This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

103 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Old Mondoro Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Old Mondoro Bushcamp.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

13% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

78% success

Aardvark

38% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 103
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs Bears
UK

"great camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2018
"lovely staff, great wildlife, we had a marvellous time" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs
Birmingham

"Great two days "

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2018
"Chalet 4 was great. Beautiful view over watering hole with elephants seen everyday from our room. All rooms seemed to have a good view. Small, intimate and very private. Had bush camp feel but with very high standards without being too extravagant.


Staff all lovely, went the extra mile for our honeymoon. We hadn't seen any honey badgers or leopards so was thrilled to see these regularly on the night drive. With so few chalets and lots of staff often had a drive to yourself. Food really was excellent." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bath

"Beautiful Setting at Old Mondoro"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2018
"Loved the rustic accommodation and the beautiful setting next to the Zambezi.

The canoe safari is a bit scary - but a definite must do! With boat trips, canoe safaris, walking safari and night and day safaris in the 4x4 there's a great range of activities. However, while we saw lions, leopard and some great bull elephant action, the range and quantity of wildlife was quite restricted relative to our earlier camps in South Luangwa. I guess this is partly an early season issue.

Guiding was generally good - great canoe and walking safari with James - but we would have preferred to have a single guide for our stay and the stronger relationship this permits." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

5 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2017
"We visited after Amanzi and found ourselves now more in the traditional bushcamp of earlier years but nevertheless with excellent comfort and facilities.
A high level of service and attention to needs and they created an activity program to meet specific client needs.
Like Amanzi (see previous) being a small camp of 4 tents this enables a very personalised safari experience to be achieved.
The camp is located more centrally in their traversing area and this enables different terrains to be experienced and the animals which locate in these different environments are more varied.
Game viewing was good and we achieved excellent photographs. There were large numbers of elephants, buffalo, waterbuck and impala, but we would have liked to see a greater variety of animals - we were told some had dispersed to the hills and further areas away from the river areas. Good leopard sightings but lions are a bit scarce at current times due to a higher proportion of males present and this has led to the females keeping a low profile to try to keep their cubs safe." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Witney

"Elephants Galore!"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2017
"The transfer to Old Mondoro was by boat and luckily the river was fairly quiet so we had good views of the birds and other wildlife along the banks. The camp itself was a delight and the position of our 'bungalow' (No3) was ideal for watching everything come down to drink each day. We had never seen so many elephants together and Judy was in heaven! Some shook the trees right beside No 3 and then hoovered up all the seed pods that fell down, including those in our outdoor bath and on the roof - coming right up to our veranda to get at them all!

The game drives were less spectacular than elsewhere but we did see lions, hundreds of elephants, buffalo and hyena but very few leopard. The camp has a policy of using red lights only for the majority of its night drives with a weak white light when animals are close by.

Even with very capable modern cameras this limits the opportunities for photographs, which was disappointing to say the least as this was a prime reason for the trip. Perhaps I missed it in the brochure because it would definitely have influenced my choice of camp.

The manager, Michelle, and her staff Reon, Sebastien and Marshall were excellent and good company during our time in camp." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs JD
W London

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Wonderful camp----very remote and just what we love

Staff were wonderful, as were the guides

Room 4 was wonderful---thank you, Freddie for suggesting that we request this room----the best, and superb for photography---it was like our own personal Watering Hole!

Michel and Roen were great hosts, and gave us a private dinner on our own verandah on one night----such a wonderful surprise

All meals were great and the food was very good

We loved the camp fire at breakfast, + at pre dinner for drinks and after dinner for drinks---if one wanted to stay up a bit: this was great for chatting to fellow guests and getting to know them and to experience activities of the day

We loved the very smart "dinner party" table, beautifully laid and completely outside----magical

Cannot think of anything to improve this camp----except for one very small thing---could they please provide tea and coffee in the rooms at wake-up time---as Chiawa did, and many other camps do

ONE BIG REQUEST: please do not let them get any larger----small is very definitely beautiful!!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr D
Middlesex

"Old Mondoro - a memorable safari bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2017
"This was our 13th safari to Southern Africa, but our first camp after a 10 year break. Our hopes were high, but our expectations for Old Mondoro were surpassed.
The rooms were rustic in look but showed a great attention to detail in the layout and contents. Plus the bath with a view was the icing on the cake.
The location is excellent with the main area looking out onto the Zambezi and the rooms on to a creek off the main river. This creek is full of activity. One day we counted 34 elephants drinking, having mud baths or just socialising. There were also visits from baboons, warthogs, impala and waterbuck. It was much too interesting to have a siesta.
We arrived by plane at Jeki airport and the game drive started there - we were immediately greeted by 3 rollers performing and our drive to camp included a lioness and a leopard in a tree. During our stay we had 3 more daylight sightings of leopards. the activities are varied and we particularly enjoyed our walk with James and a spot of fishing on the Zambezi. A small downside on the drives is that some of the roads are corrugated and can be a bit uncomfortable if driving fast.
We loved our stay and if we go on another safari this would be on the list to visit again" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Hampshire

"Great stay at a traditional luxury bush camp"

5 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"Our room was not particularly spacious and maybe looking a little 'tired' in its furnishings but generally it was on a par with ones we have stayed in within the South Luangwa and still luxurious considering its location in the bush. The spacious and well equipped veranda overlooked a lagoon rather than the river and provided a constant panorama of wildlife. Elephants walked past daily within touching distance (although obviously we stepped well back for safety reasons!) The provision of an exterior stone bath as well as a shower seemed superfluous initially - until we returned from an evening game drive on our last night to find it lit by candles and filled with hot water and bubbles as part of a surprise 45th wedding anniversary celebration provided by the camp! A truly magical and thoughtful experience which made us feel very pampered.

Meals were eaten communally, including a traditional breakfast and pre-evening drinks around the campfire. There was a degree of inflexibility over meal times such that freshening up after activities was sometimes very rushed. Meals were of a very high standard, even by 'normal luxury camp standards. On our last night a table was set up on our veranda and the meal served privately as part of the surprise anniversary celebration.

We were able to do 4 morning walks with the same guide (James) who was excellent and instructional as well as having a good sense of humour. Evening game drives were provided using a number of different guides but always with a spotter and using red headlights to avoid upsetting the wildlife, which seemed like a good improvement. Game viewing was very good, including watching a leopard stalk and pounce (unsuccessfully) on a warthog! There was never any problem in providing a scout to accompany us and the guide on walks, as had been the case at Amanzi, and neither were we crowded into vehicles with other guests. Being further away from any other camp meant we only met another vehicle once over our 5 day stay, which made it feel more remote.

The canoe trip down the Discovery Channel was excellent, with a high adrenalin level due to the proximity of hippos! We also did a river cruise." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Darmstadt

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2017
"In Mondoro you really feel to be a part of the "Bush".

The atmosphere is overwhelming.

The guides were excellent.

We liked very much the flexible organizitation of the game drives." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C
Harvest

"I love this place"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"More animals wander through here than most bush camps. I had an elephant come to breakfast one morning.

However, the rooms are permanent tents, that they leave open. (For some reason the Baboons don't go inside and destroy the place.) I find this somewhat disturbing, but there was no problem with any wildlife.

The canoe trip on a channel of the Zambezi is especially memorable." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 103
99%
103 reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
99
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (117 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (75 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (37 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (12 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa