in the area were leopard cubs.

In addition, the wild dog sightings in the area currently is fabulous. The guides are thinking that they may be denning just north of the Jeki airstrip and that 2 females are actually pregnant. We were told the pack numbered in the 20’s. When we were there we saw 17-19 of them. We saw them greet each other, which was so cool. After we had seen them for the first time one morning we headed back to that area in the afternoon and they were sleeping smack dab on the main road. We were with them and one other car for a good hour with no other cars coming by. We also followed them as they woke up to hunt. The morning of our covid test at the airstrip we even had the chance to witness them chase and kill and impala from start to finish. We were the only ones around to see this!

In addition to predators, James was exceptional at birds, and we learned so much about them and started actually becoming decent at identifying the more common kinds. We loved our walking safari with him as well. They weren’t offering canoe at this time due to water levels. We didn’t do any boating because the game drives were so good we wanted to keep being on land!

Our exit RT-PCR covid test was arranged to be done at the Jeki airstrip via a fly-in nurse. A representative from Tours Africa, who we were also working with and was handling this process, was also present at the airstrip to ensure everything was going smoothly. We were tested at 10am on a Saturday, the day prior to our Sunday 3:45pm international departure from KKIA for home. When we arrived at KKIA from LZNP, we were met by Tours Africa with a paper result in hand!

Of all the places that we stayed, this place is the one we will happily return to!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs JD
W London

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Amanda, thanks a million for managing to secure our room request of Room 4---certainly the best on the property, as it faces the lagoon, which attracts lots of wildlife

For your info, they have built another room---room 5----which also faces this lagoon---so also very good

The only problem this year, and problem is not the proper use of that word, is that as the water levels were so low, there was less water in the lagoon, and therefore a few less animals---but that's nature for you---and climate change!

We absolutely love Old Mondoro and it is probably our favourite of the 2 x properties owned by the delightful Cummings family

It has new managers who are good and helpful

The "dinner party "style at dinner times is lovely and again, we met some very nice and interesting people

Two of the guides were very very good---particularly Marshall, but also James was very good

What made Marshall so remarkable is the amount of overseas travel that he has done, which has widened his outlook on everything from the history of countries to the economics of various countries

So. apart from him being a very good guide, he was also a very interesting intelligent guide and we had some great drives with him

There are supposedly many leopards at Old Mondoro, and last time we visited here in Sept 2017, with yourselves. we saw many sightings and many diurnal sightings. This year, despite Marshall's best intentions, we saw only 1 x nocturnal sighting which was a bit disappointing

The same with the lions-----in Sept 2017, we saw lots of good sightings, but there seem to be far less lions around this year, which was a shame

Saw heaps and heaps of elephants here and also on the boat the Chobe Princess, which I forgot to mention

We also saw other animals and loads of birds which was great" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Devon

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"As the other camps, staff, food, accommodation and activities were great The two main guides, Marshall and Sebastion were outstanding. Tongue in cheek requests to Sebastion for a Pel's Fishing Owl and an Aardvark produced both in under an hour!

A couple of points:

The camp is very spread out and the need for vehicle transport because of the presence of elephant and buffalo, rather than walking could be inconvenient.

Secondly, visitors would be well advised to get their requests for activities in early. We could not initially get a boat trip when we wanted because a group had booked a boat every day for fishing. Also the manager was not that attentive in putting like minded people together. In both cases the guides were more attune and found solutions. Having said that, Mark the manager was very good and experienced.

Coat hangers etc. etc.!

The use of red spotlights at this camp greatly enhanced night drives, and allowed approach to animals without distressing them.

We really enjoyed a leisurely boat ride down the Zambezi with great views of birds and animals We would have liked to have canoed in some of the Zambezi channels but the water was too low for this.


Wildlife Survey:

Waterbuck - 10+ sightings. Very Common
Porcupine and Genets
Buffalo - Big herds of 200+
Lion - 13 individuals seen including after dark
Leopards - 9 individuals in 8 sightings!
Honey Badger - 2 sightings, including in daylight.
Civit - 6 sightings, including in daylight
Hippo and Elephant and, in the water, crocodile everywhere.

Highlights:

Passing through a huge herd of Buffalo after dark.

Watching around 6 large crocodiles dismember a dead Hippo, while another 30 smaller crocs looked on.

A single 4 hour game drive from daylight to darkness that included:
8 lions including 3 males moving after dark
5 leopards, all active, three after dark. This gave a total of 8 for the day
5 Civits
2 Punctures
1 Porcupine
1 Honey Badger
and an Aardvark!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

8 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Great camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Our second visit and it is still our favourite camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
MrD & MsK
Gold Coast

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"Good fun having elephants joining you for meals!
Excellent bushcamp experience.
Amazing food.
Attentive staff.
Excellent guides." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 108
99%
108 reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
103
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (118 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (78 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


100% (14 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


97% (6 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


93% (3 reviews)
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


100% (1 review)
Lolebezi

Lolebezi

A chic safari spot, luxurious Lolelbezi is the Lower Zambezi’s newest camp and offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by excellent guides.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa